Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Elzéar Hamel, actor (1871-1944)

Photograph of Elzéar Hamel

Source
Elzéar Hamel

Elzéar Hamel's voice made its way into homes of French-speaking record buyers not through song, but via the comic monologues he recorded for Columbia and His Master's Voice between 1916 and the late 1920s.

Born and schooled in Montréal, Hamel began acting at age seven with various amateur troupes. As an adult, he was a familiar figure on the Montréal stage, known especially for his roles in dramas, in which he often played villains. Beginning in 1898, he performed for the Théâtre des variétés, the first permanent professional French acting troupe in Montréal, and later for the Troupe du Théâtre national and the Théâtre canadien. He performed with numerous well-known Montréal actors, as well as stars of the Quebec musical stage, including Alexandre Desmarteaux. A local arts publication referred to Hamel as "The dramatic actor that all of Montreal applauds" (Le Passe-Temps, February 7, 1920). Hamel also toured Quebec and New England in the 1920s. He retired from the stage in 1931 and then turned to radio along with many of his contemporaries.

Elzéar Hamel as the character LADÉBAUCHE

Source
Elzéar Hamel as the character "Ladébauche"

In a departure from his usual dramatic roles, Hamel recorded several dozen comic monologues, most of which featured the adventures of a traditional character known as "Ladébauche" (a drunkard or immoral person), a role that he had also performed on stage. Starting in 1916 with "Ladébauche au téléphone" ("Ladébauche on the phone"), he made a large number of comic recordings on the Columbia label. Sometime between 1924 and 1926, he recorded his monologues for the His Master's Voice 263000 series, which was devoted to French-Canadian recording artists. Later on he made a few recordings for Brunswick. Among Hamel's many recordings in the "Ladébauche" group are "Ladébauche, dompteur de lions" ("The lion-tamer"), and "Ladébauche, le rebouteux" ("The bone-setter"). Some of Hamel's recordings also featured the voices of the well-known French-Canadian actors, Alexandre Desmarteaux and Blanche Gauthier, among others.

For more information on Elzéar Hamel's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.


References

"Berliner Gram-o-phone Company". -- Encyclopedia of music in Canada. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2nd ed. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c1992. -- xxxii, 1524 p. -- AMICUS No. 12048560

Le Passe-temps. -- Vol. 26, no 649 (7 février 1920). -- AMICUS No. 11438895

Prévost, Robert. -- Que sont-ils devenus? -- Montréal : Éditions Princeps, 1939. -- 123 p. -- AMICUS No. 4618239

Return to the First World War Era

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Elzéar Hamel, comédien (1871-1944)

Photo d'Elzéar Hamel

Source
Elzéar Hamel

La voix d'Elzéar Hamel s'est frayé un chemin chez les acheteurs et acheteuses de disques en français non pas par la chanson, mais par les monologues comiques qu'il a enregistrés chez Columbia et His Master's Voice entre 1916 et la fin des années 1920.

Hamel est né et est allé à l'école à Montréal. Il commence à jouer des rôles à l'âge de sept ans dans diverses troupes d'amateurs. À l'âge adulte, il est devenu une figure familière des scènes montréalaises, connu surtout pour ses rôles dans des drames dans lesquels il fait souvent partie des vilains. Commençant en 1898, il joue d'abord au Théâtre des Variétés, la première troupe de théâtre francophone, professionnelle et permanente à Montréal, et plus tard pour la troupe du Théâtre National, puis pour le Théâtre Canadien. Il se produit avec de nombreux comédiens montréalais connus et avec des vedettes de la scène musicale du Québec, dont Alexandre Desmarteaux. Une revue d'art locale présente Hamel comme « l'acteur dramatique que tout Montréal applaudit » (Le Passe-temps, 7 février 1920). Hamel fait aussi le tour du Québec et de la Nouvelle-Angleterre dans les années 1920. Il abandonne la scène en 1931 et se tourne alors vers la radio, comme beaucoup de ses contemporains.

Illustration d'Elzéar Hamel dans la peau du personnage LADÉBAUCHE

Source
Elzéar Hamel dans la peau du personnage « Ladébauche »

Dérogeant à ses rôles dramatiques habituels, Hamel enregistre plusieurs douzaines de monologues comiques dont la plupart racontent les aventures d'un personnage traditionnel appelé « Ladébauche » (personnage ivrogne et immoral), rôle qu'il a aussi joué sur scène. Commençant en 1916 avec « Ladébauche au téléphone », il enregistre un grand nombre de monologues comiques sous l'étiquette Columbia. Quelque part entre 1924 et 1926, il enregistre ses monologues dans la série 263000 de His Master's Voice, réservée aux enregistrements d'artistes canadiens-français. Plus tard, il fait quelques enregistrements sous l'étiquette Brunswick. Parmi les nombreux enregistrements de Hamel dans la série « Ladébauche », on trouve « Ladébauche, dompteur de lions » et « Ladébauche, le rebouteux ». Quelques-uns des enregistrements de Hamel ont aussi imité les voix de comédiens canadiens-français connus, dont Alexandre Desmarteaux et Blanche Gauthier.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements d'Elzéar Hamel, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.


Référence

« Berliner Gram-o-phone Company ». -- Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada. -- Sous la direction d'Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2e éd. rev. et augm. -- [Saint-Laurent, Qué.] : Fides, 1993. -- No AMICUS 13213211

Le Passe-Temps. -- Vol. 26, no 649 (7 février 1920). -- No AMICUS 11438895

Prévost, Robert. -- Que sont-ils devenus? -- Montréal : Éditions Princeps, 1939. -- 123 p. -- No AMICUS 4618239

Retour à L'époque de la Première Guerre mondiale