Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Henri (Enrique) Miro, composer, conductor and critic (1879-1950)

Photograph of Henri Miro

Source
Henri Miro

Spanish-born musician Henri Miro was an active participant in the musical scene in Montréal from the turn of the twentieth century. Miro enjoyed moderate local and national success as a composer and director of concert music and musical theatre, and was featured on radio broadcasts and popular recordings.

Henri Miro was raised and educated in Spain. (His given name was Enrique; it is not clear when he adopted the name Henri.) His father, a music director with the Spanish army, was his first music instructor. At eight years of age, Henri sang as a choirboy at the Montserrat Basilica, an important Spanish music school. He moved to the Barcelona Conservatory of Music at age sixteen to study under professor Benvenido Socias. There, Miro studied violin, piano and organ, as well as composition and harmony. During this early stage in his career he wrote songs, operettas and religious music.

As with many a young musician at the beginning of his or her career, Miro gained experience in short-term positions in Europe. He was a rehearsal pianist and coach with a theatre in Milan, Italy in 1894 and then with the Barcelona Opera Company. In 1898 he toured France as director of an opera company. He then travelled from Europe to North America, finding a brief engagement with the orchestra of the Hotel Criterion in New York. By early 1901 (possibly as early as 1899), Miro settled in Montréal, where he was offered the post of orchestral director of the Eldorado café (Le Passe-Temps, March 30, 1901). He was to spend the remainder of his career in Montréal, which was a centre of Canadian cultural activity.

Photograph of Henri Miro, circa 1901

Source
Henri Miro, circa 1901

Miro's Canadian debut as a composer of concert music occurred at Montréal's Monument-National. The occasion was the premiere of his Messe Solennelle, which was performed with two choirs, soloists and full orchestra. This event established Miro as a composer. An ad in the music magazine Le Passe-Temps called the work a masterpiece, and admired his attention to detail in both the orchestration and the vocal parts (Le Passe-Temps, November 21, 1903). His skill in orchestration became a feature for which Miro's later works were also noted.

Advertisement for Henri Miro's MESSE SOLENNELLE EN RÉ in the magazine LE PASSE-TEMPS, November 21, 1903, featuring a photograph of Miro

Source
Advertisement for Miro's "Messe solennelle en ré" in the magazine Le Passe-Temps, November 21, 1903

Following this successful debut, however, Miro does not seem to have composed a major classical composition until the symphonic poem Luxor, which was not performed until March 1927. Comments on Luxor included appreciation of its "superb" harmonic, rhythmic and colouristic effects (C. Huot, p. 194-5).

On November 6, 1928, Miro's cantata Vox Populi was performed at the Monument-National by the Association des chanteurs de Montréal. An example of the musical nationalism emerging in Canada in the 1920s, this suite quotes from 14 French-Canadian folk songs, including "À la claire fontaine" and "Isabeau s'y promène" (both of which were recorded separately by Éva Gauthier and can be found in the Virtual Gramophone database). Vox Populi was next performed on April 19, 1929 by the Musical Circle of Holyoke, Massachusetts, under the baton of the composer; in June 1929, it was again performed at the stadium in Montréal.

The public did not have to wait as long for the composer's next major concert work. Miro conducted the premiere of Symphonie canadienne (which also contains three popular themes) on October 27, 1931, also in Montréal. In addition to the above works, Miro wrote symphonies, cello concerti, piano pieces and vocal and choral works.

Photograph of conductor Wilfrid Pelletier, circa 1934

Source
Conductor Wilfrid Pelletier, circa 1934

Miro achieved national stature in Canada as a composer when his concert work Scènes mauresques won the first Prix Jean-Lallemand in 1936. This national contest, which carried a cash prize of $500, was established by the Montreal Symphony Orchestra to encourage Canadian composers and musical nationalism. Manuscripts were submitted to judges in each province, in addition to five in Montréal. The semi-finalist compositions were performed on national radio and judges' votes were sent in by telegram. Subsequent to this award, Scènes mauresques was conducted in Montréal by Canadian Wilfrid Pelletier (of New York's Metropolitan Opera).

Miro's stage works were welcomed in similar manner, since Canadian musical theatre was rarely staged. His Le Roman de Suzon, an operetta in three acts with lyrics by Henri Letondal, premiered as an amateur production at Montréal's Princess Theatre in 1914. (It was mistakenly called the first operetta composed in Canada, but this honour must go to Joseph Quesnel's Colas et Colinette, 1790.) Miro's opera A Million Dollar Girl (libretto by W. M. Beatty) was produced in April 1915; reviews noted it was a Canadian work and predictions were made for the composer's success. (One of the violinists in this performance was Howard Fogg, who later became associated with the Dumbells.) Le Passe-Temps gave A Million Dollar Girl a favourable review: "Mr. Miro has really surpassed himself, and we heard a composition in all respects interesting and well written, that did not lack for beautiful melodies" (Le Passe-Temps, May 8, 1915). In addition to writing original operettas, Miro directed, in the fall of 1917, Monument-National's opera troupe in various French operettas.

Photograph of Miro working on a new composition

Source
Miro working on a new composition

Despite the challenges in getting his works staged professionally, Miro essayed a third piece of musical theatre, the operetta Lolita (book by Armand Robi). This was first performed in 1922 by an amateur troupe, and was eventually broadcast on CBC radio on January 9, 1944. Over a decade after Le Roman de Suzon's premiere, Honoré Vaillancourt and the Canadian Operetta Society restaged it on November 25, 1925, at the Monument-National. Again, reviewers praised Miro's melodies and his treatment of the vocal parts (La Lyre, November 1925).

The advent of radio brought new opportunities for Miro's music to be heard by the public without the expense of staging it. In this new medium, he directed a series of broadcasts on operetta and opera in which he included his own works. His other broadcast engagements included directing the Concerts lyriques Frontenac in the fall of 1928; conducting CBC radio programs entitled "Sevilliana" and "Mexicana"; and directing CN (Canadian National Railway) radio's orchestra in 1930-31.

Although his popular and serious music included Canadian thematic content, the music of Miro's homeland naturally remained of interest to him. Miro maintained membership in a society of Spanish orchestra directors. During a trip to Europe that lasted 14 months, he played piano and conducted at the Grand Hotel Ritz in Barcelona during the winter of 1924-5, after which he returned to Canada in June 1925. Some of his short pieces are Latin-American dances that were known in his native Spain, such as paso dobles, habañeras, and tangos.

Cover of sheet music of LA MARCHE DES POMPIERS DE MONTRÉAL

Source
Cover of sheet music of "La marche des pompiers de Montréal"

Just as Miro demonstrated expertise in lighter music for the stage, he also wrote many songs for voice and piano, and other light repertoire intended for amateur performance in the home or salon. Le Passe-Temps and La Lyre published dozens of these compositions and arrangements, some written for amateur musicians of moderate abilities; others, like the "Barcarolle impromptue", were more difficult. His romances, waltzes, songs and lullabies appeared over the course of two decades, beginning soon after his arrival in Montréal. He also had songs published in sheet music, such as "La Marche des pompiers de Montréal", 1916, a march of local interest, dedicated to Montréal's fire chief.

Photograph of Lucio Agostini, circa 1940

Source
Lucio Agostini, circa 1940

In addition to contributing compositions, as a co-director of La Lyre, Miro reviewed Montréal musical productions and concerts, and wrote essays on instrumentation and other technical topics. He also published a correspondence course on harmony, in which readers were invited to mail completed lessons to the composer for correcting, free of charge (presumably the magazine paid Miro's fees). Advertisements from this period show that his normal fee for harmony lessons was 75 cents. He taught composition both privately and through McGill University; among his most noteworthy students were the award-winning composer-conductor Lucio Agostini, and clarinetist and composer Fleurette Beauchamp.

Advertisement for recordings by Henri's Orchestra

Source
Advertisement for recordings by Henri's Orchestra, La Presse, December 1, 1919, p. 16

Like many other Canadian musicians of this period, Miro ventured into the recording studio to record popular songs, departing from his usual repertoire. From 1916 to 1921, he was musical director for the Berliner Gram-o-phone Company; he also worked at Compo, the recording company established by Herbert Berliner in 1919.

Advertisement for Christmas recordings by Miro's Orchestra

Source
Advertisement for Christmas recordings by Miro's Orchestra, La Presse, November 30, 1918, p. 26

At that time, the public demand for dance music was considerable, as the fad of social dancing was in full swing. As conductor of his own studio orchestras, named variously Henri's Orchestra or Miro's Band, Miro arranged and recorded instrumental music to satisfy the need for dance records. The band's recordings on His Master's Voice, from 1918 to 1922, and on Apex, in 1922, are mostly dance arrangements of sentimental ballads and popular songs from New York's Tin Pan Alley, such as "Sweet and Low", "Ja-Da", and "When My Baby Smiles At Me".

Miro also conducted HMV's cover version of "In a Monastery Garden", a hit which sold over 100 000 records in Canada. Some of Miro's own popular songs were recorded by French artists such as Hector Pellerin, who recorded "L'Aventure". At that time, 78-rpm records usually played only three to four minutes; had the technology lent itself to longer pieces, perhaps Miro would have recorded his concert compositions.

After winning the Prix Jean-Lallemand at age 57, Miro seems to have written little of note. He passed away in 1950. Twelve years after his death, Montréal named Miro Avenue after him to honour his contribution to the cultural life of his adopted home.

For more information on Henri Miro's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.


References

Huot, Cécile. -- "Évolution de la vie musicale au Québec sous l'influence de Wilfrid Pelletier". -- Dissertation, Université de Toulouse, 1973

La Lyre. -- Vol. 1, no 2 (nov. 1922). -- P. 8-14. -- AMICUS No. 8605789

_____. -- Vol. 3, no 31 (juin/juillet 1925). -- P. 4. -- AMICUS No. 8605789

_____. -- Vol. 3, no 34 (nov. 1925). -- P. 10, 11, 16-19. -- AMICUS No. 8605789

"Miro, Henri". -- Encyclopedia of music in Canada. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2nd ed. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c1992. -- xxxii, 1524 p. -- AMICUS No. 12048560

"Miro, Henry (Enrique)". -- Catalogue of Canadian composers. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann. -- Rev. and enl. ed. -- [Toronto] : Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, [1952] ; St. Clair Shores, Mich. : Scholarly Press, 1972. -- P. 174. -- AMICUS No. 60294

"Musical theatre". -- Encyclopedia of music in Canada. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2nd ed. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c1992. -- xxxii, 1524 p. -- AMICUS No. 12048560

"La musique canadienne et la musique contemporaine de l'OSM: parti I - 1935-84". -- La scena musicale. -- (juillet/août 1997). -- AMICUS No. 18220531

Le Passe-temps. -- Vol. 7, no. 157 (30 mars 1901). -- P. 97. -- AMICUS No. 139381

_____. -- Vol. 9, no. 226 (21 novembre 1903). -- P. 170. -- AMICUS No. 139381

_____. -- Vol. 20, no. 507 (29 août 1914). -- P. 326-327. -- AMICUS No. 139381

_____. -- Vol. 21, no. 525 (8 mai 1915). -- P. 162, 168-170. -- AMICUS No. 139381

Proctor, George A. -- Canadian music of the twentieth century. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1980. -- xxvi, 297 p. -- AMICUS No. 11668874

Soeurs de Sainte-Anne. -- Dictionnaire biographique des musiciens canadiens. -- Lachine, Q[uébec] : Mont-Sainte-Anne, 1935. -- 299, [3] p. -- AMICUS No. 8664525

"Vox Populi". -- Encyclopedia of music in Canada. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann et al. -- -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1981. -- xxix, 1076 p. -- AMICUS No. 2486128

Return to the First World War Era

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Henri (Enrique) Miro, compositeur, chef d'orchestre et critique (1879-1950)

Photo d'Henri Miro

Source
Henri Miro

Musicien d'origine espagnole, Henri Miro est activement lié à la scène musicale de Montréal au début du XXe siècle. Miro connaît un succès moyen à l'échelle locale et nationale comme compositeur et directeur de musique de concert et de comédies musicales et est invité à des émissions de radio et à des enregistrements populaires.

Henri Miro grandit et reçoit son éducation en Espagne. (Son prénom était Enrique; on ne sait pas quand au juste il a adopté le prénom d'Henri.) Son père, directeur musical dans l'armée espagnole, est son premier professeur de musique. À l'âge de 8 ans, Henri chante dans la chorale à la basilique Montserrat, importante école de musique en Espagne. Il passe au Conservatoire de musique de Barcelone à l'âge de 16 ans pour étudier avec le professeur Benvenido Socias. Au conservatoire, Miro étudie le violon, le piano et l'orgue, de même que la composition et l'harmonie. Pendant ces premières étapes de sa carrière, Miro compose des chansons, des opérettes et de la musique religieuse.

Comme pour plusieurs jeunes musiciens au début de leur carrière, Miro acquiert de l'expérience en occupant des postes à court terme en Europe. Il est pianiste-répétiteur et guide dans un théâtre de Milan, en Italie, en 1894, et dans la Compagnie d'opéra de Barcelone. En 1898, il fait une tournée en France comme directeur d'une compagnie d'opéra. Il fait le voyage de l'Europe à l'Amérique du Nord, où il travaille pendant une brève période avec l'orchestre de l'hôtel Criterion à New York. En 1901 (peut-être même en 1899), Miro s'établit à Montréal où on lui offre le poste de chef d'orchestre au café Eldorado (Le Passe-Temps, 30 mars 1901). Il passera le reste de sa carrière à Montréal, centre de l'activité culturelle canadienne.

Photo d'Henri Miro, vers 1901

Source
Henri Miro, vers 1901

Les débuts de Miro au Canada comme compositeur de musique de concert ont lieu au Monument-National de Montréal, à l'occasion de la première de sa Messe solennelle en ré réalisée avec deux chorales, des solistes et un orchestre complet. Cet événement permet à Miro de se créer un nom comme compositeur. Dans un article de la revue musicale Le Passe-Temps, on décrit la pièce musicale comme un chef-d'œuvre et l'on admire le souci du détail de Miro, tant en ce qui concerne l'orchestration qu'en ce qui a trait aux arrangements vocaux (Le Passe-Temps, 21 novembre 1903). Ses aptitudes pour l'orchestration sont devenues une qualité que l'on remarquera plus tard dans ses œuvres.

Publicité annonçant la MESSE SOLENNELLE EN RÉ d'Henri Miro, ornée d'une photo de Miro; parue dans la revue LE PASSE-TEMPS du 21 novembre 1903

Source
Publicité annonçant la « Messe solennelle en ré » d'Henri Miro; parue dans la revue Le Passe-Temps du 21 novembre 1903

Après ces débuts réussis, il semble toutefois que Miro ne compose pas d'œuvres classiques importantes jusqu'à son poème symphonique intitulé Luxor, qui n'est pas interprété publiquement avant le mois de mars 1927. Dans les commentaires qu'on fait sur Luxor, on dit apprécier ses effets d'harmonie, de rythmes et de couleurs, que l'on qualifie de superbes (C. Huot, p. 194-195).

Le 6 novembre 1928, la cantate de Miro Vox Populi est présentée au Monument-National par l'Association des chanteurs de Montréal. Exemple du nationalisme musical qui prend forme au Canada dans les années 1920, cette suite emprunte des passages de 14 chansons folkloriques canadiennes-françaises, y compris « À la claire fontaine » et « Isabeau s'y promène » (les deux pièces ont été enregistrées séparément par Éva Gauthier et sont offertes sur le site Gramophone virtuel). La cantate est ensuite présentée le 19 avril 1929 par le Musical Circle of Holyoke, au Massachusetts, sous la direction du compositeur. Au mois de juin 1929, on la présente de nouveau au stade de Montréal.

Le public n'a pas à attendre longtemps pour entendre le concert d'importance subséquent du compositeur. Miro dirige la première de Symphonie canadienne (qui contient également trois thèmes populaires) le 27 octobre 1931, à Montréal une fois de plus. Outre les œuvres décrites ci-dessus, Miro compose des symphonies, des concertos pour violoncelle, des pièces pour piano, des œuvres vocales et chorales.

Photo du chef d'orchestre Wilfrid Pelletier, vers 1934

Source
Le chef d'orchestre Wilfrid Pelletier, vers 1934

Miro acquiert une grande réputation de compositeur au Canada lorsque son concert Scènes mauresques mérite le premier prix Jean-Lallemand en 1936. Ce concours national, qui accorde un prix de 500 $ comptant au gagnant, est organisé par l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal en vue d'encourager les compositeurs canadiens et de mousser le nationalisme musical. Des manuscrits sont présentés à des juges dans chaque province, outre les cinq à Montréal. Les compositions des semi-finalistes sont présentées à la radio nationale, et les juges font parvenir leur vote par télégramme. À la suite de ce concours, le concert Scènes mauresques est dirigé à Montréal par le Canadien Wilfrid Pelletier (du Metropolitan Opera de New York).

Les pièces de théâtre de Miro connaissent un accueil aussi chaleureux, car la comédie musicale canadienne est rarement mise en scène. Sa pièce Le Roman de Suzon, opérette en trois actes avec paroles d'Henri Letondal, est présentée en première comme une production amateur au théâtre Princess de Montréal en 1914. (On l'a nommée par erreur la première opérette composée au Canada, mais cet honneur revient à Colas et Colinette de Joseph Quesnel, composée en 1790.) L'opéra de Miro A Million Dollar Girl (libretto de W.M. Beatty) est produit au mois d'avril 1915; les critiques indiquent qu'il s'agit d'une œuvre canadienne et font des prédictions sur les chances de succès du compositeur. (Un des violonistes de cette interprétation est Howard Fogg, qui est plus tard associé aux Dumbells.) Le Passe-Temps fait une critique favorable de A Million Dollar Girl : « M. Miro s'est vraiment surpassé, et nous avons eu droit à une composition intéressante et bien écrite à tous les égards et qui ne manquait pas de belles mélodies » (Le Passe-Temps, 8 mai 1915). En plus de composer des opérettes originales, Miro dirige, à l'automne 1917, la troupe d'opéra du Monument-National dans ses interprétations de diverses opérettes françaises.

Photo de Miro travaillant à une nouvelle composition

Source
Miro travaillant à une nouvelle composition

Malgré les défis associés à la mise en scène de ses propres créations dans des théâtres professionnels, Miro crée une troisième comédie musicale, l'opérette Lolita (livre d'Armand Robi). Cette pièce est jouée pour la première fois en 1922 par une troupe amateur et est finalement présentée à la radio de la SRC le 9 janvier 1944. Plus de dix ans après la première du Roman de Suzon, Honoré Vaillancourt et la Canadian Operetta Society la représentent le 25 novembre 1925, au Monument-National. Une fois de plus, les critiques font l'éloge des mélodies de Miro et de ses arrangements vocaux (La Lyre, novembre 1925).

L'avènement de la radio offre de nouvelles occasions de faire entendre au public la musique de Miro, sans les frais associés à la mise en scène des œuvres. Grâce à ce nouvel outil de diffusion, Miro réalise un ensemble d'émissions sur l'opérette et l'opéra dans lesquelles il insère ses propres créations. Parmi ses autres engagements reliés à des émissions, mentionnons qu'il dirige les Concerts lyriques Frontenac à l'automne 1928, qu'il réalise, à la radio de la SRC, les programmes « Sevilliana » et « Mexicana » et qu'il dirige l'orchestre de Radio CN (chemins de fer du Canadien National) en 1930-1931.

Même si la musique populaire et la musique sérieuse de Miro comprennent des thèmes canadiens, la musique de son pays d'origine continue naturellement à l'intéresser. Miro reste membre d'une société de chefs d'orchestre espagnols. Lors d'un voyage en Europe, séjour qui dure 14 mois, il joue du piano et dirige un orchestre au Grand Hôtel Ritz à Barcelone pendant l'hiver de 1924-1925. Il revient ensuite au Canada au mois de juin 1925. Certaines de ses pièces courtes sont des danses latino-américaines connues dans son pays natal d'Espagne, notamment des paso dobles, des habañeras et des tangos.

Couverture de la musique en feuille de LA MARCHE DES POMPIERS DE MONTRÉAL

Source
ouverture de la musique en feuille de « La Marche des pompiers de Montréal »

En même temps que Miro démontre des aptitudes pour la musique plus douce destinée à la scène, il écrit de nombreuses chansons et pièces pour piano et un autre répertoire léger à l'intention des interprètes amateurs à la maison ou au salon. Le Passe-Temps et La Lyre publient des douzaines de ces compositions et arrangements, dont certains sont destinés à des musiciens amateurs de talent moyen; d'autres, comme « Barcarolle impromptue », sont plus difficiles. Peu de temps après son arrivée à Montréal, et pendant une vingtaine d'années par la suite, ses romances, ses valses, ses chansons et ses berceuses se font connaître. Certaines de ses chansons sont également mises en feuille, notamment « La Marche des pompiers de Montréal », en 1916, marche d'intérêt local en hommage au chef des pompiers de Montréal.

Photo de Lucio Agostini, vers 1940

Source
Lucio Agostini, vers 1940

Outre ses compositions, Miro, en tant que codirecteur de La Lyre, fait la critique des productions musicales et des concerts tenus à Montréal et rédige des essais sur l'instrumentation et d'autres sujets techniques. Il publie également un cours par correspondance sur l'harmonie dans le cadre duquel on invite les lecteurs à poster les leçons terminées au compositeur pour qu'il les corrige, et ce, sans frais (on présume que la revue acquittait les honoraires de Miro). Les annonces publicitaires de cette période montrent qu'il demandait ordinairement 75 cents pour des leçons d'harmonie. Il enseigne la composition en privé et à l'Université McGill. Parmi ses élèves les plus connus, citons le compositeur-chef d'orchestre émérite Lucio Agostini et la clarinettiste et compositrice Fleurette Beauchamp.

Publicité annonçant des enregistrements de l'Orchestre de Henri

Source
Publicité annonçant des enregistrements de l'Orchestre de Henri, La Presse, 1er décembre 1919, p. 16

Comme de nombreux autres musiciens canadiens de cette période, Miro s'aventure dans le studio d'enregistrement pour enregistrer des chansons populaires, s'éloignant de son répertoire habituel. De 1916 à 1921, il occupe le poste de directeur musical de la Berliner Gram-o-phone Company; il travaille également chez Compo, compagnie d'enregistrement fondée par Herbert Berliner en 1919.

Publicité annonçant des enregistrements de Noël de l'Orchestre de Miro

Source
Publicité annonçant des enregistrements de Noël de l'Orchestre de Miro; parue dans La Presse, le 30 novembre 1918, p. 26

À l'époque, la demande du public pour la musique de danse est considérable, car la mode de la danse sociale bat son plein. Comme chef de ses propres orchestres de studio, qu'on nomme indifféremment Henri's Orchestra ou Miro's Band, Miro fait des arrangements et enregistre de la musique instrumentale pour répondre à la demande de disques de musique de danse. Les enregistrements du groupe sous l'étiquette La Voix de son maître de 1918 à 1922 et sous Apex en 1922 sont, pour la plupart, des arrangements en musique de danse de ballades sentimentales et de chansons populaires de la Tin Pan Alley de New York, notamment « Sweet and Low », « Ja-Da » et « When My Baby Smiles At Me ».

Miro dirige également l'interprétation instrumentale de HMV de « In a Monastery Garden », succès qui fait vendre plus de 100 000 disques au Canada. Certaines des chansons populaires de Miro sont enregistrées par des artistes français comme Hector Pellerin, qui enregistre « L'Aventure ». À l'époque, les disques 78 tours ne jouaient habituellement que durant trois ou quatre minutes; si la technologie s'était prêtée à des pièces plus longues, Miro aurait peut-être enregistré ses compositions de concert.

Après avoir gagné le prix Jean-Lallemand à l'âge de 57 ans, il semble que Miro n'ait composé aucune œuvre digne de mention. Il décède en 1950. Douze ans après sa mort, on donne son nom à une avenue à Montréal (avenue Miro) en son honneur pour souligner sa contribution à la vie culturelle de son pays adoptif.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements d'Henri Miro, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.


Références

Huot, Cécile. -- « Évolution de la vie musicale au Québec sous l'influence de Wilfrid Pelletier », dissertation, Université de Toulouse, 1973

La Lyre. -- Vol. 1, no 2 (nov. 1922). -- P. 8-14. -- No AMICUS 8605789

_____. -- Vol. 3, no 31 (juin/juillet 1925). -- P. 4. -- No AMICUS 8605789

_____. -- Vol. 3, no 34 (nov. 1925). -- P. 10, 11, 16-19. -- No AMICUS 8605789

« Miro, Henri ». -- Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada. -- Sous la direction d'Helmut Kallmann et al. - 2e éd. rev. et augm. -- [Saint-Laurent, Qué.] : Fides, 1993. -- No AMICUS 13213211

« Miro, Henri (Enrique) ». -- Catalogue of Canadian composers. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann. -- Rev and enl. ed. -- [Toronto] : Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, [1952] ; St. Clair Shores, Mich. : Scholarly Press, 1972. -- P. 174. -- No AMICUS 60294

« La musique canadienne et la musique contemporaine de l'OSM : partie I - 1935-84 ». -- La scena musicale. -- (juillet/août 1997. -- No AMICUS 18220531

Le Passe-temps. -- Vol. 7, no 157 (30 mars 1901). -- P. 97. -- No AMICUS 139381

_____. -- Vol. 9, no 226 (21 novembre 1903). -- P. 170. -- No AMICUS 139381

_____. -- Vol. 20, no 507 (29 août 1914). -- P. 326-327. -- No AMICUS 139381

_____. -- Vol. 21, no 525 (8 mai 1915). -- P. 162, 168-170. -- No AMICUS 139381

Proctor, George A. -- Canadian music of the twentieth century. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1980. -- xxvi, 297 p. -- No AMICUS 11668874

Sœurs de Sainte-Anne. -- Dictionnaire biographique des musiciens canadiens. -- Lachine, Q[uébec] : Mont-Sainte-Anne, 1935. -- 299, [3] p. -- No AMICUS 8664525

« Théâtre musical ». -- Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada. -- Sous la direction d'Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2e éd. rev. et augm. -- [Saint-Laurent, Qué.] : Fides, 1993. -- No AMICUS 13213211

« Vox Populi ». -- Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada. -- Sous la direction d'Helmut Kallmann et al. -- Paris : Fides, 1983. -- P. 1053. -- No AMICUS 3579217

Retour à L'époque de la Première Guerre mondiale