Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Geoffrey O'Hara, composer, singer and lecturer (1882-1967)

Photograph of Geoffrey O'Hara

Source
Geoffrey O'Hara

Canadian-born Geoffrey O'Hara was a multi-talented musician who, during the course of his life, was a songwriter, composer, singer, teacher, lecturer, army singing instructor, ethnomusicologist, pianist and guild organizer. His lengthy career began in the first decade of the 1900s with minstrelsy, vaudeville and Tin Pan Alley, and he continued to entertain audiences and arrange music as late as the 1960s.

Although O'Hara lived in the United States from 1904 and became an American citizen in 1919, he maintained his ties to Canada through return visits and engagements, and through his interest in Canadian music. O'Hara hailed from Chatham, Ontario, where he was born on February 2, 1882. The music he heard and sang as a child in his hometown later influenced his compositions and his approach to writing music. As a child, he played piano avidly, and sang and played organ at the local Anglican church. His family's close ties to the church (his grandfather was an Anglican clergyman in Kingston) are evinced in his later output of hymns. In addition to musical activities, as a teenager he was a member of the Chatham cricket club.

Photograph of Geoffrey O'Hara in his teenage years

Source
The young O'Hara

Originally, O'Hara prepared to enter the prestigious Royal Military College at Kingston, Ontario, at age 18, and had trained with the 1st Hussars (although he later said he did not enjoy the experience). However, the untimely death of his father, Robert O'Hara, necessitated abandoning his plans for a military career. He instead took a job in a bank, where he worked for three years. At that time, desiring to make a career of music, he went to work in a piano store as a bookkeeper. By then, he was also singing tenor in church professionally. At age 21, in 1904, he took the bold step of hiring on as a blackface minstrel touring the United States. He subsequently performed in a variety of stage entertainments in and around New York, including light opera, vaudeville and travelling tent shows, and became active in teaching. This period also saw O'Hara's first recordings for Edison in vocal quartets, beginning in 1905.

Photograph of Navajo Indians recording songs for O'Hara on wax cylinders, 1913

Source
Navajo Indians recording songs for O'Hara on wax cylinders, 1913

In 1913, the American government, presumably impressed with O'Hara's ability to lead audiences in singing, appointed him to the position of instructor in American Indian music. In this capacity, he recorded American Indians singing their traditional songs, thus taking his place among the early ethnomusicologists who collected folk songs on wax cylinders. On later recordings for Victor and Edison, O'Hara sang several of the Navajo songs he had collected.

The year 1913 brought a breakthrough in O'Hara's success as a songwriter; his composition "Your Eyes Have Told Me What I Did Not Know" was recorded by Enrico Caruso on the Victor label. However, the composer considered his first true hit to be "Tennessee, I Hear You Calling Me", written the following year.

The music and chorus lyrics to "Tennessee" came to O'Hara in a dream. The song arose from the tunes that African-Americans living in Chatham, Ontario had brought with them from the American South after the American Civil War (O'Hara himself had at that time never been to Tennessee). Harry Von Tilzer of New York's Tin Pan Alley, helped O'Hara promote the song, which debuted in vaudeville, but it was not until they convinced Al Jolson to perform it at the Winter Garden that the success of the sheet music was ensured. The hit song sold around 128 000 copies in 10 weeks in 1914. However, Boosey and Company (later Boosey and Hawkes) brought a suit for plagiarism, claiming that "Tennessee" was too close to Charles Marshall's and Harold Harford's "I Hear You Calling Me", which John McCormack had made popular. O'Hara felt that the suit was unfair and raised only to prevent competition, though he admitted quoting two bars from the other song. Still, the damage was done and O'Hara's song fell from popularity.

Despite this setback, O'Hara continued to have success as a songwriter, but with what he termed "songs and music of the rather more difficult variety - songs of the type that are used only by professional singers and teachers" (Maclean's, 1921). Among these he counted "There is No Death" and "Give a Man a Horse He Can Ride". However, his next attempt at a popular song brought lasting success: the still-famous First World War hit "K-K-K-Katy", which was published March 16, 1918.

Cover of a WAR EDITION of sheet music for O'Hara's K-K-K-KATY

Source
Sheet music of O'Hara's "K-K-K-Katy." This "War Edition" was printed in a small size to save paper

There are conflicting stories of how "K-K-K-Katy" came to be written. O'Hara himself, writing in Maclean's magazine in 1921, said he wrote the melody while stationed at Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, teaching the American troops patriotic songs. However, the family of the Katy of the song's title (Katherine Craig Richardson) remembers it as being written in their living room in Kingston, Ontario, in 1917, and indeed this version of events is the best known. Katy was a friend of O'Hara's sister and O'Hara was particularly fond of her even after she married. Yet another version of events has O'Hara writing the song while visiting his grandfather in Kingston. In any case, "K-K-K-Katy" became an instant wartime hit and one that is still associated with Kingston. It was especially popular with American, Canadian and British servicemen and their families, so much so that the sheet music sold over one million copies. The Billy Murray recording of this song, on the Victor label, in 1918, was also very successful. O'Hara's lyrics have since been translated into other languages, including Estonian (http://ingeb.org/songs/kkkkkaty.html). The song has achieved a permanent place among the patriotic popular songs of the Great War. It was featured in the 1940 movie Tin Pan Alley, by 20th Century Fox, with Alice Faye (as Katy), Betty Grable and Jack Okie. Sadly, the Katy who inspired the song died in 1922, only a few years after it was written (www.mankato.msus.edu/dept/comdis/kuster/media/katy.html).

In 1919, after the end of the war, O'Hara married Constance Dougherty from Massachusetts. Together they had two children (Hamilton, and Nancy, later Nancy Jackson).

In the years following the First World War, O'Hara continued to make his living from music, in a variety of capacities. His experiences as a singing instructor soon led to a teaching career. He also gave talks on songwriting and other musical subjects. In this capacity, he held an instructor's position at the Teachers' College of Columbia University (1936-37), and also taught at Huron College and the University of South Dakota.

Advertisement for some popular recordings, TORONTO DAILY STAR, Sept. 12, 1919, page 4

Source
Advertisement for some popular recordings, Toronto Daily Star, Sept. 12, 1919, p. 4

O'Hara maintained an interest in his homeland. Although many of his recordings and compositions have distinctly American patriotic titles (such as his recording of "The South Will Do Her Part", many of his compositions reveal his Canadian roots and a connection to British heritage (for example, "Highlanders! Fix Bayonets"). In 1919, on a visit to Canada, O'Hara recorded two songs by fellow Canadian, Lieutenant Gitz Rice, on the Canadian Victor label ("Burmah Moon" and "Doughboy Jack and Doughnut Jill"). In addition, O'Hara set songs to the poetry of Canada's William Drummond, one of which ("The Wreck of the 'Julie Plante'") debuted with the Metropolitan Opera at Carnegie Hall in New York, around 1921. In subsequent years, the composer continued to visit his hometown of Chatham and his brother, F.C.T. O'Hara, who was deputy minister of Canada's Trade and Commerce Department in Ottawa.

O'Hara seems to have stopped making recordings as a singer around 1928, and to have concentrated on songwriting, lecturing and composers' guild activities. His career output of songs is voluminous: a total of around 500 popular and patriotic songs. Included in this number was a large body of hymns. O'Hara was in fact well regarded as a prolific writer of sacred songs, revealing his early ties to the Anglican church. Among his hymn compositions are "I Walked Today Where Jesus Walked", "There is No Death", and numerous others. He is also known for his barbershop tunes, in particular "The Old Songs". In addition to his output of popular, patriotic and sacred songs, he later drew on his experience in light opera to compose over a dozen operettas, beginning in 1927, including the three-act Little Women, from the novel by Louisa May Alcott. He also arranged and compiled collections such as Barber Shop Song Fest Folio and Canadian Folk Songs, Old and New.

Heintzman advertisement for Victrolas and Victor records, showing Geoffrey O'Hara's recording of K-K-K-KATY selling for 90 cents, May 1918

Source
Heintzman advertisement for Victrolas and Victor records, Toronto Daily Star, May 2, 1918, page 6. Geoffrey O'Hara's humourous composition "K-K-K-Katy" was selling for 90 cents

Early on, O'Hara had become aware of the financial and contractual difficulties faced by songwriters, and was active in protecting the interests of his profession. (He later noted, for example, that he received only one cent for each of the million copies of the sheet music of "K-K-K-Katy" that were sold; but that he had a much better contract for "There Is No Death", which gave him six cents for each copy sold.) To protect songwriters' interests and to try to standardize contracts with music publishers, he helped organize, around 1920, The Composers' and Lyric Writers' Protective League. Over the years, he led or was otherwise active in various professional associations. For example, in 1941 he was elected to the board of ASCAP (the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers), of which he was a charter member, and four years later he became president of the Composers-Authors Guild.

In addition to his ASCAP responsibilities, O'Hara's involvement with troop singing continued during the Second World War when he joined the USO, an organization that provided entertainment and other social services for the soldiers. In 1947, he received an honorary Doctor of Music degree from the University of South Dakota. O'Hara continued arranging music and giving inspirational talks into his last decades. By 1960, he and his wife had moved to Pawling, New York. In his later years, he also maintained a winter residence in St. Petersburg, Florida, where he died at age 84 on January 31, 1967, a few days short of his 85th birthday.

For more information on Geoffrey O'Hara's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.


References

"Geoffrey O'Hara" [vertical file]. -- National Library of Canada, Music Division

Gracyk, Tim. -- The encyclopedia of popular American recording pioneers : 1895-1925. -- Granite Bay, CA : Victrola and 78 Journal Press, 1999. -- P. 258. Also available in an abridged version entitled: Popular American recording pioneers, 1895-1925. -- New York : Haworth Press, c2000. -- vii, 444 p. -- AMICUS No. 23165107

Hoffman, Frank W. ; Carty, D. ; Riggs, Q. --Billy Murray : the phonograph industry's first great recording artist. -- Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1997. -- x, 544 p. -- AMICUS No. 14865920

Manning, Ed. -- "Hit song writer O'Hara reminisces about London in 1890s". -- London Free Press. -- (June 13, 1964). -- AMICUS No. 15782849

_____. -- "O'Hara's hits make a long list". -- London Free Press. -- (December 24, 1966). -- P. 8M -- AMICUS No. 15782849

Moogk, Edward B. -- Roll back the years : history of Canadian recorded sound and its legacy : genesis to 1930. -- Ottawa : National Library of Canada, 1975. -- xii, 443 p. -- AMICUS No. 80154. -- Also published in French under the title: En remontant les années : l'histoire et l'héritage de l'enregistrement sonore au Canada, des débuts à 1930

"O'Hara, Geoffrey". -- Encyclopedia of music in Canada. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2nd ed. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c1992. -- xxxii, 1524 p. -- AMICUS No. 12048560

O'Hara, Geoffrey. -- "Ontario to Tin Pan Alley". -- Maclean's. -- Vol. 34 (April 1, 1921). -- P. 24, 36-37. -- AMICUS No. 88134

"This date in musical history : March 16". -- Canoe [online]. -- [Cited June 11, 2003]. -- Access: www.canoe.ca/MusicHistoryMarch/march16.html

"Tin Pan Alley". -- Class act : those golden movie musicals [online]. -- [Cited June 11, 2003]. -- Access: www.classicmoviemusicals.com/filmst.htm#tin

Return to the First World War Era

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Geoffrey O'Hara, compositeur, chanteur et conférencier (1882-1967)

Photo de Geoffrey O'Hara

Source
Geoffrey O'Hara

Geoffrey O'Hara est né au Canada. Ce musicien aux multiples talents a été, au cours de sa vie, indifféremment parolier, compositeur, chanteur, professeur, conférencier, instructeur de chant dans l'armée, ethnomusicologue, pianiste et organisateur de guildes. Il entreprend sa longue carrière au début des années 1900 en interprétant des chansons de troubadour, du music-hall et de la musique populaire; il continue à distraire ses auditoires et à faire des arrangements musicaux jusque dans les années 1960.

Bien qu'il commence à vivre aux États-Unis dès 1904 et qu'il devienne citoyen américain en 1919, O'Hara reste en lien avec le Canada en y faisant des visites et des engagements ainsi que par son intérêt marqué pour la musique canadienne. Il est né à Chatham, en Ontario, le 2 février 1882. La musique qu'il entend et chante pendant son enfance, dans sa ville natale, influencera plus tard ses compositions et son approche de l'écriture de la musique. Enfant, il joue avidement du piano, il chante et joue de l'orgue à l'église anglicane locale. On retrouve les liens étroits que sa famille entretient avec l'Église (son grand-père était pasteur anglican à Kingston) dans les hymnes qu'il composera plus tard. Durant son adolescence, en plus de ses activités musicales, il est membre du club de cricket de Chatham.

Photo de Geoffrey O'Hara dans sa jeunesse

Source
Geoffrey O'Hara dans sa jeunesse

Au départ, O'Hara veut entrer au prestigieux Collège militaire royal du Canada, à Kingston, en Ontario, à dix-huit ans, et a suit l'entraînement du premier régiment de hussards (quoiqu'il avoue plus tard ne pas avoir aimé l'expérience). Toutefois, le décès prématuré de son père, Robert O'Hara, l'oblige à abandonner ses plans de carrière militaire. Il prend plutôt un emploi dans une banque, où il travaille durant trois ans. À ce moment-là, désireux de faire une carrière musicale, il va travailler dans un magasin de pianos comme commis aux écritures. À la même époque, il chante aussi à l'église comme ténor professionnel. En 1904, à l'âge de vingt et un ans, il franchit une étape décisive et part en tournée à travers les États-Unis comme minstrel masqué. Par la suite, il se produit à New York et aux environs de cette ville dans divers spectacles de scène, dont l'opéra-comique, le vaudeville et des représentations ambulantes sous la tente, et commence à enseigner. C'est aussi à cette époque, à partir de 1905, qu'O'Hara réalise ses premiers enregistrements avec des quatuors vocaux pour la maison de disques Edison.

Photo d'Indiens Navajo enregistrant des chansons sur des cylindres gravés à la cire pour O'Hara, en 1913

Source
ndiens Navajo enregistrant des chansons sur des cylindres gravés à la cire pour O'Hara, en 1913

I

Plus tard, en 1913, le gouvernement américain, apparemment impressionné par son aptitude à faire chanter des auditoires, le nomme professeur de musique amérindienne. À ce titre, il enregistre des Amérindiens chantant leurs chants traditionnels, prenant ainsi place parmi les premiers ethnomusicologues qui ont recueilli des chansons populaires sur des cylindres de cire. Lors d'enregistrements ultérieurs pour les maisons de disque Victor et Edison, O'Hara interprète plusieurs des chants navaho qu'il avait recueillis.

L'année 1913 marque un tournant dans le succès de Geoffrey O'Hara en tant qu'auteur-compositeur, lorsque Enrico Caruso enregistre sa composition « Your Eyes Have Told Me What I Did Not Know »; sous l'étiquette Victor. Malgré tout, le compositeur considère que son premier grand succès est « Tennessee, I Hear You Calling Me », qu'il a écrit l'année suivante.

C'est dans un rêve que lui sont venues la musique et les paroles de « Tennessee ». La chanson découle des airs que les Afro-Américains vivant à Chatham avaient apportés avec eux en quittant les États du sud des États-Unis après la guerre de Sécession (à cette époque, O'Hara lui-même n'avait jamais mis les pieds au Tennessee). Harry Von Tilzer, de Tin Pan Alley de New York, aide O'Hara à lancer sa chanson, qui fait ses débuts dans un spectacle de vaudeville. Mais c'est seulement après avoir convaincu Al Jolson de l'interpréter au Winter Garden que le succès de la musique en feuille est assuré. Il se vend près de 128 000 copies en 10 semaines, en 1914. Pourtant, la société Boosey and Company (devenue plus tard Boosey and Hawkes) porte plainte pour plagiat, arguant que « Tennesse » ressemble trop à la chanson « I Hear You Calling Me » de Charles Marshall et Harold Harford, que John McCormack a popularisée. O'Hara estime alors que cette plainte est injuste et qu'elle a pour seul but d'empêcher la concurrence, même s'il admet avoir emprunté deux mesures à la chanson. Pourtant, le mal est fait et la chanson d'O'Hara tombe dans l'oubli.

Malgré cet échec, O'Hara continue d'avoir du succès comme auteur-compositeur, mais avec ce qu'il définit comme « des chansons et de la musique plutôt plus difficiles - des chansons du type de celles qui sont utilisées seulement par les chanteurs professionnels et les professeurs » (Maclean's, 1921). Parmi ces dernières, on retrouve « There is No Death » et « Give a Man a Horse He Can Ride ». Cependant, sa tentative suivante dans la chanson populaire lui apporte un succès durable : il s'agit de la chanson à succès de l'époque de la Première Guerre mondiale encore célèbre aujourd'hui : « K-K-K-Katy », qui sort le 16 mars 1918.

Couverture de la musique en feuille de K-K-K-KATYd'O'Hara

Source
Musique en feuille de la chanson « K-K-K-Katy » d'O'Hara. Cette édition du temps de guerre a été imprimée dans un petit format pour économiser du papier

Il existe plusieurs histoires contradictoires sur la façon dont la chanson « K-K-K-Katy » a été écrite. O'Hara écrit dans le magazine Maclean's qu'il a composé la chanson alors qu'il était en poste à Fort Oglethorpe, en Georgie, et qu'il enseignait des chants patriotiques aux soldats américains. Toutefois, la famille de la Katy de la chanson (Katherine Craig Richardson) se souvient qu'il l'avait écrite dans leur salon à Kingston, en Ontario, en 1917; il va sans dire que cette version est la plus répandue. Katy était une amie de la sœur d'O'Hara et ce dernier l'aimait beaucoup, même après le mariage de Katy. Il existe encore une autre version des événements selon laquelle O'Hara aurait créé la chanson alors qu'il rendait visite à son grand-père à Kingston. De toute façon, la chanson « K-K-K-Katy » est immédiatement devenue un grand succès du temps de guerre et est encore associée à la ville de Kingston. Elle a été particulièrement populaire auprès des militaires américains, canadiens, britanniques et de leur famille, et ce, à un point tel que la feuille de musique s'est vendue à plus d'un million d'exemplaires. L'enregistrement de cette chanson par Billy Murray, en 1918, sous l'étiquette Victor, a connu aussi un grand succès. Les paroles d'O'Hara ont depuis été traduites dans d'autres langues, dont l'estonien (http://ingeb.org/songs/kkkkkaty.html). La chanson s'est sans aucun doute taillée une place permanente parmi les chants patriotiques populaires de la Grande Guerre. Elle a été mise en vedette dans le film Tin Pan Alley de la 20th Century Fox, sorti en 1940, avec Alice Faye (dans le rôle de Katy), Betty Grable et Jack Okie. Malheureusement, la Katy qui a inspiré la chanson est décédée en 1922, quelques années seulement après la création de la chanson (www.mankato.msus.edu/dept/comdis/kuster/media/katy.html).

En 1919, après la fin de la guerre, O'Hara épouse Constance Dougherty, du Massachusetts. Ils ont deux enfants (Hamilton et Nancy, devenue plus tard Nancy Jackson).

Au cours des années suivant la Première Guerre mondiale, O'Hara continue de gagner sa vie avec sa musique de bien des façons. Son expérience comme professeur de chant le pousse très vite vers une carrière dans l'enseignement. Il donne aussi des causeries sur l'art d'écrire des chansons et sur d'autres aspects de la musique. À ce titre, il occupe un poste de professeur à l'institut pédagogique de la Columbia University (1936-1937) et enseigne au Huron College et à l'University of South Dakota.

Publicité annonçant quelques enregistrements populaires; parue dans le TORONTO DAILY STAR, le 12 septembre 1919, page 4

Source
Publicité annonçant quelques enregistrements populaires; parue dans le Toronto Daily Star, le 12 septembre 1919, p. 4

O'Hara conserve un intérêt pour son pays natal. Bien que bon nombre de ses enregistrements et de ses compositions aient un parfum patriotique américain très net (comme son enregistrement de « Navajo songs The South Will Do Her Part », plusieurs compositions révèlent ses racines canadiennes ainsi qu'un lien avec le patrimoine britannique (comme « Highlanders! Fix Bayonets »). En 1919, lors d'une visite au Canada, O'Hara enregistre deux chansons écrites par un compositeur canadien, le lieutenant Gitz Rice, sous l'étiquette canadienne Victor (« Burmah Moon » et « Doughboy Jack and Doughnut Jill ». De plus, O'Hara adapte des chansons à la poésie du Canadien William Drummond, dont l'une, « The Wreck of the Julie Plante », fait ses débuts au Metropolitan Opera, au Carnegie Hall de New York, vers 1921. Au cours des années qui suivent, le compositeur continue de visiter sa ville natale de Chatham ainsi que son frère F.C.T. O'Hara, alors sous-ministre de l'Industrie à Ottawa.

Il semble qu'O'Hara cesse de faire des enregistrements en tant que chanteur vers 1928 et qu'il partage dorénavant son temps entre écrire des chansons, donner des conférences et participer aux activités de la Guilde des compositeurs. Au cours de sa carrière, il crée un nombre impressionnant de chansons : un total de près de 500 chansons populaires et chants patriotiques. On y retrouve, entre autres, plusieurs hymnes. O'Hara est reconnu comme un auteur-compositeur prolifique de chants religieux, ce qui révèle ses liens précoces avec l'Église anglicane. Parmi ses compositions religieuses, mentionnons « I Walked Today Where Jesus Walked », « There is No Death ». On le connaît aussi pour ses mélodies sentimentales, en particulier « The Old Songs ». En plus d'écrire des chants populaires, patriotiques et religieux, il se sert plus tard de son expérience de l'opéra-comique pour composer, à partir de 1927, plus d'une douzaine d'opérettes, dont Little Women, en trois actes, tirée du roman de Louisa May Alcott. Il arrange et compile aussi des collections comme Barber Shop Song Fest Folio et Canadian Folk Songs, Old and New.

Publicité de Heintzman annonçant des phonographes et des enregistrements Victor, dont l'enregistrement de Geoffrey O'Hara  K-K-K-KATY, que l'on vendait 90 cents; parue en mai 1918

Source
Publicité de Heintzman annonçant des phonographes et des enregistrements Victor; parue dans le Toronto Daily Star, le 2 mai 1918, p. 6. La composition humoristique de Geoffrey O'Hara « K-K-K-Katy » se vendait 90 cents

O'Hara prend conscience très tôt des difficultés financières et contractuelles auxquelles les auteurs-compositeurs doivent faire face et s'engage dans la protection des intérêts de sa profession. (Ainsi, il mentionne plus tard qu'il a reçu seulement un cent pour chaque copie du million de musiques en feuille de « K-K-K-Katy », vendues, mais qu'il avait obtenu un bien meilleur contrat pour « There Is No Death », qui lui rapportait six cents pour chaque copie vendue.) Afin de protéger les intérêts des auteurs-compositeurs et de normaliser les contrats avec les éditeurs de musique, il aide à organiser, vers 1920, la Ligue de protection des compositeurs et des paroliers. Au cours des années, il devient un chef de file dans diverses associations professionnelles ou y participe activement. Ainsi, en 1941, il est élu au conseil d'administration de l'ASCAP (American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers), dont il est membre fondateur; quatre ans plus tard, il devient président de la Guilde des auteurs-compositeurs.

En plus de ses responsabilités à l'ASCAP, O'Hara continue de chanter pour les soldats durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale en se joignant à l'USO, organisation offrant du divertissement et d'autres services sociaux aux soldats. En 1947, il reçoit un doctorat honorifique en musique de l'University of South Dakota. O'Hara continue de faire des arrangements musicaux et d'animer des causeries inspirantes jusque dans les dix dernières années de sa vie. En 1960, son épouse et lui s'installent à Pawling, dans l'État de New York. Vers la fin de sa vie, il possède aussi une résidence d'hiver à St. Petersburg, en Floride, où il meurt à l'âge de 84 ans, le 31 janvier 1967, quelques jours avant son 85e anniversaire.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements de Geoffrey O'Hara, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.


Références

« Geoffrey O'Hara » [documentation éphémère]. -- Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, Division de la musique

Gracyk, Tim. -- The encyclopedia of popular American recording pioneers : 1895-1925. -- Granite Bay, CA : Victrola and 78 Journal Press, 1999. -- P. 258. Disponible aussi en version abrégée sous le titre : Popular American recording pioneers, 1895-1925. -- New York : Haworth Press. C2000. -- vii, 444 p. -- No AMICUS 23165107

Hoffman, Frank W. ; Carty, D. ; Riggs, Q. -- Billy Murray : the phonograph industry's first great recording artist. -- Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1997. -- x, 544 p. -- No AMICUS 14865920

Manning, Ed. -- « Hit song writer O'Hara reminisces about London in 1890s ». -- London Free Press. -- (June 13, 1964). -- No AMICUS 15782849

_____. -- « O'Hara's hits make a long list ». -- London Free Press. -- (December 24, 1966). -- P. 8M. -- No AMICUS 15782849

Moogk, Edward B. -- En remontant les années : l'histoire et l'héritage de l'enregistrement sonore au Canada, des débuts à 1930. -- Ottawa : Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, 1975. -- xii, 447 p. -- No AMICUS 79943. -- Publié aussi en anglais sous le titre de Roll back the years : history of Canadian recorded sound and its legacy : genesis to 1930

« O'Hara, Geoffrey ». -- Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada. -- Sous la direction d'Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2e éd. rev. et augm. -- [Saint-Laurent, Qué.] : Fides, 1993. -- No AMICUS 13213211

O'Hara, Geoffrey. -- « Ontario to Tin Pan Alley ». -- Maclean's. -- Vol. 34 (April 1, 1921). -- P. 24, 36-37. -- No AMICUS 88134

« This date in musical history : March 16 ». -- Canoe [en ligne]. -- [Réf. du 5 juin 2003]. -- Accès : www.canoe.ca/MusicHistoryMarch/march16.html

« Tin Pan Alley ». -- Classic act : those golden movie musicals, the actors and actresses, the music [en ligne]. -- [Réf. du 26 août 2003]. -- Accès : www.classicmoviemusicals.com/filmst.htm#tin

Retour à L'époque de la Première Guerre mondiale