Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Hector Pellerin, singer, pianist and actor (1887-1953)

Photograph of Hector Pellerin

Source
Hector Pellerin

Hector Pellerin recorded over 140 wax cylinders and 78-rpm discs between 1916 and 1928. This singer, who was known for his baritone voice, had a large following in French-speaking parts of Canada and the United States, particularly after the advent of radio broadcasting, in the early 1920s, brought his voice into the homes of Canadians and beyond. He was also well known for his frequent appearances in French operettas, plays, and cabarets.

Although it was as a singer that Pellerin became best known, he originally studied piano and organ with the well-known Canadian composer Alexis Contant (1858-1918), as well as with the organist Joseph-Daniel Dussault (1864-1921). Unlike his teachers, however, Pellerin centered his career on popular music. He began his musical career, around 1907, playing the piano to accompany silent films in his hometown of Montréal. He moved to nearby Sorel, Quebec, still working as a cinema pianist, and it was there that he began singing.

Like Contant and Dussault, both of whom had studied and worked in Boston, Pellerin went to Amesbury, Massachusetts for two years, working there as an organist. However, he soon returned to Montréal. There he worked as an actor at local theatre houses, and sang in French operettas and cabarets.

Pellerin turned to recording in 1916; his first recording contract was with Columbia Gramophone in the United States. He specialized in interpreting French popular, cabaret and romantic songs by French songwriters such as Henri Christiné and Harry Fragson. He was quickly engaged by Edison in 1918, where he made wax cylinder recordings and later, 78-rpm discs. Meanwhile, in Canada, Pellerin also recorded for the Starr and His Master's Voice labels. Pellerin also did well with his recordings of French translations of American popular hits from Tin Pan Alley, New York City's enormously successful song-publishing district.

For example, Pellerin appeared on the Edison Amberol Records French records list in November 1919 with "C'est pour vous!" ("Everybody's Doing It Now"), an Irving Berlin hit tune from 1911 about rag-time dancing, which was all the rage at the time. Other songs that he performed in translation include George Gershwin's and Irving Caesar's "Swanee" (in French, "Swanie"); "Yes! We Have No Bananas" ("Oui, des bananes on en a"), by Frank Silver and Irving Cohn; and "For Me and My Gal" ("Pour toi et pour moi"), by George W. Meyer, Edgar Leslie and E. Ray Goetz. The Edison Amberol Records newsletter described Pellerin as possessing "a baritone voice of exceptional quality and beauty". The combination of popular French and American repertoire, and his attractive singing voice, rewarded the baritone with a large following in Canada.

Pellerin also recorded French versions of songs by fellow Canadians, such as Lieutenant Gitz Rice's famous "Dear Old Pal of Mine" from 1918, which Pellerin recorded as "Coeur Blessé" in 1921. He also enjoyed some success with recordings themed on exotic South Seas locales, a genre of popular music that was in vogue in those years. Pellerin's recordings in this style included "Aloha-Oe" ("Farewell to Thee"), composed by Hawaiian Queen Liliokalani and subsequently recorded by such artists as Don Ho, Lawrence Welk, Andy Williams and Elvis Presley. Also in this South Seas theme group was "Jinga-Bula-Jing-Jing", which Pellerin re-recorded in several different versions. Pellerin also performed some songs of his own composition, such as "Quand on est vieux" ("When We Are Old"), although they did not become widely known. On some recordings, he accompanies himself at the piano in his trademark cabaret style.

Pellerin did not devote himself exclusively to recording, however. He continued performing in various operettas, including La Petite bohème and Ma mie Rosette. As well, he travelled to France in 1921, and toured Quebec, New Brunswick and New England with troupes of other entertainers. His performances reportedly drew large crowds.

Cover of a book of Pellerin's favourite French songs, published by the sponsor of his radio show

Source
The book of Pellerin's favourite French songs, published by the sponsor of his radio show

The 1920s, in particular, were busy and productive years for Pellerin. Not only did he make recordings for several Canadian and American companies, as well as singing in operettas and touring, but he also sang on some of the very first radio broadcasts in Canada. Montréal was the first city in Canada with scheduled radio broadcasts, which began in May 1920; Pellerin began singing in these radio shows within two years. Radio was very good to Pellerin. As many singers discovered, radio could reach much larger audiences, and over a much broader area, than they could hope to reach through concerts or recordings alone. Radio offered steady employment, too, as singers performed live at the radio station, rather than the station playing the singer's recordings, as is the case nowadays. Pellerin's appearances were regular features on radio station CKAC Montréal (1933-1943). The Canadian Elma Hair Waver Co. Limited, the sponsor of his popular program, published a book of song lyrics to his favourite French songs, in response to demand from their listeners. Pellerin dedicated this little collection to the thousands of Canadian and American fans who wrote to him to express their appreciation for his singing.

Pellerin continued performing on radio broadcasts, in numerous stage plays and radio plays, and in Montréal cabarets, through the 1930s and the 1940s. After 1928, he recorded little if at all, devoting his time to radio and personal stage and cabaret appearances.

During his heyday, Hector Pellerin enjoyed star status in Quebec as a singer and entertainer in a variety of mediums. He remains one of Quebec's most-recorded singers.

For more information on Hector Pellerin's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.


References

Catalogue général français des disques à double face Columbia. -- Édition 1917. -- 16 p. -- P. 9

Dethlefson, Ronald. -- Edison Blue Amberol recordings. -- Vol. 2 (1915-1929). -- Brooklyn, N.Y. : APM Press, 1980-[1981]. -- AMICUS No. 2586905

Moogk, Edward B. -- Roll back the years : history of Canadian recorded sound and its legacy : genesis to 1930. -- Ottawa : National Library of Canada, 1975. -- xii, 43 p. -- AMICUS No. 80154. -- Also published in French under the title: En remontant les années : l'histoire et l'héritage de l'enregistrement sonore au Canada, des débuts à 1930

"Pellerin, Hector". -- Encyclopedia of music in Canada. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2nd ed. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c1992. -- xxxii, 1524 p. -- AMICUS No. 12048560

Pellerin, Hector. -- Un recueil de 200 chansons françaises choisies. -- Montréal : Canadian Elma Hair Waver, [1932 or 1933]. -- 168 p. -- AMICUS No. 11968266

Source

Return to the First World War Era

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Hector Pellerin, chanteur, pianiste et acteur (1887-1953)

Photo d'Hector Pellerin

Source
Hector Pellerin

Entre 1916 et 1928, Hector Pellerin a enregistré plus de 140 cylindres gravés à la cire et disques 78 tours. Ce chanteur, connu pour sa voix de baryton, a joui d'un vaste auditoire dans les régions francophones du Canada et des États-Unis, en particulier à la suite de l'avènement de la radiodiffusion au début des années 1920, ce qui lui a permis de faire entendre sa voix dans les foyers canadiens et étrangers. Hector Pellerin a également été très célèbre pour les nombreux rôles qu'il a interprétés dans des opérettes françaises, des comédies et des cabarets.

Même si c'est à ses talents de chanteur qu'il doit davantage sa célébrité, il a d'abord étudié le piano et l'orgue avec le compositeur canadien bien connu Alexis Contant (1858-1918) de même qu'avec l'organiste Joseph-Daniel Dussault (1864-1921). Contrairement à ses professeurs, cependant, Hector Pellerin se consacre à la musique populaire. Il entreprend sa carrière musicale vers 1907 en accompagnant des films muets au piano à Montréal, sa ville natale. Il déménage par la suite près de Sorel, au Québec, où il continue de travailler comme pianiste de cinéma et commence à chanter.

Comme Contant et Dussault, qui avaient tous deux étudié à Boston, Pellerin va vivre deux ans à Amesbury, au Massachusetts, et y travaille comme organiste. Il ne tarde toutefois pas à revenir à Montréal où il joue la comédie dans des théâtres locaux et chante dans des opérettes françaises et des cabarets.

Hector Pellerin fait ses premiers enregistrements en 1916; il signe son premier contrat avec la maison de disques Columbia Gramophone, des États-Unis. Il se spécialise dans l'interprétation d'airs populaires français, d'airs de cabaret et de chansons romantiques d'auteurs français tels que Henri Christiné et Harry Fragson. Il ne tarde pas à être engagé par la maison Edison, en 1918, où il fait des enregistrements sur cylindres gravés à la cire, puis sur disques 78 tours. À la même période, il enregistre également au Canada sous les étiquettes Starr et His Master's Voice. Pellerin connaît aussi du succès avec des enregistrements de versions françaises de succès populaires américains lancés à Tin Pan Alley, quartier d'éditeurs de chansons de New York énormément en vogue à l'époque.

Ainsi, Pellerin apparaît dans la liste des enregistrements français de novembre 1919 d'Edison Amberol Records avec « C'est pour vous! » (« Everybody's Doing It Now »), un succès de 1911 d'Irving Berlin sur le rag-time, qui fait alors fureur. Parmi les autres chansons qu'il interprète en version française, mentionnons « Swanee » de George Gershwin et d'Irving Caesar (« Swanie » en français), « Yes! We Have No Bananas » (« Oui, des bananes on en a ») de Frank Silver et Irving Cohn et « For Me and My Gal » (« Pour toi et pour moi ») de George W. Meyer, Edgar Leslie et E. Ray Goetz. Le bulletin d'Edison Amberol Records décrit Pellerin comme un chanteur possédant une « voix de baryton d'une qualité et d'une beauté exceptionnelles ». Son vaste répertoire de chansons françaises et américaines et sa voix attrayante lui valent un vaste auditoire au Canada.

Pellerin enregistre aussi les versions françaises de chansons de compatriotes canadiens, telle la célèbre « Dear Old Pal of Mine » (1918) du lieutenant Gitz Rice, qu'il enregistre sous le titre « Cœur blessé » en 1921. Il obtient aussi un certain succès avec des enregistrements inspirés de chansons exotiques locales des mers du Sud, genre de musique populaire en vogue à cette époque. Parmi les plus connus de ces enregistrements, on retrouve « Aloha-Oe » (« Farewell to Thee »), chanson composée par la reine d'Hawaï, Liliokalani, et enregistrée par la suite par des artistes comme Don Ho, Lawrence Welk, Andy Williams et Elvis Presley. Dans la même veine, Pellerin enregistre aussi plusieurs versions différentes de « Jinga-Bula-Jing-Jing ». Hector Pellerin interprète en outre ses propres compositions, comme « Quand on est vieux », mais celles-ci restent peu connues. Sur certains enregistrements, il s'accompagne lui-même au piano dans son style « cabaret » bien caractéristique.

Pellerin ne se consacre toutefois pas uniquement à l'enregistrement. Il continue de jouer dans diverses opérettes, notamment La Petite Bohème et Ma mie Rosette. Il voyage également en France en 1921 et fait des tournées au Québec, au Nouveau-Brunswick et en Nouvelle-Angleterre avec des troupes d'autres artistes professionnels. Il y aurait d'ailleurs attiré d'importantes foules.

Couverture d'un livre des chansons  françaises préférées d'Hector Pellerin publié par le commanditaire de son émission radiophonique

Source
Livre des chansons françaises préférées de Pellerin publié par le commanditaire de son émission radiophonique

Les années 1920, en particulier, sont effervescentes et productives pour Pellerin : non seulement fait-il des enregistrements pour des maisons canadiennes et américaines, chante-t-il dans des opérettes et fait-il des tournées, mais il chante aussi dans les toutes premières émissions radiophoniques diffusées au Canada. Montréal est la première ville au pays à programmer des émissions radiophoniques, qui débutent en mai 1920; moins de deux ans plus tard, Hector Pellerin commence à chanter à ces émissions et remporte un vif succès. Comme le constatent plusieurs chanteurs de l'époque, la radio peut atteindre des auditoires beaucoup plus importants et couvrir une région beaucoup plus étendue qu'ils ne peuvent espérer le faire par les seuls concerts ou enregistrements. Elle leur procure aussi un emploi stable, puisque les chanteurs se produisent en direct de la station radiophonique plutôt que l'on diffuse leurs enregistrements sur les ondes, comme c'est le cas maintenant. Pellerin chante régulièrement à la station montréalaise CKAC (de 1933 à 1943). La Canadian Elma Hair Waver Co. Ltd., qui commandite sa populaire émission, publie un livre des paroles de ses chansons françaises préférées, à la demande des auditeurs. Pellerin dédicace cette petite collection aux milliers d'admirateurs canadiens et américains qui lui écrivent pour lui manifester leur appréciation.

Hector Pellerin continue de se produire à des émissions radiophoniques, dans de nombreux spectacles sur scène et dans des radio théâtres ainsi que dans les cabarets de Montréal durant les années 1930 et 1940. Après 1928, il enregistre très peu; il se consacre à la radio et se produit dans des spectacles individuels sur scène et dans des cabarets.

À l'apogée de sa carrière, Hector Pellerin est considéré comme une vedette au Québec en tant que chanteur et artiste professionnel dans plusieurs domaines. Il fait encore partie des chanteurs québécois qui ont fait le plus d'enregistrements.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements d'Hector Pellerin, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.


Références

Catalogue général français des disques à double face Columbia. -- Édition 1917. -- 16 p. -- P. 9

Dethlefson, Ronald. -- Edison Blue Amberol recordings. -- Vol. 2 (1915-1929). -- Brooklyn, N.Y. : APM Press, 1981. -- No AMICUS 2586905

Moogk, Edward B. -- En remontant les années : l'histoire et l'héritage de l'enregistrement sonore au Canada, des débuts à 1930. -- Ottawa : Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, 1975. -- xii, 447 p. -- No AMICUS 79943. -- Publié aussi en anglais sous le titre de Roll back the years : history of Canadian recorded sound and its legacy : genesis to 1930

« Pellerin, Hector ». -- Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada. -- Sous la direction de Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2e éd. - [Saint-Laurent, Qué.] : Fides, 1993. -- 3 vol. -- No AMICUS 13213211

Pellerin, Hector. -- Un recueil de 200 chansons françaises choisies. -- Montréal : Canadian Elma Hair Waver, [1932 ou 1933]. -- 168 p. -- No AMICUS 11968266

Source

Retour à L'époque de la Première Guerre mondiale