Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Albert Plunkett, entertainer (1899-1957)

Photograph of Al Plunkett

Source
Albert Plunkett

The crooner Al Plunkett was one of the most famous of the soldier-entertainers with the First World War Canadian concert party, the Dumbells. Plunkett joined the Canadian Army's 58th Infantry Battalion while still underage and saw active duty in the trenches overseas from 1916. After being wounded, he returned to duty with the YMCA as an entertainer for the troops, working for his older brother Captain Mert Plunkett. Mert chose Al as an inaugural member of his new concert party, the Dumbells, in the summer of 1917 in France. On their return to Canada in 1919, Al assisted Mert in planning a Canadian tour of their successful Dumbells act, which lasted until 1932.

Al's role was the suave man about town; he sang in top hat and tails, danced and performed in comic sketches. His signature tunes with the Dumbells included "Those Wild, Wild Women Are Making a Wild Man of Me", and "I Know Where the Flies Go in Wintertime", which sold record amounts of sheet music. He also starred in the Dumbells' adaptation of HMS Pinafore. After a great success on Broadway with Biff, Bing, Bang, Plunkett turned down a job offer from Al Jolson. Al Plunkett's recordings for HMV included humorous songs such as "And Her Mother Came Too" and "Shall I Have It Bobbed or Shingled?".

After the Dumbells disbanded in 1932, Al Plunkett continued to sing on radio and in nightclubs in Canada and the United States. He joined the Royal Canadian Air Force in the Second World War and served in Canada before being honourably discharged. Later, Plunkett became a road inspector for the Ontario Department of Highways and still later, managed a nursing home with his wife, Marie. The former star died in April 1957.

For more information on Al Plunkett's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.


References

"The Dumbells". -- Encyclopedia of music in Canada. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2nd ed. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c1992. -- xxxii, 1524 p. -- AMICUS No. 2048560

Plunkett, Albert William ; Earle, Patrise. -- Al Plunkett : the famous Dumbell. -- By Patrise Earle, as told by Al Plunkett. -- New York : Pageant Press, [1956]. -- 107 p. -- AMICUS No. 13090515

Dumbells

Return to the First World War Era

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Albert Plunkett, fantaisiste (1899-1957)

Photo d'Al Plunkett

Source
Albert Plunkett

Le chanteur de variétés Al Plunkett a été l'un des artistes amuseurs de soldats les plus fameux de la Première Guerre mondiale en jouant dans le groupe musical des Dumbells. Il se joint au 58e Bataillon d'infanterie de l'armée canadienne alors qu'il n'a pas encore l'âge légal et se retrouve dans les tranchées en Europe dès 1916. Après avoir été blessé, il reprend du service avec l'YMCA comme artiste de spectacle pour les soldats, travaillant avec son frère plus âgé, le capitaine Mert Plunkett. Mert choisit Al pour faire partie du spectacle inaugural de son nouveau groupe musical des Dumbells durant l'été de 1917 en France. À leur retour au Canada, en 1919, Al aide Mert à organiser une tournée canadienne de la revue des Dumbells, couronnée de succès, qui durera jusqu'en 1932.

Dans cette revue, Al joue le rôle d'un homme de la ville suave; il chante en queue-de-pie et en haut-de-forme, danse et fait des sketches comiques. Parmi ses airs les plus populaires avec les Dumbells figurent « Those Wild, Wild Women Are Making a Wild Man of Me » et « I Know Where the Flies Go in Wintertime », dont la vente de musiques en feuille atteint des chiffres records. Il est aussi la vedette dans l'adaptation, par les Dumbells, de HMS Pinafore. Après avoir remporté un immense succès à Broadway avec Biff, Bing, Bang, Plunkett rejette une offre d'emploi d'Al Jolson. Al Plunkett enregistre chez HMV notamment des chansons humoristiques comme « And Her Mother Came Too » et « Shall I Have it Bobbed or Shingled? ».

Après la dissolution des Dumbells, en 1932, Al Plunkett continue de chanter à la radio et dans des boîtes de nuit au Canada et aux États-Unis. Il se joint à l'Aviation royale du Canada pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et sert au Canada avant d'être réformé avec honneur. Plus tard, Plunkett devient inspecteur des routes pour le Department of Highways de l'Ontario, puis gère, avec sa femme Marie, une maison de soins infirmiers. Il meurt en avril 1957.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements d'Al Plunkett, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.


Références

« The Dumbells ». -- Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada. -- Sous la direction d'Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2e éd. rev. et augm. -- [Saint-Laurent, Qué.] : Fides, 1993. -- 3 vol. -- No AMICUS 13213211

Plunkett, Albert William ; Earle, Patrise. -- Al Plunkett : the famous Dumbell. -- New York : Pageant Press [1956]. -- 107 p. -- No AMICUS 13090515

Dumbells

Retour à L'époque de la Première Guerre mondiale