Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Captain Merton (Mert) Wesley Plunkett, composer, conductor and founder of the Dumbells (1888-1966)

Photograph of Captain Mert Plunkett

Source
Captain Mert Plunkett

Mert Plunkett has been called a show-business genius for his role as founder of the highly successful vaudeville troupe of Canadian soldiers, the Dumbells. Born in Orillia, Ontario, Plunkett studied music, played piano and trombone, and briefly ran a grocery business. When the First World War broke out, he became the YMCA's troop entertainment director and was attached to the 35th Infantry Battalion with the rank of honorary captain. In this capacity, "Cap Mert" played piano in and directed amateur shows at camps in England and France, and coordinated various concert parties.

Photograph of Captain Mert Plunkett in uniform

Source
"Cap Mert" in uniform

The Dumbells concert party was his brainchild; he proposed its formation and chose its members. He engineered the Dumbells' successes in London, England, at the Coliseum Theatre, and on Broadway in 1921, and was decorated by King Albert of Belgium.

Plunkett set up and managed the civilian Dumbells touring show in North America from 1919 to 1932, and conducted the Dumbells Orchestra. He also composed popular songs including "Come Back, Old Pal", which was first performed in the Dumbells revue Carry On in September 1922, and was released in sheet music by Leo Feist Limited, and on record by His Master's Voice and Apex. Another Plunkett hit composition was "Winter Will Come", which his Overseas Orchestra recorded on HMV in 1923.

After the Dumbells folded in 1932, Plunkett tried the insurance business, but in 1939, he became the overseas entertainment supervisor for the Canadian Legion's Auxiliary Services. His composition "We're On Our Way", was sung by soldiers en route to Europe and became popular in England. After the Second World War, Plunkett managed an entertainment club and retired to Collingwood, Ontario, with his wife, Lila Taylor. The impresario passed away at age 78, on December 20, 1966.

For more information on Mert Plunkett's compositions, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.


References

"The Dumbells". -- Encyclopedia of music in Canada. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2nd ed. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c1992. -- xxxii, 1524 p. -- AMICUS No. 12048560

Plunkett, Albert William ; Earle, Patrise. -- Al Plunkett : the famous Dumbell. -- By Patrise Earle, as told by Al Plunkett. -- New York : Pageant Press, [1956]. -- 107 p. -- AMICUS No. 13090515

Dumbells

Return to the First World War Era

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Capitaine Merton (Mert) Wesley Plunkett, compositeur, chef d'orchestre et fondateur des Dumbells (1888-1966)

hoto du capitaine Mert Plunkett

Source
Le capitaine Mert Plunkett

On a appelé Mert Plunkett un génie du monde du spectacle pour avoir fondé les Dumbells, troupe de théâtre de variétés montée avec des soldats canadiens et qui a connu un immense succès. Né à Orillia, en Ontario, Plunkett étudie la musique et joue du piano et du trombone; pendant une courte période, il exploite une épicerie. Lorsque la Première Guerre mondiale éclate, il devient directeur du divertissement de la troup du YMCA et est rattaché au 35e Bataillon d'infanterie avec le grade de capitaine honoraire. À ce titre, « Cap Mert » joue du piano, dirige des spectacles d'amateurs dans les camps en Angleterre et en France et organise divers concerts.

Photo du capitaine Mert Plunkett en uniforme

Source
« Cap Mert » en uniforme

Le concert populaire des Dumbells est de son invention; il en propose la formation et en choisit les membres. Il orchestre les succès des Dumbells à Londres, au Coliseum Theatre et à Broadway en 1921. Le roi Albert de Belgique lui décerne une décoration.

Plunkett monte et gère le spectacle civil itinérant des Dumbells en Amérique du Nord de 1919 à 1932 et dirige l'orchestre des Dumbells. Il compose aussi des chansons populaires, dont « Come Back, Old Pal », que les Dumbells chantent pour la première fois dans la revue Carry On en septembre 1922; Leo Feist Limited publie des musiques en feuille de la chanson et les maisons de disques His Master's Voice et Apex l'enregistrent. Une autre composition de Plunkett, « Winter Will Come », que son Overseas Orchestra a enregistrée chez HMV en 1923, connaît du succès.

Après la dissolution des Dumbells en 1932, Plunkett tente sa chance dans les assurances, mais il devient, en 1939, superviseur du divertissement outre-mer pour les services auxiliaires de la Légion canadienne. Les soldats en route pour l'Europe chantent sa composition « We're On Our Way », qui devient très populaire en Angleterre. Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Plunkett gère un club de divertissement, puis se retire des affaires et va demeurer avec sa femme, Lila Taylor, à Collingwood, en Ontario. L'imprésario décède le 20 décembre 1966, à l'âge de 78 ans.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements de Mert Plunkett, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.


Références

« The Dumbells ». -- Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada. -- Sous la direction d'Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2e éd. rev. et augm. -- [Saint-Laurent, Qué.] : Fides, 1993. -- 3 vol. -- No AMICUS 13213211

Plunkett, Albert William ; Earle, Patrise. -- Al Plunkett : the famous Dumbell. -- New York : Pageant Press, [1956]. -- 107 p. -- No AMICUS 13090515

Dumbells

Retour à L'époque de la Première Guerre mondiale