Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Lieutenant Gitz Rice, singer, entertainer, songwriter and pianist (1891-1947)

Photograph of Lieutenant Gitz Rice in uniform

Source
Lieutenant Gitz Rice

The name of Lieutenant Gitz Ingraham Rice is most closely associated with the patriotic songs he wrote during the First World War, and with the concert parties that became a big part of building the morale of Canadian troops in the trenches in Europe.

Rice was born in New Glasgow, Nova Scotia in 1891. He moved to Montréal to study at the McGill Conservatory and subsequently joined the Army's First Canadian Contingent as a gunnery officer. During the First World War, he was posted to active service in Europe, where he fought in several battles, including those at Ypres, the Somme and Vimy Ridge.

Rice was one of the many Canadian soldiers and army officers who soon found themselves taking on the additional important service of organizing and performing in home-grown stage shows, to entertain their fellow soldiers on the front lines between battles. The forerunner of these military "concert parties" was the Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry Comedy Company, for which Rice sometimes played the piano. This first entertainment troupe was formed in May 1916. Rice and the other soldiers who took part in the Princess Pat's Comedy Company and similar troupes, were better suited to these activities than were professional entertainers, as they did not require extra pay and they were already trained for the dangers of the front lines. The soldier-entertainers wrote and rehearsed new material during lulls in active duty.

Cover of sheet music for DEAR OLD PAL OF MINE, featuring a signed photograph of Lieutenant Gitz Rice

Source
Sheet music of "Dear Old Pal of Mine"

It was in this way that, in addition to singing and playing the piano for the concert parties, Rice turned his hand to songwriting. Rice became known for hit songs such as "Dear Old Pal of Mine", in which a soldier laments his absence from his girlfriend. The first line states, "All my life is empty, since I went away"; and the refrain affirms the soldier's loneliness: "Oh, how I want you, dear old pal". Rice's song was popularized by the singer John McCormack, who adopted it as his signature tune… It is a typical popular song of the First World War era and was recorded variously as a ballad, a waltz and a foxtrot, as well as being released in sheet-music form. Rice was on active duty in Ypres, Belgium, when he composed the theme of this song.

"Dear Old Pal" got even more exposure, along with another of Rice's patriotic war-time compositions, "On the Road That Leads to Home", as part of the army recruitment play, Getting Together, which was staged in New York City in 1918. A later edition of the Edison Amberol Records newsletter said about "Dear Old Pal of Mine": "It is one of those simple melodies that goes straight to the heart, and is unforgettable". The song was also recorded in French by a fellow Canadian, Hector Pellerin, on Edison Amberol Records, as "Cœur blessé".

Rice was among the earliest musicians to record on Herbert Berliner's 216000 Series, which had been launched in 1916. On this label he sang with the well-known Canadian singer Henry Burr (Harry McClaskey) and others on "'Til the World is Free", by H.S. Bell. Such patriotic songs as these enjoyed popularity after Berliner and Pathé recorded them during the First World War, in part because they expressed the feelings of the nation.

Some sources have also attributed the wartime ditty "Mademoiselle from Armentières, parlez-vous?" to Rice, but the authorship of this classic song is less certain. According to one version of events, Rice wrote his own lyrics to this tune, while in a café in Armentières, France in 1915. The lyrics are said to immortalize the barmaid whom he watched serving drinks to soldiers. Some days afterwards, he sang his new lyrics for the Canadian troops of the Fifth Battery, Montréal, who were stationed nearby.

Photomontage of Lieutenant Gitz Rice and Canadian troops in France

Source
Lt. Gitz Rice and Canadian troops in France

Another famous wartime legend that Rice is believed to have played a part in is the singing of Christmas carols with the enemy troops one Christmas Eve in the First World War. In this story, which has been retold in various forms, a piano had been brought to the front lines to entertain the Canadian troops in the trenches. Rice is thought to have been the soldier who played "Silent Night", and first the Canadian soldiers and then the enemy Germans, began to join in, each in their own language, temporarily laying down their arms to jointly celebrate the Christmas music.

Rice was one of many soldiers who were gassed at Vimy Ridge in 1917. Although he was incorrectly reported in some sources to have died there, he was in fact invalided out. He retained the position of officer in charge of musical entertainment of troops in Canada, which involved entertaining tens of thousands of troops weekly.

Advertisement for Eckstein's recording of Lt. Gitz Rice's BURMAH MOON

Source
Advertisement for Eckstein's recording of Lt. Gitz Rice's "Burmah Moon"; Toronto Daily Star, Aug. 15, 1919, p. 4

After the war, Rice continued to write and publish songs, and he travelled with vaudeville troupes. He also maintained professional associations with other Canadian musicians. For example, in late 1918 or early 1919, he was associated with the Henry Burr Music Corporation of New York City. By that time, Rice had made a name for himself as a successful writer of popular hits, including the wartime patriotic song "Keep Your Head Down, Fritzie Boy"., the title of which was a warning to the enemy. This song became a big seller for the American Quartet with Billy Murray, who recorded it on the Victor label. Rice also recorded "Fun in Flanders", with Burr in 1918, on the Victor label.

In addition to these activities, Rice is listed among Canadian actors of the period. An audience member recalled seeing Rice in a variety show with the Marx Brothers, in a vaudeville theatre in Rhode Island, reciting the Rudyard Kipling poem "Mandalay" (Perelman, p. 624-625).

Rice continued writing songs and performing in the New York area. He joined forces with B.C. Hilliam to write the score for a stage musical, Princess Virtue, in the spring of 1921, but the show lasted only two weeks. In November 1925, he joined the Peerless Entertainers, organized by Frank Croxton (not to be confused with Burr's Peerless Quartet, with which the Peerless Entertainers competed). The Peerless Entertainers were available in New York City and for tours but, like Rice's earlier musical, this group was apparently not overly successful. In 1926, Rice again attempted a musical, this time with Werner Janssen. The show was called Nic Nax of 1926; Rice also performed in it.

Over the years, Rice also collaborated on several songs with lyricist Harold Robé, including his earlier success "Dear Old Pal of Mine", as well as "Because You're Here", and "Don't Forget You Belong to Me". Among the companies that recorded Rice's compositions was Delmar in Montréal. His other recording credits, aside from his own compositions, include making piano rolls for Ampico in the late 1920s, and singing on recordings for Victor and Pathé. Rice continued to be identified by his military rank of Lieutenant in record catalogues and listings.

Although details of Rice's later career are sketchy, it is known that he did occasionally sing and play the piano for audiences at the Maples Inn in Lakeside, Quebec (now part of Pointe Claire) in the 1940s. As well, during the Second World War, Rice again travelled to the front to entertain Canadian soldiers there. Rice died in New York, in October 1947, at the age of 56.

For more information on Gitz Rice's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.


References

Bordman, Gerald. -- American musical theatre : a chronicle. -- New York : Oxford University Press, 1978. -- viii, 749 p. -- AMICUS No. 476224

Cohen-Stratyner, Barbara Naomi. -- Popular music, 1900-1919 : an annotated guide to American popular songs. -- Detroit : Gale Research Inc., c1988. -- xxx, 656 p. -- AMICUS No. 8192329

Colombo's concise Canadian quotations. -- Edited by John Robert Colombo. -- Edmonton, Alta. : Hurtig, c1976. -- 280 p. -- AMICUS No. 11829605

Dethlefson, Ronald. -- Edison Blue Amberol Recordings. -- Vol. 2 (1915-1929). -- Brooklyn, New York : APM Press, 1980-[1981]. -- AMICUS No. 2586905 Gracyk, Tim. -- Henry Burr [online]. -- [Cited June 11, 2003]. -- Access: www.gracyk.com/

Hoffman, F. ; Carty, D. ; Riggs, Q. -- Billy Murray : the phonograph industry's first great recording artist. -- Lanham, Md. : The Scarecrow Press, Inc., 1997. -- x, 544 p. -- AMICUS No. 14865920

Moogk, Edward B. -- Roll back the years : history of Canadian recorded sound and its legacy : genesis to 1930. -- Ottawa : National Library of Canada, 1975. -- xii, 443 p. -- AMICUS No. 80154. -- Also published in French under the title: En remontant les années : l'histoire et l'héritage de l'enregistrement sonore au Canada, des débuts à 1930

"Nova Scotia quotations". -- Nova Scotia's electronic attic [online]. -- [Cited June 11, 2003]. -- Access: http://alts.net/ns1625/quotes.html

Perelman, Sidney Joseph. -- "I'll always call you a Schnorrer, my African explorer". -- The most of S.J. Perelman. -- New York : Simon and Schuster, 1958. -- P. 624-631. -- AMICUS No. 1123067

"The remarkable power of Christmas". -- Gospelcom.net [online]. -- [Cited June 11, 2003]. -- Access: www.actsweb.org/articles/article.php?i=135&d=1&c=8&p=1

"Rice, Gitz". -- Encyclopedia of music in Canada. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2nd ed. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c1992. -- xxxii, 1524 p. -- AMICUS No. 12048560

Source

Return to the First World War Era

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Lieutenant Gitz Rice, chanteur, fantaisiste, auteur-compositeur et pianiste (1891-1947)

Photo du lieutenant Gitz Rice en uniforme

Source
Le lieutenant Gitz Rice

Le nom du lieutenant Gitz Ingraham Rice est surtout associé aux chants patriotiques qu'il a écrits pendant la Première Guerre mondiale ainsi qu'à ses représentations devenues essentielles au maintien du moral des troupes canadiennes dans les tranchées d'Europe.

Rice naît en 1891 à New Glasgow, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il s'installe à Montréal pour étudier au Conservatoire de McGill. Après ses études, il s'engage dans le premier contingent militaire canadien comme officier d'artillerie navale. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, on l'envoie en service actif en Europe où il participe à plusieurs batailles, dont celles d'Ypres, de la Somme et de la Crête de Vimy.

Rice est l'un des nombreux soldats et officiers canadiens qui se retrouvent rapidement engagés dans l'organisation et la réalisation sur scène de spectacles de leur cru pour divertir leurs camarades du front entre deux batailles. La première compagnie de théâtre à offrir des spectacles militaires est le Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry; sa fondation remonte à mai 1916. Rice joue du piano à quelques reprises au sein de cette compagnie. Rice et les autres militaires qui font partie de la Princess Pat's Comedy Company et des autres troupes similaires sont mieux préparés pour ce genre d'activité que ne le sont les artistes professionnels : ils n'exigent pas d'être payés davantage et sont déjà habitués aux dangers du front. Les artistes-soldats écrivent et répètent leurs nouveaux numéros pendant les accalmies.

Couverture de la musique en feuille de DEAR OLD PAL OF MINE, ornée d'une photo signée du lieutenant Gitz Rice

Source
Musique en feuille de « Dear Old Pal of Mine »

C'est de cette façon que, en plus de chanter et de jouer du piano dans les spectacles, Rice devient auteur-compositeur. Il se fait connaître par des chansons à succès comme « Dear Old Pal of Mine », chanson dans laquelle un soldat se plaint d'être loin de sa petite amie. La chanson commence par « All my life is empty since I went away », et le refrain souligne la solitude du soldat : « Oh, how I want you, dear old pal ». La chanson de Rice est popularisée par le chanteur John McCormack, qui en fait son indicatif musical. Cette chanson populaire est typique de l'époque de la Première Guerre mondiale; on l'enregistre indifféremment comme ballade, valse ou fox-trot et on la publie aussi sous forme de musique en feuille. Rice a composé cette chanson alors qu'il était en service actif à Ypres, en Belgique.

« Dear Old Pal of Mine » ainsi qu'un autre des chants patriotiques du temps de guerre de Rice, « On the Road That Leads to Home », acquièrent une notoriété encore plus grande lorsqu'ils sont intégrés à la pièce militaire Getting Together. Cette pièce constitue un outil de recrutement; elle est jouée sur scène à New York en 1918. Dans une édition ultérieure du bulletin d'information de la maison de disques Edison Amberol Records, on écrit à propos de « Dear Old Pal of Mine » que « c'est une de ces mélodies simples qui vont droit au cœur et qui sont inoubliables ». Un autre Canadien du nom de Hector Pellerin enregistre la chanson en français chez Edison Amberol Records, sous le titre de « Cœur blessé ».

Rice est l'un des premiers musiciens à avoir enregistré des chansons dans la série 216000 de Herbert Berliner, lancée en 1916. Sous cette étiquette, il chante « Til the World is Free » de H.S. Bell avec, entre autres, le chanteur canadien bien connu Henry Burr (Harry McClaskey). Après leur enregistrement chez Berliner et Pathé, ces chants patriotiques connaissent une grande popularité pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, en partie parce qu'ils reflètent les sentiments de la nation.

Certaines sources attribuent à Rice la chanson du temps de guerre « Mademoiselle from Armentières, parlez-vous? », mais la paternité de cette chanson classique est moins certaine. Selon une version des événements, Rice aurait écrit des paroles sur cet air en 1915, alors qu'il se trouvait dans un café à Armentières, en France. Les paroles sont censées immortaliser une serveuse en train de servir à boire aux soldats qu'il observait. Quelques jours plus tard, il aurait chanté la chanson avec les nouvelles paroles devant les troupes canadiennes de la cinquième batterie, de Montréal, stationnées non loin.

Montage de photos du lieutenant Gitz Rice et des troupes canadiennes en France

Source
Le lieutenant Gitz Rice et les troupes canadiennes en France

Selon une autre légende fameuse du temps de guerre, Rice aurait chanté des cantiques de Noël avec les troupes ennemies lors d'une fête de Noël pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. L'histoire, qui a plusieurs versions, raconte qu'on a apporté un piano sur le front pour divertir les troupes canadiennes dans les tranchées. Rice aurait entamé « Silent Night »; les soldats canadiens auraient alors commencé à chanter avec lui, suivis peu après par les soldats allemands, chaque camp dans sa propre langue, tous déposant temporairement les armes pour chanter Noël ensemble.

Rice est l'un des nombreux soldats qui ont été gazés lors de la bataille de la Crête de Vimy en 1917. Certaines sources affirment à tort qu'il y a été tué; en réalité, il a été réformé après la bataille, mais a conservé son poste d'officier responsable des divertissements musicaux pour les troupes canadiennes; il doit donc divertir des dizaines de milliers de soldats chaque semaine.

Publicité annonçant l'enregistrement réalisé par Eckstein de BURMAH MOON du lieutenant Gitz Rice

Source
Publicité annonçant l'enregistrement réalisé par Eckstein de « Burmah Moon » du lieutenant Gitz Rice; parue dans le Toronto Daily Star, le 15 août 1919, p. 4

Après la guerre, Rice continue à écrire et à publier des chansons; il voyage avec des troupes de variétés et maintient des liens professionnels avec d'autres musiciens canadiens. Ainsi, à la fin de 1918 ou au début de 1919, il s'associe à la Henry Burr Music Corporation de New York. À cette époque, Rice s'est déjà fait un nom comme auteur de grands succès populaires, notamment le chant patriotique du temps de guerre « Keep Your Head Down, Fritzie Boy ». Cette chanson est devenue l'un des grands succès du quatuor américain de Billy Murray, qui l'a enregistrée sous l'étiquette Victor. Rice a aussi enregistré « Fun in Flanders ». avec Burr, en 1918, sous l'étiquette Victor.

En plus de toutes ces activités, Rice monte sur la scène; il figure sur la liste des comédiens canadiens de l'époque. Un spectateur se rappelle l'avoir vu dans un spectacle de variétés avec les Marx Brothers, dans un théâtre de variétés du Rhodes Island, récitant le poème « Mandalay » de Rudyard Kipling (Perelman, p. 624-625).

Rice continue à écrire des chansons et à donner des représentations dans la région de New York. Il se joint à B.C. Hilliam pour écrire la musique d'une comédie musicale, Princess Virtue, au printemps de 1921, mais le spectacle ne tient l'affiche que deux semaines. En novembre 1925, il se joint aux Peerless Entertainers dirigés par Frank Croxton (à ne pas confondre avec leur concurrent, le Peerless Quartet de Burr). Les Peerless Entertainers sont prêts à donner des spectacles à New York et en tournée mais, comme lors des premières comédies musicales de Rice, le groupe ne remporte apparemment pas grand succès. En 1926, Rice revient à la comédie musicale, cette fois avec Werner Janssen. Le spectacle s'intitule Nic Nax of 1926; Rice s'y produit aussi.

Au cours des années, Rice collabore, en outre, à plusieurs chansons avec le parolier Harold Robé, y compris pour son premier succès « Dear Old Pal of Mine » de même que pour « Because You're Here » et « Don't Forget You Belong to Me ». Delmar, à Montréal, est du nombre des compagnies qui enregistrent les compositions de Rice. Parmi les autres enregistrements à mettre à son crédit, mis à part ses propres compositions, mentionnons les cylindres piqués pour Ampico à la fin des années 1920 et des chansons enregistrées chez Victor et Pathé. On continue d'inscrire Rice sous son grade de lieutenant dans les catalogues et les listes.

Bien que les détails que nous ayons sur la carrière ultérieure de Rice soient sommaires, on sait qu'il a chanté et joué du piano à l'occasion pour des auditoires au Maples Inn de Lakeside, au Québec (qui fait maintenant partie de Pointe-Claire) dans les années 1940. Aussi, pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, Rice s'est rendu de nouveau au front pour y divertir les soldats canadiens. Gitz Rice meurt à New York en octobre 1947, à l'âge de 56 ans.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements de Gitz Rice, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.


Références

Bordman, Gerald. -- American musical theatre : a chronicle. -- New York : Oxford University Press, 1978. -- viii, 749 p. -- No AMICUS 476224

Cohen-Stratyner, Barbara N. -- Popular music, 1900-1919 : an annotated guide to American popular songs. -- Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research, c1988. -- xxx, 656 p. -- No AMICUS 8192329

Colombo's concise Canadian quotations. -- Edited by John Robert Colombo. -- Edmonton, Alta. : Hurtig, c1976. -- 280 p. -- No AMICUS 11829605

Dethlefson, Ronald. -- Edison Blue Amberol recordings. -- Vol. 2 (1915-1929). -- Brooklyn, N.Y. : APM Press, 1980-[1981]. -- No AMICUS 2586905

Gracyk, Tim. -- Henry Burr [en ligne]. -- [Réf. du 4 juin 2003]. -- Accès : www.gracyk.com/ (en anglais seulement)

Hoffman, F. ; Carty, D. ; Riggs, Q. -- Billy Murray : the phonograph industry's first great recording artist. -- Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1997. -- x, 544 p. -- No AMICUS 14865920

Moogk, Edward B. -- En remontant les années : l'histoire et l'héritage de l'enregistrement sonore au Canada, des débuts à 1930. -- Ottawa : Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, 1975. -- xii, 447 p. -- No AMICUS 79943. -- Publié aussi en anglais sous le titre de Roll back the years : history of Canadian recorded sound and its legacy : genesis to 1930

« Nova Scotia quotations ». -- Nova Scotia's electronic attic [en ligne]. -- [Réf. du 4 juin 2003]. -- Accès : http://alts.net/ns1625/quotes.html (en anglais seulement)

Perelman, Sidney Joseph. -- « I'll always call you a Schnorrer, my African explorer ». -- The most of S.J. Perelman. -- New York : Simon and Schuster, 1958. -- P. 624-631. -- No AMICUS 1123067

« The remarkable power of Christmas ». -- Gospelcom.net [en ligne]. -- [Réf. du 4 juin 2003]. -- Accès : www.actsweb.org/articles/article.php?i=135&d=1&c=8&p=1 (en anglais seulement)

« Rice, Gitz ». -- Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada. -- Sous la direction d'Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2e éd. rev. et augm. -- [Saint-Laurent, Qué.] : Fides, 1993. -- 3 vol. -- No AMICUS 13213211

Source

Retour à L'époque de la Première Guerre mondiale