Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Henri Lacroix, harmonica player (1895-1962)

Photograph of Henri Lacroix playing the harmonica

Source
Henri Lacroix

Henri Lacroix, the harmonica player, was one of the many folk musicians who recorded French-Canadian tunes in the 1930s. In his day, Lacroix made numerous 78-rpm recordings of Quebec's traditional music. His playing is still considered influential to musicians who carry on the traditions of Quebec music.

Born in Montréal in February of 1895, Henri Lacroix began experimenting with the harmonica at age nine. Like most folk musicians, he acquired his musical repertoire in the oral tradition, without any formal training.

Lacroix joined the Royal Navy in 1914, at age 19, and played with a Navy band in concerts at England's Crystal Garden. (It is not known what instrument Lacroix played in the Navy band. Other Canadians who used their musical abilities while in active service in the First World War include the famous Dumbells concert party, and pianist and songwriter Lt. Gitz Rice.)

Photograph of a pioneer Canadian Navy Band, aboard the ship, LADY EVELYN, Sydney, N.S., 1918

Source
A pioneer Canadian Navy Band, aboard the Lady Evelyn, Sydney, N.S., 1918. Henri Lacroix would have played in a band similar to this

The harmonica (known also in English as the "mouth organ" and in French as "musique à bouche") is a prominent instrument in Quebec folk music. The diatonic harmonica, which plays in a single musical key, was introduced to Canada in the 1800s. It quickly became a favourite -- especially for folk dance music -- because it was portable, cost little, and was fairly simple to play.

Lacroix's tour of duty ended in 1921 and he returned to Montréal. Lacroix continued performing in concerts in his spare time, while working at non-musical employment during the day. In the 1920s, he is known to have appeared in Conrad Gauthier's old-time folk music show "les Veillées du bon vieux temps" ("An Evening with the Good Old Days") at Montréal's Monument-National, along with such folk stars as Mary Bolduc and Ovila Légaré. Lacroix later also toured with Madame Bolduc's concert troupe, in the 1930s.

Lacroix's March 1927 recordings for the Starr label in Montréal (some of which were also released in the United States by Columbia) were among his earliest. Lacroix continued recording into 1928: for the Brunswick label, in April, in Plattsburgh, New York; for His Master's Voice, in August, in Montréal; and for Columbia, in November, in New York. Lacroix recorded as a solo musician and also led several ensembles. Recordings of his harmonica playing can be found under the names Trio d'Henri, Les Gais Villageois, Henri LaCroix et les Sérénadeurs canadiens, Quatuor Lacroix, and Henri et ses Habitants, among others. He also paired up with other folk musicians to record duos. For example, he returned to the Columbia recording studios in New York with Ovila Légaré in April 1928.

In all, Henri Lacroix is thought to have made 38 recordings by 1930, and an additional 100 recordings by 1939. This makes him one of the most prolific Quebecois recording artists of the difficult Depression years. In addition to the labels mentioned above, Lacroix's music was recorded on RCA Victor's Bluebird label.

A folk music star in his own right, Lacroix also accompanied such big-name performers as Conrad Gauthier, Isidore Soucy and Ovila Légaré. Like most Quebecois folk stars of the era, Lacroix performed on radio in the 1930s. This provided more exposure than disc sales, which fell off drastically during the Depression years. One such appearance was on the Montréal radio station CHLP, with fiddler J.O. LaMadeleine.

Lacroix's wide repertoire is representative of the traditional folk music of Quebec. He featured traditional dances such as marches, waltzes, reels and quadrilles, including such well-known pieces as "The Devil's Reel". In addition, Lacroix also performed many locally titled pieces that were probably of Canadian origin and possibly originated with him or his contemporaries. These locally titled tunes include "Reel du Saguenay" (about Quebec's Saguenay River), "Quadrille St-Henri" and "Marche de Dorval". Lacroix, like his contemporaries, also played tunes that had originated in the U.S. and become popular in Canada (see "Polka du Père Antoine", below).

The August 1929 Victor Records catalogue describes Lacroix as a "marvellous virtuoso of the harmonica". Among his best-remembered pieces are "Le Retour d'Henri" and "La Parade des ouvriers". In "Le Retour d'Henri", Lacroix not only plays the melody on his harmonica, but also simultaneously provides the rhythmic chords that accompany it. On this as on some other recordings, a guitar provides the only instrumental accompaniment; on others, piano, violin, drums, cowbell, Jew's harp, bones and even sandpaper can be heard. In "Polka du Père Antoine", recorded in 1932, a xylophone adds a modern dimension. This polka originates from the 1844 American tune, "Buffalo Gals". Lacroix's use of it illustrates the ease with which songs travelled across the Canada-U.S. border and were welcomed into the repertoires of Quebec musicians.

Decades after his Depression-era success, Lacroix's harmonica playing remains impressive. Several of his best recordings were re-released in 1982 by Folkways Records, on the fourth record of a set entitled "Masters of French Canadian Music".

For more information on Henri Lacroix's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.


References

"Compo Company Ltd. Fonds". -- National Library of Canada [online]. -- [Cited June 12, 2003]. -- Access: www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/4/7/m15-294-e.html

Encyclopedia of music in Canada. -- Edited by H. Kallmann et al. -- 2nd ed. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c1992. -- xxxii, 1524 p. -- AMICUS No. 12048560

"Gabriel Labbé fonds". -- National Library of Canada [online]. -- [Cited June 12, 2003]. -- Access: www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/4/7/m15-390-e.html

Labbé, Gabriel. -- Musiciens traditionnels du Québec (1920-1993). -- Montréal : VLB, 1995. -- 268 p. -- AMICUS No. 14357836

_____. -- Les pionniers du disque folklorique québécois, 1920-1950. -- Montréal : L'Aurore, c1977. -- 216 p. -- AMICUS No. 21582

Masters of French Canadian music 4 [sound recording]. -- Selected by Gabriel Labbé. -- New York : Folklore Records, p1982. -- Publisher no. : RF 115 Folkway Records. -- AMICUS No. 5035912

Thérien, Robert. -- "L'histoire de l'industrie du disque au Québec". -- October, 2000. -- Unpublished manuscript

Source

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Henri Lacroix, joueur d'harmonica (1895-1962)

Photo d'Henri Lacroix jouant de l'harmonica

Source
Henri Lacroix

Henri Lacroix, joueur d'harmonica, est l'un des nombreux musiciens folkloriques à enregistrer des airs canadiens-français au cours des années 1930. Il enregistre de nombreux disques 78 tours de musique traditionnelle du Québec. On considère que son style influence toujours les musiciens qui perpétuent les traditions de la musique du Québec.

Né à Montréal au mois de février 1895, Henri Lacroix commence à jouer de l'harmonica à l'âge de neuf ans. Comme la plupart des musiciens folkloriques, il acquiert son répertoire musical par tradition orale.

En 1914, alors qu'il a 19 ans, Lacroix s'enrôle dans la Marine royale et joue au sein d'un orchestre de la Marine dans des concerts donnés au Crystal Garden, en Angleterre. (On ne sait pas de quel instrument joue Lacroix.) D'autres Canadiens mettent aussi à profit leurs compétences musicales alors qu'ils sont en service actif au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale; parmi ceux-ci, on retrouve le groupe bien connu des Dumbells et le lieutenant Gitz Rice, pianiste et compositeur.

Photo d'un des premiers orchestres de la Marine canadienne à bord du LADY EVELYN, à Sydney (Nouvelle-Écosse), en 1918

Source
Un des premiers orchestres de la Marine canadienne à bord du Lady Evelyn, à Sydney (N.-É.), en 1918. Henri Lacroix aurait joué dans un orchestre semblable à celui-ci

L'harmonica, ou musique à bouche, est un instrument qui figure beaucoup dans la musique folklorique du Québec. L'harmonica diatonique, qui se joue en une seule tonalité, fait son apparition au Canada dans les années 1800. Il devient vite l'instrument préféré des gens -- surtout pour la musique de danse folklorique -- parce que c'est un instrument léger, peu coûteux et relativement facile à jouer.

Lacroix termine son service militaire en 1921 et rentre à Montréal. Il continue de donner des concerts dans ses temps libres tout en occupant le jour un emploi sans rapport avec la musique. À la fin des années 1920, il fait partie du spectacle de musique folklorique de Conrad Gauthier, les Veillées du bon vieux temps, au Monument-National de Montréal, où il est accompagné de vedettes de la scène folklorique comme Mary Bolduc et Ovila Légaré. Il participe également à la tournée de la troupe de Mary Bolduc dans les années 1930.

Lacroix produit ses premiers enregistrements en 1927 pour la maison de disques Starr de Montréal (certains sont également vendus aux États-Unis par Columbia). En 1928, Lacroix va enregistrer, en avril, à Plattsburgh (New York), pour la maison de disques Brunswick, en août, à Montréal, pour His Master's Voice, et en novembre, à New York, pour Columbia.

Lacroix enregistre, en outre, des disques comme musicien soliste et comme directeur de plusieurs ensembles, dont Trio d'Henri, Les Gais Villageois, Henri LaCroix et les Sérénadeurs canadiens, Quatuor Lacroix et Henri et ses Habitants. Il se joint également à d'autres musiciens folkloriques pour enregistrer des duos. Ainsi, au mois d'avril 1928, il retourne aux studios Columbia, à New York, pour faire des enregistrements avec Ovila Légaré.

On croit qu'Henri Lacroix a produit 38 enregistrements en 1930 et qu'il en a fait 100 autres avant 1939, ce qui fait de lui l'un des artistes du disque les plus prolifiques du Québec pendant les années difficiles de la Crise économique. Outre les maisons de disques énumérées ci-dessus, la maison de disques RCA Victor a enregistré la musique de Lacroix sur étiquette Bluebird.

Bien qu'il soit lui-même une vedette incontestable de la musique folklorique, Lacroix accompagne des artistes bien connus comme Conrad Gauthier, Isidore Soucy et Ovila Légaré. Comme la plupart des vedettes folkloriques québécoises de l'époque, Lacroix se produit à la radio dans les années 1930. Ces prestations à la radio le font mieux connaître que ses disques, dont les ventes baissent beaucoup pendant ces années de crise. Il se produit, entre autres, sur les ondes de CHLP, à Montréal, avec le violoneux J.O. LaMadeleine.

Le vaste répertoire de Lacroix est représentatif de la musique folklorique traditionnelle du Québec. Il joue des danses traditionnelles, des marches, des valses, des reels et des quadrilles, dont des morceaux bien connus comme « The Devil's Reel ». De plus, Lacroix joue des morceaux propres à certaines régions, la plupart d'origine canadienne, et qui ont peut-être même été composés par lui ou par ses contemporains. Citons le «  Reel du Saguenay  » (sur la rivière Saguenay au Québec), « Quadrille St-Henri » et « Marche de Dorval ». Lacroix, comme ses contemporains, joue également des morceaux américains qui deviennent populaires au Canada (voir « Polka du père Antoine » ci-dessous).

Le catalogue des enregistrements Victor du mois d'août 1929 décrit Lacroix comme un « merveilleux virtuose de l'harmonica ». Parmi les morceaux dont on se souvient le plus, citons « Le Retour d'Henri » et « La Parade des ouvriers ». Dans « Le Retour d'Henri », Lacroix non seulement joue la mélodie sur son harmonica, mais l'enrichit d'accords rythmiques. Pour cet enregistrement, comme pour d'autres d'ailleurs, il n'est accompagné que d'une guitare; dans certains autres enregistrements, on a droit à du piano, du violon, des percussions, une cloche de vache, une guimbarde, des os ou même du papier de verre. Dans « Polka du père Antoine », qu'il enregistre en 1932, un xylophone vient ajouter une couleur plus contemporaine au morceau. Cette polka est tirée de la pièce musicale américaine de 1844 intitulée « Buffalo Gals ». Le fait que Lacroix l'utilise illustre bien comment les chansons traversent facilement la frontière canado-américaine et à quel point elles sont les bienvenues dans les répertoires des musiciens du Québec.

Des dizaines d'années après son succès pendant la Crise économique, Lacroix impressionne toujours par son talent de joueur d'harmonica. Plusieurs de ces meilleurs enregistrements sont repris en 1982 par Folkways Records sur le quatrième album d'une compilation intitulée « Masters of French Canadian Music ».

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements d'Henri Lacroix, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.


Références

Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada. -- Sous la direction d'Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2e éd. rev. et augm. -- [Saint-Laurent, Qué.] : Fides, 1993. -- No AMICUS 13213211

« Fonds de la Compo Company Ltd. ». -- Bibliothèque nationale du Canada [en ligne]. -- [Réf. du 9 juin 2003]. -- Accès : www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/4/7/m15-294-f.html

« Fonds Gabriel-Labbé ». -- Bibliothèque nationale du Canada [en ligne]. -- [Réf. du 9 juin 2003]. -- Accès : www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/4/7/m15-390-f.html

Labbé, Gabriel. -- Musiciens traditionnels du Québec (1920-1993). -- Montréal : VLB, 1995. -- 268 p. -- No AMICUS 14357836

_____. -- Les pionniers du disque folklorique québécois, 1920-1950. -- Montréal : L'Aurore, c1977. -- 216 p. -- No AMICUS 21582

Masters of French Canadian music 4 [enregistrement sonore]. -- Selected by Gabriel Labbé. -- New York : Folklore Records, p1982. -- No de l'éd. : RF 115 Folkways Records. -- No AMICUS 5035912

Thérien, Robert. -- « L'histoire de l'industrie du disque au Québec », octobre 2000, manuscrit inédit

Source