Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Tommy Duchesne, composer and accordionist (1909-1986)

Photograph of Tommy Duchesne with accordian, date unknown

Source
Tommy Duchesne with his accordian, date unknown

Thomas (Tommy) Duchesne was born in Val-Jalbert on Lac-Saint-Jean on May 8, 1909. He learned, as a young boy, to play the violin and then the accordion. He moved to Montréal in 1930, and played first at the Théâtre National as a musician and actor with the Manda (Parent) and Joseph (Eugène Martel) company. He studied music with Rodolphe Plamondon and the piston accordion with Lucien Bickley. After a few difficult years, he got a job in the J. A. Turcot music store and made his radio debut on the program "Mus-ke-gee" (CKAC). In 1935, he formed the group Les Chevaliers du folklore with the fiddler Albert Allard and the guitarist Tony Ouellette.

Starting with Starr in 1934, his recording career stretched over more than 40 years, with a large number of hits including "Valse Denise," "Breakdown de Beauceville," "Reel de Tommy" and "Reel de Sainte-Anne." On the radio, where he appeared in many broadcasts on CKAC in the 1930s, Tommy Duchesne played the musical part on the very first broadcasts of "Réveil rural" in 1938 (SRC) and starred in the broadcasts "L'Anthologie du folklore" (CKAC, 1940) and "Tommy Duchesne et ses Chevaliers" (SRC, 1939-1945), hosted by Paul Dupuis and with the singer Fernand Perron and the caller Oscar Morin.

Photograph of Tommy Duchesne and his Chevaliers: Alfred Vadeboncoeur (guitar), Lucien Bickley (fiddle), Tommy Duchesne (accordian), Fernand Perron (singer), Teddy Miller (double bass), Ernest Décarie (piano), Paul Dupuis (master of ceremonies) and René Therrien

Source
Tommy Duchesne and his Chevaliers. Front row, left to right: Alfred Vadeboncœur (guitar), Lucien Bickley (fiddle), Tommy Duchesne (accordian) and Fernand Perron (singer). Back row, left to right: Teddy Miller (double bass), Ernest Décarie (piano), Paul Dupuis (master of ceremonies) and René Therrien

Tommy Duchesne, with his group, toured military bases in Canada during the Second World War, and also hosted the program "Tommy Duchesne" (CKVL, 1947). His group came to include Denise Émond and her sisters. Tommy Duchesne was very much in demand in more rural areas, but also performed sometimes in Montréal, most notably at the cabaret La Ceinture fléchée in March 1948.

Although Duchesne's popularity as an accordionist declined in the 1950s, he was on the "Swing la baquaise" team (CKVL, 1950-1951?), hosted the "Tommy Duchesne" radio program (CKVL, 1952), and cut new recordings for Alouette (1950-1952), the new record label that Rosaire Archambault had just founded. In early 1957, he appeared every Saturday noon with his Chevaliers du Québec on "Samedi terroir," broadcast on CJMS. Tommy Duchesne continued to perform live and record on the Bonanza label until 1974. He died in Montréal on April 5, 1986.

For more information on Tommy Duchesne's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.

Robert Thérien, music reseacher, Montréal

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Tommy Duchesne, compositeur et accordéoniste (1909-1986)

Photo de Tommy Duchesne tenant un accordéon, date inconnue

Source
Tommy Duchesne et son accordéon, date inconnue

Thomas (Tommy) Duchesne vient au monde à Val-Jalbert, au Lac-Saint-Jean, le 8 mai 1909. Très jeune, il apprend à jouer du violon, puis de l'accordéon. Établi à Montréal en 1930, il joue d'abord au Théâtre National comme musicien et comédien avec la troupe de Manda (Parent) et Joseph (Eugène Martel). Il étudie la musique avec Rodolphe Plamondon et l'accordéon à pistons avec Lucien Bickley. Après quelques années pénibles, il décroche un emploi au magasin de musique J.A. Turcot et débute à la radio à l'émission « Mus-ke-gee » (CKAC). En 1935, il forme le groupe Les Chevaliers du folklore avec le violoneux Albert Allard et le guitariste Tony Ouellette.

Amorcée chez Starr en 1934, sa carrière d'artiste exécutant s'étendra sur plus de 40 ans, avec bon nombre de succès, dont « Valse Denise » , « Breakdown de Beauceville » , « Reel de Tommy » et « Reel de Sainte-Anne ». Dans les années 1930, il participe à de nombreuses émissions radiophoniques à CKAC. Il signe, en 1938, la partie musicale des premières émissions du « Réveil rural » (SRC) et tient la vedette des émissions « L'Anthologie du folklore » (CKAC, 1940) et « Tommy Duchesne et ses chevaliers » (SRC, 1939-1945), animées par Paul Dupuis, avec le chanteur Fernand Perron et le calleur Oscar Morin.

Photo de Tommy Duchesne et ses Chevaliers : Alfred Vadeboncoeur (guitare), Lucien Bickley (violon), Tommy Duchesne (accordéon), Fernand Perron (chanteur), Teddy Miller (contrebasse), Ernest Décarie (piano), Paul Dupuis (maître de cérémonie) et René Therrien

Source
Tommy Duchesne et ses Chevaliers. Première rangée, de gauche à droite : Alfred Vadeboncœur (guitare), Lucien Bickley (violon), Tommy Duchesne (accordéon) et Fernand Perron (chanteur). Rangée du fond, de gauche à droite : Teddy Miller (contrebasse), Ernest Décarie (piano), Paul Dupuis (maître de cérémonie) et René Therrien

Avec son groupe, Tommy Duchesne effectue une tournée des bases militaires au Canada pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Il anime l'émission « Tommy Duchesne » (CKVL, 1947). Par la suite, sa troupe comprend Denise Émond et ses sœurs. Très en demande en province, Tommy Duchesne se produit parfois à Montréal, notamment au cabaret La Ceinture fléchée en mars 1948.

Bien que la popularité de l'accordéoniste ait baissé au cours des années 1950, il fait partie de l'équipe « Swing la baquaise » (CKVL, 1950-1951?), anime l'émission radiophonique « Tommy Duchesne » (CKVL, 1952) et réalise de nouveaux enregistrements pour Alouette (1950-1952), la nouvelle étiquette de disque que vient de fonder Rosaire Archambault. Au début de 1957, il se produit chaque samedi midi avec ses Chevaliers du Québec à l'émission « Samedi terroir » sur les ondes de CJMS. Tommy Duchesne continue de donner des spectacles et d'enregistrer sous l'étiquette Bonanza jusqu'en 1974. Il décède à Montréal le 5 avril 1986.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements de Tommy Duchesne, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.

Robert Thérien, chercheur en musique, Montréal