Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Roméo Beaudry, author, composer, pianist and administrator (1882-1932)

The Producer
The Composer
Portrait of Romeo Beaudry

Source
Romeo Beaudry

Roméo Beaudry was, along with his friend Herbert Berliner, the most important producer of Canadian artists in the first half of the 20th century.

Born in Montréal on February 25, 1882, Louis-Roméo Beaudry spent most of his youth in Québec City, where his father worked for the Willis Piano Company (a company established in Montréal since 1875). After finishing his classical studies in 1900, Beaudry worked at the National Bank before becoming a partner in his father's music store. Made a representative of the Starr Sales Company in 1912, he moved to Montréal and, at the same time, was a music critic for the daily La Patrie. In 1915, wishing to target the large Francophone community in New England, Columbia Gramophone of New York asked Beaudry to provide them with the names of Québécois artists. It is thanks to Beaudry, that more than a dozen Quebec artists -- including Jean-Marie Magnan, Joseph-Henri Thibodeau, Hector Pellerin, François-Xavier Mercier, Damase DuBuisson, Alfred Nohcor and Honoré Vaillancourt -- recorded in New York for Columbia's E series. In 1916, the Edmond Archambault store in Montréal hired Beaudry to work in the piano department.

In 1917, the Starr Piano Company of Richmond, Indiana, which, since 1915, had produced lateral-cut records in the United States, asked John Croden and Wilfred Stevenson, both of London, Ontario, to set up Canadian Phonograph Supply and evaluate the cost-effectiveness of setting up a record division in Canada. Encouraging results led to the creation, in 1918, of the Starr Company of Canada. Because of his relationship with Starr Sales and his knowledge of the artistic world in Quebec, Beaudry was made director general of the company. At the same time, his friend, Herbert Berliner, opened the Compo pressing factory in Lachine (now an area of Montréal). In 1919, Beaudry gave Compo the contract for pressing the entire production of Gennett records using American masters.

The Producer

In the summer of 1920, Beaudry founded Starr Phonograph of Quebec, whose offices were on Saint-Laurent Boulevard in Montréal. With the help of Berliner, who opened the HMV recording studios to him, Beaudry created the Gennett 11000 series on which one finds Beaudry's friend, J. Hervey Germain, as well as Hector Pellerin, Arthur Lapierre and Alex Bédard -- artists Beaudry had brought into Columbia a few years earlier. During a trip to France with John Croden in the summer of 1920, Beaudry began negotiations with French artists, some of whom appeared in the 11000 series.

In April 1921, following a disagreement, Herbert Berliner left the family business to concentrate on Compo and to start his own record company (called Sun, which became Apex shortly thereafter). He opened a recording studio in Montréal, where records of the new Starr 12000 series were recorded beginning in July 1921. Berliner started a price war, selling his Apex records at 65 cents. Thanks to an alliance with Compo, Starr also sold records at the low price, whereas HMV and Columbia refused to drop below the 85-cent mark. This energetic policy allowed Starr to become the most important producer in the francophone market in Quebec, whereas the Columbia company was drawn towards bankruptcy and HMV felt the pressures of the arrival of the radio, the departure of Herbert Berliner and the sale of its assets to the Victor Talking Machine.

In 1925, Compo bought out the Starr label, probably in partnership with Roméo Beaudry. During the 1920s, Starr produced 693 francophone records, compared to the slightly more than 500 by HMV and 287 by Columbia. Without a doubt, this success stemmed from Roméo Beaudry's dynamism and musical sense. Interested in all musical genres, he produced lyric, folk and variety artists with equal success. Isidore Soucy, Ovila Légaré, Eugène Daigneault, Alfred Montmarquette, Placide Morency, Hercule Lavoie, Albert Marier, Charles Marchand, Rodolphe Plamondon, Alexandre Desmarteaux -- almost all the great names of the time -- recorded for Starr. But his most brilliant feat remains the discovery of Mary Bolduc, in whom he put his faith despite the failure of her first records. The success of the girl from Gaspé was, in fact, what saved Starr when it was caught in the turbulence of the 1929 crash.

Roméo Beaudry also established Radio Music Publisher / Éditions Radio, a sheet music company whose offices were located at 1200 Amherst Street, in the new Montréal offices of Starr.

The Composer

American hits became increasingly popular after the First World War. To allow local artists to take advantage of the Canadian and Quebec publics' thirst for this music, Beaudry had his Starr and His Master's Voice artists record more than 150 French adaptations of American hits. Some of them are still known today:

"Y mouillera p'us pantoute" ("It Ain't Gonna Rain No Mo'")
"La Chanson du prisonnier" ("Prisoner's Song")
"Un coin de ciel bleu" ("My Blue Heaven")
"Ange de mon berceau" ("Pal Of My Cradle Days")

Roméo Beaudry also composed original songs, of which more than 75 were recorded. Among his most famous are:

"L'amour se souvient" (Hercule Lavoie)
"Ne fais jamais pleurer ta mère" (Hercule Lavoie)
"Les baisers sont les fleurs de l'amour" (Charles-Émile Brodeur)
"Alouette, n'aie pas peur de moi" (Albert Marier)
"Laissez parler les fleurs" (Jean Cartier)
"Votre avion va-t-il au paradis?" (Odilon Rochon)
Obituary notice for Romeo Beaudry, May 1932

Source
Obituary notice for Romeo Beaudry in the May 1932 edition of Canadian Music and Radio Trades Journal

On Friday, May 6, 1932, when Mary Bolduc and her daughter finished a recording session, Roméo Beaudry was, as usual, in the studio. The following morning, the artistic community was saddened to learn that Beaudry had died of a heart attack at his home at 670 Stuart Street in Outremont. He had celebrated his fiftieth birthday just a few months earlier. Known as much for his kindness as for his faith in Québécois talent, Roméo Beaudry made an important mark on the development of the Québecois record industry for close to twenty years.

Several of Roméo Beaudry's songs are found in collected works of music scores:

Nouvelles Chansons populaires
(Montreal, Éd. Silhouettes, 1928)

Chansons populaires de L.R. Beaudry
(Toronto, Ed. Gordon V. Thompson, 1935)

For more information on Roméo Beaudry's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.

Robert Thérien, music researcher, Montréal

Source

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Roméo Beaudry, auteur, compositeur, pianiste et administrateur (1882-1932)

Le producteur
Le compositeur
Portrait de Roméo Beaudry

Source
Romeo Beaudry

Roméo Beaudry est, avec son ami Herbert Berliner, le plus important producteur d'artistes canadiens de la première moitié du XXe siècle.

Né à Montréal le 25 février 1882, Louis-Roméo Beaudry passe la majeure partie de sa jeunesse à Québec où son père travaille pour la Willis Piano Company (compagnie établie à Montréal depuis 1875). Après avoir terminé son cours classique en 1900, Roméo Beaudry gagne sa vie à la Banque Nationale avant de devenir partenaire de son père, propriétaire d'un magasin de musique. Devenu représentant de la Starr Sales Company en 1912, il déménage à Montréal et exerce parallèlement le métier de critique musical pour le quotidien La Patrie. Voulant mieux servir la vaste communauté francophone de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, la Columbia Gramophone de New York lui demande, en 1915, de lui soumettre des noms d'artistes québécois. C'est ainsi que, grâce à Beaudry, plus d'une douzaine d'artistes du Québec, dont Jean-Marie Magnan, Joseph-Henri Thibodeau, Hector Pellerin, François-Xavier Mercier, Damase DuBuisson, Alfred Nohcor et Honoré Vaillancourt, enregistrent à New York pour la série E de Columbia. En 1916, la maison Edmond Archambault située à Montréal l'embauche pour travailler au rayon des pianos.

En 1917, la Starr Piano Company de Richmond (Indiana), qui produisait depuis 1915 des disques à gravure verticale aux États-Unis, charge John Croden et Wilfred Stevenson, tous deux de London, en Ontario, de mettre sur pied la Canadian Phonograph Supply afin d'évaluer la rentabilité de l'établissement d'une division Disques au Canada. Les résultats encourageants mènent à la fondation, en 1918, de la Starr Company of Canada. Grâce à ses relations avec la Starr Sales et à ses connaissances du milieu artistique au Québec, Beaudry est nommé directeur général de la compagnie. À la même époque, son ami Herbert Berliner ouvre à Lachine (maintenant un arrondissement de Montréal) l'usine de pressage Compo. Beaudry lui octroie, en 1919, le contrat de pressage de toute la production de disques Gennett à partir de matrices américaines.

Le producteur

Roméo Beaudry fonde, à l'été 1920, la Starr Phonograph of Quebec, dont les bureaux sont situés sur le boulevard Saint-Laurent à Montréal. Avec la complicité d'Herbert Berliner, qui lui ouvre les studios d'enregistrement de HMV, Beaudry crée la série Gennett 11000 sur laquelle on trouve Hector Pellerin, Arthur Lapierre, Alex Bédard, artistes qu'il avait fait entrer chez Columbia quelques années auparavant, et son ami J. Hervey Germain. Lors d'un voyage en France à l'été 1920 avec John Croden, Beaudry entre en relations avec des artistes français, dont quelques-uns se retrouvent dans la série 11000.

En avril 1921, Herbert Berliner quitte avec fracas l'entreprise familiale pour se concentrer sur Compo et lancer sa propre compagnie de disques (Sun, qui devient peu après Apex). Il ouvre un studio d'enregistrement à Montréal où seront enregistrés les disques de la nouvelle série Starr 12000 à compter de juillet 1921. HS Berliner lance une guerre de prix, vendant ses disques Apex à 65 cents. Grâce à l'alliance avec Compo, Starr les vend également à ce prix alors que HMV et Columbia refusent de descendre sous la barre des 85 cents. Cette politique énergique permet à Starr de devenir le plus important producteur dans le marché francophone au Québec, alors que la compagnie Columbia est acculée à la faillite et que HMV subit les pressions de l'arrivée de la radio, du départ d'Herbert Berliner et de la vente de ses actifs à Victor Talking Machine.

En 1925, Compo rachète l'étiquette Starr, probablement en partenariat avec Roméo Beaudry. Au cours des années 1920, Starr produit 693 disques francophones contre un peu plus de 500 pour HMV et 287 pour Columbia. Cette réussite vient sans contredit du dynamisme et du sens musical de Roméo Beaudry. Intéressé par tous les genres musicaux, il produit avec autant de succès des artistes lyriques, folkloriques et de variétés. Isidore Soucy, Ovila Légaré, Eugène Daigneault, Alfred Montmarquette, Placide Morency, Hercule Lavoie, Albert Marier, Charles Marchand, Rodolphe Plamondon, Alexandre Desmarteaux, enfin presque tous les grands noms de l'époque enregistrent pour Starr. Mais son coup d'éclat demeure la découverte de Mary Bolduc, à qui il fait confiance malgré l'échec de ses premiers disques. Le succès de la Gaspésienne viendra d'ailleurs sauver Starr, pris dans les remous de la crise économique de 1929.

Roméo Beaudry met également sur pied la Radio Music Publisher/Éditions Radio, société d'édition de musique en feuille qui a pignon sur rue au 1200, rue Amherst, dans les nouveaux bureaux montréalais de Starr.

Le compositeur

La chansonnette américaine connaît un essor impressionnant après le premier conflit mondial. Afin de permettre aux artistes locaux de profiter de l'engouement du public canadien et québécois pour cette musique, Roméo Beaudry fait enregistrer par les artistes de Starr et His Master's Voice plus de 150 de ses adaptations françaises de succès américains. Certaines sont encore connues aujourd'hui :

« Y mouillera p'us pantoute » (« It Aint Gonna Rain No Mo' »)
« La Chanson du prisonnier » (« Prisoner's Song »)
« Un coin de ciel bleu » (« My Blue Heaven »)
« Ange de mon berceau » (« Pal Of My Cradle Days »)

Roméo Beaudry compose également des chansons originales; plus de 75 sont enregistrées sur disque. Parmi ses compositions les plus célèbres, citons :

« L'Amour se souvient » (Hercule Lavoie)
« Ne fais jamais pleurer ta mère » (Hercule Lavoie)
« Les Baisers sont les fleurs de l'amour » (Charles-Émile Brodeur)
« Alouette, n'aie pas peur de moi » (Albert Marier)
« Laissez parler les fleurs » (Jean Cartier)
« Votre avion va-t-il au paradis? » (Odilon Rochon)
Notice nécrologique de Roméo Beaudry, parue en mai 1932

Source
Notice nécrologique de Roméo Beaudry, parue en mai 1932 dans le Canadian Music and Radio Trades Journal

Le vendredi 6 mai 1932, Mary Bolduc et sa fille terminent une séance d'enregistrement et, comme d'habitude, Roméo Beaudry est en studio. Le lendemain matin, la colonie artistique apprend avec consternation qu'il est décédé subitement d'un infarctus à son domicile du 670, rue Stuart, à Outremont; il avait célébré son cinquantième anniversaire de naissance quelques mois auparavant. Reconnu tant pour sa gentillesse que pour sa foi dans le talent québécois, Roméo Beaudry aura marqué profondément toute l'évolution de l'industrie du disque québécois durant près de vingt ans.

Plusieurs des chansons de Roméo Beaudry se retrouvent dans les recueils de partitions musicales :

Nouvelles Chansons populaires
(Montréal, Éd. Silhouette, 1928)

Chansons populaires de L.R. Beaudry
(Toronto, Ed. Gordon V. Thompson,1935)

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements de Roméo Beaudry, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.

Robert Thérien, chercheur en musique, Montréal

Source