Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Lionel Parent, author, composer and performer (1905-1980)

Portrait of Lionel Parent

Source
Lionel Parent

The nephew of Emma Albani, Lionel Parent's father was a choir master in the town of Labelle in the Laurentians. It was in this small town, that Lionel was born in 1905. Around 1910, the family moved to Nicolet, near Trois-Rivières, where the young Lionel sang in the church choir. His parish priest, Georges Désilets, broadcast experimental radio programs on a small, homemade transmitter and Lionel sang for these broadcasts on several occasions. As a result, Lionel became one of the first Canadian singers to be heard on radio. Around 1914, the Parent family immigrated to New England, where they stayed some fifteen years. At nineteen, Parent performed in a presentation of the operetta Les Cloches de Corneville in Springfield, Massachusetts. Returning to Montréal in 1929, the young singer played the roles of the young lead in vaudeville theatre with his sister, the actress Manda Parent (1907-1992). He then became a member of the Troupe du bon vieux temps, directed by Mary Bolduc and Jean Grimaldi, and later worked as a master of ceremonies in cabarets in Québec City, Trois-Rivières and Montréal.

Parent's recording career started on October 20,1935 when he recorded a Tino Rossi hit, "Notre nid d'amour", for Herbert Berliner's Starr company. For the next four years, he performed other Tino Rossi hits and those of French stars of the period. But the occupation of France by the Germans made the French songs less accessible and Parent turned to an American repertoire. He wrote most of the French versions that he recorded, including "Je ne sourirai plus" ("I'll Never Smile Again"), "Ta photo" ("You Are My Sunshine"), "Je rêve à toi" ("I Dream of You"), "Toujours" ("Always") and "Symphonie" ("Symphony"). He also aired a daily, quarter-hour show on Montréal radio called "Lionel Parent chante" (CKAC, 1941-1944), where he sang some of his own compositions to support the war effort ("Nous sommes Canadiens", "La Mort du soldat canadien", "Braves Petits Marins"). He recorded some thirty "war songs", more, in fact, than the famous soldier Roland Lebrun. As westerns were in vogue at the time, some of the songs were adaptations of Gene Autry and other Hollywood cowboy's hits: "Goodbye, Little Darling, Goodbye" ("Adieu"), "Beautiful Girl of the Prairie" ("Courage") and "Cowboy Serenade" ("Rêve de soldat").

Between September 1942 and October 1944, Parent recorded under the pseudonyms Georges Sauvé and José Lasalle, likely because of the conflict between record companies and the American Musicians' Guild. During the same period, he also recorded a children's song series on Compo's Mignon label. Parent's recording career then continued under his own name until the end of 1946. With more than 190 recorded songs, Lionel Parent is the Québécois artist with the most recordings between 1935 and 1950.

Throughout the 1940s, Parent worked as real estate agent. At the end of the decade, he opened a restaurant and continued to give occasional radio performances. He died as a result of a traffic accident close to his home in Repentigny, on April 8, 1980.

For more information on Lionel Parent's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.

Robert Thérien, music researcher, Montréal

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Lionel Parent, auteur, compositeur et interprète (1905-1980)

Portrait de Lionel Parent

Source
Lionel Parent

Neveu d'Emma Albani, le père de Lionel Parent était maître de chapelle à Labelle, dans les Laurentides. C'est dans cette petite ville que naît Lionel en 1905. Vers 1910, la famille s'installe à Nicolet, près de Trois-Rivières, et le jeune Lionel chante dans la chorale de l'église. Georges Désilets, prêtre de la paroisse, diffuse des émissions de radio expérimentales sur un petit émetteur de sa fabrication et Lionel Parent y chante à plusieurs occasions, devenant ainsi un des premiers chanteurs canadiens à se faire entendre à la radio. Vers 1914, la famille Parent émigre en Nouvelle-Angleterre où elle demeurera une quinzaine d'années. À dix-neuf ans, Lionel Parent se produit à Springfield (Massachusetts) dans une représentation de l'opérette Les Cloches de Corneville. Revenu à Montréal en 1929, le jeune chanteur tient des rôles de jeune premier au théâtre de vaudeville avec sa sœur, la comédienne Manda Parent (1907-1992), puis fait partie de la Troupe des Veilleés du bon vieux temps, dirigée par Mary Bolduc et Jean Grimaldi. Il gagne ensuite sa vie comme maître de cérémonie dans des cabarets de Québec, de Trois-Rivières et de Montréal.

Sa carrière sur disque débute le 20 octobre1935 alors qu'il enregistre un succès de Tino Rossi, « Notre nid d'amour », pour la compagnie Starr d'Herbert Berliner. Au cours des quatre années qui suivent, il reprend plusieurs autres succès de Tino Rossi et de vedettes françaises de l'époque. Mais l'occupation de la France par les Allemands rend les chansons françaises moins accessibles; Lionel Parent se tourne alors vers le répertoire américain. Il signe d'ailleurs la plupart des versions françaises qu'il enregistre, dont « Je ne sourirai plus » (« I'll Never Smile Again »), « Ta photo » (« You Are My Sunshine »), « Je rêve à toi » (« I Dream of You »), « Toujours » (« Always ») et « Symphonie » (« Symphony »). Animant son propre quart d'heure quotidien à la radio montréalaise, « Lionel Parent chante » (CKAC, 1941-1944), il y interprète quelques-unes de ses compositions pour soutenir l'effort de guerre (« Nous sommes Canadiens », « La Mort du soldat canadien », « Braves Petits Marins »). Il a d'ailleurs enregistré une trentaine de « chansons de guerre », plus, en fait, que le célèbre soldat Roland Lebrun. Le western étant à la mode à cette époque, certaines de ces chansons sont des adaptations de succès de Gene Autry et autres cowboys hollywoodiens : « Goodbye, Little Darling, Goodbye » (« Adieu »), « Beautiful Girl of the Prairie » (« Courage ») et « Cowboy Serenade » (« Rêve de soldat »).

Probablement à cause du conflit opposant les compagnies de disques à la Guilde des musiciens américains, Lionel Parent enregistre de septembre 1942 à octobre 1944 sous les pseudonymes de Georges Sauvé et de José Lasalle. Durant la même période, il met sur disque également une série de chansons pour enfants sur étiquette Mignon (de Compo). Lionel Parent poursuit sa carrière sur disque sous son propre nom jusqu'à la fin de 1946. Avec plus de 190 chansons sur disque, Lionel Parent est l'artiste québécois qui a le plus enregistré entre 1935 et 1950.

Tout au long des années 1940, Lionel Parent exerce le métier d'agent immobilier. À la fin de cette décennie, il ouvre un restaurant tout en continuant de chanter occasionnellement à la radio. Il meurt des suites d'un accident de la circulation survenu près de son domicile, à Repentigny, le 8 avril 1980.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements de Lionel Parent, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.

Robert Thérien, chercheur en musique, Montréal