Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Quatuor Octave-Pelletier (fl. 1916-1918)

Photograph of the Quatuor Octave-Pelletier, 1918

Source
Quatuor Octave-Pelletier: Bottom row (left to right): Jean-Marie Magnan, Guillaume Dupuis, director; Upper row (left to right): Rodrigue Gauthier, Arthur Lapierre and Joseph-Henri Thibodeau

Around 1916, Guillaume Dupuis (1887-1954), a choir master and singing teacher in several Montréal institutions, created the Quatuor Octave-Pelletier, a quartet named in honour of his former teacher, Romain-Octave Pelletier (1843-1927).

The Quatuor Octave-Pelletier brought together tenors Arthur Lapierre and Joseph-Henri Thibodeau, baritone Rodrigue Gauthier and bass Jean-Marie Magnan. Each member of the group continued his solo career and also sang with other groups.

The ensemble became known through concert performances before being offered, in May 1918, a recording session at Columbia studios in New York. The quartet recorded folk songs ("Alouette", "À la claire fontaine", "Isabeau", "V'là l'bon vent…"), patriotic songs ("Ô Canada", "mon pays, mes amours", "Un Canadien errant", "Ô Canada, terre de nos aïeux") and religious songs ("Minuit chrétiens", "Jérusalem"). Between August 1918 and January 1920, the ensemble produced ten records. On the first two (Columbia E3979 and E3980), the quartet was called the "Canadian Columbia Quartet".

On October 19, 1918, Rodrigue Gauthier died in the serious Spanish flu epidemic that claimed so many victims in Canada. Guillaume Dupuis took his place and bass Armand Gauthier filled the place left by Jean-Marie Magnan, but the group folded shortly thereafter.

For more information on Quatuor Octave-Pelletier's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.

Robert Thérien, music researcher, Montréal

Source

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Quatuor Octave-Pelletier (vie active 1916-1918)

Photo du Quatuor Octave-Pelletier, en 1918

Source
Le Quatuor Octave-Pelletier : Première rangée (de gauche à droite) : Jean-Marie Magnan, Guillaume Dupuis, directeur; Deuxième rangée (de gauche à droite) : Rodrigue Gauthier, Arthur Lapierre et Joseph-Henri Thibodeau

Vers 1916, Guillaume Dupuis (1887-1954), maître de chapelle et professeur de chant dans plusieurs institutions montréalaises et ancien élève d'Octave Pelletier, fonde le Quatuor Octave-Pelletier, nommé ainsi en l'honneur de Romain-Octave Pelletier (1843-1927).

Le Quatuor Octave-Pelletier réunit les ténors Arthur Lapierre et Joseph-Henri Thibodeau, le baryton Rodrigue Gauthier et la basse Jean-Marie Magnan. Chacun des membres du groupe mène en parallèle une carrière en solo et avec d'autres formations.

L'ensemble se fait d'abord connaître en concert avant de se voir offrir une séance d'enregistrement dans les studios de Columbia à New York en mai 1918. Le quatuor enregistre des chansons folkloriques (« Alouette », « À la claire fontaine », « Isabeau », « V'là l'bon vent »…), patriotiques (« Ô Canada, mon pays, mes amours », « Un Canadien errant », « Ô Canada, terre de nos aïeux ») et religieuses (« Minuit chrétiens », « Jérusalem »). Il produit dix disques entre août 1918 et janvier 1920; sur les deux premiers (Columbia E3979 et E3980), le quatuor est appelé « Quatuor Columbia canadien ».

Le 19 octobre 1918, Rodrigue Gauthier est emporté par la grave épidémie de grippe espagnole qui fait tant de victimes au Canada. Guillaume Dupuis le remplace et la basse Armand Gauthier comble le départ de Jean-Marie Magnan, mais le groupe met fin à ses activités peu après.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements du Quatuor Octave-Pelletier, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.

Robert Thérien, chercheur en musique, Montréal

Source