Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Fannie Tremblay, comedian, performer and humorist (1885-1970)

Portrait of Fannie Tremblay

Source
Fannie Tremblay

Stéphanie Massey was born on January 5, 1885. She adopted the stage name of Fannie Brémont and in 1898 was part of French actor Paul Cazeneuve's troupe at the National theatre. In 1901, she performed with Juliette Béliveau in Uncle Tom's Cabin at the National. In the same year, she married the performer Joseph-Robert Tremblay (born in Ottawa, 1882 - died in Montréal, 1959). Both were in the troupe at the National and those of other theatres in Montréal, as well as performing in troupes of the Théâtre Populaire, Palais-Royal and the Princess in Québec City. It was in Québec City, between 1920 and 1924, that Fannie Tremblay and her husband managed the Théâtre Impérial. It was also in the Old Capital that the couple founded, with other actors, the Troupe du Clocher, which was probably the first permanent francophone touring troupe.

Fannie Tremblay was one of the first francophone artists to record for the Starr company, beginning in July 1920. She recorded 34 humoristic sketches, some with her husband and others with J. Hervey Germain. In 1924-1925, she recorded a dozen sketches for His Master's Voice with Elzéar Hamel and Conrad Gauthier. Again at Starr in 1927, she recorded more comic dialogues as well as some songs, including "Whing hein", a traditional song that became "Le Rapide blanc" in an adaptation by Oscar Thiffault.

In the 1930s, the experienced actress was sought after for radio roles and got parts in many radio soap operas. She was one of the famous stars of Fridolinades by Gratien Gélinas and played in the first Quebec full-length films, such as Le Père Chopin (1945) by Fédor Ozep, Le Curé de village (1949) and Un homme et son péché (1949) by Paul L'Anglais. On television, she played in the soap opera 14, rue de Galais (SRC, 1954-1957). This actress, beloved by all, was over 80 years old when she left the stage. She died in Montréal on January 18, 1970.

For more information on Fannie Tremblay's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.

Robert Thérien, music researcher, Montréal

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Fannie Tremblay, comédienne, interprète et humoriste (1885-1970)

Portrait de Fannie Tremblay

Source
Fannie Tremblay

Stéphanie Massey naît le 5 janvier 1885. Elle adopte le nom de Fannie Brémont comme nom de scène et fait partie, dès 1898, de la troupe du comédien français Paul Cazeneuve au National. Elle joue à ce théâtre en 1901 en compagnie de Juliette Béliveau dans La Case de l'Oncle Tom. La même année, elle épouse le comédien Joseph-Robert Tremblay (Ottawa, 1882/ Montréal, 1959). Tous deux font partie de la troupe du National et de quelques autres théâtres de Montréal ainsi que de la troupe du Théâtre Populaire, du Palais-Royal et du Princess à Québec. C'est dans cette ville que Fannie Tremblay et son mari Joseph-Robert veillent aux destinées du Théâtre Impérial de 1920 à 1924. Dans la Vieille Capitale, le couple fonde, avec quelques comédiens, la Troupe du Clocher, qui a probablement été la première troupe de tournée permanente francophone.

Fannie Tremblay est l'une des toutes premières artistes francophones à faire des disques pour la compagnie Starr, dès juillet 1920. Elle y enregistre 34 sketches humoristiques avec son mari ou avec J. Hervey Germain. En 1924-1925, elle en grave une douzaine d'autres pour His Master's Voice avec Elzéar Hamel et Conrad Gauthier pour partenaires. De nouveau chez Starr à compter de 1927, elle met sur disque d'autres dialogues comiques ainsi que quelques chansons, dont « Whing hein », chanson traditionnelle qui est devenue « Le Rapide blanc » dans une adaptation d'Oscar Thiffault.

Dans les années 1930, cette comédienne chevronnée est très vite sollicitée par la radio et tient des rôles dans de nombreux radioromans. Elle est l'une des vedettes des célèbres Fridolinades de Gratien Gélinas et joue dans les premiers longs métrages québécois, notamment dans Le Père Chopin (1945) de Fédor Ozep, Le Curé de village (1949) et Un homme et son péché (1949) de Paul L'Anglais. À la télévision, elle joue dans le téléroman 14, rue de Galais (SRC, 1954-1957). Cette comédienne aimée de tous a plus de 80 ans lorsqu'elle quitte la scène. Elle décède à Montréal le 18 janvier 1970.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements de Fannie Tremblay, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.

Robert Thérien, chercheur en musique, Montréal