Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Craig Campbell, tenor (1878-1965)

Photograph of Craig Campbell

Source
Craig Campbell

Canadian tenor Craig Campbell won acclaim in Canada and the United States for his performances in operetta and on Broadway. Born in London, Ontario in 1878, Campbell had a unique tenor voice, which was described by one critic as "almost baritone in its richness" (Manning: London Free Press, 1962). Campbell himself used the Italian term "tenore robusto" (robust tenor) to classify his voice, and due to his wide vocal range, he was able to sing as both a baritone and tenor.

As a youth, Campbell moved with his parents Alexander and Elizabeth Campbell to Hamilton and Owen Sound. They finally settled in Winnipeg, where he made his first stage appearance at the High School Literary Society.

Campbell's formal debut took place in 1908, and from there he went on to enjoy international success. As a vaudeville tenor on the Keith-Orpheum and Loew's circuits, he travelled all over Canada and the United States until the 1930s. In 1912, he was engaged as one of the members of the original cast of Rudolf Friml's operetta The Firefly, and sang the lead role of Jack Travers opposite Emma Trentini. The premiere of the work took place at the Lyric Theatre. That same year, Campbell recorded "A Woman's Smile" from The Firefly on the Columbia label.

Campbell made a number of recordings for Columbia in 1912 and 1913. In addition to solo repertoire he recorded duets such as "Oh, That We Two Were Maying" and "Go, Pretty Rose" with soprano Grace Kerns, and an ensemble piece, "Carmena-Waltz Song," that featured Grace Kerns, contralto Mildred Potter and bass Frank Croxton.

Later he made recordings on the Pathé label. With English soprano Clara Butt, he sang on a recording of Laura Lemon's "My Ain Folk," one of the most popular ballads by a Canadian composer. While Campbell's concert repertoire included German lieder by Brahms and Schumann, French and Italian art songs, folk songs and operatic arias, he recorded mainly repertoire from light opera.

In 1914, Campbell became a member of the American Society of Singers, a New York musical repertory company, and there met fellow Londoner, contralto Cora Tracey (who had been delivered by the some London physician). The two remained friends throughout their lives. In a London newspaper article about Campbell, Tracey remembered him as "a fine looking man, with great personality, and a good actor as well as singer" (Manning: London Free Press, 1962).

Numerous engagements followed for Campbell in American concert halls and on the operetta stage. In 1918, he appeared with the New York Symphony Orchestra, singing a lead role in the cantata Faust and Helena with Swedish contralto Julia Claussen. He sang with the St. Louis Municipal Opera in the 1919 performance of Die Fledermaus, and was also acclaimed for his performances in Gilbert and Sullivan operettas.

Campbell received glowing reviews from New York music critics such as the New York Tribune's H.E. Krehbiel, who wrote of his intelligence, singing ability and means of reaching the emotions of his audiences. Another critic, Emilie Frances Bauer from The Musical Leader praised Campbell's consummate art and beautiful vocalism. Of Campbell's 1931 performance of Dick Dauntless in Ruddigore at Erlanger's Theater, Brooks Atkinson of the The New York Times wrote that had a certain presence on his feet and in his throat.

After retiring from the stage in the late 1930s, Campbell sang as tenor soloist at St. John's Episcopal Church in New Jersey for 12 years (1942 to 1954), retaining his singing voice until the age of 76 years. He lived in New York until his death in 1965.

For more information on Craig Campbell's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.


References

"Craig Campbell, 86, light-opera singer". -- The New York times. -- January 14,1965. -- AMICUS No. 14974826

Edward Moogk fonds. -- Correspondence from Craig Campbell to E.B. Manning, May 5, 1961. -- MVS 120 Box 1. -- Library and Archives Canada Music Section

Manning, E.B. -- "Tenor Craig Campbell one of London's 'forgotten' celebrities". -- London free press. -- 1962. -- AMICUS No. 8269010

Moogk, Edward. -- Roll back the years : history of Canadian recorded sound and its legacy, genesis to 1930. -- Ottawa: National Library of Canada, 1975. -- xii, 443 p. -- AMICUS No. 80154. -- Also published in French under the title En remontant les années : l'histoire et l'héritage de l'enregistrement sonore au Canada, des débuts à 1930

"Pathé Frères". -- Encyclopedia of music in Canada. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2nd ed. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c1992. -- xxxii, 1524 p. -- AMICUS No. 12048560. -- Also available online at www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Craig Campbell, ténor (1878-1965)

Photo de Craig Campbell

Source
Craig Campbell

Le ténor canadien Craig Campbell a reçu d'excellentes critiques au Canada et aux États-Unis pour ses interprétations de rôles d'opérette et pour son passage à Broadway. Né à London, en Ontario, en 1878, il possédait une voix de ténor unique, dont un critique a écrit qu'elle « avait presque la richesse d'une voix de baryton » [traduction] (Manning, London Free Press, 1962). Campbell utilisait le terme italien tenore robusto (fort ténor) pour qualifier sa voix et, compte tenu de l'étendue de son registre vocal, il pouvait chanter à la fois les parties de ténor et les parties de baryton.

Enfant, Craig Campbell déménage avec ses parents, Alexander et Elizabeth Campbell, à Hamilton, puis à Owen Sound. Avec sa famille, il s'établit par la suite à Winnipeg où il se produit pour la première fois sur scène à la High School Literary Society.

Ses débuts officiels ont lieu en 1908 et, dès lors il se dirige vers un succès international. En tant que ténor de vaudeville avec les tournées Keith-Orpheum et Loew, il voyage partout au Canada et aux États-Unis jusqu'aux années 1930. En 1912, il signe un engagement pour faire partie de la première distribution de l'opérette de Rudolf Friml, The Firefly, et chante le rôle principal de Jack Travers dans lequel il donne la réplique à Emma Trentini. L'œuvre est présentée pour la première fois au Lyric Theatre. Cette même année, Craig Campbell enregistre « A Woman's Smile », chanson tirée de The Firefly, sous l'étiquette Columbia.

En 1912 et en 1913, Craig Campbell fait quelques enregistrements chez Columbia. En plus du répertoire solo, il enregistre des duos tels que « Oh, That We Two Were Maying » et « Go, Pretty Rose » avec la soprano Grace Kerns, de même que « Carmena-Waltz Song », qu'il chante avec Grace Kerns, la contralto Mildred Potter et la basse Frank Croxton.

Plus tard, il enregistre chez Pathé. Dans un de ces enregistrements, il chante, avec la soprano anglaise Clara Butt, « My Ain Folk » de Laura Lemon, une des ballades les plus populaires écrites par un compositeur canadien. Bien que son répertoire comprenne des lieder allemands de Brahms et de Schumann, ainsi que des mélodies françaises et italiennes, des chansons populaires et des airs d'opéra, il enregistre surtout des œuvres tirées du répertoire d'opérette.

En 1914, Craig Campbell devient membre de l'American Society of Singers, une compagnie de répertoire musical de New York. Il y rencontre une concitoyenne de London, la contralto Cora Tracey, qui plus est, a été mise au monde par le même médecin que lui; il entretiendra des liens d'amitié avec elle sa vie durant. Dans un article paru dans un journal de London à son sujet, Cora Tracey dit qu'elle se souvient de lui comme « d'un bel homme doté d'une personnalité remarquable et d'un bon acteur et chanteur » [traduction] (Manning, London Free Press, 1962).

Craig Campbell signe ensuite de nombreux autres engagements pour chanter dans des salles de concert et d'opérette aux États-Unis. En 1918, il se produit avec le New York Symphony Orchestra et interprète le rôle principal dans la cantate Faust et Hélène avec la contralto suédoise Julia Claussen. Il chante avec le St. Louis Municipal Opera dans la production de 1919 de Die Fledermaus et reçoit également d'excellentes critiques pour ses interprétations des opérettes de Gilbert et de Sullivan.

Campbell fait l'objet de commentaires élogieux des critiques musicaux de New York comme H.E. Krehbiel, du New York Tribune, qui écrit qu'il est intelligent, qu'il a un don pour le chant et la capacité de toucher le public. Une autre critique, Emilie Frances Bauer, du Musical Leader, salue l'art consommé et la beauté transparente de sa voix. De son interprétation de Dick Dauntless dans Ruddigore au Erlanger's Theater, en 1931, Brooks Atkinson, du New York Times, écrit que Craig Campbell a de la présence dans sa vie et dans sa voix.

Après ses adieux à la scène à la fin des années 1930, Campbell donne des représentations à titre de ténor soliste à la St. John's Episcopal Church, au New Jersey, durant douze ans (de 1942 à 1954); il conservera sa voix jusqu'à l'âge de 76 ans. Il vit à New York jusqu'à son décès, survenu en 1965.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements de Craig Campbell, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.


Références

« Craig Campbell, 86, light-opera singer ». -- The New York times. --January 14, 1965. -- No AMICUS 14974826

Fonds Edward-Moogk. -- Correspondance de Craig Campbell avec E.B.  Manning. -- 5  mai 1961. -- MVS 120 Boîte 1. -- Section de la musique, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Manning, E.B. -- « Tenor Craig Campbell one of London's 'forgotten' celebrities ». -- London free press. -- 1962. -- No  AMICUS 8269010

Moogk, Edward. -- En remontant les années : l'histoire et l'héritage de l'enregistrement sonore au Canada, des débuts à 1930. -- Ottawa : Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, 1975. -- xii, 447 p. -- No AMICUS 79943. -- Publié aussi en anglais sous le titre de Roll back the years: history of Canadian recorded sound and its legacy : genesis to 1930

« Pathé Frères »  -- Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada. -- Sous la direction d'Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2e éd. rev. et augm. -- [Saint-Laurent, Qué.] : Fides, 1993. -- 3 vol. -- No AMICUS 13213211.  -- Aussi disponible en ligne : www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com