Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Damase DuBuisson, singer (1879-1945)

Photograph of Damase DuBuisson

Source
Damase DuBuisson

Damase Champagne was born in Québec in 1879 and began his theatre career there in 1896 playing male leads. In 1898, he married Blanche Fournier, a Québec singer; the two performers made a career together, both taking the surname DuBuisson. The DuBuissons spent a year in Québec as part of Mr. Grévin's troupe (of which Elzéar Hamel was also a member), before making their professional debut in Montréal in 1899, at the Eldorado, the chicest concert café of its day. In 1900 or 1901, Damase and Blanche DuBuisson played alongside one another in productions of operas and operettas such as Carmen, Les cloches de Corneville and La mascotte in Sohmer Park, under the direction of Ernest Lavigne. That same year, the couple toured Saint-Pierre and Miquelon twice with the Henri Miro troupe.

In 1902, the couple's biggest hit song, "Le papillon et l'hirondelle," made them a popular attraction at the Bijou theatre (then located on de La Gauchetière Street, in Montréal). Damase DuBuisson's flair for comedy led him to perform in popular vaudeville comedies at the Bijou theatre, alongside various singers, including Albert Roberval, Louis Vérande, and Lucien Boyer. In 1903, he returned to Québec, where he performed in a series of operettas, alongside his wife, as well as Rose Delyus, Juana Laviolette, and Victor Occellier. He also played at the Théâtre national and the Théâtre Les Nouveautés. In 1906, Damase DuBuisson and Ernest Ouimet founded the Cinéma Ouimetoscope. Two years later, Damase DuBuisson opened the Nationascope, the first theatre to show animated films in the province of Quebec.

In 1909, following another period in Québec, the DuBuissons returned to Montréal, and were hired by Montesano and Alphonse Demers. Damase took over artistic direction at the Théâtre Les Nouveautés, and the couple performed and sang in various plays there. This led to tours with Albert Roberval, Albert Duquesne, Paul Coutlée, and Elzéar Hamel. At the Théâtre canadien-français (located at the corner of Sainte-Catherine and Saint-André streets, in Montréal), Damase DuBuisson introduced a number of operetta performances with a troupe that included Jeanne Maubourg, Simone Rivière, Darcy, Armand Robi and Hector Pellerin. From 1911 to 1915, he held the post of artistic director at the Nationascope. In September 1916, at the urging of Roméo Beaudry, Damase DuBuisson recorded 14 musical selections for Columbia Records in New York. This recording includes popular Paris café songs of the day ("Mon p'tit cœur," "La petite innocente") as well as songs about French-Canadian regiments posted in Europe ("Le rêve de Bibi," "Bibi s'en va-t-en guerre," "Bibi en baloune") by Quebec composer Almar Perrault.

During the 1920s, Damase DuBuisson was featured at the main theatres in Montréal and Québec. In 1926, he recorded 10 songs for his friend Roméo Beaudry's Starr label. The DuBuissons performed frequently on the radio in the 1930s, notably in the soap opera "Le curé de village" (CKAC, 1932-1935), by Robert Choquette. In 1934, Damase DuBuisson became artistic director of the theatre section of Montréal's unemployment insurance office. Damase DuBuisson passed away in February of 1945.

During his 40-year career, Damase DuBuisson performed in over 800 dramas, comedies, and operettas.

For more information on Damase DuBuisson's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.

Robert Thérien, music researcher, Montréal


Reference

Thérien, Robert.  -- Unpublished research notes

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Damase DuBuisson, chanteur (1879-1945)

Photo de Damase DuBuisson

Source
Damase DuBuisson

Né à Québec, en 1879, Damase Champagne amorce sa carrière au théâtre dans sa ville natale en 1896 en jouant les jeunes premiers. En 1898, il épouse Blanche Fournier, une chanteuse de Québec avec laquelle il fait carrière sous le nom de DuBuisson. Après une année passée dans la Vieille Capitale avec la troupe de M. Grévin (dont fait partie également Elzéar Hamel), le couple fait ses débuts à Montréal en 1899 à l'Eldorado, le plus chic café-concert du temps. En 1900 ou en 1901, Damase et Blanche DuBuisson se produisent au parc Sohmer, sous le direction d'Ernest Lavigne, dans des opéras et des opérettes, notamment dans Carmen, Les cloches de Corneville et La mascotte. La même année, ils effectuent deux tournées aux îles Saint-Pierre et Miquelon avec la troupe d'Henri Miro.

En 1902, ils remportent un grand succès au théâtre Bijou (alors situé rue de La Gauchetière, à Montréal) avec « Le papillon et l'hirondelle », chanson qui demeure leur plus grand succès. Affectionnant le genre comique, alors en vogue, Damase DuBuisson se produit au théâtre Bijou dans des comédies de vaudeville avec, entre autres chanteurs, Albert Roberval, Louis Vérande et Lucien Boyer. En 1903, il revient à Québec où il chante dans une série d'opérettes avec notamment sa femme Blanche, Rose Delyus, Juana Laviolette et Victor Occellier. Puis, il joue à Montréal au Théâtre national et au théâtre Les Nouveautés. En 1906, Damase DuBuisson et Ernest Ouimet fondent le cinéma Ouimetoscope. Deux ans plus tard, il ouvre le Nationascope, théâtre qui devient le premier à présenter des films animés au Québec.

Après un autre séjour à Québec, les DuBuisson reviennent s'installer à Montréal en 1909 et sont engagés par Montesano et Alphonse Demers. Damase s'occupe de la direction artistique et le couple joue et chante dans des pièces au théâtre Les Nouveautés. Suivent des tournées avec Albert Roberval, Albert Duquesne, Paul Coutlée et Elzéar Hamel. Au Théâtre canadien-français (à l'angle des rues Sainte-Catherine et Saint-André, à Montréal), Damase DuBuisson inaugure une série de représentations d'opéras-comiques et d'opérettes avec une troupe qui comprend Jeanne Maubourg, Simone Rivière, Darcy, Armand Robi et Hector Pellerin. De 1911 à 1915, il occupe le poste de directeur artistique du Nationascope. À l'instigation de Roméo Beaudry, Damase DuBuisson enregistre, en septembre 1916, 14 pièces pour la maison de disques Columbia à New York. On y trouve des chansons de café-concert parisien en vogue (« Mon p'tit cœur », « La petite innocente ») ainsi que des chansons sur les régiments canadiens-français en Europe (« Le rêve de Bibi », « Bibi s'en va-t-en guerre », « Bibi en baloune ») de l'auteur québécois Almar Perrault.

Dans les années 1920, Damase DuBuisson se produit dans les principales salles de Montréal et de Québec. Il enregistre dix chansons en 1926 pour la compagnie Starr que dirige son ami Roméo Beaudry. Au cours des années 1930, on entend régulièrement Damase et Blanche DuBuisson à la radio, jouant notamment dans le radioroman « Le curé de village » (CKAC, 1932-1935) de Robert Choquette. En 1934, Damase DuBuisson devient directeur artistique de la section théâtre du service de l'assurance-chômage de la Ville de Montréal. Il rend l'âme à Montréal en février 1945.

En quarante ans de carrière, Damase DuBuisson aura joué à la scène dans plus de 800 drames, comédies et opérettes.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements de Damase DuBuisson, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.

Robert Thérien, chercheur en musique, Montréal


Référence

Thérien, Robert.  -- Notes de recherche inédites