Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Arthur Lapierre, singer, folk musician, and actor (circa 1888-?)

Photograph of Arthur Lapierre

Source
Arthur Lapierre

Arthur Lapierre was born around 1888, and began his acting and singing career at the turn of the century. Around 1908, he teamed up with Conrad Gauthier and Sylva Alarie (the father of renowned Canadian soprano Pierrette Alarie) to form the Cercle Lapierre. This ensemble performed in Montréal and the surrounding areas until the 1920s. Arthur Lapierre also sang with his wife, Béatrice Latour, and was a frequent guest soloist at religious events -- notably, he sang in Pelletier's Stabat Mater, at Saint-Jacques church, in April 1917.

In January 1918, Arthur Lapierre played the role of Léveillée in La basoche (Messager), the first and only production of the Société nationale d'opéra comique. On November 18 and 21 of that year, he sang with the Troupe canadienne d'opéra in Carmen, alongside Sarah Fischer, Cédia Brault, Victor Desautels and Ulysse Paquin. In January 1919, he sang excerpts from Philémon et Baucis (Gounod) and Les noces de Jeannette (Massé) in Lewiston, Maine, where he shared the stage with Blanche Gonthier, Honoré Vaillancourt, and Armand Gauthier. The following month, he played in Le caïd (Thomas), alongside Blanche Gonthier and Ulysse Paquin. At the same time, Lapierre was performing at the Théâtre canadien-français with Armand Gauthier, in Allons-y, brunette, a five-act musical review the two performers had written together. In March of 1919, Arthur Lapierre sang in Bonsoir voisin (Poise) at Salle Lafontaine, alongside Léonide Létourneux. In April, he appeared in Les dragons de Villars (Maillard) at the Monument-National, where he shared the stage with Fabiola Poirier and Jeanne Maubourg. He performed a recital of excerpts from this operetta with Fabiola Poirier in Lewiston, Maine, the following month.

During this time, Arthur Lapierre became a member of the Quatuor Octave-Pelletier, along with Rodrigue Gauthier, Jean-Marie Magnan and Joseph-Henri Thibodeau. In 1920, these four singers formed the Quatuor canadien, completed on occasion by Arthur Gagné or Émile Lamarre (the latter of whom later joined the Quatuor Alouette). On March 22, 1921, Lapierre performed in Le chemin de croix, by Alexandre Georges, alongside Fabiola Poirier and Armand Gauthier. The singers were accompanied by the 125-member combined choir of the Association des chanteurs de Montréal and the Chorale Saint-Euzèbe as well as a 30-piece orchestra under the direction of Jean Goulet. The following month, Lapierre played the role of Pierre LeRoux in Rose et Cola (De Monsigny) at the Monument-National.

Arthur Lapierre began his solo recording career in 1918. His first recording was of two songs for Columbia Records, in New York. He subsequently recorded about a dozen romantic ballads for the Starr label in Montréal and two folk songs for His Master's Voice, also in Montréal, with Conrad Gauthier. During the 1920s, Arthur Lapierre sang in a number of performances with Gauthier's troupe, Veillées du bon vieux temps, and in works put on by the Société canadienne d'opérette, headed by Honoré Vaillancourt. Records show that the singer lived and worked as a choirmaster in Falls River, Massachusetts, for a number of years. After returning to Quebec in 1927, Lapierre recorded songs for children under the Mignon label (a subsidiary of Starr) as well as a number of his own compositions ("La chanson du R-100" and "C'est l'R-100") on the Starr label. It is known that, in December 1947, Arthur Lapierre was still teaching voice at his studio, located at 6330 Delorimier Street, in Montréal.

Arthur Lapierre composed a number of works, including the Messe à trois voix égales pour les défunts.

For more information on Arthur Lapierre's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.

Robert Thérien, music researcher, Montréal


Reference

Thérien, Robert.  -- Unpublished research notes

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Arthur Lapierre, interprète, folkloriste et comédien (vers 1888-?)

Photo d'Arthur Lapierre

Source
Arthur Lapierre

Né vers 1888, Arthur Lapierre amorce sa carrière de comédien et de chanteur au début du siècle. Vers 1908, il s'associe à Conrad Gauthier et à Sylva Alarie (père de la grande soprano canadienne Pierrette Alarie) pour former le Cercle Lapierre; celui-ci se produit à Montréal et en banlieue jusque dans les années 1920. Il chante également avec sa femme, Béatrice Latour. Fréquemment invité comme soliste lors d'événements religieux, Arthur Lapierre chante notamment dans le Stabat Mater (Pelletier) à l'église Saint-Jacques, en avril 1917.

En janvier 1918, il tient le rôle de Léveillée dans La basoche (Messager), première et seule production de la Société nationale d'opéra comique. Les 18 et 21 novembre de la même année, il chante avec la Troupe canadienne d'opéra dans Carmen, aux côtés de Sarah Fischer, de Cédia Brault, de Victor Desautels et d'Ulysse Paquin. En janvier 1919, il interprète des extraits de Philémon et Baucis (Gounod) et de Les noces de Jeannette (Massé) à Lewiston (Maine) avec Blanche Gonthier, Honoré Vaillancourt et Armand Gauthier. Le mois suivant, il joue dans Le caïd (Thomas) avec Blanche Gonthier et Ulysse Paquin. Parallèlement, il se produit au Théâtre canadien-français avec Armand Gauthier dans Allons-y, brunette, revue musicale en cinq actes dont ils sont les auteurs. Puis il chante, en mars, dans Bonsoir voisin (Poise) à la salle Lafontaine avec Léonide Létourneux et, en avril, dans Les dragons de Villars (Maillard) au Monument-National avec Fabiola Poirier et Jeanne Maubourg. Il présentera d'ailleurs des extraits de cette opérette le mois suivant à Lewiston (Maine) avec Fabiola Poirier.

À compter de cette époque, Arthur Lapierre fait également partie du Quatuor Octave-Pelletier avec Rodrigue Gauthier, Jean-Marie Magnan et Joseph-Henri Thibodeau; ces quatre chanteurs forment, en 1920, le Quatuor canadien, auquel viennent se joindre alternativement Arthur Gagné et Émile Lamarre (qui deviendra membre du Quatuor Alouette). Le 22 mars 1921, le ténor se produit avec Fabiola Poirier et Armand Gauthier dans Le chemin de croix d'Alexandre Georges, avec le chœur de 125 voix de l'Association des chanteurs de Montréal et de la chorale Saint-Euzèbe et un orchestre de 30 musiciens dirigé par Jean Goulet. Le mois suivant, il tient le rôle de Pierre LeRoux dans Rose et Cola (De Monsigny) au Monument-National.

À partir de 1918, Arthur Lapierre mène une carrière en solo sur disques; il enregistre d'abord deux chansons pour la maison de disques Columbia de New York, puis une dizaine de ballades romantiques pour la compagnie Starr de Montréal et deux airs folkloriques pour His Master's Voice, à Montréal, avec Conrad Gauthier. Arthur Lapierre participe, au cours des années 1920, à quelques représentations des Veillées du bon vieux temps de Conrad Gauthier et de la Société canadienne d'opérette d'Honoré Vaillancourt. Il semble que le chanteur se soit installé pendant quelques années à Falls River, au Massachusetts, où il a été maître de chapelle. Revenu au Québec en 1927, Arthur Lapierre enregistre des ritournelles pour enfants chez Mignon (filiale de Starr) et quelques-unes de ses compositions (« La chanson du R-100 » et « C'est l'R-100 ») chez Starr. Il enseignait encore le chant à son studio du 6330, rue Delorimier, à Montréal, en décembre 1947.

Arthur Lapierre a composé plusieurs œuvres, dont la Messe à trois voix égales pour les défunts.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements d'Arthur Lapierre, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.

Robert Thérien, chercheur en musique, Montréal


Référence

Thérien, Robert.  -- Notes de recherche inédites