Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

The Quatuor Alouette (1930-circa 1965)

Photograph of Quatuor Alouette, circa 1943

Source
Quatuor Alouette, circa 1943: Roger Filiatrault, Jules Jacob, Émile Lamarre, André Trottier

This a capella vocal ensemble, made up of Roger Filiatrault, Jules Jacob, Émile Lamarre and André Trottier, sang French-Canadian folk songs exclusively.

Roger Filiatrault
Jules Jacob
Émile Lamarre
André Trottier
The Quatuor Alouette

Roger Filiatrault, baritone (1905-1973)
Roger Filiatrault was born in Montréal on February 5, 1905. He started out as a pianist and violinist, before making his professional debut as a baritone with the Société canadienne d'opérette in 1924. He studied piano and voice with Salvator Issaurel in Montréal, followed by voice with Désiré Demest and choral direction with Désiré Defauw and Joseph Jongen at the Royal Conservatory in Brussels (1926-1928). Filiatrault subsequently traveled to Paris to continue his studies in voice physiology. Upon returning to Montréal in 1930, he founded the Quatuor Alouette, which was active for three decades. He also taught voice at a number of institutions in Montréal and Ottawa during the 1940s and 1950. Roger Filiatrault died in Lesage, Quebec on April 27, 1973.

Jules Jacob, tenor (1906-1969)
Jules Jacob was born in Saint-Prosper-de-Champlain, near Trois-Rivières, Quebec, in 1906. After studying voice with Salvator Issaurel and Alice Raymond, he joined the Quatuor Alouette at its inception, in 1930. He was very active on the radio as well, appearing regularly on the programs "Le réveil rural" (1937-1967) and "Le quart d'heure de la Bonne Chanson" (SRC, CKAC, 1939-1952). Jules Jacob's stage career included work with the Variétés lyriques, the Société des Concerts symphoniques de Montréal and the Opera Guild. Jules Jacob replaced Ludovic Huot as a member of the Trio lyrique in 1939 while continuing to sing with the Quatuor Alouette into the 1960s. Jules Jacob passed away in Montréal on January 16, 1969.

Émile Lamarre, bass (1886-1963)
Émile Lamarre was born in Saint-Rémi-de-Napierville, Quebec, on September 25, 1886. He studied voice with Céline Marier and toured throughout the United States with the Bennett troupe. After a stint with the Quatuor Canadien, he performed regularly with the Société canadienne d'opérette during the 1920s and later joined the Quatuor Alouette. Émile Lamarre died in Montréal on February 21, 1963.

André Trottier, bass (1901?- )
André Trottier was born in Grondines, Quebec, in 1901. He studied in Trois-Rivières and Québec, and was employed in a bank from 1920 to 1923, while performing as an actor and singer. He later worked in Montréal as a public servant, while studying voice with Alexandre Clerk (1923-1925) and Alice Raymond (1925-1929) and performing in a number Société canadienne d'opérette and Opéra Français productions.

The Quatuor Alouette
The Quatuor Alouette began in 1930, when Oscar O'Brien asked André Trottier and Roger Filiatrault to arrange some folk-music selections inspired by the work of folk artist Charles Marchand, who had died a few months earlier. In early 1931, Jules Jacob and Émile Lamarre completed the quartet, and Oscar O'Brien took the helm as artistic director. The Quatuor Alouette adopted a repertoire consisting exclusively of French-Canadian folk songs and gave its first concert on May 29, 1932, at Mechanics' Hall, in Montréal; it was an immediate success. The ensemble performed in Ottawa and Toronto in 1933 and, in the same year, was heard on the radio for the first time (CKAC, CMM). The following year, the quartet took its first tour, to the eastern United States (New York, Maineand New Hampshire). The group represented Canada at the official ceremonies held in Saint-Malo, France, to mark the 400th anniversary of the foundation of Canada, and also gave concerts in Paris, Rouen and Le Havre, as well as in Dinard, Britanny.

In 1936, the Quatuor Alouette hosted its own series of 26 programs on Radio-Canada (SRC). Over more than 30 years, this vocal group appeared regularly on a number of programs, including "Le réveil rural" (SRC 1937-1967), "Les amours de Ti-Jos" (CKAC 1938-1945, CKVL 1945-1947), and "Le quart d'heure de la Bonne Chanson" (SRC, CKAC, 1939-1952). The ensemble toured France and Belgium a second time, in 1937. In 1940, they appeared on "The American School of the Air," on CBS. The following year, they were invited to New York, to appear on "Treasury Hour - Millions for Defence," with contralto Marian Anderson and an orchestra directed by Benny Goodman.

In 1942, the Government of Quebec sent the Quatuor Alouette to sing at the National Folk Festival, held in Washington. The group returned to the same event in 1943, this time in Chicago and Philadelphia. The Quatuor Alouette gave a recital at the Town Hall in New York, in October 1943, and its first large-scale recital in Montréal in 1944. Roger Filiatrault took over from Oscar O'Brien as music director in 1945, when the latter entered the monastery of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac. In September of that same year, the Quatuor Alouette travelled to Brazil, where it proved a big hit. In Canada, the ensemble appeared at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel (March  947), at the Eaton Auditorium, in Toronto (December 1947), and at the Seville Theatre (September 1950). The Quatuor Alouette disbanded in the mid-1960s.

The archives of the Quatuor Alouette are preserved in the Roger Filiatrault archive group at the University of Laval's Archives de folklore, in Québec. A few unreleased songs by the ensemble can be found in the transcripts for the radio program "Le quart d'heure de la Bonne Chanson," which are held by the Bibliothèque nationale du Québec, and on some SRC broadcast disks.

For more information on the Quatuor Alouette's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.

Robert Thérien, music researcher, Montréal


Reference

Thérien, Robert.  -- Unpublished research notes

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Quatuor Alouette (1930-vers 1965)

Photo du Quatuor Alouette, vers 1943

Source
Le Quatuor Alouette, vers 1943. Roger Filiatrault, Jules Jacob, Émile Lamarre et André Trottier

Ensemble vocal qui chantait a capella exclusivement des chansons folkloriques canadiennes-françaises; il était constitué de Roger Filiatrault, de Jules Jacob, d'Émile Lamarre et d'André Trottier.

Roger Filiatrault
Jules Jacob
Émile Lamarre
André Trottier
Le Quatuor Alouette

Roger Filiatrault, baryton (1905-1973)
Roger Filiatrault est né à Montréal, le 5 février 1905. D'abord pianiste et violoniste, il fait ses débuts comme baryton avec la Société canadienne d'opérette en 1924. Il étudie le piano et le chant avec Salvator Issaurel à Montréal, puis l'art vocal avec Désiré Demest et la direction chorale avec Désiré Defauw et Joseph Jongen au Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles (1926-1928). Il poursuit ses études en physiologie de la voix à Paris. De retour à Montréal, il fonde, en 1930, le Quatuor Alouette, dont les activités musicales s'étendront sur une trentaine d'années. Il enseigne l'art vocal dans plusieurs institutions de Montréal et d'Ottawa dans les années 1940 et 1950. Il décède à Lesage, au Québec, le 27 avril 1973.

Jules Jacob, ténor (1906-1969)
Jules Jacob a vu le jour à Saint-Prosper-de-Champlain, près de Trois-Rivières, au Québec, en 1906. Après des études de chant avec Salvator Issaurel et Alice Raymond, il se joint au Quatuor Alouette dès ses débuts, en 1930. Très actif à la radio également, il participe régulièrement aux émissions « Le réveil rural » (1937-1967) et « Le quart d'heure de la Bonne Chanson » (SRC, CKAC, 1939-1952). Il poursuit de plus une carrière sur scène, notamment avec les Variétés lyriques, l'orchestre des Concerts symphoniques et l'Opéra Guild. Jules Jacob remplace Ludovic Huot au sein du Trio lyrique en 1939 tout en continuant à chanter avec le Quatuor Alouette jusqu'aux années 1960. Son décès survient à Ville Mont-Royal [Montréal], le 16 janvier 1969.

Émile Lamarre, basse (1886-1963)
Né à Saint-Rémi-de-Napierville, au Québec, le 25 septembre 1886, Émile Lamarre étudie le chant avec Céline Marier et parcourt les États-Unis avec la troupe de la tournée Bennett. Après avoir fait partie du Quatuor Canadien, il se produit fréquemment avec la Société canadienne d'opérette dans les années 1920, puis se joint au Quatuor Alouette. Il décède à Montréal, le 21 février 1963.

André Trottier, basse (1901?- )
En 1901, à Grondines, au Québec, naissait André Trottier. Après avoir fait des études à Trois-Rivières et à Québec, il travaille dans une banque de 1920 à 1923, tout en faisant du théâtre et du chant. Ensuite, il occupe à Montréal un emploi comme fonctionnaire et étudie en même temps le chant avec Alexandre Clerk (1923-1925) et Alice Raymond (1925-1929) et participe à plusieurs productions de la Société canadienne d'opérette et de l'Opéra Français.

Le Quatuor Alouette
En 1930, Oscar O'Brien demande à André Trottier et à Roger Filiatrault de préparer quelques pièces folkloriques pour poursuivre l'œuvre du folkloriste Charles Marchand, décédé quelques mois plus tôt. Au début de 1931, Jules Jacob et Émile Lamarre viennent compléter le Quatuor Alouette et Oscar O'Brien en prend la direction musicale. Ayant un répertoire composé exclusivement de chansons de folklore canadiennes-françaises, le Quatuor donne son premier concert le 29 mai 1932 à la Salle des Artisans de Montréal et connaît rapidement le succès.

En 1933, le groupe se produit à Ottawa et à Toronto, et participe à ses premières émissions de radio (CKAC, CMM). L'année suivante, une première tournée mène le quatuor Alouette sur la côte est des États-Unis (New York, Maine, New Hampshire…). Par la suite, le Quatuor représente le Canada lors des cérémonies officielles tenues à Saint-Malo pour marquer le quatrième centenaire de la fondation du Canada. Il se fait aussi entendre à Paris, à Rouen, à Le Havre et à Dinard, en Bretagne.

En 1936, le Quatuor Alouette anime sa propre série de 26 émissions à la radio de la SRC. Pendant plus de 30 ans, l'ensemble vocal se produit de façon régulière à diverses émissions, dont « Le réveil rural » (SRC, 1937-1967), « Les amours de Ti-Jos » (CKAC, 1938-1945, CKVL, 1945-1947) et « Le quart d'heure de la Bonne Chanson » (SRC, CKAC, 1939-1952). Le groupe effectue une deuxième tournée en France et en Belgique en 1937. En 1940, il participe à l'émission « The American School of the Air » diffusée par CBS et est invité à New York, l'année suivante, pour l'émission « Treasury Hour - Millions for Defence » en compagnie de la contralto Marian Anderson et d'un orchestre dirigé par Benny Goodman.

En 1942, le gouvernement du Québec délègue le Quatuor Alouette au National Folk Festival qui se tient à Washington. Le groupe renouvelle l'expérience en 1943, cette fois à Chicago et à Philadelphie. Il donne également un récital au Town Hall de New York, en octobre 1943, et son premier grand récital à Montréal, en 1944. Roger Filiatrault prend la relève d'Oscar O'Brien comme directeur musical en 1945, lorsque ce dernier entre au monastère de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac. En septembre de cette même année, le Quatuor Alouette se rend au Brésil où il remporte de vifs succès. Au Canada, le groupe se produit à l'hôtel Ritz-Carlton (mars 1947), à l'Auditorium Eaton de Toronto en décembre 1947 et au théâtre Séville en septembre 1950. Le Quatuor Alouette met fin à ses activités au milieu des années 1960.

Les archives du Quatuor Alouette sont conservées dans le fonds Roger-Filiatrault aux Archives de folklore de l'Université Laval de Québec. Quelques chansons inédites du quatuor se retrouvent dans des transcriptions de l'émission radiophonique « Le quart d'heure de la Bonne Chanson » que conserve la Bibliothèque nationale du Québec et sur certains disques de transcription radio de la Société Radio-Canada.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements du Quatuor Alouette, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.

Robert Thérien, chercheur en musique, Montréal


Référence

Thérien, Robert.  -- Notes de recherche inédites