Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Albert Viau, baritone, teacher, and composer (1910-2001)

Photograph of Albert Viau

Source
Albert Viau

Albert Viau was born in Montréal on November 6, 1910. After studying piano (1918-1926) with Arthur Caron, whose daughter he married in 1936, he turned to vocal music. He studied voice with Victor Brault and Arthur Laurendeau, prosody with Conrad Letendre, Gregorian chant with Dom Georges Mercure and harmony with Oscar O'Brien, Roland Van de Goor and Michel Perrault.

Albert Viau made his professional debut in 1931 at Loew's theatre, in the opera Roméo et Juliette, whose cast also included Edward Johnson, Léon Rothier, and Lionel Daunais. Throughout the 1930s, the young Albert was also teaching tailoring along with his father. After his father's accidental death in 1935, Albert took over the classes on his own. In 1934, he replaced Léopold Fortin at the heart of Paul-Émile Corbeil's barbershop quartet, Les Grenadiers impériaux, and joined Thérèse Laurendeau and Paul Demeules as part of the trio Les Masques.

Albert Viau could be heard on French-language radio programs such as "La petite histoire" and "Le chanteur de lied" (1934), broadcast by what is now the Société Radio-Canada (SRC). He was a familiar voice for 21 years on the French-language program "Le réveil rural" (SRC 1937-1967) and, for 15 years, on "Le quart d'heure de la Bonne Chanson" (SRC and CKAC, 1939-1953). Viau also participated in other French-language radio programs, including "Sur les boulevards" (SRC, 1938-1941), "L'heure des vedettes" (CKAC, 1938-1941), and "Chansons de chez-nous" (CKAC, 1944). He performed on occasion at Georges Dufresne's Théâtre de l'opérette, notably in a March 1944 production of Les dragons de Villars (Maillard), in which he shared the stage with Caro Lamoureux and Raymond Cardin.

Over the same period, Albert Viau gave several recitals in Canada and the United States. As well, during the 1940s, he recorded, on the RCA Victor label, over 80 songs from Abbé Charles-Émile Gadbois' Bonne Chanson songbooks. Memorably, Viau sang "Reine du rosaire," the theme song for the radio program "Le chapelet en famille" (CKAC, 1951-1969?), a series that marked an entire generation. During these years, Albert Viau wrote over 200 songs, hymns, and masses for the dead. Joining David Rochette, François Brunet and Omer Durenceau, he also sang tenor in the folk quartet Les Troubadours du Québec, which appeared Tuesdays and Thursdays on the French-language program "V'là l'bon vent," on the SRC, from 1949 to 1951. On "La route enchantée," he was a member of another quartet, along with Paul-Émile Corbeil, François Brunet, and Raymond Cardin, known as the Quatuor B.A.

In February 1952, Albert Viau joined David Rochette, Raymond Cardin, and Thérèse Davy in founding the Quatuor 1900, which was featured at the cabaret Le Montmartre (previously called the Faisan doré), as well as on the radio network of the SRC, in "Variétés 1900," until 1954. All the time he was pursuing his singing career, Albert Viau also translated, arranged, and composed some 1,500 radio and television ads, from 1948 to 1971, and directed a number of choirs for both men and women, including the Chanteurs modernes and the Ménestrels laurentiens.

In 1953-1954, Albert Viau became a producer for the radio station CJMS (in Montréal), where Abbé Gadbois was director that year. In addition, Viau was director and arranger for a number of vocal groups, such as Boute-en-train (with Louis Bourdon and Omer Duranceau) and held the post of choirmaster at Saint-Sixte church, in Saint-Laurent, from 1950 to 1983. Albert Viau also gave voice, piano, guitar, and recorder lessons in his two music studios (one located in his home, at 31 Cardinal Street, in Saint-Laurent, and the other on Sainte-Catherine Street, in Montréal). As well, from 1965 to 1986, he taught music for the Montréal Catholic School Commission. Albert Viau died on June 27, 2001.

During his career, Albert Viau recorded a number of songs under the pseudonym Jacques Dupont and composed under the pseudonyms Paul Marcil and Bill Caron. His company, Éditions Albert-Viau, published two songbooks: Six chansonnettes pour bambins et bambines (1954) and Six chansons enfantines (1958). Viau teamed up with Camille Andréa to compose a series of songs for the students of Studio Brasseur, the album Premier pas (Éditions Brasseur, MG-161-162, 1960). As well, he played a small role in the Quebec film Le père Chopin (1945).

The archives of Albert Viau, which are held by the Société d'histoire de la Haute-Yamaska, include the following documents: the complete recordings, sheet music, and arrangements from Viau's treatment of the Cahiers de la Bonne Chanson; unpublished recordings of works interpreted for the program "Le réveil rural"; most of the sheet music used at concerts and on radio programs; concert and tour programs; newspaper clippings; a collection of the works of Théodore Botrel; and arrangements for sacred choir music. The Bibliothèque nationale du Québec, in Montréal, holds additional archives, in the form of sheet music and photographs.

For more information on Albert Viau's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.

Robert Thérien, music researcher, Montréal


Reference

Thérien, Robert.  -- Unpublished research notes

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Albert Viau, baryton, professeur et compositeur (1910-2001)

Photo d'Albert Viau

Source
Albert Viau

Albert Viau est né à Montréal le 6 novembre 1910. Après avoir étudié le piano (1918-1926) avec Arthur Caron, dont il épousera la fille en 1936, il se tourne vers l'art vocal et étudie le chant avec Victor Brault et Arthur Laurendeau, la prosodie avec Conrad Letendre, le chant grégorien avec dom Georges Mercure et l'harmonie avec Oscar O'Brien, Roland Van de Goor et Michel Perrault.

Il fait ses débuts professionnels en 1931 au théâtre Loew's dans l'opéra Roméo et Juliette aux côtés notamment d'Edward Johnson, de Léon Rothier et de Lionel Daunais. Tout au long des années 1930, le jeune homme enseigne aussi la coupe de vêtements avec son père, dont c'était la profession. Après le décès accidentel de ce dernier en 1935, il prend en charge les classes d'enseignement. En 1934, il remplace Léopold Fortin au sein du quatuor vocal de Paul-Émile Corbeil, Les Grenadiers impériaux, et fait partie du trio Les Masques avec Thérèse Laurendeau et Paul Demeules.

À la radio, Albert Viau se fait entendre d'abord aux émissions « La petite histoire » et « Le chanteur de lied » (1934) sur les ondes du Conseil canadien de la radiodiffusion (ancêtre de la SRC), puis, durant 21 ans, à l'émission « Le réveil rural » (SRC, 1937-1967) et, durant 15 ans, à l'émission « Le quart d'heure de la Bonne Chanson » (SRC et CKAC, 1939-1953). Il participe également à diverses autres émissions radiophoniques, dont « Sur les boulevards » (SRC, 1938-1941), « L'heure des vedettes » (CKAC, 1938-1941) et « Chansons de chez-nous » (CKAC, 1944). Il se produit à l'occasion au « Théâtre de l'opérette » que réalise Georges Dufresne, notamment dans Les dragons de Villars (Maillard) avec Caro Lamoureux et Raymond Cardin, en mars 1944.

Parallèlement, il présente de nombreux récitals au Canada et aux États-Unis et enregistre pour RCA Victor, au cours des années 1940, plus de quatre-vingts titres des cahiers de la Bonne Chanson de l'abbé Charles-Émile Gadbois. Il chante notamment en solo la chanson « Reine du rosaire », thème de l'émission « Le chapelet en famille » (CKAC, 1951-1969?) qui a marqué toute une génération. Au cours de cette période, il écrit plus de deux cents chansons, cantiques et messes pour les défunts. Le ténor forme, avec David Rochette, François Brunet et Omer Durenceau, le quatuor folklorique Les Troubadours du Québec qui se produit les mardis et les jeudis à l'émission « V'là l'bon vent » sur les ondes de la SRC de 1949 à 1951. À l'émission « La route enchantée », il fait partie d'un autre quatuor avec Paul-Émile Corbeil, François Brunet et Raymond Cardin sous le nom Quatuor B.A.

En février 1952, il se joint à David Rochette, à Raymond Cardin et à Thérèse Davy pour fonder le Quatuor 1900 qui tient la vedette, entre autres, au cabaret Le Montmartre (ex-Faisan doré) et à la radio de la SRC jusqu'en 1954 à l'émission « Variétés 1900 ». Tout en poursuivant sa carrière de chanteur, Albert Viau traduit, arrange et compose, de 1948 à 1971, quelque 1500 annonces publicitaires pour la radio et la télévision, et dirige plusieurs chorales mixtes, dont les Chanteurs modernes et les Ménestrels laurentiens.

En 1953-1954, Albert Viau devient réalisateur à la radio de CJMS (Montréal), station dont l'abbé Gadbois assure la direction cette année-là. En outre, il dirige et arrange de nombreux groupes vocaux, dont les Boute-en-train (avec Louis Bourdon et Omer Duranceau) en plus d'être maître de chapelle à l'église Saint-Sixte, à Saint-Laurent, de 1950 à 1983. Albert Viau enseigne la pose de voix, le piano, la guitare et la flûte à bec dans ses deux studios de musique (l'un à son domicile du 31, rue Cardinal, à Saint-Laurent, et l'autre, sur la rue Sainte-Catherine, à Montréal) et, de 1965 à 1986, exerce le métier de professeur de musique à la Commission des Écoles catholiques de Montréal. Il décède à Montréal le 27 juin 2001.

Au cours de sa carrière, Albert Viau a enregistré quelques chansons sous le pseudonyme de Jacques Dupont et en a composé sous les pseudonymes de Paul Marcil et de Bill Caron. Il a publié, aux Éditions Albert-Viau, deux recueils de chansons, Six chansonnettes pour bambins et bambines (1954) et Six chansons enfantines (1958), et a composé une série de chansons en collaboration avec Camille Andréa pour les élèves du Studio Brasseur (album Premier pas, Éditions Brasseur, MG-161-162, 1960). Il a aussi tenu un petit rôle dans le film québécois Le père Chopin (1945).

Le fonds d'archives Albert-Viau, que conserve la Société d'histoire de la Haute-Yamaska, comprend les documents suivants : une série complète des enregistrements, des partitions musicales et des arrangements de la Bonne Chanson, des enregistrements inédits de pièces interprétées dans le cadre de l'émission « Le réveil rural », la plupart des partitions utilisées lors des concerts et des émissions de radio, des programmes de concerts et de tournées, des coupures de journaux, une collection des œuvres de Théodore Botrel et des arrangements de musique sacrée pour chorale. La Bibliothèque nationale du Québec à Montréal garde un autre fonds d'archives constitué de partitions musicales et de photos.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements d'Albert Viau, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.

Robert Thérien, chercheur en musique, Montréal


Référence

Thérien, Robert.  -- Notes de recherche inédites