Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Choir of the Abbey of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac

Photograph of the choir of the Abbey of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac, circa 1947

Source
Choir of the Abbey of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac

Georges Mercure
André Saint-Cyr
André Laberge
Oscar O'Brien

Saint Benoît, proclaimed the patron saint of Europe by Pope Paul VI in 1964, was born circa 480 in Norcia, Italy. Along with his disciples, he founded the abbeys of Subacio and Mount Cassin, and wrote the monastic rules for the monks who became known as Benedictine. Benedictine monks seek God in the liturgical offices, in prayer inspired by meditation on Scripture, and in daily work; they live in a community, under the paternal direction of an abbot. The Abbey of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac was founded in 1912 on the western shore of Lake Memphrémagog, 150 kilometres south of Montréal, by monks from the abbey of Saint-Wandrille de Fontenelle, in Normandy.

Religious music, especially Gregorian chant, has been an integral part of religious offices at the Abbey of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac since its founding. Over the years, this community has included a number of talented musicians.

Georges Mercure (1905-1993)
Georges Mercure was born in Drummondville, Quebec, on June 19, 1905. He showed musical talent from a very young age. Following piano studies with Arthur Letondal, he entered the community of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac in 1923. He later continued his studies at the Schola Cantorum in Paris, and at the abbeys of Solesmes and Saint-Wandrille, where he developed an affinity for Gregorian chant. Upon his return, he published Rythmique grégorienne (1937) and formed a choir, which recorded two 78-rpm records, Une messe grégorienne and Rythmique grégorienne.

In 1944, Dom Georges Mercure was elected prior and became the first Canadian to head the community. In the early 1950s, he traveled once again to Paris, where he worked on counterpoint with Nadia Boulanger. Upon his return to Canada, he published Polyphonie grégorienne (1958) and recorded albums with the monks of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac.

In 1967, Dom Georges Mercure began to compose music for the entire Divine Office. He headed the abbey choir until 1970. Dom Georges Mercure died on August 24, 1993.

André Saint-Cyr (194?- )
Born in Québec in the 1940s into a family of musicians, André Saint-Cyr studied piano and organ in Québec and did further music studies at Saint-Benoît-du-Lac, Paris and Rome. He earned a master's degree in sacred music and a bachelor's degree in sacred composition, and specialized in Gregorian paleography, semiology, and conducting and interpreting Gregorian chant. In 1970, he succeeded Dom Georges Mercure as choirmaster and vocal technique teacher at the Abbey of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac.

Dom André Saint-Cyr was choirmaster for several Société Radio-Canada programs and over 20 recordings of Gregorian chant both in Canada and abroad. As a teacher, he was invited to take part in Gregorian sessions held by the National Association of Pastoral Musicians, in Washington, DC. Since 1989, he has held the post of director of the Gregorian choir of Saint-Jean-Baptiste church, in Montréal, where a Gregorian mass is held once a month.

Dom André Saint-Cyr recorded the album Chant grégorien (Radio-Québec/SBL-1880) with his brother, cellist Marcel Saint-Cyr, and organist Dom André Laberge. In the early 1980s, he joined his sisters Hélène (soprano) and Claire (alto) and his brother Bernard (baritone) in forming the Quatuor Saint-Cyr.

André Laberge (1940- )
André Laberge was born in Beauharnois on August 23, 1940, and studied in Montréal before entering the Abbey of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac in 1960, where, nine years later, he was ordained a priest. During his studies at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal, his teachers included Bernard Lagacé (organ), Kenneth Gilbert (harpsichord), Françoise Aubut (counterpoint), and Gilles Tremblay (analysis). In the summer of 1971, he traveled to Holland to study organ at the Haarlem Academy with Piet Kee and Luigi Ferdinando Tagliavini. He spent the next two summers teaching organ for Canadian Amateur Musicians (CAMMAC), and later became a teacher at the Orford Art Centre (1974-1977, 1980).

Through a grant from the Canada Council for the Arts, Dom André Laberge studied at the Toulouse Conservatory, in France, under Xavier Darasse (1977-1979) and under Gustav Leonhardt in Amsterdam. He has given concerts in France, at Saint-Thomas-d'Aquin church in Paris, and at the Carmelites chapel in Toulouse. He has performed numerous times in Canada, for Société Radio-Canada, Télé-Québec, the Canadian Institute of Music, the Festival international de Lanaudière, and various other bodies, including Pro Organo, Les Amis de l'orgue de Québec, and Ars Organi.

Since 1975, Dom André Laberge has recorded several albums as a harpsichordist and organist. The pipe organ in the abbey church at Saint-Benoît-du-Lac was built by organ builder Karl Wilhelm and set up in the church in the summer of 1999.

Oscar O'Brien (1892-1958)
The Benedictine monks of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac can also lay claim to another talented Canadian musician: Oscar O'Brien.

Oscar O'Brien was born in Ottawa on September 7, 1892. He devoted his life's work to promoting folk songs and in the 1920s worked alongside Charles Marchand. He was music director of the Quatuor Alouette and a long-term participant in the Bonne Chanson movement. He entered the monastery of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac in 1945 and was ordained a priest seven years later. Oscar O'Brien died on September 20, 1958.

For more information on the recordings made by the monks of the Abbey of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.

Robert Thérien, music researcher, Montréal


Reference

Thérien, Robert.  -- Unpublished research notes

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Chœur de l'Abbaye de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac

Photo montrant le Chœur de l'Abbaye de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac, vers 1947

Source
Chœur de l'Abbaye de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac, vers 1947

Georges Mercure
André Saint-Cyr
André Laberge
Oscar O'Brien

Proclamé patron de l'Europe par le pape Paul VI en 1964, saint Benoît est né vers 480 à Norcia, en Italie. Il fonde avec ses disciples l'Abbaye de Subacio, puis celle du Mont-Cassin, et rédige les règles monastiques de ces moines, appelés « bénédictins », qui cherchent Dieu dans l'office liturgique, l'oraison nourrie par la méditation de l'Écriture et le travail quotidien, en communauté et sous la direction paternelle d'un abbé. Des moines venus de l'Abbaye de Saint-Wandrille de Fontenelle, en Normandie, fondent, en 1912, l'Abbaye de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac sur la rive ouest du lac Memphrémagog, à 150 kilomètres au sud de Montréal.

La musique liturgique et surtout le chant grégorien font partie intégrante des offices religieux de la communauté de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac, qui a bénéficié au fil des ans de l'arrivée dans ses rangs de quelques musiciens doués.

Georges Mercure (1905-1993)
Georges Mercure est né à Drummondville, au Québec, le 19 juin 1905. Très jeune, il montre des dispositions pour la musique. C'est après ses études en piano avec Arthur Letondal qu'il entre au manastère de l'Abbaye de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac en 1923. Il parfait ensuite ses études à la Schola Cantorum de Paris et aux abbayes de Solesmes et de Saint-Wandrille où il s'intéresse particulièrement au chant grégorien. À son retour, il publie Rythmique grégorienne (1937) et forme un chœur qui enregistrera deux albums 78 tours  : Une messe grégorienne et Rythmique grégorienne.

En 1944, dom Georges Mercure est élu prieur et devient le premier supérieur canadien de sa communauté. Il effectue un deuxième séjour à Paris au début des années 1950 et y travaille le contrepoint avec Nadia Boulanger. À son retour, il publie Polyphonie grégorienne (1958) et enregistre quelques albums avec les moines bénédictins de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac.

À compter de 1967, dom Georges Mercure entreprend la composition de tout l'Office divin. Il laisse la direction du chœur de l'Abbaye en 1970. Il décède à Montréal, le 24 août 1993.

André Saint-Cyr (194?- ?)
Né à Québec dans les années 1940 dans une famille de musiciens, André Saint-Cyr étudie le piano et l'orgue à Québec et poursuit ses études musicales à Saint-Benoît-du-Lac, à Paris et à Rome. Détenteur d'une maîtrise en musique sacrée et d'un baccalauréat en composition sacrée, il se spécialise en paléographie musicale grégorienne, en sémiologie, en direction et en interprétation du chant grégorien. En 1970, il succède à dom Georges Mercure comme maître de chœur et professeur de technique vocale à l'Abbaye de Saint-Benoît.

Dom André Saint-Cyr participe en tant que maître de chœur à plusieurs émissions de la Société Radio-Canada et à plus de vingt enregistrements de chant grégorien aussi bien au pays qu'à l'étranger. En tant que professeur, on l'invite aux sessions grégoriennes organisées par The National Association of Pastoral Musicians de Washington (D.C.), aux États-Unis. Il assure, depuis 1989, la direction du chœur grégorien de l'église Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal, où a lieu mensuellement une messe en chant grégorien.

Dom André Saint-Cyr a enregistré l'album Chant grégorien (Radio-Québec/SBL-1880) avec son frère, le violoncelliste Marcel Saint-Cyr, et dom André Laberge, à l'orgue. Avec ses sœurs Hélène (soprano) et Claire (alto) et son frère Bernard (baryton), il a formé le Quatuor Saint-Cyr au début des années 1980.

André Laberge (1940- ?)
Né à Beauharnois, le 23 août 1940, André Laberge fait ses études à Montréal avant d'entrer, en 1960, au manastère de l'Abbaye de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac où il est ordonné prêtre en 1969. Il suit par la suite des cours au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal avec Bernard Lagacé (orgue), Kenneth Gilbert (clavecin), Françoise Aubut (contrepoint) et Gilles Tremblay (analyse). Au cours de l'été 1971, il se rend en Hollande pour étudier l'orgue à l'Académie de Haarlem avec Piet Kee et Luigi Ferdinando Tagliavini. Les deux étés suivants, il enseigne cet instrument pour l'organisme Musiciens amateurs du Canada, puis est professeur (1974-1977, 1980) au Centre d'art d'Orford.

Grâce à une bourse du Conseil des Arts du Canada, dom André Laberge suit des cours (1977-1979) au conservatoire de Toulouse (France) avec Xavier Darasse et, parallèlement, avec Gustav Leonhardt, à Amsterdam. Il se produit en France, notamment à Paris, à l'église Saint-Thomas-d'Aquin, et à Toulouse, à la chapelle des Carmélites. Au pays, il donne de nombreux concerts, notamment pour la Société Radio-Canada, Télé-Québec, l'Institut canadien, le Festival international de Lanaudière et divers organismes, dont Pro Organo, Les Amis de l'orgue de Québec et Ars Organi.

Dom André Laberge a enregistré depuis 1975 plusieurs albums comme claveciniste et organiste. Le grand orgue de l'église abbatiale de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac a été construit par le facteur Karl Wilhelm et installé à l'été 1999.

Oscar O'Brien (1892-1958)
Mentionnons finalement le passage chez les Bénédictins de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac d'un autre musicien canadien talentueux : Oscar O'Brien.

Né à Ottawa, le 7 septembre 1892, Oscar O'Brien a voué sa vie à la propagation de la chanson folklorique, d'abord aux côtés de Charles Marchand dans les années 1920, puis comme directeur musical du Quatuor Alouette et collaborateur assidu du mouvement de la Bonne Chanson. Il entre au monastère de l'Abbaye de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac en 1945 et est ordonné prêtre sept ans plus tard. Il décède le 20 septembre 1958.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements des moines de l'Abbaye de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.

Robert Thérien, chercheur en musique, Montréal


Référence

Thérien, Robert.  -- Notes de recherche inédites