Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Howard Frank Fogg, violinist, composer, conductor (1889-1953)

Photograph of Howard Frank Fogg in military uniform

Source
Howard Frank Fogg

Howard Frank Fogg is credited with writing the first original composition for a Canadian film. Born at Lewiston, Maine, he later moved to Montréal where he studied the violin with Gustav Haanka.

In the summer of 1915 he enlisted with the 60th Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force and arrived in France the following February. Eight months later a severe case of bronchitis removed Fogg from the front. In October 1918 Fogg was promoted to Temporary Lieutenant and returned to the field. Posted to the 87th Battalion, he was pushed to the front where, on November 5, 1918, he was wounded in the right arm -- a devastating injury for a violinist. Although Fogg kept his arm, his days as a concert performer were over.

Fogg returned to Canada and studied conducting with Gaston Borsch. During the early 1920s he directed the Montréal musical group The Melody King's Dance Orchestra and recorded Alexandre Luigini's (1850-1096) "Ballet Egyptienne" with them.

In 1925, Fogg joined the musical group The Dumbells as the orchestra's conductor. He wrote numbers for Lucky Seven and also arranged songs for The Dumbells, including Mert Plunkett's composition "Winter Will Come". Fogg continued to conduct The Dumbells and tour Canada and the United States until 1930. During this time he was also musical director of the 17th Duke of York's Royal Canadian Hussars.

Fogg prepared and directed a number of musical broadcasts on CNRM radio and later on the radio of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. He was arranger and conductor for the Canadian Victor Talking Machine Company and a pioneer in composition and synchronization for Associated Screen News. In 1934, he wrote the music for the documentary Rhapsody in Two Languages. This work is considered to be the first original composition for a Canadian film.

Howard Frank Fogg died in Montréal on May 17, 1953.

For more information on Howard Frank Fogg's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.

Kevin Joynt, Rare Books Section, Library and Archives Canada


References

Diguid, Archer Fortescue. -- History of the Canadian Grenadier Guards, 1760-1964. -- Montreal: Gazette Printing, 1965. -- xxiii, 520 p. -- AMICUS No. 2327385

Dreamland : a history of early Canadian movies 1895-1939 [film]. -- Directed by Donald Brittain ; produced by Kirwan Cox. -- Toronto : Great Canadian Moving Picture Company, 1964. -- 85 min. 50 sec. -- AMICUS No. 15394236

87th Battalion war diary. -- RG 9 III D3 volume 4944. -- November 1918

"Fogg, Howard". -- Encyclopedia of music in Canada. -- Edited by Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2nd ed. -- Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c 1992. -- xxxii, 1524 p. -- AMICUS No. 12048560. -- Also available online at www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com/

Gordon Sparling fonds. -- Gordon Sparling interview, 1973. -- R9162-0-3-E. -- Library and Archives Canada

The Montreal star. -- May 18, 1953. -- AMICUS No. 8405623

World War One service files. -- RG 150 1992-93/166. -- H.F. Fogg

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Howard Frank Fogg, violoniste, compositeur et chef d'orchestre (1889-1953)

Photo d'Howard Frank Fogg en tenue militaire

Source
Howard Frank Fogg

Howard Frank Fogg est l'auteur de la première pièce musicale originale écrite pour un film canadien. Né à Lewiston (Maine), il déménage plus tard à Montréal où il étudie le violon avec Gustav Haanka.

Au cours de l'été 1915, il s'enrôle dans le 60e bataillon du Corps expéditionnaire canadien et arrive en France en février 1916. On le retire du front huit mois plus tard en raison d'une bronchite grave. En octobre1918, Howard Frank Fogg obtient le grade de lieutenant temporaire et retourne au champ de bataille. Affecté au 87e bataillon, il est précipitamment envoyé au front; le 5 novembre 1918, il est blessé au bras droit, blessure catastrophique pour un violoniste. Même s'il ne perd pas son bras, sa carrière de concertiste est terminée.

Howard Frank Fogg retourne au Canada où il étudie la direction d'orchestre avec Gaston Borsch. Au début des années 1920, il dirige un groupe musical montréalais, le Melody King's Dance Orchestra, avec lequel il enregistre « Ballet égyptien » d'Alexandre Luigini (1850-1906).

En 1925, il devient chef d'orchestre du groupe musical les Dumbells. Il compose des numéros pour la revue Lucky Seven et adapte des chansons pour le groupe, notamment « Winter Will Come » de Mert Plunkett. Il continue de diriger les Dumbells et de faire des tournées au Canada et aux États-Unis jusqu'en 1930. À cette époque, il occupe également le poste de directeur musical des 17th Duke of York's Royal Canadian Hussars.

Howard Frank Fogg prépare et dirige un certain nombre de concerts diffusés à la station de radio CNRM et, plus tard, à la station de radio de la Société Radio-Canada. Il est arrangeur et chef d'orchestre de la Canadian Victor Talking Machine Company et pionnier en matière de composition et de synchronisation pour l'Associated Screen News. En 1934, il compose la musique du documentaire Rhapsody in Two Languages. Cette œuvre est considérée comme la première œuvre musicale originale écrite pour un film canadien.

Howard Frank Fogg décède à Montréal, le 17 mai 1953.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements de Howard Frank Fogg, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.

Kevin Joynt, Section des livres rares, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada


Références

Diguid, Archer Fortescue. -- History of the Canadian Grenadier Guards, 1760-1964. -- Montréal : Gazette Printing, 1965. -- xxiii, 520 p. -- No AMICUS 2327385

Dreamland : a history of early Canadian movies 1895-1939 [film]. -- Réalisé par Donald Brittain et produit par Kirwan Cox. -- Toronto : Great Canadian Moving Picture Company, 1964. -- 85 min. 50 sec. -- No AMICUS 15394236

87th Battalion war diary. -- RG 9 III D3 volume 4944. -- November 1918

« Fogg, Howard ». -- Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada. -- Sous la direction d'Helmut Kallmann et al. -- 2e éd. rev. et augm. -- [Saint-Laurent, Qué.] : Fides, 1993. -- 3 vol. -- No AMICUS 13213211. Aussi disponible en ligne : www.thecanadianencyclopedia.com/

Fonds Gordon-Sparling. -- Entretien avec Gordon Sparling, 1973. -- R9162-0-3-E. -- Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

The Montreal star. -- May 18, 1953. -- No AMICUS 8405623

World War One service files. -- RG 150 1992-93/166. -- H.F. Fogg