Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Biographies

Billy Munro, composer, pianist, and musical director (1894-1969)

Photograph of Billy Munro, seated at the piano, circa 1923

Source
Billy Munro, circa 1923

Billy Munro was born in Grenada, in the West Indies, in March of 1894. As a youth, he lived with an uncle in London and studied piano at the Royal Academy of Music and University College School. He immigrated to the United States around 1910 and worked as a silent-movie pianist in a number of American cities before settling in Montréal in 1913. While he continued to play the piano in silent-movie theatres, Munro also performed at the Jardin de Danse in 1917. He lived in New York from 1918 to 1920, where he played in the celebrated Ted Lewis Orchestra. He composed several songs with this group, including "When My Baby Smiles at Me," written for the review Greenwich Village Follies of 1919. This song became a smash hit throughout North America and was featured in the films Hold That Ghost (1941) and Behind the Eight Ball (1942).

Billy Munro returned to Montréal in 1920 and joined the Melody Kings. The ensemble recorded a number of musical selections in 1923, for Herbert Berliner's Apex label. These recordings included Munro's own compositions "I'll Be Here When You Get Back" and "Music Makes the World Go Round." From 1925 to 1929, Munro played with the Melody Kings at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Montréal. He later formed his own dance orchestra and inaugurated the cabaret Le Frolic (renamed the Faisan doré 15 years later). His orchestra held extended billings at various cabarets, including Chez Maurice, the Lido and the Gatineau Country Club. Billy Munro turned to freelancing in 1941. He hosted his own radio program on CKAC in 1944 and became the music director at CKVL, a new radio station that began broadcasting from Verdun in 1946. His program, "Les découvertes de Billy Munro," was one of the most popular on French-language radio for a dozen years. From 1947 to 1950, he held the post of music director for the program "Le fantôme au clavier" (CKVL), hosted by Jacques Normand. The artistic collaboration between the two men continued for 15 years, first at the Faisan doré (1948-1950) and then through most of Jacques Normand's cabaret shows, until the mid-1960s.

Billy Munro passed away in Montréal on October 16, 1969.

Unfortunately, the pianist made few solo recordings. Munro's Jardin de Danse Orchestra recorded "Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes" in 1922 (HMV 216357). As well, a recording of "When My Baby Smiles at Me" and "My Blue Heaven" (CH-505) was put out by the Quebec label Alouette in 1952.

For more information on Billy Munro's recordings, please consult the Virtual Gramophone database.

Robert Thérien, music researcher, Montréal


References

Thérien, Robert.  -- Unpublished research notes

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Biographies

Billy Munro, compositeur, pianiste et directeur musical (1894-1969)

Photo montrant Billy Munro au piano, vers 1923

Source
Billy Munro, vers 1923

Billy Munro est né à La Grenade, dans les Antilles, en mars 1894. Il réside chez l'un de ses oncles à Londres et étudie le piano à la Royal Academy of Music et à l'University College School. Il immigre aux États-Unis vers 1910 et devient pianiste pour films muets dans quelques villes américaines avant de s'installer à Montréal en 1913. Tout en continuant à jouer du piano dans les salles de cinéma muet, Billy Munro se produit au Jardin de Danse en 1917. Il séjourne à New York de 1918 à 1920 où il fait partie du célèbre orchestre de danse de Teddy Lewis; il compose avec ce groupe de nombreuses chansons, notamment « When My Baby Smiles at Me ». Créée dans la revue Greenwich Village Follies of 1919, la chanson connaît un grand succès dans toute l'Amérique et est incorporée aux films Hold That Ghost (1941) et Behind the Eight Ball (1942).

Revenu à Montréal en 1920, Billy Munro fait partie de l'ensemble des Melody Kings. En 1923, il enregistre plusieurs pièces avec l'ensemble pour la compagnie Apex de Herbert Berliner, dont ses compositions « I'll Be Here When You Get Back » et « Music Makes the World Go Round ». De 1925 à 1929, Munro jouera avec les Melody Kings à l'hôtel Ritz-Carlton de Montréal. Il forme ensuite son propre orchestre de danse et inaugure le cabaret de danse Le Frolic's (qui deviendra le Faisan doré quinze ans plus tard). Son orchestre effectue de longs séjours dans divers cabarets, entre autres Chez Maurice, le Lido et le Gatineau Country Club. Devenu pigiste en 1941, Billy Munro anime sa propre émission radiophonique à CKAC en 1944 et devient directeur musical de CKVL, nouvelle station de radio inaugurée à Verdun en 1946. Son émission « Les découvertes de Billy Munro » sera, durant une douzaine d'années, une des émissions les plus populaires de la radio francophone. De 1947 à 1950, il occupe le poste de directeur musical de l'émission « Le fantôme au clavier » (CKVL) animée par Jacques Normand. La collaboration entre les deux artistes se poursuivra durant une quinzaine d'années, d'abord au cabaret Au Faisan doré (1948-1950), puis dans la plupart des spectacles que donnera Jacques Normand dans les cabarets jusqu'au milieu des années 1960.

Billy Munro s'éteint à Montréal, le 16 octobre 1969.

Le pianiste a malheureusement très peu enregistré comme soliste. Le Munro's Jardin de Danse Orchestra a mis sur disque la pièce « Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes » en 1922 (HMV 216357) et la compagnie québécoise Alouette a enregistré « When My Baby Smiles at Me » et « My Blue Heaven » (CH-505) en 1952.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les enregistrements de Billy Munro, veuillez consulter la base de données du Gramophone virtuel.

Robert Thérien, chercheur en musique, Montréal


Référence

Thérien, Robert. -- Notes de recherche inédites