Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

What's New on The Virtual Gramophone -- June 2006

The Virtual Gramophone is pleased to continue its retrospective of eminent Canadian classical musicians. We have added two new biographies, those of renowned soprano Florence Easton and tenor Edward Johnson.

Photograph of Edward Johnson, General Manager, Metropolitan Opera Association (1935-1950)

Source
Edward Johnson, General Manager, Metropolitan Opera Association (1935-1950)

As part of our research on Canada's classical music traditions, the History section of The Virtual Gramophone expands with the addition of a new essay by Bryan Dewalt, from the Canada Science and Technology Museum, on the history of sound recording and record players in Canada.

We have also added videos to our collection. Among the highlights is a video of an Edison phonograph playing the recordings "O Canada" by Irving Gillette and "Medley of French-Canadian Airs" by the Edison Concert Band, as well as one of a Berliner gramophone held in Library and Archives Canada's collection.

The database, which continues to grow, now features over 13,000 titles. These can be searched from any page on the site using the Collection Search button. To help you search through the collection, we have added a Search Help page.

We have also added over 300 complete sound recordings (available in both MP3 and RealAudio formats). There are now more than 4,700 audio files available on The Virtual Gramophone. Click on the Listen button to see our latest offerings, or to browse through the whole collection of audio files.

You can also listen to the site's digital content via a podcast. Using the supplied podcast channels and instructions, you can now enjoy a selection of content chosen by The Virtual Gramophone team.

Your feedback is always welcome. Click on the Comments button to contact us. We look forward to hearing from you.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Quoi de neuf sur le site du Gramophone virtuel - Juin 2006

L'équipe du site Le Gramophone virtuel est heureuse de continuer à vous présenter sa rétrospective des plus grands musiciens classiques du Canada. Nous avons ajouté dans notre section des biographies celles de la célèbre soprano, Florence Easton, et du ténor Edward Johnson.

Photo de Edward Johnson, directeur général, Metropolitan Opera Association (1935 - 1950)

Source
Edward Johnson, directeur général, Metropolitan Opera Association (1935 - 1950

Dans le cadre de nos recherches sur les traditions musicales canadiennes, la section Historique du site Le Gramophone virtuel s'est agrandie par l'ajout de la toute dernière rédaction de Bryan Dewalt, du Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada, sur l'histoire de l'enregistrement sonore et des tourne-disques au Canada.

Nous avons aussi ajouté des vidéos à notre collection. Vous y trouverez notamment la vidéo d'un phonographe d'Edison entonnant le « Ô Canada » d'Irving Gillette et le « Medley of French-Canadian Airs » du Edison Concert Band, ainsi que celle d'un gramophone Berliner de la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

La base de données continue de s'enrichir et compte plus de 13 000 pièces. Vous pouvez consulter cette base de données en passant par la page Recherche dans la collection. Afin de vous aider lors de vos recherches dans la collection, nous avons ajouté une page d'Aide à la recherche.

Nous avons également ajouté plus de 300 enregistrements complets (en formats MP3 et RealAudio). Le Gramophone virtuel comprend donc plus de 4 700 fichiers audio. Cliquez sur le lien Écoute afin d'écouter nos derniers ajouts ou pour consulter la collection complète de fichiers audio.

Vous pouvez aussi écouter le contenu numérique du site par l'entremise d'un baladodiffuseur. À l'aide des canaux et des instructions sur le baladodiffuseur, vous pouvez maintenant écouter un échantillon de la collection choisi par l'équipe du site Le Gramophone virtuel.

Comme toujours, vos commentaires sont les bienvenus. Vous pouvez nous les faire parvenir par l'intermédiaire du bouton Commentaires. Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous lire.