Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

History

The Music Scene in Quebec, 1915-1920

By the late 1910s, the population in the province of Quebec had reached about two and a half million. Between 1911 and 1921, Montreal's population grew from 468,000 to 618,500 inhabitants. To a lesser extent, Quebec City, Trois-Rivières and Sherbrooke also experienced significant population growth. Montreal remained primarily Anglophone until the end of the 19th century, as did its cultural industry (auditoriums, promoters, etc.). However, the predominance of Anglophone culture was to be reversed by the arrival of more than 300,000 francophones within 20 years.

Drawn to the city by industrialization, rural migrants brought with them their traditional folk music, which began to rival urban music from France, the United States and the United Kingdom. Working in difficult conditions and finding it hard to adapt to city ways, these new arrivals often lived in the same neighourhoods, clinging to folklore to maintain their identity. Traditional music boomed in popularity.

At that time, radio did not yet exist, films were silent and the high cost of records and record players meant that sound recordings were reserved for the middle and upper classes. As a result, music spread mainly through live performance. With the outbreak of world conflict in 1914 came restrictions, but the war also gave rise to relative prosperity thanks to the war industry.

Classical and Religious Music

Photograph of the Imperial Theatre Symphony Orchestra, Montréal, November 1915

Source
Imperial Theatre Symphony Orchestra, Montréal, November 1915

From time to time, touring groups performed operas and operettas in Montreal and Quebec City. In 1910, Albert Clerk-Jeannotte founded the Montreal Opera Company; this troupe gave over 300 performances, mainly with foreign soloists, at His Majesty's in Montreal and throughout Quebec. Local opera singers were confined to singing in Catholic churches, where attendance was high at that time. Most of these artists belonged to the Association des chanteurs de Montréal. Places of worship often became halls where hymns were performed. In 1917, under the direction of Honoré Vaillancourt and Albert Roberval, professional and semi-professional opera singers who were seeking new opportunities formed the Société nationale d'opéra comique, which became the Association d'art lyrique in 1918, then the Société canadienne d'opérette from 1923 to 1934. This marked the beginning of an operatic tradition of sorts for local artists at the Monument-National and other theatres in Montreal and Quebec City.

Variety Shows

Photograph of Alexandre Desmarteaux

Source
Alexandre Desmarteaux

After the Ligue de vertu successfully campaigned to shut down the "cafés-concerts" early in the century, variety shows found a new home in theatres such as the Canadien, the Chanteclerc, the National, the Nouveautés, the Arcade and the Family. Most such venues also presented popular theatre and silent films. In song, Blanche de la Sablonnière, Hector Pellerin and Alexandre Desmarteaux were no doubt the greatest stars to perform there. In Montreal, Sohmer Park and the Monument-National welcomed the greatest names in local and international performance. The large Anglophone and Yiddish communities were extremely active on the city's musical scene.

Folk Music

Considered a symbol of linguistic and cultural survival by the intellectual elite, traditional folk song was as much a part of the repertoire for opera singers as for variety performers. But traditional instrumental music was not found in mainstream urban theatres. It was only in the1920s that Conrad Gauthier's Veillées du bon vieux temps brought folk song and music to metropolitan audiences.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Historique

La scène musicale au Québec, 1915-1920

À la fin des années 1910, le Québec compte environ deux millions et demi d'habitants. Entre 1911 et 1921, la population de Montréal passe de 468 000 à 618 500 habitants. Les villes de Québec, de Trois-Rivières et de Sherbrooke connaissent, elles aussi, une croissance démographique importante, mais dans une moindre mesure. Jusqu'à la fin du XIXe siècle, Montréal est majoritairement anglophone, tout comme son industrie culturelle (salles, promoteurs, etc.). Toutefois, l'arrivée de plus de 300 000 francophones en vingt ans viendra renverser cette réalité.

Attirés par l'industrialisation, ces gens venus des régions rurales amènent avec eux leur musique folklorique traditionnelle qui vient concurrencer la musique urbaine héritée de la France, des États-Unis et du Royaume-Uni. Vivant dans des conditions de travail difficiles et ayant du mal à s'adapter à la culture urbaine, ces nouveaux arrivants habitent souvent dans les mêmes quartiers et se raccrochent à leur folklore pour préserver leur identité, donnant à la musique traditionnelle un essor considérable.

À cette époque, la radio n'existe pas encore, le cinéma est muet et l'enregistrement sonore s'adresse surtout à une clientèle bourgeoise en raison du coût élevé des disques et des appareils. La musique se propage donc essentiellement sur la scène. L'éclatement du premier conflit mondial en 1914 entraîne évidemment certaines restrictions, mais engendre par ailleurs une relative prospérité grâce à l'industrie de guerre.

Musique classique et religieuse

Photo de l'orchestre symphonique du Théâtre Impérial de Montréal, en novembre 1915

Source
Orchestre symphonique du Théâtre Impérial de Montréal, en novembre 1915

Montréal et Québec reçoivent sporadiquement des troupes en tournée qui viennent présenter des opéras et des opérettes. En 1910, Albert Clerk-Jeannotte fonde la Montreal Opera Company; cette troupe donne plus de 300 représentations au His Majesty's de Montréal et à travers le Québec avec des solistes presque tous étrangers. Les artistes lyriques locaux sont confinés au chant dans les églises catholiques, alors très fréquentées. L'Association des chanteurs de Montréal regroupe la plupart de ces interprètes. Les lieux de culte deviennent souvent des salles de spectacle pour chants sacrés. Afin de créer de nouveaux débouchés, des artistes lyriques professionnels et semi-professionnels, dirigés par Honoré Vaillancourt et Albert Roberval, créent, en 1917, la Société nationale d'opéra comique, qui devient l'Association d'art lyrique en 1918 et la Société canadienne d'opérette de 1923 à 1934. C'est ainsi qu'une certaine tradition d'art lyrique avec des artistes locaux s'installe sur les planches du Monument-National et de quelques autres salles de Montréal et de Québec.

Les variétés

Photo d'Alexandre Desmarteaux

Source
Alexandre Desmarteaux

Après la fermeture des cafés-concerts au début du siècle qu'a provoquée l'action de la Ligue de vertu, la chanson de variétés se transporte dans des théâtres : le Canadien, le Chanteclerc, le National, les Nouveautés, l'Arcade, le Family et bien d'autres. La plupart de ces salles présentent également du théâtre populaire et du cinéma muet. Pour ce qui est de la chanson, Blanche de la Sablonnière, Hector Pellerin et Alexandre Desmarteaux sont sans doute les plus grandes vedettes de ces établissements. À Montréal, le parc Sohmer et le Monument-National voient défiler tous les grands noms de la scène locale et internationale. Les importantes communautés anglophone et yiddish sont très actives dans la vie musicale de la métropole.

Le folklore

Symbole de la survivance de la langue et de la culture pour l'élite intellectuelle, la chanson folklorique traditionnelle se retrouve aussi bien dans le répertoire des interprètes lyriques que dans celui des artistes de variétés. Mais la musique traditionnelle instrumentale est absente des principales scènes urbaines. Il faut attendre le début des années 1920 pour que les Veillées du bon vieux temps de Conrad Gauthier donnent à un auditoire urbain des spectacles de chansons et de musique folkloriques.