Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

The Virtual Gramophone
Canadian Historical Sound Recordings

Search

About the Virtual Gramophone Database

General Cataloguing Principles Used in this Database

Description of the Virtual Gramophone Database Fields


The Virtual Gramophone: Canadian Historical Sound Recordings is a multi-media database which, when completed, will provide a detailed picture of the 78-rpm era in Canada. Each record in the database provides detailed information about an original recording, such as its title and performer, relevant dates, and information about the label and disc. Also accompanying selected entries are links to digitally scanned images of the label, to biographies of Canadian artists featured on the recordings, and to digital audio reproductions of recordings with Canadian content.

General Cataloguing Principles Used in this Database

To assist the user to interpret the information provided in the database, an outline of the fields and general principles followed in preparing the cataloguing entries is provided below.

Each side of each sound recording is treated as a separate entry in the database. Multiple copies of the same issue with the same label yield only a single cataloguing record for the group, while copies with the same issue number but different labels have separate entries. Because of the numerous variations on the early discs, an exception has been made for the 7-inch Canadian Berliner series, where each copy has been given a separate entry in the database.

English-language titles have descriptive information entered in English. French-language titles released primarily for the French market in Canada have descriptive information entered in French. Releases intended for both markets have bilingual descriptions. Entries in other languages, such as Italian or German, have title information transcribed in the language that appears on the disc. Descriptive information for these items is entered in English. To assist users, translations of the information found in the "Comments" field appear later in this document.

Unless otherwise indicated in the Comments field, discs are black in colour. For certain series, such as the Berliner 7-inch discs, where the discs were manufactured in a variety of colours, the colour of each disc has been noted.

Information supplied from a source other than the record label is entered in square brackets.

Fields have been left blank when information was unknown, could not be confirmed, or the field not applicable to the recording.

Feedback

Please contact us using the Comments button.

Description of the Virtual Gramophone Database Fields

Performer

The name(s) of the artist(s) and all additional information about the performer(s) (such as "soprano", "with orchestra", "violin obbligato" etc.) as it appears on the label. E.g., "Henry Burr, tenor with orchestra".

Performer Heading

The authoritative version of the artist's name as found in AMICUS (Library and Archives Canada's main catalogue) or LOCIS (the Library of Congress catalogue). If the name authority for an artist was not found in either catalogue, an authority was created according to the Anglo-American cataloguing rules. Some artists are listed on the label with only "Mr.", "Mrs.", "M.", "Mme" etc., before their surname or given name. In such instances, these titles were used where a first initial or given name was lacking.

Title

Title of a musical selection on a disc, transcribed as it appears on the disc.

Composer / Lyricist

The lyricist and composer of the selection as indicated on the label or in the reference sources: e.g., John Smith, lyrics ; George Grosse, music.

Larger Work

This field is used if a selection is part of a larger work, such as an opera, movie or Broadway show, as identified on the label or in the reference sources.

Album Set Title

The title of an album, transcribed as it appears on the binder or label.

Generic Label

The Generic Label is used to bring all the label names in a particular "family" together. For example, the Generic Label "Berliner" will group together all the terms used on various Berliner records, such as "Concert", "Gramophone", "Imperial", "E. Berliner", etc.

Transcribed Label

The Transcribed Label is the major label name as it appears on the disc. Berliner Concert Grand, E. Berliner's Gramophone, His Master's Voice, Starr, etc. are examples one might find in this field.

Sub Label

The Sub Label is the secondary label name on a disc, e.g., Grand Prize, Improved Gram-o-phone Record, etc.

Issue Number

The Issue Number is the number the record company has assigned to a disc. It is the principal number of the disc as it appears on the disc.

Matrix Number

The Matrix Number is often handwritten or stamped on the run-out area of the disc. It is the number assigned to identify the source of a particular recording.

Take Number

The take number as it appears on the disc, or otherwise found in reference sources. A question mark is used when two or more take numbers are indicated in the reference sources as being issued: e.g., [1 or 2?].

Side Number

The designation as it appears on each side of a disc, e.g., side 1, side 2.

Album Number

An Album Number is the number assigned by the record company to a set of discs, if different from the numbers for the individual discs in the set.

Coupling Number

Where separate issue numbers have been assigned for each side of a disc, the Coupling Number field in the cataloguing entry for Side 1 gives the Issue Number for Side 2 and vice versa. Thus, users can make the link between what might otherwise appear to be separate discs.

Control Number

A Control Number is a false matrix number assigned by a record company to disguise the source of the original recording, often a master recorded by another company.

Miscellaneous Numbers

Miscellaneous numbers that appear on discs or on the run-out area, including stamper numbers for other issues. Note that numbers appearing on the reverse of a single-sided disc are thus indicated. e.g., 22 (on reverse).

Distributor

The company that distributed the disc.

City

The name, if known, of the city where the distributor was based.

Manufacturer

The company that manufactured the disc.

Province/Country

Province and country of manufacture.

Date of recording

Date of recording in the format: dd mm yyyy (e.g., 12 Apr 1905). A question mark indicates a probable date and "ca." indicates an approximate date.

Recording Location

City, province or state, and country, if not Canada or United States, where original recording took place.

Recording Company

The name, if known, of the company that originally recorded the disc.

Release Date

Date of release in the format: dd Mmm yyyy (e.g., [ca 12 Apr 1905]). Canadian recordings rarely have the release date indicated on them. The majority of the release dates given in The Virtual Gramophone were obtained through research in local newspapers published about the time of the recording, in trade publications such as the Canadian Music Trades Journal, or from record company release sheets and catalogues. For purposes of this database, the first newspaper citation of a particular recording has been considered its release date where more precise information is missing.

Release Year

Year of release as indicated in the previous field. This field is included for ease of sorting within the database.

Issue type

Used to differentiate between an original pressing and a different contemporary or later reissue, e.g., release on another label. See Glossary for definitions of the following issue types: primary label, secondary label, contemporary release, reissue.

Alternate Issues

Information pertaining to another release of the same issue.

Comments

Provides descriptive information that is not included in the other fields of the database. The comments field is categorized into the following three sections.

  1. Physical appearance of 7 or 10-inch discs.
    For example, the disc colour or inscribed information on the disc.

  2. Texts on 7 or 10-inch disc paper labels.
    For example, patent or licensing information.

  3. Additional information about 7 or 10-inch discs.
    For example, notes about song titles or alternate issue numbers

To view comments relating to physical appearance and texts appearing on 7-inch disc paper labels, view  Comments: Physical appearance; Texts appearing on paper labels (7 and 10-inch). Please note that many of the descriptive comments relating to texts on 10-inch disc paper labels have been condensed. To see the phrasing found on the 10-inch disc paper labels view  Comments: Texts appearing on paper labels (10-inch).

Authority

The source of information for a cataloguing record: primarily the disc and label, but also published discographies, private collectors, or record company catalogues. The bibliography lists all of the reference sources used throughout the database.

SMD

Sound Material Designation: refers to the physical format of the commercial recording, e.g., cylinder, sound disc, cassette, CD, etc.

Dimensions

Refers to the size of a disc (e.g., 7 inch or 10 inch). Note that "other" is used to indicate an 8-inch disc. This information then appears in the Comments field.

Genre

The general type of music contained on the record. Note that "other" has been used for spoken word / monologue records.

Sub-Genre

A subset of genre giving information about the specific nature of the selection, such as a type of dance step, e.g., waltz, fox trot, etc., or monologue, narration, recitation, spoken word, comic sketch, etc.

Language

Language of performance is indicated in this field. If the language of the recording is not specified on the label or in reference sources, then it has been confirmed by listening.

Siglum

A brief identifier designating where the discs are located, e.g., OONL (Ontario Ottawa National Library). Note that the Siglum is left blank if the physical copy of a disc is with a private collector, or in no known collection.

Shelf Number

Each disc in Library and Archives Canada's collection is given an accession number. This number is used in the Shelf Number field. If information is given for a disc that is not held by Library and Archives Canada, the term "unseen / non vérifié" is used in place of a shelf number.

Please Note

Cataloguing Rules have been applied from the Anglo-American Cataloguing Rules, 2nd ed., Amendments 1993 (AACR2) and the Descriptive Cataloguing Manual, of the National Library of Canada, unto Update #10, 1998.

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

Le Gramophone virtuel
Enregistrements Historiques Canadiens

Recherche

À propos de la base de données

Principes généraux de catalogage ayant servi à l'élaboration de cette base de données

Descriptions des zones de la base de données du Gramophone virtuel


La base de données du Gramophone virtuel : Enregistrements historiques canadiens est une base de données multimédias qui, une fois terminée, donnera un aperçu étoffé de l'époque du 78 tours au Canada. Chaque disque dans la base de données contient une information détaillée sur un enregistrement original, telle que le titre, l'interprète, les dates d'usage, ainsi que de l'information relative à l'étiquette et au disque. Une sélection de disques 78 tours ont été balayés et sont disponibles sur le site de la Collection d'enregistrements et de vidéos de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. La base de données offre des liens à des images numériques, aux biographies d'artistes canadiens qui ont enregistré les disques affichés et à des reproductions sonores numériques d'enregistrements sélectionnés.

Principes généraux de catalogage ayant servi à l'élaboration de cette base de données

La présente description des zones de la base de données et des principes généraux, utilisés lors de la saisie des données de catalogage, a pour but d'aider l'utilisateur à interpréter l'information de chaque notice bibliographique.

Chaque face de chaque enregistrement sonore fait l'objet d'une entrée séparée dans la base de données. Cependant, une seule notice de catalogage existe pour chaque groupe de plusieurs exemplaires issus d'une même diffusion portant la même étiquette, alors que des exemplaires ayant le même numéro de tirage mais différentes étiquettes, font l'objet de notices distinctes. Compte tenu de la nature diversifiée des premiers disques, une exception a été faite dans le cas de la série de disques Berliner de 7 pouces où chaque exemplaire possède une entrée dans la base de données.

Les titres de langue anglaise sont donnés avec de l'information descriptive en anglais. Les titres de langue française diffusés principalement sur le marché francophone du Canada contiennent de l'information descriptive en français. Les disques mis en circulation sur les deux marchés comportent des descriptions bilingues. Les entrées dans d'autres langues, telles que l'italien ou l'allemand, sont faites dans la langue utilisée par le fabricant sur l'étiquette du disque. L'information descriptive, quant à elle, est faite en anglais. Afin de venir en aide à nos utilisateurs, la traduction de l'information que l'on retrouve dans la zone Commentaires peut être vue plus loin dans ce document.

À moins d'indication contraire dans la zone de Commentaires, les disques sont noirs. Dans le cas de certaines séries telles les disques de 7 pouces Berliner, qui ont été produits en diverses couleurs, la couleur du disque est mentionnée.

L'information provenant d'autres sources que l'étiquette du disque et utilisée pour compléter les notices de catalogage est inscrite entre parenthèses carrées.

Les zones de la notice de catalogage qui comportent des renseignements qui ne pouvaient être vérifiés, qui sont inconnus ou qui ne s'appliquent pas ont été laissées vides.

Réaction

Veuillez communiquer avec nous par l'intermédiaire du bouton Commentaires.

Descriptions des zones de la base de données du Gramophone virtuel

Vedette d'interprète

La vedette autorité du nom de l'interprète, telle que trouvée dans AMICUS (le catalogue principal de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada) ou LOCIS (le catalogue de la Library of Congress). Si, dans le cas où une vedette n'a pu être localisée, une nouvelle vedette était alors créée selon les Règles de catalogage anglo-américaines. Certains interpètes mentionnés sur l'étiquette portent les titres de politesse « Mr », « Mrs. », « M. », « Mme » etc., avant le prénom ou le nom de famille. Ceux-ci sont utilisés aux fins d'une vedette de nom lorsqu'il n'y a pas d'initiale ou de prénom.

Interprète

Le nom du ou des interprètes ainsi que toute autre information donnée sur ceux-ci (« soprano », « violon obbligato », « chanteurs », « solistes », etc.), apparaissent dans la notice tels qu'indiqués sur le disque, c.-à-d. : « Victor Occellier, baryton avec orchestre ».

Titre

Le titre de la sélection musicale d'un disque est transcrit tel qu'il apparaît sur le disque.

Compositeur / parolier

Le parolier et le compositeur de la sélection, tels qu'ils apparaîssent sur l'étiquette ou dans les sources de référence, c.-à-d., John Smith, paroles; George Grosse, musique. S'il s'agit d'un enregistrement de paroles sans musique, on l'indique comme suit : Edith Sitwell, paroles.

Ouvrage plus vaste

On utilise cette zone si une sélection fait partie d'une ouvrage plus vaste, telle un opéra, un film ou une représentation sur Broadway tel qu'il est indiqué sur l'étiquette ou dans les sources de référence.

Titre d'un album

Le titre d'un album s'écrit comme il apparaît sur la pochette ou sur l'étiquette.

Étiquette générique

La zone de l'étiquette générique sert à regrouper tous les noms des étiquettes d'une même « famille ». Par exemple, l'étiquette générique « Berliner » regroupera tous les termes utilisés sur divers disques Berliner, tels « Concert », « Gramophone », « Imperial », « E. Berliner », etc.

Étiquette transcrite

L'étiquette transcrite est le principal nom de l'étiquette tel qu'il apparaît sur le disque, c.-à-d., Berliner Concert Grand, E. Berliner's Gramophone, His Master's Voice, Starr, etc.

Sous-étiquette

La sous-étiquette est le nom de l'étiquette l'inscription secondaire sur le disque, c.-à-d., Grand Prize, Improved Gram-o-phone Record, etc.

Numéro de tirage

Le numéro de tirage est le numéro que la maison de disque a assigné au disque. Il s'agit du principal numéro qui apparaît sur le disque.

Numéro de matrice

Le numéro de matrice est souvent manuscrit ou estampé sur le sillon de sortie du disque. Ce numéro sert à identifier la provenance de l'enregistrement.

Numéro de prise

Le numéro de prise d'enregistrement tel qu'il apparaît sur le disque ou dans les sources de référence. On a recours au point d'interrogation lorsque les sources de référence indiquent qu'il y a eu deux reprises et plus, c.-à-d., [1 ou 2?].

Numéro de face

La désignation numérique qui apparaît sur chaque face du disque, c.-à-d., face 1, face 2.

Numéro de l'album

Un numéro de l'album est un numéro assigné par la maison de disques à un ensemble de disques, si celui-ci diffère du numéro de chaque disque de l'ensemble.

Numéro de jumelage

Dans le cas où chaque face du disque possède un différent numéro de tirage, la zone de numéro de jumelage des données de catalogage de la face 1 donne le numéro de tirage de la face 2, tel qu'inscrit sur le disque, et vice versa. Ainsi, les utilisateurs peuvent faire le lien entre ce qui semblerait autrement représenter deux différents disques.

Numéro de contrôle

Un numéro de contrôle est un faux numéro de matrice assigné au disque par une maison de disque afin de camoufler la source de l'enregistrement d'origine, souvent parce qu'il s'agit d'un disque original d'une autre maison.

Numéros divers

Les autres numéros sont des numéros qui apparaissent sur le disque ou sur la partie de sillon de sortie, dont des numéros d'autres tirages. Il faut prendre note que les numéros qui apparaissent à l'endos d'un disque à une face doivent porter la mention endos, c.-à-d., 22 (à l'endos).

Distributeur

La société qui a mis le disque en circulation.

Ville

Le nom, s'il est connu, de la ville où se situe la société de distribution.

Fabricant

La société qui a pressé le disque.

Province / Pays

La province et le pays de fabrication.

Date d'enregistrement

Date d'enregistrement

Lieu d'enregistrement

Ville, province ou état et pays, s'il ne s'agit pas du Canada ou des États-Unis, où l'enregistrement a été fait.

Maison de disques

Le nom, s'il est connu, de la société qui a enregistré le disque original.

Date de lancement

Date de lancement : jour, mois, année, c.-à.-d., [env. 12 avr. 1905]. Les enregistrements canadiens donnent rarement la date de lancement. Le plupart des dates de lancement données dans la base de données du Gramophone virtuel proviennent de recherches dans les journaux locaux publiés à la même époque que la date d'enregistrement ou dans les revues spécialisées telles que le Canadian Music Trades Journal ou des feuillets de diffusion et des catalogues de maisons de disques. Aux fins de cette base de données, on a considéré la première citation de journal d'un enregistrement comme date de lancement lorsqu'il n'y a pas de renseignements plus précis.

Année de lancement

L'année de lancement telle qu'indiquée dans la zone précédente. Cette zone sert à faciliter le triage dans la base de données.

Genre d'édition

Le genre d'édition sert à différencier le pressage d'origine d'un pressage plus récent ou contemporain, c.-à-d., diffusé sous une autre étiquette. Consulter le glossaire pour obtenir la définition de ces différents genres d'édition : étiquette principale, étiquette secondaire, édition contemporaine, réédition.

Autres éditions

Toute information se rapportant à une autre édition du même tirage.

Commentaires

Fourni de l'information descriptive n'étant pas couverte par les autres champs de la base de données. Le champ des commentaires est classé par catégories selon les trois aspects suivants.

  1. Apparence physique des disques de 7 ou de 10 pouces.
    Par exemple, la couleur du disque ou toute information gravée sur le disque

  2. Textes vus sur l'étiquette en papier des disques de 7 ou de 10 pouces.
    Par exemple, l'information relative au brevet d'invention ou à la licence de vente.

  3. Information additionnelle à propos des disques de 7 ou de 10 pouces.
    Par exemple, des notes à propos du titre ou des numéros de tirage alternatifs.

Pour visionner les commentaires relatifs à l'apparence ou aux textes vus sur l'étiquette en papier des disques de 7 pouces, voir  Commentaires : apparence physique; textes vus sur l'étiquette en papier (7 et 10 pouces). Veuillez noter que plusieurs des commentaires descriptifs relatifs aux textes vus sur l'étiquette en papier des disques de 10 pouces ont été condensés. Pour visionner la formulation des commentaires vus sur l'étiquette en papier des disques de 10 pouces, voir  Commentaires : textes vus sur l'étiquette en papier (10 pouces).

Sources consultées

Les sources d'information pour la notice de catalogage : habituellement le disque mais aussi les discographies publiées, les collectionneurs privés ou les catalogues de maisons de disques. La bibliographie donne toutes les sources de référence utilisées pour l'ensemble de la base de données.

Dans le cas de disques [non vérifié / unseen], on donne le titre de la source de référence en supplément à la notice bibliographique.

Indication spécifique du genre de document

Désigne le format de l'enregistrement commercial, c.-à.-d., cylindre, disque sonore, cassette, disque compact, etc.

Dimensions

Désigne la dimension du disque, comme par exemple, 7 pouces ou 10 pouces. La dimension s'exprime cependant en centimètres. Aux fins de la base de données, veuillez noter que « autre » sert à indiquer un disque de 8 pouces. Ce renseignement apparaît alors dans la zone intitulée : Commentaires.

Genre

Le genre général de la musique du disque. Il faut noter que l'annotation « autre » a servi à désigner les enregistrements de textes parlés et de monologues.

Sous-genre

Un sous-ensemble d'information sur le genre concernant la nature spécifique de la sélection, telle un genre de pas de danse, c.-à.-d., la valse, le foxtrot, etc., ou un monologue, une narration, un récit, un texte parlé, une narration humoristique, etc.

Langue

La langue de l'interprétation est indiquée dans cette zone. Si la langue de l'enregistrement n'est pas donnée sur l'étiquette, dans la plupart des cas, cette information est vérifiée en écoutant le disque ou en constatant la langue du titre de la sélection.

Sigle

Un identificateur court désigne l'emplacement du disque, c.-à.-d., OONL (Ontario Ottawa Bibliothèque nationale). Veuillez noter que la zone reste vide lorsque l'exemplaire du disque est conservé dans une collection privée ou dans une collection non connue.

Cote topographique

Chaque disque de la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada possède un cote topographique. Ce numéro est inscrit dans la zone du numéro d'emplacement. Si on donne de l'information sur un disque qui n'est pas conservé par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, on utilise le terme « non vérifié / unseen » au lieu du cote topographique.

Remarque :

Les règles de catalogage sont tirées des Règles de catalogage anglo-américanes, Deuxième édition révision 1988 (AACR2) et du Guide de catalogage descriptif, de la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada.

Précédent | Suivant