Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - In Quarantine:
Life and Death on Grosse Île, 1832-1937

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Black and white photo collage of a young woman wearing a white blouse, two men with moustaches and suits, two women, a stone Celtic cross, and four people in matching uniforms sitting on a porch railing

The Grosse Île Quarantine Station

The Creation of the Quarantine Station

Black and white photograph of sailing ships and a harbour seen from high above

Source

The harbour from the Governor's Garden, Québec, ca. 1858-1860

Black and white drawing of sailing ships and rowboats with a hill and buildings in the distance

Source

Rowboats transport the doctors to the anchored vessels in the western sector of Grosse Île, 1832

Black and white photograph of two men standing near several cannons on a bay

Source

Cannons on the western sector of Grosse Île, before 1910

Ledger handwritten in cursive

Source

Register entitled "Register of River Craft furnished with Certificates of Discharge from Quarantine", Grosse Île, 1834

Ledger handwritten in cursive

Source

Register entitled "Register of River Craft furnished with Certificates of Discharge from Quarantine", Grosse Île, 1834

In the first half of the 19th century, a rising tide of English, Scots and particularly Irish immigrants left the British Isles, fleeing economic hardship. Many of them sought a better life in Canada. From April to November of each year, the City of Québec, the country's main port of entry, received several thousand immigrants.

Epidemics and Immigration

Immigration on this scale was unprecedented in Canadian history, and it occurred at a time when major epidemics were ravaging Europe. Ships arriving in America carried smallpox, measles, scarlet fever and other fever illnesses. Asiatic cholera, a new and deadly disease that spread like wildfire, had been raging through Europe since 1829 and raising fears on this side of the ocean. Newcomers to Canada were thought to be bringing the disease with them. The colonial authorities quickly passed health control measures for these immigrants. On February 25, 1832, the House of Assembly of Lower Canada passed a law establishing a quarantine station at Grosse Île.

Grosse Île

Grosse Île held a strategic position, located in the St. Lawrence River 48 km downstream of Québec in the Île-aux-Grues archipelago. The island was an obvious choice: it was situated near the Port of Québec in the centre of the shipping lanes and it offered natural sites for anchoring. Until Grosse Île was requisitioned by the British army, its only resident was a farmer. It became the mandatory stopping point for all ships so that persons suffering from contagious diseases could be treated. The authorities hoped that these measures would prevent a cholera outbreak in the colony.

Under the Quarantine Act, all ships carrying persons, property or goods from infected ports had to report to Grosse Île for a mandatory medical inspection. Anyone who was ill or had been in contact with an ill person was detained, and the ships and their contents were disinfected.

The Arrival of Ships at Grosse Île

As a ship entered the mouth of the St. Lawrence, the pilot who guided the vessel presented the captain with a copy of the Act. A medical inspector boarded the ship when it arrived off Grosse Île. The doctor checked the passenger manifest and the ship's log, which contained information about any illnesses and deaths during the crossing. Any ship that did not stop could be fired on by the quarantine station's guns.

Passengers suffering from Asiatic cholera, smallpox, typhus, the plague and yellow fever had to be quarantined. Serious cases of measles, scarlet fever and diphtheria, and other so-called minor illnesses were also treated at the station.

The doctor assembled the passengers and crew on the upper deck to look for any early symptoms that might indicate disease, such as a fever or rash. He then examined any sick persons confined to the steerage area or in the ship's infirmary. Lastly, he determined the state of health on board the ship. Based on this information, the doctor decided whether to issue the ship the necessary certificate to enter the Port of Québec and let it continue, or place it under quarantine.

Over the years, technological advances improved the ship inspection process. As of 1886, a steamer replaced the rowboat that transported the doctor to the ship anchored offshore. A major change occurred in 1924: after a reorganization of the quarantine station, ship inspections moved from Grosse Île to Pointe-au-Père, near Rimouski, the point at which the St. Lawrence pilots also guided the boats.

The Quarantine Station

Once the ship had been quarantined, the sick passengers in steerage were taken to the station hospitals. Passengers who had been in contact with the sick disembarked and were placed under observation. People were not necessarily held for 40 days, as suggested by the word "quarantine" (from the Italian quaranta giorni, or 40 days). This period actually relates to the story of Jesus fasting for 40 days in the desert. In reality, steerage passengers were quarantined from three to 15 days on average, based on the recognized incubation period for each of the diseases. However, the quarantine was extended as cases broke out. Cabin or first-class passengers disembarked only if they had a contagious disease. On the island, patients and passengers under observation were separated from each other, and all contact between them was prohibited.

The Quarantine Act stated that ships which had experienced a disease outbreak had to be disinfected at Grosse Île before being allowed to continue to Québec. The disinfection process involved the ship and all its contents. Initially, disinfection meant airing the ship and using powerful substances such as sulphur to eliminate the offensive odours associated with the presence of contagious diseases at the time. Passengers were asked to wash themselves and their belongings in the river.

Making Quarantine Effective

The discovery of the cholera bacterium by Robert Koch in 1884 and the development of proven methods of destroying it-such as superheated steam, bichloride of mercury, sulphur dioxide and formaldehyde-ensured that the disinfection process was effective. Known in the quarantine stations as "scientific disinfection," the introduction of this new process took place during the 1880s and 1890s and was the result of concerted action by Canada, the United States and Mexico to stop a serious cholera epidemic from breaking out in North America. The Grosse Île quarantine station, the largest in Canada, was the first to be equipped to handle the process. Medical superintendent Frederick Montizambert oversaw the reorganization of Canada's quarantine stations.

The station at Grosse Île operated for just over 100 years and saw tremendous changes in that time. The early decades were marked by haste, trial and error, and ignorance, compounded by the behaviour of lax ship captains who wanted to circumvent the law or pressured authorities to attenuate its application. From the 1880s onward, Grosse Île was transformed. Structured according to the latest knowledge, well-planned and meticulous, the quarantine station made an effective barrier.

The Decline of the Grosse Île Quarantine Station

Following the First World War, immigration dropped sharply, the costs of operating Grosse Île were high, and there were fewer patients. Minor contagious diseases were treated at the Parc Savard Hospital in Québec from 1924 onwards. In 1927, smallpox patients were the last to be treated at the quarantine station. Tremendous progress in the field of bacteriology and the crash of 1929 resulted in Grosse Île becoming simply an emergency facility. Its closure was announced in the summer of 1937.

Visit the Gallery -- The Creation of the Quarantine Station to see more from the Library and Archives Canada collection.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - En quarantaine :
la vie et la mort à la Grosse-Île, 1832-1937

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière : Collage de photos en noir et blanc d'une jeune femme portant une blouse blanche, de deux hommes moustachus en tenue, de deux femmes, d'une croix celtique en pierre et de quatre personnes en tenues identiques assises sur la rampe d'un porche

La station de quarantaine de la Grosse-Île

La naissance de la station de quarantaine

Photographie en noir et blanc d'un port et de navires vus de très haut

Source

Le port, vu à partir du jardin du Gouverneur, Québec, vers 1858-1860

Dessin en noir et blanc de navires et chaloupes ainsi qu'une colline et des bâtiments au loin

Source

Des chaloupes mènent les médecins aux navires ancrés au large dans le secteur ouest de Grosse-Île, 1832

Photographie en noir et blanc de deux hommes debout sur une baie à proximité de plusieurs cannons

Source

Canons dans le secteur ouest de la Grosse-Île, avant 1910

Registre manuscrit en écriture cursive

Source

Registre intitulé « Register of River Craft furnished with Certificates of Discharge from Quarantine » (« Registre de River Craft fourni avec certificats de renvoi en quarantaine »), Grosse-Île, 1834

Registre manuscrit en écriture cursive

Source

Registre intitulé « Register of River Craft furnished with Certificates of Discharge from Quarantine » (« Registre de River Craft fourni avec certificats de renvoi en quarantaine »), Grosse-Île, 1834

Dans la première moitié du 19e siècle, un flot toujours croissant d'Anglais, d'Écossais et surtout d'Irlandais quitte les îles Britanniques pour fuir des conditions économiques difficiles. Un grand nombre d'entre eux choisissent de s'établir au Canada pour améliorer leur sort. Chaque année, d'avril à novembre, la ville de Québec, principal port d'entrée du pays, accueille plusieurs milliers d'immigrants.

Épidémies et immigration

L'ampleur de cette immigration est sans précédent dans l'histoire du Canada et elle survient au moment où de grandes épidémies s'abattent sur l'Europe. La variole, les fièvres, la rougeole et la scarlatine sont déjà présentes à bord des navires qui arrivent en Amérique. Nouvelle maladie meurtrière et foudroyante, le choléra asiatique se répand en Europe depuis 1829 et suscite ici les plus grandes craintes. On s'attend en effet à ce que les immigrants en soient des agents de transmission au Canada. Les autorités impériales dans la colonie adoptent rapidement des mesures pour assurer le contrôle sanitaire de ces immigrants. Le 25 février 1832, la Chambre d'assemblée du Bas-Canada adopte une loi créant une station de quarantaine à la Grosse Île.

La Grosse-Île

Située dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent à 48 km en aval de Québec, dans l'archipel de l'Île- aux-Grues, la Grosse-Île occupe une position stratégique. Proche du port de Québec, au centre des chenaux de navigation, et dotée de sites naturels propices à l'ancrage, la Grosse-Île est un choix incontournable. Occupée jusqu'alors par un seul fermier, l'île est réquisitionnée par l'armée britannique. C'est à cet endroit que tous les navires doivent dorénavant se présenter afin que les malades contagieux y soient traités. Les autorités espèrent ainsi empêcher l'introduction du choléra dans la colonie.

En vertu de la loi de quarantaine, tous les navires transportant des personnes, des biens ou des marchandises en provenance de ports infectés doivent s'arrêter à la Grosse-Île pour y subir une inspection médicale obligatoire. Les mesures comprennent également la détention des malades et de ceux ayant été en contact avec eux, en plus de la désinfection des navires et de leur contenu.

L'arrivée des navires à la Grosse-Île

Dans un premier temps, les pilotes qui prennent en charge les navires à l'embouchure du Saint-Laurent remettent une copie de la loi aux capitaines. Une fois le bateau arrivé au large de l'île, un inspecteur médical monte à bord. Le médecin vérifie la liste des passagers et le journal de bord, qui contient la déclaration des maladies et des décès survenus pendant la traversée. Tout navire qui continue sa route sans s'arrêter s'expose aux tirs des canons de la station.

Les maladies qui justifient une quarantaine des passagers sont le choléra asiatique, la variole, le typhus, la peste et la fièvre jaune. Les cas sévères de rougeole, de scarlatine, de diphtérie ou d'autres de ces maladies dites mineures sont également traités à la station.

Le médecin rassemble les passagers et l'équipage sur le pont supérieur afin de déceler chez eux des signes avant-coureurs tels que la fièvre et les éruptions cutanées. Il examine ensuite les malades confinés dans l'entrepont ou dans l'hôpital du navire. Finalement, il vérifie l'état de salubrité du navire. À la lumière de ces informations, le médecin décide soit de libérer le navire en lui délivrant le certificat requis pour accoster au port de Québec, soit de le garder en quarantaine.

Au cours des ans, l'inspection des navires bénéficie des progrès technologiques. Ainsi, à partir de 1886, un bateau à vapeur remplace les chaloupes à rames pour conduire le médecin jusqu'au navire ancré au large. Par ailleurs, un changement important survient en 1924 : à la suite d'une réorganisation du fonctionnement de la quarantaine, l'inspection des navires ne se fait plus à la Grosse-Île mais bien à Pointe-au-Père, près de Rimouski, le même endroit où les pilotes du Saint-Laurent prennent en charge la conduite des bateaux.

La quarantaine

Une fois le navire mis en quarantaine, les passagers d'entrepont malades sont dirigés vers les hôpitaux de la station, alors que les passagers ayant été en contact avec les malades sont débarqués dans des logements pour être gardés sous observation. La période de détention ne dure pas 40 jours, comme le laisse croire le terme « quarantaine », qui fait plutôt référence aux 40 jours de jeûne de Jésus dans le désert. En réalité, les passagers d'entrepont sont détenus entre trois et 15 jours en moyenne, selon le temps d'incubation reconnu pour chacune des maladies. Mais l'apparition de cas prolonge la quarantaine. Quant aux passagers de cabine ou de première classe, ils ne sont débarqués que s'ils sont atteints d'une maladie contagieuse. Sur l'île, les malades et les passagers en observation sont isolés les uns des autres et tout contact entre eux est interdit.

La Loi sur la quarantaine stipule que les navires à bord desquels la maladie s'est déclarée doivent subir une désinfection à la Grosse-Île avant d'obtenir la permission de continuer leur route vers Québec. Le processus de désinfection touche le navire et tout son contenu. Dans les premières années, la désinfection du navire s'effectue en aérant et en utilisant des produits puissants comme le soufre pour chasser les mauvaises odeurs que l'on associe, à cette époque, à la présence des maladies contagieuses. On demande aux passagers de se nettoyer et de laver leurs effets dans le fleuve.

Une quarantaine efficace

La découverte de la bactérie du choléra par Robert Koch en 1884 et l'élaboration de moyens éprouvés de la détruire - tels la vapeur surchauffée, le bichlorure de mercure, le dioxyde de soufre et le formaldéhyde - assurent l'efficacité de la désinfection. La mise en place, dans les années 1880 et 1890, de cette nouvelle désinfection (dite scientifique dans les stations de quarantaine) est issue d'une concertation entre le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique pour empêcher l'introduction d'une grave épidémie de choléra en Amérique du Nord. La station de la Grosse-Île, la plus importante au Canada, est la première à être équipée. Le surintendant, Frederick Montizambert, est le maître d'œuvre de la réorganisation des stations de quarantaine au Canada.

Au cours de ses quelques cent ans d'existence, la station de quarantaine de la Grosse-Île connaît une évolution marquée. La précipitation, les tâtonnements et l'ignorance qui marquent les premières décennies se doublent du laxisme des capitaines des navires désireux de contourner la loi et des pressions qu'ils exercent afin d'obtenir des adoucissements dans son application. À partir des années 1880, la quarantaine présente un tout autre visage. Son organisation bien pensée et rigoureuse garantit, dans les limites des connaissances, l'efficacité de son rôle de barrière.

Le déclin de la station de quarantaine de la Grosse-Île

Après la Première Guerre mondiale, l'immigration connaît une forte baisse, les coûts d'exploitation de la Grosse-Île sont élevés, et les malades moins nombreux. Les maladies contagieuses bénignes sont traitées à l'Hôpital du Parc Savard de Québec à partir de 1924. Les derniers patients à être traités à la station de quarantaine le sont en 1927 et ils sont atteints de variole. Les immenses progrès de la médecine bactériologique et la crise économique de 1929 relèguent la Grosse-Île à une simple station d'urgence. À l'été de 1937, on annonce la fermeture de la station de quarantaine.

Venez découvrir, dans la Galerie - La naissance de la station de quarantaine, d'autres pièces de la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.