Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - In Quarantine:
Life and Death on Grosse Île, 1832-1937

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Black and white photo collage of a young woman wearing a white blouse, two men with moustaches and suits, two women, a stone Celtic cross, and four people in matching uniforms sitting on a porch railing

The Grosse Île Quarantine Station

Layout of Buildings and Facilities

Early Development of the Island

Colourful hand drawn map of buildings and a wharf on Grosse Île

Source

Map of the western sector of Grosse Île with the primary buildings built in 1832. The wharf hereby shown will be built at another location

Hand-drawn map of Grosse Île showing buildings and topographical elevation

Source

Map of Grosse Île, ca.1850, showing the 12 eastern-sector lazarettos that were built in 1847 to house typhus convalescents, (page 1 of 2)

Black and white photograph of a man standing next to several carts outside a small building with a large brick chimney

Source

The disinfection building after its construction in 1893

Black and white photograph of a large stone building

Source

Built in 1914, the third-class hotel features 280 beds divided in to 52 rooms

In the first spring following the passage of the 1832 Quarantine Act, the colonial authorities quickly sent soldiers from the 32nd Regiment of the British Army to Grosse Île. The only structures present at the time were a house and some farm buildings, located on the eastern section of the island.

The first quarantine buildings were erected hastily in the west and centre sectors, separated by a gate. The temporary wooden structures were set on piles. It was decided that the immigrants would disembark in the west sector, since it was naturally isolated from the island by a narrow piece of land that formed a kind of peninsula. A 48-bed hospital was established there to deal with cholera cases. Nearby were two fenced buildings for healthy persons under observation. These structures accommodated the several hundred passengers from a single ship.

In the centre sector stood wooden barracks for the soldiers. A battery of three guns was set up on the shoreline to encourage captains to comply with the Quarantine Act.

In the years following the establishment of the quarantine station, work was carried out to improve the infrastructure. Accommodations, hospitals, chapels and food storage facilities were added to the west sector. As the tragic navigation season of 1847 began, the station was able to accommodate 200 invalids and convalescents, and 800 healthy individuals. As there was no dock, passengers disembarked on the shore.

Reorganization Triggered by the Epidemic of 1847

Nothing had prepared the authorities on Grosse Île for the tragedy that occurred in the summer of 1847. News of a typhus epidemic in Europe forced Dr. George Mellis Douglas, medical superintendent from 1836 to 1864, to quickly reorganize the station to deal with the thousands of Irish immigrants fleeing poverty, oppression and famine.

A dock was built in the west sector to help passengers disembark. Orders were given for more hospitals, many of which were prefabricated in Québec and then transported by barge and assembled on site by the soldiers. Tents and canopies were also set up around the cholera hospital. Every building on the island would eventually be filled with the sick.

The extent of the tragedy forced authorities to house convalescing patients in the east sector. Twelve 200-foot-long buildings were built for them. A total of 20 new buildings transformed the station's appearance. More than 5,000 immigrants could now be accommodated and hospitalized on Grosse Île. The soldiers built a final large building before their departure in 1857. This wash house provided shelter from the weather and made it much easier to wash the immigrant's belongings and to cook food.

Modernizing the Facilities

When Frederick Montizambert took over the superintendent's duties in 1869, Grosse Île became a permanent facility and began its modernization process. The village sector in the centre of the island began to develop quickly in the 1870s. An eight-unit block of houses was added for the station's boat crews and other employees. A Catholic church was built opposite. A new house accommodated the superintendent and his family. The former house of the British military commander was converted into a Catholic presbytery. A bakery, a hotel for first-class passengers, and a Protestant chapel were also constructed.

The construction of the Marine Hospital in the island's east sector in 1881 marked an important stage in efforts to modernize the facilities and fight contagious disease more effectively. The two-storey hospital was the first brick building at the station and it centralized all the services required for treating some 100 patients: dedicated treatment rooms, a clinic, a kitchen, an operating room, a waiting room, a pharmacy, nurses' accommodations and a day room. The immigrants were cared for in large wards, while private rooms were reserved for first-class passengers. The hospital's outbuildings included two structures for disinfecting bedding, clothing and luggage. Staff housing was built along the river. The new hospital improved the working conditions of the doctors and nurses, and led to better care for patients.

The 20th Century Dawns

The construction of a disinfection building near the west dock and the installation of modern facilities made Grosse Île one of the most advanced and secure quarantine stations in the 1890s. Superintendent Montizambert based the designs for these facilities on the disinfection systems he had seen at quarantine stations in New Orleans, New York, Galveston and Charleston. Montizambert and the architect from Public Works designed the super-heated steam disinfection chambers that would be used in all Canadian quarantine stations. Three of these chambers were located on the main floor of the building to disinfect all of the passengers' belongings. On the next floor, the passengers themselves were disinfected in shower baths using water and bichloride of mercury.

At the beginning of the 20th century, as the number of immigrants continued to climb, superintendent Georges-Élie Martineau, who served from 1899 to 1929, undertook major improvements to provide passengers staying at the station with the same quality of accommodations that they enjoyed on board ship. First-, second- and third-class hotels were built in the west sector. A water supply system and running water were installed in many of the island's buildings, and work began on bringing electricity to the station. The modernization of the station also involved constructing a guard post at the entrance to the village, a school, a Marconi station (radio telegraphy), brick houses for the physicians, a bacteriology laboratory and a nurses' residence.

Visit the Gallery -- Layout of Buildings and Facilities to see more from the Library and Archives Canada collection.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - En quarantaine :
la vie et la mort à la Grosse-Île, 1832-1937

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière : Collage de photos en noir et blanc d'une jeune femme portant une blouse blanche, de deux hommes moustachus en tenue, de deux femmes, d'une croix celtique en pierre et de quatre personnes en tenues identiques assises sur la rampe d'un porche

La station de quarantaine de la Grosse-Île

Aménagement des édifices et installations

Les premiers aménagements

Carte en couleur, dessinée à la main, affichant des immeubles et un quai sur Grosse-Île

Source

Carte du secteur ouest de la Grosse-Île avec les premiers bâtiments construits en 1832. Le quai projeté ici sera réalisé à un autre endroit

Carte de Grosse-Île dessinée à la main montrant des immeubles et l'altitude topographique

Source

Carte de Grosse-Île vers 1850 sur laquelle on peut voir les 12 lazarets construits en 1847 dans le secteur est pour loger les convalescents du typhus (page 1 de 2)

Photographie en noir et blanc d'un homme debout à côté de plusieurs charriots à l'extérieur d'un petit immeuble doté d'une grande cheminée en brique

Source

L'édifice de désinfection après sa construction en 1893

Photographie en noir et blanc d'un grand immeuble en pierre

Source

Construit en 1914, l'hôtel de troisième classe a une capacité de 280 lits répartis dans 52 chambres

Dès le printemps suivant l'adoption de la Loi sur la quarantaine de 1832, les autorités coloniales dépêchent à la Grosse-Île les militaires du 32e Régiment de l'armée britannique. À cette époque, les seuls édifices présents - des bâtiments de ferme et une maison - sont situés dans la partie est de l'île.

Les premiers bâtiments de quarantaine sont aménagés à la hâte au centre et dans le secteur ouest de l'île, séparés par une barrière. De caractère temporaire, ils sont en bois, sur pilotis. Le secteur ouest est choisi pour y débarquer les immigrants car il se trouve naturellement isolé par un rétrécissement qui forme pratiquement une presqu'île. On y érige un hôpital d'une capacité de 48 lits pour les cas de choléra. Deux logements clôturés pour les biens portants en observation se trouvent à proximité. Chacun d'eux accueille les quelques centaines de passagers d'un même navire.

Des casernes en bois sont bâties pour les militaires, dans le secteur Centre. Une batterie de trois canons est installée sur le bord du fleuve pour inciter les capitaines à se conformer à la Loi sur la quarantaine.

Les années qui suivent l'établissement de la station sont consacrées à l'amélioration des infrastructures. Dans la division ouest, on ajoute des logements, des hôpitaux, des chapelles et des magasins de denrées. À l'aube de la tragique saison de navigation de 1847, la capacité d'accueil est de 200  malades et convalescents, et de 800 personnes en santé. Faute de quai, le débarquement des passagers se fait toujours sur la grève.

Réaménagements causés par l'épidémie de 1847

Rien ne prépare les autorités de la Grosse-Île à la tragédie qui survient à l'été 1847. L'annonce d'une épidémie de typhus en Europe force le docteur George Mellis Douglas, surintendant médical de 1836 à 1864, à réaménager à la hâte la station en vue de l'arrivée de milliers d'immigrants venus d'Irlande. Ces derniers fuient la pauvreté, l'oppression et la famine.

Un quai est construit dans le secteur ouest pour faciliter le débarquement des passagers. On ordonne la construction d'hôpitaux additionnels, dont plusieurs sont préfabriqués à Québec, transportés sur des barges et assemblés sur place par les militaires. De plus, des tentes et des marquises sont dressées autour de l'hôpital du choléra. Les malades finissent par occuper tous les édifices de l'île.

L'ampleur de la tragédie force les autorités à ouvrir le secteur est pour loger les convalescents. Douze grands bâtiments de 200 pieds de long sont érigés à leur intention. En tout, 20 nouveaux édifices viennent changer le visage de la station. Désormais, plus de 5 000 immigrants peuvent être logés et hospitalisés à la Grosse-île. Un dernier édifice d'importance est construit par les militaires avant leur départ, en 1857. Il s'agit d'un lavoir qui facilite grandement le lavage des effets des immigrants et la cuisson des aliments, tâches qui se font désormais à l'abri des intempéries.

La modernisation des installations

Avec l'entrée en fonction du surintendant Frederick Montizambert, en 1869, la Grosse-Île acquiert son caractère permanent et amorce le début de sa modernisation. Dans les années 1870, le secteur du village, au centre de l'île, se développe rapidement. Un bloc de huit maisons s'ajoute pour les chaloupiers et les autres employés. Une église catholique est érigée en face. Une nouvelle maison abrite le surintendant et sa famille. L'ancienne maison du commandant militaire britannique est transformée en presbytère catholique. Une boulangerie, un hôtel pour les passagers de première classe et une chapelle protestante voient le jour.

La modernisation de la station en vue d'optimiser la lutte contre les maladies contagieuses marque une étape importante en 1881 avec la construction de l'Hôpital de la Marine dans le secteur est de l'île. L'hôpital, le premier édifice en brique de la station, regroupe sur deux étages tous les services reliés au traitement d'une centaine de malades : salles de traitement spécifique, dispensaire, cuisine, salle de chirurgie, salle d'attente, pharmacie, chambre pour l'infirmière et salle de séjour. Les immigrants sont soignés dans de grandes salles tandis que des chambres privées sont réservées aux passagers de première classe. Les dépendances de l'hôpital comprennent entre autres deux bâtiments pour la désinfection de la literie, des vêtements et des bagages. Les logements du personnel sont érigés en bordure du fleuve. Le nouvel hôpital améliore les conditions de travail des médecins et des infirmières et permet de prodiguer de meilleurs traitements aux patients.

L'entrée dans le 20e siècle

La construction d'un édifice de désinfection près du quai ouest et la mise en place d'équipements modernes font de la Grosse-Île une station de quarantaine sécuritaire des plus avancées à partir des années 1890. Pour la conception de ces équipements, le surintendant Montizambert s'inspire des systèmes de désinfection des stations de quarantaine qu'il a visitées à la Nouvelle-Orléans, à New York, à Galveston et à Charleston.

Montizambert et l'architecte des Travaux publics conçoivent le modèle des étuves de désinfection à la vapeur surchauffée qui sera utilisé dans toutes les stations canadiennes. Le bâtiment comprend au rez-de-chaussée trois de ces étuves dans lesquelles sont désinfectés tous les effets des passagers. À l'étage, des bains-douches alimentés à l'eau et au bichlorure de mercure assurent la désinfection des passagers.

Au début du 20e siècle, alors que le nombre d'immigrants ne cesse d'augmenter, des travaux majeurs sont entrepris sous la responsabilité du surintendant Georges-Élie Martineau, en poste de 1899 à 1929, afin de fournir aux passagers effectuant un séjour à la station la même qualité d'hébergement que celle à bord des navires. Des hôtels de première, deuxième et troisième classe sont érigés dans le secteur de l'ouest. On installe l'aqueduc et l'eau courante dans plusieurs édifices de l'île et on procède à l'électrification de la station. Un poste de garde à l'entrée du village, une école, une station Marconi, ou télégraphie sans fil, des maisons de médecins en brique, un laboratoire bactériologique ainsi qu'une résidence pour les infirmières complètent la modernisation de la station.

Venez découvrir, dans la Galerie - Aménagement des édifices et installations, d'autres pièces de la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.