Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - In Quarantine:
Life and Death on Grosse Île, 1832-1937

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Black and white photo collage of a young woman wearing a white blouse, two men with moustaches and suits, two women, a stone Celtic cross, and four people in matching uniforms sitting on a porch railing

The Grosse Île Quarantine Station

Staff and Services

Letter handwritten in cursive

Source

In a letter, Montizambert asks for permission to assist at a convention by the American Public Health Association in Toronto as a Dominion delegate, 3 September, 1886

Black and white portrait photograph of a well-dressed man looking to his left

Source

Dr. Montizambert, photographed by William James Topley, March 1869

Black and white photograph of a man in a naval uniform standing on the porch of a building

Source

Superintendent Martineau on the porch of the medical assistant's house, ca. 1927

Black and white photograph of two men in naval uniforms standing outside

Source

Bacteriologist Heagherty and medical assistant Walter Aylen

Black and white photograph of two men and a horse plowing a garden

Source

Quarantine station employees cultivating the fields for their families in the centre sector of the island

Letter handwritten in cursive

Source

Petition to Lord Dufferin, Governor General of Canada, from the widow of Charles Langois, demanding his pension, September 1874

During its years of operation, the Grosse Île quarantine station employed hundreds of people. They cared for the immigrants and ensured that the station operated smoothly during the navigation season, which ran from April to November.

The first residents were soldiers of the 32nd British Regiment, posted in Québec. Under the command of Captain H. Reid, they constructed the buildings and developed the site. The garrison was present on the island until 1857, when the British government handed over the property and operation of the quarantine station to the government of United Canada.

Between 1832 and 1857, administration of Grosse Île was the responsibility of the military authorities, while medical care was provided by civilian personnel. After 1857, the medical superintendent was fully in charge of the island. He was responsible for all administrative duties and for the services of the quarantine station. He coordinated the activities of medical staff, the station's boat crews and support staff. In 1894, he was appointed superintendent general for quarantine stations in Canada.

Three Great Superintendents

Of all the superintendents, three stand out for the length of their service: George Mellis Douglas, Frederick Montizambert and Georges-Élie Martineau, who each spent some 30 years on the island.

Dr. George Mellis Douglas, who served from 1837 until his death in 1864, had to deal with the many contagious diseases on board ship, particularly cholera in 1849 and 1854, and typhus in 1847. Despite the meagre resources at his disposal, Douglas managed to provide regular rations to the many poor and weakened immigrants who landed on the island, and to help them after a difficult crossing.

Dr. Frederick Montizambert was appointed superintendent in 1869 after three years as medical inspector. He had an excellent grasp of the purpose of quarantine and launched a modernization process to make the station more effective. Montizambert became a trailblazer in the field of bacteriology, epidemiology and scientific disinfection. In 1899, he became Canada's first director general of public health. In 1998, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada recognized the national historic significance of this pioneer in the field of sanitary practices at Canada's quarantine stations.

The station's last superintendent, Dr. Georges-Élie Martineau, served after Dr. Montizambert from 1899 to 1929. His years at the station were marked by the long period of affluence that extended from 1905 to 1913, as well as the completion of the island's modernization activities.

The Medical Team

The medical staff included a medical inspector who boarded and inspected the ships to detect symptoms of contagious diseases. Once the inspection was completed, he could release the ships or place them under quarantine. The inspector also vaccinated passengers against smallpox.

Other physicians were hired to treat the hospital patients. Their numbers varied depending on the season and the number of patients. In 1847, there were about 30 doctors at the station to care for immigrants suffering from typhus and dysentery. The first bacteriologist was hired in 1911 to work in the new laboratory in the east sector of the island. He confirmed diagnoses by analyzing fluid and tissue samples taken from the sick and from persons who could be carrying the disease.

The nursing staff consisted of lay people. Prior to 1920, these men and women had no formal training, and they developed their skills by working with the doctors in the treatment rooms. They carried out a range of duties, such as distributing meals, disinfecting rooms, cleaning and changing the patients' clothing and bedding, and watching for symptoms that would require medical intervention. The men also chopped wood, carried water and dug graves in the cemetery.

Working at Grosse Île was not without its risks. By working directly with the contagious patients, the nursing staff ran a high risk of contracting diseases, and many of them died as a result.

Support Staff

A core team at Grosse Île saw to the smooth operation of the hospital and the station. The steward in charge of supplies and accounts also supervised the disinfection of the premises, people and goods, as well as the burying of the dead. A cook prepared meals in the hospital.

The laundress had the difficult task of washing the bedding soiled by patients. During the station's early years, she placed the blankets, mattresses and linens in huge wooden cages for 24 hours so that they could be rinsed by the tide. Then she boiled the laundry and washed it with soap. As of the 1890s, her work was made much easier by the use of the disinfection chambers. Given the multicultural environment at the quarantine station, the interpreter played a key role. Whether called on to speak Norwegian or German, the interpreter ensured that the immigrants and doctors could understand each other during ship inspections and at the hospital.

In the early years, the sailors used rowboats to transport the medical inspector, the immigrants and supplies. As of 1886, larger crews had to be hired to man the small steamers used for ship inspection and disinfection. The first of these was the Hygiea. Subsequent ships were the Challenger, Druid, Polana and Alice.

Police, Guards and Other Staff

Guards and police officers helped the immigrants as they arrived on the island. They watched the fences that separated the hospitals and divided the immigrants' area from that of the employees. The police officers were also called on to assist in any disputes concerning the passengers and employees.

Other employees on Grosse Île included bakers, telegraph operators, disinfection staff, electricians, teachers, postmasters, carters and labourers-all of them essential to ensuring that the station ran smoothly.

Catholic priests and Protestant ministers played a major role in this little community. Much of their time was devoted to parish life. In addition to hearing confession, administering last rites and celebrating religious events, they visited the sick in hospital and the families under observation, and distributed holy pictures to them.

During the affluent years of the early 20th century, some 200 people were living on Grosse Île, most of them accompanied by their families. They contributed to village life, centred around the church, the school and the bakery. As a result, Saint-Luc-de-Grosse-Île became a good place to live, and some families settled there for several generations.

Visit the Gallery -- Staff and Services to see more from the Library and Archives Canada collection.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - En quarantaine :
la vie et la mort à la Grosse-Île, 1832-1937

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière : Collage de photos en noir et blanc d'une jeune femme portant une blouse blanche, de deux hommes moustachus en tenue, de deux femmes, d'une croix celtique en pierre et de quatre personnes en tenues identiques assises sur la rampe d'un porche

La station de quarantaine de la Grosse-Île

Le personnel et les services offert

Lettre manuscrite en écriture cursive

Source

Montizambert demande la permission d'assister à un congrès de l'American Public Health Association à Toronto, en tant que délégué du gouvernement du Dominion, 3 septembre 1886

Portrait photographique en noir et blanc d'un homme bien vêtu regardant à sa gauche

Source

Dr Montizambert, mars 1869. Photographe, William James Topley

Photographie en noir et blanc d'un homme en uniforme de marine debout sur le porche d'un immeuble

Source

Le surintendant Martineau sur la galerie de la maison de l'assistant-médecin vers 1927

Photographie en noir et blanc de deux hommes en uniforme marin debout à l'extérieur

Source

Le bactériologiste Heagherty et le docteur Walter Aylen, assistant-médecin

Photographie en noir et blanc de deux hommes et un cheval labourant un jardin

Source

Les employés de la station de quarantaine cultivent les champs au centre de l'île pour nourrir leur famille

Lettre manuscrite en écriture cursive

Source

Pétition à lord Dufferin, gouverneur général du Canada, de la veuve de Charles Langois, exigeant sa pension, septembre 1874

Au cours de ses années d'activité, la station de quarantaine de la Grosse-Île accueille des centaines d'employés. Ceux-ci veillent sur les immigrants ainsi qu'au bon fonctionnement de l'établissement pendant la saison de navigation, soit d'avril à novembre.

Les premiers occupants sont les militaires du 32e Régiment britannique en poste à Québec. Sous les ordres du capitaine H. Reid, ils aménagent les lieux et construisent les bâtiments. La garnison est présente jusqu'en 1857, alors que le gouvernement britannique cède la propriété et l'exploitation de la station de la quarantaine au gouvernement du Canada-Uni.

Entre 1832 et 1857, l'administration de la Grosse-Île est confiée aux autorités militaires, tandis que l'aspect médical relève des instances civiles. Après 1857, le surintendant médical devient le grand patron de l'île. Il est alors responsable de tous les aspects administratifs ainsi que des services de la station de quarantaine. À ce titre, il assure la coordination des activités du personnel médical, des équipages des bateaux de la station et du personnel de soutien. En 1894, il est nommé surintendant général des stations de quarantaine du Canada.

Trois grands surintendants

Parmi les surintendants, trois se distinguent par la longévité de leur mandat : les docteurs George Mellis Douglas, Frederick Montizambert et Georges-Élie Martineau, qui passent chacun une trentaine d'années sur l'île.

Le docteur George Mellis Douglas, en poste de 1837 jusqu'à sa mort, en 1864, doit composer avec les nombreuses maladies contagieuses présentes sur les navires, notamment le choléra, en 1849 et en 1854, et le typhus, en 1847. Malgré le peu de moyens dont il dispose, Douglas parvient à fournir régulièrement leurs rations aux très nombreux immigrants pauvres et affaiblis qui débarquent sur l'île, et à les assister après des traversées difficiles.

Le docteur Frederick Montizambert, pour sa part, est nommé surintendant en 1869, après trois ans en poste comme médecin inspecteur. Son excellente compréhension du rôle de la quarantaine l'amène à amorcer la modernisation de la station pour la rendre plus efficace. Montizambert s'avère un précurseur dans le domaine de la bactériologie, de l'épidémiologie et de la désinfection scientifique. En 1899, il devient le premier directeur de la santé publique au Canada. D'ailleurs, en 1998, la Commission des lieux et des monuments historiques du Canada reconnaît l'importance historique nationale de ce pionnier des pratiques sanitaires dans les stations de quarantaine au Canada.

Le dernier surintendant de la station, le docteur Georges-Élie Martineau succède au docteur Montizambert de 1899 à 1929. Ses années de service sont marquées par la grande période d'affluence qui s'étend de 1905 à 1913 ainsi que par l'achèvement des travaux de modernisation de l'île.

Équipe médicale

Le personnel médical comprend entre autres le médecin inspecteur. Son rôle consiste à accoster les navires et à les inspecter pour y détecter des symptômes des maladies contagieuses. L'inspection terminée, il est en mesure de libérer les bateaux ou de les mettre en quarantaine. C'est également lui qui vaccine les passagers contre la variole.

D'autres médecins sont engagés pour traiter les malades dans les hôpitaux. Leur nombre varie selon les saisons, en fonction de l'achalandage. En 1847, une trentaine de médecins séjournent à la station pour soigner les immigrants atteints du typhus et de dysenterie.

Enfin, un premier bactériologiste est engagé en 1911 pour travailler dans le nouveau laboratoire du secteur Est de l'île. C'est lui qui analyse les sécrétions et les tissus des malades, et des personnes qui peuvent être porteuses, afin de confirmer les diagnostics.

Le personnel infirmier est constitué de laïcs. Sans formation reconnue avant 1920, ces hommes et femmes acquièrent leur expérience dans les salles de traitement, auprès des médecins. Ils accomplissent une diversité de tâches, telles que la distribution des repas, la désinfection des salles, le nettoyage et le changement des vêtements et de la literie des patients ainsi que la surveillance des symptômes justifiant l'intervention du médecin. Les hommes doivent de plus couper le bois, transporter l'eau et creuser des fosses dans le cimetière.

Travailler à la Grosse-Île n'est pas sans danger. En effet, directement en contact avec les contagieux, le personnel infirmier court un risque élevé de contracter des maladies. D'ailleurs, plusieurs employés en décèdent.

Personnel de soutien

À la Grosse-Île, une équipe essentielle veille au bon fonctionnement de l'hôpital et de la station proprement dite. L'économe responsable des approvisionnements et des comptes supervise également la désinfection des lieux, des gens et de leurs effets ainsi que l'enterrement des morts. Quant aux repas, une cuisinière les prépare dans l'hôpital même.

La pénible tâche de laver la literie souillée par les déjections des malades incombe à la blanchisseuse. Dans les premières années, son travail consiste à placer les couvertures, les paillasses et les linges dans de grandes cages en bois pendant 24 heures pour qu'ils soient rincés par la marée. Ce n'est qu'ensuite qu'elle les met à bouillir et qu'elle les lave avec du savon. À partir des années 1890, des étuves de désinfection facilitent grandement son travail.

Dans le contexte multiculturel de la station de quarantaine, l'interprète a un rôle primordial. Qu'il soit Norvégien ou Allemand, c'est lui qui assure la communication entre les immigrants et le médecin à l'hôpital, et lors de l'inspection à bord des navires.

À la station, les marins disposent dans les premières années de chaloupes à rames pour conduire l'inspecteur médical de même que pour transporter les immigrants et l'approvisionnement. À partir de 1886, l'arrivée des petits bateaux à vapeur pour l'inspection et la désinfection des navires nécessite l'engagement d'équipages plus nombreux. Le premier de ces vapeurs est le Hygiea. Il sera remplacé tour à tour par le Challenger, le Druid, le Polana et l'Alice.

Policiers, gardiens et autre personnel

Les gardiens et les policiers assistent les immigrants lors du débarquement sur l'île. Ils surveillent la barrière qui isole les hôpitaux et celle qui sépare le secteur des immigrants de celui des employés. Les policiers sont en outre appelés à intervenir lors d'éventuels conflits touchant passagers et employés.

Parmi les autres employés présents à la Grosse-Île, mentionnons les boulangers, télégraphistes, préposés à la désinfection, électriciens, institutrices, maîtres de poste, charretiers et journaliers - tous nécessaires au bon fonctionnement de la station.

Au cœur de cette petite société, les prêtres catholiques et les ministres protestants jouent un rôle de premier plan. Une grande partie de leur temps est consacré à la vie paroissiale. En plus d'entendre la confession, d'administrer les derniers sacrements et de célébrer les fêtes religieuses, ils visitent les malades dans les hôpitaux et les familles en observation à qui ils distribuent des images pieuses.

Durant les grandes années d'affluence, au début du 20e siècle, environ 200 personnes habitent sur la Grosse-Île. La plupart sont accompagnées de leur famille. Elles contribuent à la vie du village, autour de l'église, de l'école et de la boulangerie. C'est ainsi que Saint-Luc-de-Grosse-Île est devenu un lieu où il fait bon vivre, au point que certains s'y établissent pendant plusieurs générations.

Venez découvrir, dans la Galerie - Le personnel et les services offerts, d'autres pièces de la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.