Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - In Quarantine:
Life and Death on Grosse Île, 1832-1937

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Black and white photo collage of a young woman wearing a white blouse, two men with moustaches and suits, two women, a stone Celtic cross, and four people in matching uniforms sitting on a porch railing

Life and Death in Quarantine

Life in Quarantine

Activities at the Station

Black and white photograph of long wooden buildings surrounded by trees

Source

These buildings in the western sector were used during the typhus epidemic in 1847, photo ca. 1905

Black and white photograph of three women and a man sitting on the porch of a large building

Source

Built in 1912, the first-class hotel is the most luxurious of the detention hotels

Black and white photograph of a large, two-storey brick building

Source

The Marine Hospital is part of a modern building complex with laundry room and outbuildings, ca. 1905

Black and white photograph of a woman with her face and hands covered in blisters

Source

Woman infected with smallpox, ca. 1909

Immigrants stayed at Grosse Île for various reasons. Some were hospitalized until they recovered from illness; others who might be carrying a contagious disease were placed under medical observation; and still others waited for their relatives to be released from hospital.

The length of their stay varied greatly during the 100 or so years that the station was in operation. Initially, it depended on the recognized incubation period for the various contagious diseases. For example, quarantine was 15 days for smallpox and seven days for cholera. Each new case that broke out extended the stay. With the advent of scientific disinfection in the years 1880-1890, immigrants were released earlier and allowed to continue to Québec because the authorities were certain that all bacteria had been destroyed.

From Makeshift Housing to a Spacious Hotel

In the 1830s, quarantine facilities could accommodate the steerage passengers from only one ship, totalling about 300 persons on average. The next ship had to wait for them to leave before disembarking its passengers on the island. The construction of a large number of facilities over the years meant that the station was able to increase its capacity. Up until 1892, as many as 2,000 people could be housed in the eight older buildings available. In 1893, a hotel was built for first-class passengers that met the modern standards available on board ship. Other modern hotels were built for second- and third-class passengers after 1910.

Activities at the Station

Passengers were required to wash themselves and their belongings daily. They also had to line up for inspection by the station doctor. He checked for the outbreak of fever or rashes, warning signs of contagious diseases. When a case was found, the patient was transferred to the hospital sector.

During the early years of the station, immigrants spent much of their day preparing and cooking meals. They cooked in the open on wood fires along the shore. The wealthier passengers could buy food from the island's store. It carried bread, flour, vegetables, meat, sugar, oats, biscuits, beer, salt, eggs and butter. The poorer passengers, however, received rations from the station authorities.

As of 1857, cooking was done indoors in a new wash house equipped with eight ovens. The ships' cooks and bakers had a kitchen as of 1893 and a bakery around 1905 for preparing the immigrants' meals. The food, utensils, bedding and crew from the ship followed the immigrants onshore. According to the regulations, shipping companies were responsible for their passengers during their stay at the quarantine station.

Sanitary Conditions

Up until the end of the 19th century, the immigrants' toilet facilities consisted of small wooden structures along the high-tide line. With the construction of first-, second- and third-class hotels between 1893 and 1914, travellers had indoor washrooms and baths.

Recreational Activities

Even though they were confined to the island, the immigrants who were in good health were able to amuse themselves. The west sector was set aside for them, and they could go for walks in the forest and on the rocks. They spent their days dancing, playing music, reading, napping, writing letters or keeping a diary, saying prayers and doing the readings for the day's religious services. They were not able to attend the village churches, however.

The Sick

Between 1832 and 1880, of the 1,335,633 passengers bound for the Port of Québec, 23,381 were admitted to the station's hospitals. Of these, 14,094 had fevers. This number includes the thousands of Irish immigrants who suffered from typhus in 1847. The diagnosis of fever was the most common at the time because fever was a symptom of all contagious diseases, and several illnesses were often confused. Measles led to the hospitalization of 1,914 patients, mostly children. Smallpox accounted for 1,818 patients, while 312 persons suffered from Asiatic cholera, most of them in 1834.

Between 1881 and 1921, the Port of Québec recorded 2,029,017 arrivals. Of these, 10,688 were admitted to the Grosse Île hospitals, including 3,335 cases of contagious diseases, 687 cases of non-contagious diseases, and 6,646 persons who were accompanying patients. Measles accounted for 1,831 patients; diphtheria, 201; typhoid fever, 157; and smallpox, 106.

The sick were treated in the east sector. As of 1889, they were carried by horse-drawn ambulance from the east dock to the Marine Hospital or the smallpox hospital. Patients were placed in large wards, intended for the treatment of specific contagious diseases. Occasionally, children with various illnesses, such as measles, scarlet fever and chicken pox, were kept together so that they could build up immunities.

Passengers and crew members who had contracted smallpox were quarantined in a building that dated back to 1847 and was set apart from the other structures. The disease was so contagious that station employees had to be immunized, and special measures taken for preparing meals and disinfecting the premises. Smallpox is known for covering its victims in pustules and leaving permanent scars. The treatment room was painted red in 1904, as daylight hurt the patients' eyes.

As soon as they recovered, all hospital patients were disinfected one last time before boarding a small steamer for Québec City and continuing from there to their final destination.

The Immigrants' Destinations

From 1830 to 1850, the immigrants travelling by ship to Québec were English, Scots and primarily Irish. They settled in Lower Canada and Upper Canada. Between 1829 and 1851, nearly 700,000 passengers disembarked at Québec. The majority came from Irish ports (58%) and the others from English ports (27.5%).

As of the 1850s, many German and Scandinavian immigrants passed through the port, heading for the American states of Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin and Minnesota. From 1852 to 1867, the Port of Québec received some 400,000 people: 28.3% of them Irish; 21.2% Scandinavian; 19.2% English; and 14.2% German. The proportion of English immigrants grew to 47.2% over the next 20 years.

Between 1892 and 1913, 60% of the 1,514,452 passengers entering Canada were of British origin, while 14.6% were from Eastern Europe, 10.8% from Scandinavia, 8.3% from Western Europe and 2.8% from the Middle East. They came in response to Canada's huge campaign to colonize the West.

Visit the Gallery -- Life in Quarantine to see more from the Library and Archives Canada collection.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - En quarantaine :
la vie et la mort à la Grosse-Île, 1832-1937

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière : Collage de photos en noir et blanc d'une jeune femme portant une blouse blanche, de deux hommes moustachus en tenue, de deux femmes, d'une croix celtique en pierre et de quatre personnes en tenues identiques assises sur la rampe d'un porche

La vie et la mort en quarantaine

La vie en quarantaine

Un séjour à la station de quarantaine

Photographie en noir et blanc d'édifices en bois entourés d'arbres

Source

Ces édifices du secteur ouest ont été utilisés lors de l'épidémie de typhus en 1847, photo vers 1905

Photographie en noir et blanc de trois femmes et un homme assis sur le porche d'un grand immeuble

Source

L'hôtel de première classe, construit en 1912, est le plus luxueux des hôtels de détention

Photographie en noir et blanc d'un édifice en brique à deux étages

Source

L'Hôpital de la Marine fait partie d'un complexe de bâtiments modernes avec buanderie et dépendances, vers 1905

Photographie en noir et blanc d'une femme ayant la face et les mains couvertes de vésicules

Source

Femme atteinte de variole, vers 1909

Les immigrants séjournent à la Grosse-Île pour différentes raisons. Certains sont hospitalisés le temps que la guérison survienne; d'autres - d'éventuels porteurs d'une maladie contagieuse - sont soumis à une observation médicale; et enfin, quelques-uns attendent que leurs proches reçoivent leur congé de l'hôpital.

La durée du séjour varie considérablement pendant la centaine d'années d'existence de la station. Dans les premiers temps, la détention dépend du temps d'incubation reconnu pour chacune des maladies contagieuses. Par exemple, la quarantaine durera quinze jours pour la variole et sept jours pour le choléra. Chaque nouveau cas qui se déclare prolonge le séjour. Avec l'avènement de la désinfection scientifique durant les années 1880-1890, les nouveaux arrivants sont libérés plus tôt car les autorités s'assurent de l'élimination complète des bactéries avant qu'ils ne partent pour Québec.

Du logement sur pilotis à l'hôtel spacieux

Dans les années 1830, les installations de quarantaine ne peuvent accueillir que les passagers d'entrepont d'un seul navire, soit en moyenne 300 personnes. Le bateau suivant doit attendre leur départ avant de débarquer ses voyageurs sur l'île. La construction d'un grand nombre de logements au fil des ans permet d'augmenter la capacité d'accueil de la station. Jusqu'en 1892, les immigrants sont logés dans l'un ou l'autre des huit anciens bâtiments disponibles, qui peuvent héberger jusqu'à 2 000 personnes. En 1893, on construit pour les passagers de première classe un premier hôtel qui répond aux nouvelles normes de qualité de séjour à bord des navires. D'autres hôtels modernes sont érigés pour les passagers de deuxième et de troisième classe dans les années 1910.

Les activités des passagers à la station

Chaque jour, les passagers sont tenus de se laver et de nettoyer leurs effets. Ils doivent également s'aligner pour l'inspection du médecin de la station. Ce dernier surveille l'apparition de fièvre et d'éruptions cutanées, symptômes annonciateurs de maladies contagieuses. Quand un cas se présente, le patient est transféré dans le secteur des hôpitaux.

Dans les premières années d'activité de la station de quarantaine, la préparation et la cuisson des repas occupent une bonne partie de la journée des immigrants. Ils cuisinent en plein air sur des feux de bois allumés sur la grève. Les plus fortunés peuvent acheter des denrées vendues dans le magasin de l'île. On y retrouve du pain, de la farine, des légumes, de la viande, du sucre, de l'avoine, des biscuits, de la bière, du sel, des œufs et du beurre. Par contre, les plus pauvres reçoivent des rations fournies par les autorités de la station. Les capitaines des navires doivent rembourser les dépenses liées au séjour de leurs passagers sur l'île.

Dès 1857, la cuisson des aliments se fait à l'abri dans le nouveau lavoir équipé de huit fours. En 1893, une cuisine et, vers 1905, une boulangerie, sont à la disposition des cuisiniers et des boulangers des navires qui préparent les repas des immigrants. La nourriture, les ustensiles, la literie et le personnel du bateau suivent les immigrants à terre. Selon les règlements de l'époque, les compagnies maritimes sont en effet responsables de leurs passagers pendant leur détention à la station.

Les conditions d'hygiène

Jusque vers la fin du 19e siècle, des petits édifices en bois placés à la ligne de haute marée servent de toilettes aux immigrants. Avec la construction des hôtels de première, de deuxième et de troisième classe entre 1893 et 1914, les voyageurs disposent de cabinets de toilette et de bains à même leur logement.

Les activités de loisir

Bien que confinés sur l'île, les immigrants en santé peuvent se divertir. Le secteur ouest leur étant réservé, ils se promènent en forêt et sur les rochers. Ils occupent leur journée à danser, à jouer de la musique, à lire, à faire la sieste, à écrire des lettres ou dans un journal personnel, à réciter des prières et à faire la lecture du service religieux du jour. Les immigrants n'ont cependant pas accès aux églises du village.

Les immigrants malades

Entre 1832 et 1880, des 1 335 633 personnes qui arrivent par le port de Québec, 23 381 sont admises dans les hôpitaux de la station. De ce nombre, 14 094 présentent de la fièvre. Ce chiffre comprend les milliers d'immigrants irlandais qui souffrent du typhus en 1847. À cette époque, le diagnostic de fièvre est le plus fréquent car toutes les maladies contagieuses ont la fièvre comme symptôme et parce que l'on confond plusieurs maladies. La rougeole nécessite l'hospitalisation de 1 914 personnes, des enfants pour la plupart. La variole fait 1 818 malades, tandis que le choléra asiatique est contracté par 312 personnes, la majorité en 1834.

Entre 1881 et 1921, 2 029 017 entrées sont comptabilisées au port de Québec. Parmi ces gens, 10 688 sont enregistrés dans les hôpitaux de la Grosse-Île, dont 3 335 cas de maladies contagieuses, 687 cas de maladies non contagieuses et 6 646 accompagnateurs de malades. La rougeole touche 1 831 malades, alors que 201 patients sont atteints de la diphtérie, 157, de la fièvre typhoïde et 106 de la variole.

Les immigrants malades sont traités dans le secteur est. À partir de 1889, une ambulance tirée par un cheval les transporte du quai dans le secteur est jusqu'à l'Hôpital de la Marine ou à l'hôpital de la variole. Les malades sont logés dans de grandes salles en principe réservées au traitement d'une maladie contagieuse spécifique. Il arrive toutefois que l'on regroupe les enfants atteints de différentes affections, telles la rougeole, la scarlatine et la varicelle, afin qu'ils en acquièrent l'immunité.

Les passagers et les membres d'équipage ayant contracté la variole sont isolés dans un ancien logement de 1847, situé à l'écart des autres édifices. L'extrême contagiosité de la maladie nécessite du personnel immunisé et des mesures spéciales pour la préparation des repas et la désinfection des lieux. La variole est une maladie spectaculaire en raison des pustules caractéristiques qui recouvrent les patients et qui laissent des marques permanentes sur la peau. Les patients ne peuvent supporter la lumière du jour. C'est pourquoi, à partir de 1904, la salle de traitement est peinte en rouge.

Aussitôt guéris, tous les patients des hôpitaux sont soumis à une dernière désinfection avant de s'embarquer sur un petit vapeur qui les conduit à Québec, d'où ils poursuivent leur voyage jusqu'à leur destination finale.

Les destinations des immigrants

Dans les années 1830 à 1850, les immigrants à bord des navires qui se présentent à Québec sont des Anglais, des Écossais et une majorité d'Irlandais. Ils s'établissent dans le Bas-Canada et le Haut-Canada. Entre 1829 et 1851, près de 700 000 passagers débarquent à Québec. La majorité, soit 58 %, provient des ports irlandais et 27,5 % des ports anglais.

À partir des années 1850, des Allemands et des Scandinaves transitent par Québec pour se rendre en grand nombre dans les États américains de l'Ohio, du Michigan, de l'Indiana, de l'Illinois, du Wisconsin et du Minnesota. De 1852 à 1867, le port de Québec accueille environ 400 000 personnes dont 28,3 % sont des Irlandais, 21,2 % des Scandinaves, 19,2 % des Anglais et 14,2 % des Allemands. La proportion des Anglais augmente à 47,2 % dans les vingt années qui suivent.

Entre 1892 et 1913, 60 % des 1 514 452 passagers entrant au Canada sont d'origine britannique, alors que 14,6 % proviennent de l'Europe de l'Est, 10,8 % de la Scandinavie, 8,3 % de l'Europe de l'Ouest et 2,8 % du Moyen-Orient. Ces immigrants répondent à une vaste campagne de colonisation de l'Ouest canadien lancée par le Canada.

Venez découvrir, dans la Galerie - La vie en quarantaine, d'autres pièces de la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.