Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - In Quarantine:
Life and Death on Grosse Île, 1832-1937

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Black and white photo collage of a young woman wearing a white blouse, two men with moustaches and suits, two women, a stone Celtic cross, and four people in matching uniforms sitting on a porch railing

Life and Death in Quarantine

Death in Quarantine

Contagious Diseases Wreak Havoc

Black and white photograph of a crowd beneath a stone monument with a large celtic cross

Source

Memorial erected in 1909 in commemoration of the death of Irish immigrants in 1849

Black and white photograph of a crowd of well-dressed people kneeling in grass in front of a stage

Source

Religious ceremony at the inauguration of the Celtic cross, 1909

Black and white photograph of a few white cabins and houses on a rocky shoreline as seen from a hill

Source

View from the Celtic cross during the inauguration in 1909. We can see the wharf, wash house, and latrines

Close-up photograph of engraved names of individuals on a large glass plaque

Source

Over 6,000 names of immigrants and employees buried on Grosse Île appear on the Memorial

During its more than 100 years of operation, the quarantine station was the final destination for many passengers. Before the discovery of antibiotics in the 1940s, many people died of complications resulting from contagious diseases.

From 1832 to 1880, the era of the great epidemics, the hospitals on Grosse Île admitted 23,381 patients and the people accompanying them. Of these, 4,815 died. Fevers -- particularly typhus -- were the deadliest illnesses, killing 3,847 people in 1847. Cholera was the second deadliest, claiming 223 people in 1832; smallpox killed 134 victims in 1834; and measles caused 213 deaths, most of them children.

Hospital records from 1881 to 1927 show a very different story, thanks to medical and technological advances. The number of admissions dropped to 10,688, and the number of deaths to 94: three from cholera, four from smallpox, 17 from various fevers, and 70 from measles.

1847: The Year of Tragedy

In 1847, after suffering through two years of famine, some 100,000 Irish immigrants took ship for North America. Many began the dangerous journey already starving and sick. They contracted various illnesses during the trip, but it was typhus-"ship fever"-that caused the greatest devastation. It was transmitted by body lice living in the seams of the passengers' clothing. The most common symptoms were a high fever, headache, extreme weakness, a rash on the victim's torso and limbs, and pains throughout the body. The employees on Grosse Île were overwhelmed by the huge influx of passengers suffering from typhus and dysentery (caused by drinking unclean water). Medical inspectors counted many dead in the ships' steerage areas.

The cemetery, established in the west sector in 1832, continued to expand, despite the efforts of the dedicated station employees. An average of 40 to 50 bodies were buried daily, and sometimes the toll climbed to 90. Mass graves were dug, and in some places, the coffins were stacked three deep. Even under these extraordinary circumstances, the Catholic priests and Protestant ministers conducted the burials with the greatest reverence. With the help of priests from surrounding parishes, hundreds of orphans were taken in by Canadian families-a strong show of support for the Irish in a time of tragedy.

At the end of this devastating period, the station superintendent, Dr. George Mellis Douglas, established a monument to physicians. It bears witness to the dramatic events that took place on Grosse Île during the widespread epidemics. The monument is engraved with the names of the doctors who gave their lives to help the sick immigrants: Doctors Benson, Pinet, Mailhot, Christie and Jameson, who died of typhus in 1847, and Dr. Panet, who died of cholera in 1834.

The Cemeteries

The cemetery in the west sector was discontinued after reaching its full capacity in 1847. The dead were buried individually, mainly in the eastern part of the island, and the graves were marked by numbered stakes. As of 1910, crosses made from pipes were used as grave markers. A third cemetery was used in the centre sector from 1866 to 1868. It contains only about 100 graves. All the cemeteries on Grosse Île are divided into two sections: one for Catholics and one for Protestants. Many Catholic workers and their families are buried on Grosse Île.

The Celtic Cross, 1909

A second monument was erected in 1909 in memory of the victims of the typhus epidemic who are buried in the western cemetery. This cemetery is now recognized as holding the largest number of victims of the Great Famine outside Ireland. In 1897, members of the Quebec branch of the Ancient Order of Hibernians, an Irish organization that defended the rights of Irish Catholics, traveled to Grosse Île to mark the 50th anniversary of the tragedy. Noting that the cemetery was in a poor state, they decided to take action. Jeremiah Gallagher, the Order's regional president, proposed that a monument be erected in the form of a Celtic cross. Members of the organization across North America were called on to raise the funds necessary for the project.

They were successful, and the monument was inaugurated on August 15, 1909. The 14-metre cross is made of grey granite and is the largest cross of its kind in America. Several thousand people from major cities throughout Canada and New England attended the inauguration. Most were the descendents of immigrants, and others were Irish orphans who had arrived during the famine. There is a plaque on each of the four sides of the cross, engraved with commemorative texts, one of which is in Irish Gaelic. The English plaque reads as follows:

Sacred to the memory of thousands of Irish
emigrants who, to preserve the faith,
suffered hunger and exile, in 1847-48,
and stricken with fever ended her their
sorrowful pilgrimage.
Erected by the ancient order of the
Hibernians in America and dedicated
Feast of the Assumption.
(1909)

The English translation of the Irish Gaelic plaque reads as follows:

Thousands of the
children of the Gael
were lost on this island
while fleeing from
foreign tyrannical laws
and an artificial famine
in the years 1847-1848.
God bless them.
This stone was erected.
to their memory and
in honor of them by the
Gaels of America.
God save Ireland.

The cross stands on the highest point of the island, at the far western end, where British soldiers installed the first telegraph on Grosse Île. The Ancient Order of Hibernians organizes an annual pilgrimage to the island to remind younger generations of the site's importance.

The 1998 Memorial

In 1998, Parks Canada inaugurated a third monument. The Memorial, created by artist Lucienne Cornet, honours all the immigrants who died in quarantine and on board ship, as well as the station's employees who gave their lives to care for and comfort the sick. The monument, which is in the form of a circular mound crisscrossed by corridors, conveys the intensity of the setting. A surrounding glass wall is engraved with the names of the dead. Boats symbolize the anonymous victims. Located near the Irish cemetery, the Memorial represents a symbolic voyage, embodying the fears of a difficult crossing, the end of a merciless famine, and the desire and the hope involved in discovering a new land. Ms. Mary McAleese, President of Ireland at the time, attended the dedication. She praised the generosity of the Quebec families who welcomed some 500 Irish orphans and let them keep their family names.

Visit the Gallery -- Death in Quarantine to see more from the Library and Archives Canada collection.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - En quarantaine :
la vie et la mort à la Grosse-Île, 1832-1937

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière : Collage de photos en noir et blanc d'une jeune femme portant une blouse blanche, de deux hommes moustachus en tenue, de deux femmes, d'une croix celtique en pierre et de quatre personnes en tenues identiques assises sur la rampe d'un porche

La vie et la mort en quarantaine

La mort en quarantaine

Les ravages des maladies contagieuses

Photographie en noir et blanc d'une foule entourant un monument comportant une grande croix celtique

Source

Monument commémoratif érigé en 1909 en souvenir des immigrants irlandais morts en 1849

Photographie en noir et blanc d'une foule de personnes bien vêtues s'agenouillant sur le gazon en avant d'une scène

Source

Cérémonie religieuse en 1909 lors de l'inauguration de la croix celtique

Photographie en noir et blanc de quelques cabanes blanches et de maisons sur un littoral rocailleux vues à partir d'une colline

Source

Vue à partir de la croix celtique lors de l'inauguration en 1909. On peut voir le quai, le lavoir ainsi que les latrines

Photographie en gros plan d'une large plaque de vitre sur laquelle sont gravés les noms de personnes

Source

Sur le mémorial, vous retrouverez plus de 6 000 noms d'immigrants et d'employés enterrés à Grosse-Île

Au cours de ses 105 années d'activité, la station de quarantaine s'avère la destination finale de plusieurs passagers de navires. Avant la découverte des antibiotiques dans les années 1940, les complications des maladies contagieuses entraînent la mort d'un grand nombre de malades.

Pendant la période 1832-1880, celle dite des grandes épidémies, les hôpitaux de la Grosse-Île reçoivent 23 381 personnes, incluant les malades et les gens qui les accompagnent. De ce nombre, 4 815 trouvent la mort. Les affections les plus meurtrières sont les fièvres (principalement le typhus), fatales pour 3 847 personnes en 1847; puis viennent le choléra, qui fait 223 victimes en 1832; la variole qui en fait 134 en 1834; et la rougeole qui a causé 213 décès, en majorité des enfants.

De 1881 à 1927, grâce aux progrès de la médecine et de la technologie, le bilan des hôpitaux est très différent puisque le nombre d'admissions baisse à 10 688 et le taux de décès, à 94 - 3 du choléra, 4 de la variole, 17 d'une sorte de fièvre et 70 de la rougeole.

1847, l'année infernale

Aux prises depuis deux ans avec une famine, quelque 100 000 Irlandais s'embarquent pour l'Amérique du Nord en 1847. Au départ d'une traversée périlleuse, plusieurs sont déjà affamés et malades. Durant le voyage, ils contractent différentes maladies mais c'est principalement la fièvre des navires - le typhus - qui fait des ravages. Elle est transmise par le pou du corps qui se loge dans les coutures des vêtements des voyageurs. Les principaux symptômes sont une forte fièvre, des maux de tête, de la prostration, une éruption couvrant le tronc et les membres ainsi que des douleurs dans tout le corps. À la Grosse-Île, le personnel est dépassé par l'arrivée massive des passagers atteints du typhus et de la dysenterie (causée par l'ingestion d'eau corrompue). Les inspecteurs médicaux dénombrent aussi plusieurs morts dans les entreponts des navires.

Malgré la dévotion du personnel, le cimetière aménagé en 1832 dans le secteur Ouest ne cesse de s'étendre. On enterre une moyenne de 40 à 50 corps par jour, et parfois le chiffre grimpe à 90. Le cimetière est transformé en fosses communes. À certains endroits, trois cercueils sont empilés les uns sur les autres. Malgré cette mesure extraordinaire, les inhumations sont faites dans le plus grand respect par les prêtres catholiques et les ministres protestants. Par l'entremise des curés des paroisses environnantes, des centaines d'orphelins sont pris en charge par des familles canadiennes, prouvant ainsi l'ampleur de la solidarité de la population face au drame vécu par les Irlandais.

À la suite de cette tragédie, un monument aux médecins est érigé par le surintendant de la station, le docteur George Mellis Douglas. Il témoigne des événements dramatiques survenus à la Grosse-Île, à l'époque des grandes épidémies. On peut y lire les noms des médecins qui ont payé de leur vie leur dévouement auprès des immigrants malades : Benson, Pinet, Mailhot, Christie et Jameson, victimes du typhus en 1847, et le docteur Panet, décédé du choléra en 1834.

Les cimetières

En 1847, après avoir atteint sa pleine capacité, le cimetière de l'Ouest n'est plus utilisé. Les inhumations ont lieu principalement dans la partie Est de l'île. Elles se font de manière individuelle et les tombes sont identifiées par des piquets numérotés. À partir de 1910, les sépultures sont marquées par des croix fabriquées avec des tuyaux de plomberie. Un troisième cimetière est utilisé dans le secteur Centre entre 1866 et 1868. On n'y retrouve qu'une centaine de sépultures. Tous les cimetières de la Grosse-Île comprennent une partie pour les catholiques et une autre pour les protestants. Plusieurs travailleurs catholiques et membres de leur famille sont enterrés à la Grosse-Île.

La commémoration, le monument de 1909

Un second monument est érigé en 1909 pour commémorer la mémoire des victimes de l'épidémie de typhus enterrées dans le cimetière de l'Ouest. Ce dernier est aujourd'hui considéré comme le cimetière abritant le plus grand nombre de personnes décédées de la suite de la Grande Famine situé à l'extérieur de l'Irlande. En 1897, des membres de la division de Québec de l'Ancien Ordre des Hiberniens, une organisation irlandaise de défense des droits des Irlandais catholiques, se rendent à la Grosse-Île pour souligner le 50e anniversaire de la tragédie. Constatant le mauvais état du cimetière, ils décident de prendre les choses en main. Jeremiah Gallagher, président régional de l'Ordre, propose qu'un monument soit érigé sous la forme d'une croix celtique. On demande l'aide des membres de l'organisation partout en Amérique du Nord pour amasser les fonds nécessaires à la réalisation du projet.

Leurs efforts sont récompensés : le 15 août 1909, on procède à l'inauguration du monument. C'est une croix celtique en granit gris, d'une hauteur de 14 mètres, la plus imposante du genre en Amérique. Plusieurs milliers de personnes en provenance des grandes villes du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Angleterre assistent à l'événement. La plupart sont des descendants d'immigrants, et d'autres sont eux-mêmes des orphelins irlandais arrivés à l'époque de la famine. Chacune des quatre façades de la croix comporte une plaque où sont gravés des messages commémoratifs, dont un, nationaliste, écrit en gaélique irlandais. Une des plaques comprend le texte français suivant :

« À la pieuse mémoire de milliers d'émigrés irlandais qui,
pour garder la foi, souffrirent la faim et l'exil et,
victimes de la fièvre, finirent ici leur douloureux pèlerinage,
consolés et fortifiés par le prêtre canadien.
Ceux qui sèment dans les larmes moissonneront
dans la joie. (Psaume 126:5) »

La traduction française de la plaque écrite en gaélique se lit comme suit :

« Des milliers d'enfants des Gaëls
furent portés disparus sur cette île
en fuyant des
lois étrangères tyranniques
et une famine artificielle
durant les années 1847-1848.
Que Dieu les bénisse.
Ce monument fut érigé
en leur mémoire par les
Gaëls d'Amérique.
Que Dieu sauve l'Irlande. »
[Traduction]

La croix est élevée à l'extrême ouest de l'île, à son point le plus élevé, là où les militaires britanniques avaient installé le premier télégraphe de la Grosse-Île. L'Ancien Ordre des Hiberniens organise chaque année un pèlerinage à la Grosse-Île pour rappeler aux nouvelles générations l'importance du site.

Le mémorial de 1998

En 1998, Parcs Canada inaugure un troisième monument commémoratif. Le Mémorial, réalisé par l'artiste Lucienne Cornet, honore tous les immigrants morts en quarantaine et sur les navires, ainsi que les employés de la station qui ont sacrifié leur vie pour soigner et réconforter les immigrants malades. L'œuvre traduit bien l'intensité du lieu. Elle a la forme d'une croix avec des arcs segmentaires. Autour, un mur en verre comporte les noms gravés des décédés. Des chaloupes symbolisent les morts anonymes. Placé à proximité du cimetière des Irlandais, le Mémorial propose un voyage symbolique qui fait revivre les angoisses d'une traversée éprouvante, le dénouement d'une famine impitoyable et le désir et l'espoir de découverte d'une terre nouvelle. L'œuvre a été inaugurée en présence de la présidente d'Irlande de l'époque, madame Mary McAleese. Cette dernière a salué la générosité des familles québécoises qui ont accueilli quelque 500 orphelins irlandais à qui ils ont permis de conserver leur nom d'origine.

Venez découvrir, dans la Galerie - La mort en quarantaine, d'autres pièces de la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.