Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - In Quarantine:
Life and Death on Grosse Île, 1832-1937

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Black and white photo collage of a young woman wearing a white blouse, two men with moustaches and suits, two women, and a stone Celtic cross

Educational Resources

Handout 2.3a

Previous | Next

Witness Group Reading Assignment

The British Government

Source No. 1

Note to Students:
The following excerpts were taken from chapter 14 and the epilogue of a diary written by Robert Whyte entitled The Journey of an Irish Coffin Ship. A full version of the diary is available at www.aepizeta.org/~codine/famine/diary1.html.

"All that could be done for those poor people by the great compassion and humanity of the captain and officers, was done but they require much more. The law is bound . . . to see that too many of them are not put on board one ship and that their accommodations are decent . . . to require that there be provided a medical attendant; whereas in these ships there are none… sickness of adults and deaths of children . . . (are the) commonest occurrence. . . ." (Chapter 14)

". . . Emigration has for a long time been considered by British political economists the most effective means of alleviating the grievous ills under which the Irish peasantry labour." (Epilogue)

Source No. 2

Note to Students:
The following excerpt was taken from part 4 of an account by Pádraig Breandán Ó Laighin entitled Summer of Sorrow. A full version of the text is available at www.ballinagree.freeservers.com/sumsorrow4.html.

". . . He was claiming that slaves were much better off on British ships than on ships of other nations because of the William Dolbin Act that laid down strict conditions for food and medical attention. He did not mention that the provisions of the Passenger Act under which his own tenants had been sent to North America in 1847 were considerably worse. . . ." (Part 4, paragraph 5)

"He heaped scorn above all on Temple, saying that his tenants had been enticed on board with promises of food and money that had not been kept. He said that his charitable disposition would not permit him to blame Lord Palmerston himself, because it came naturally to those of his class to be caring, and that it could only be the case 'that it was an unauthorized act of worthless and unprincipled hirelings, in whose bosoms every principle of humanity and every germ of mercy had become totally extinct.'" (Part 4, paragraph 1)

Source No. 3

Note to Students:
The following excerpt was taken from an account entitled The Force of Hope: The Legacy of Father McGauran. A full version of the text is available at www.whitepinepictures.com/seeds/i/2/sidebar.html.

"The imposition of England's Poor Law made each landlord responsible for subsidizing tenants who paid less than four pounds in yearly rent. Their land was crowded with poor tenants amassing huge tax debts that they could no longer afford. One solution was "assisted emigration." Landlords evicted the poor from the land, and, to be sure to get rid of them, paid for their passage on one of the emigrant ships bound for Canada, Australia or America." (Paragraph 3)

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - En quarantaine :
la vie et la mort à la Grosse-Île, 1832-1937

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière : Collage de photos en noir et blanc d'une jeune femme portant une blouse blanche, de deux hommes moustachus en tenue, de deux femmes et d'une croix celtique en pierre

Ressources pédagogiques

Document 2.3a

Précédent | Suivant

Textes à lire par le groupe de témoins

Gouvernement britannique

Source nº 1

Remarque à l'intention des élèves :
Les extraits suivants sont tirés du chapitre 14 et de l'épilogue du journal personnel de Robert Whyte, intitulé The Journey of an Irish Coffin Ship. La version intégrale de ce journal peut être consultée à l'adresse suivante : www.aepizeta.org/~codine/
famine/diary1.html
(disponible en anglais seulement).

[Traduction]
« Tout ce qui pouvait être fait pour ces pauvres gens en raison de la grande compassion et de l'humanité du capitaine et des officiers a été fait, mais c'était insuffisant. La loi prévoit... de veiller à ce qu'un trop grand nombre d'entre eux ne soient pas embarqués à bord d'un navire et qu'ils soient décemment installés... d'exiger qu'un médecin soit présent; dans les bateaux où il n'y en a pas... la maladie des adultes et la mort des enfants... (sont) occurrences les plus communes... » (Chapitre 14)

[Traduction]
« . . . L'émigration a longtemps été considérée par les spécialistes britanniques en économie politique comme le moyen le plus efficace de soulager les malheurs qui affligent la paysannerie irlandaise. » (Épilogue)

Source nº 2

Remarque à l'intention des élèves :
Les extraits suivants sont tirés de la quatrième partie d'un compte rendu de Pádraig Breandán Ó Laighin, intitulé Summer of Sorrow. La version intégrale de ce texte peut être consultée à l'adresse suivante : www.ballinagree.freeservers.com/
sumsorrow4.html
(disponible en anglais seulement).

[Traduction]
« ...Il prétendait que les esclaves étaient beaucoup mieux traités sur les navires britanniques que sur les navires des autres pays en raison de la Loi William Dolbin, qui imposait des conditions très strictes à propos de la nourriture et des soins médicaux. Il n'a pas mentionné que les dispositions de la Loi sur les passagers en vigueur lorsque ses propres fermiers ont été envoyés en Amérique du Nord en 1847 étaient bien pires... » (Partie 4, paragraphe 5)

[Traduction]
« Il a traité tout le monde avec mépris sur Temple, disant que ses fermiers avaient été attirés à bord par des promesses de nourriture et d'argent qui n'ont pas été tenues. Il a dit que son tempérament charitable ne lui permettait pas de blâmer lord Palmerston lui-même, parce que ceux de sa classe sociale étaient naturellement bienveillants, et qu'il ne pouvait s'agir que d'un « acte non autorisé de mercenaires, des vauriens sans scrupules, dont le cœur était dénué de tout principe d'humanité et de toute parcelle de miséricorde?. » (Partie 4, paragraphe 1)

Source nº 3

Remarque à l'intention des élèves :
L'extrait suivant est tiré d'un site Web sur le film La force de l'espoir : l'héritage du Père McGauran. La version intégrale de ce texte peut être consultée à l'adresse suivante : www.whitepinepictures.com/seeds/i/2-f/sidebar-f.html.

« Avec l'imposition de la Poor Law par l'Angleterre, chaque propriétaire était tenu de subventionner les tenanciers qui payaient un loyer annuel inférieur à quatre livres. Leurs terres étaient occupées par des tenanciers pauvres accumulant des dettes foncières énormes qu'ils ne pouvaient plus soutenir. L'« émigration assistée » est devenue une solution. Les propriétaires évinçaient les pauvres de leur terre, et, pour être sûrs de s'en débarrasser, payaient le prix de leur passage à bord d'un bateau d'émigrants à destination du Canada, de l'Australie ou de l'Amérique. » (Paragraphe 3)

Précédent | Suivant