Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - In Quarantine:
Life and Death on Grosse Île, 1832-1937

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Black and white photo collage of a young woman wearing a white blouse, two men with moustaches and suits, two women, and a stone Celtic cross

Educational Resources

Handout 2.3c

Previous | Next

Witness Group Reading Assignment

Landlords, Ship Owners, and Captains

Source No. 1

Note to Students:
The following excerpt was taken from the Epilogue of The Journey of an Irish Coffin Ship by Robert Whyte. A full version of the text is available at www.aepizeta.org/~codine/famine/diary1.html.

"At length it was discovered that the best plan would be to get completely rid of those who were so heavy a burden upon them by shipping them to America; at the same time publishing to the world as an act of brotherly love and kindness, a deed of crafty, calculating selfishness: for the expense of transporting each individual was less than the cost of one year's support in a workhouse." (Epilogue)

Source No. 2

Note to Students:
The following excerpt was taken from the BBC online: "A Short History of Ireland." A full version of the text is available at www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/ashorthistory/archive/intro186.shtml.

"On Grosse Isle Robert Whyte went to the funeral of the wife of an emigrant from Co Meath. After the grave was filled up the husband placed two shovels in the form of a cross and said, 'By that cross, Mary, I swear to avenge your death. As soon as I earn the price of my passage home I'll go back and shoot the man that murdered you-and that's the landlord.'" (Paragraph 9)

Source No. 3

Note to Students:
The following excerpts were taken from parts 1 and 3 of Summer of Sorrow by Pádraig Breandán Ó Laighin. A full version of the text is available at www.ballinagree.freeservers.com/sumsorrow.html.

"'Emigration on an extensive scale,' he [Landowner Major Dennis Mahon] stated, 'was the principal Feature of my Plan; as while the large and completely pauperised Population which was on the estate remained, Rent could not be collected, nor could any System for the Amelioration of the Condition of the People be introduced." He had made his calculations . . . " (Part 1, paragraph 8)"

"Then Francis Spaight, magistrate . . . arranged to provide them with free passage on condition that they demolished their dwellings and surrendered their holdings to him. At first a hundred had gone, then 710 that year, 1847, at a cost of £3-10s per adult; 'and,' he added with brutal frankness, 'I consider the failure of the potato crop to be of the greatest possible value in one respect-in enabling us to carry out the Emigration System.'" (Part 3, paragraph 2)

Source No. 4

Note to Students:
The following excerpt was taken from an account entitled The Force of Hope: The Legacy of Father McGauran. A full version of the text is available at www.whitepinepictures.com/seeds/i/2/sidebar.html.

"The prospect of emigration seemed simple enough. Newspapers carried advertisements and placards were pasted up everywhere announcing departures: the Jane from Ireland for Montréal on the 20th of April next, the Superior for Québec on the 13th of July. Emigrants were lured by agents, sent into the countryside to recruit as many emigrants as possible to fill space. These agents were paid by the number of passengers they could attract. They often gave exaggerated descriptions of shipboard facilities, with assurances that the voyage would be short and provisions abundant." (Paragraph 5)

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - En quarantaine :
la vie et la mort à la Grosse-Île, 1832-1937

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière : Collage de photos en noir et blanc d'une jeune femme portant une blouse blanche, de deux hommes moustachus en tenue, de deux femmes et d'une croix celtique en pierre

Ressources pédagogiques

Document 2.3c

Précédent | Suivant

Textes à lire par le groupe de témoins

Propriétaires, armateurs et capitaines

Source nº 1

Remarque à l'intention des élèves :
L'extrait suivant est tiré de l'épilogue du journal de Robert Whyte, The Journey of an Irish Coffin Ship. La version intégrale de ce texte peut être consultée à l'adresse suivante : www.aepizeta.org/~codine/famine/diary1.html (disponible en anglais seulement).

[Traduction]
« Finalement, on découvrit que le meilleur moyen de se débarrasser complètement de ceux qui représentaient un si lourd fardeau à porter était de les expédier par bateau en Amérique; présenté au monde comme une manifestation de bonté et d'amour fraternel, c'était en fait une entreprise astucieuse, mue par un égoïsme calculateur, car le coût de transport d'un passager était moindre que ses frais de subsistance pendant un an dans une maison de travail. » (Épilogue)

Source nº 2

Remarque à l'intention des élèves :
L'extrait suivant est tiré du site Web de la BBC : « A Short History of Ireland ». La version intégrale de ce texte peut être consultée à l'adresse suivante : www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/ashorthistory/archive/intro186.shtml (disponible en anglais seulement).

[Traduction]
« Sur la Grosse-Île, Robert Whyte assista aux funérailles de la femme d'un émigrant du comté Meath. Lorsque la fosse fut comblée, le mari y plaça deux pelles en forme de croix et dit, « Sur cette croix, Mary, je jure de venger ta mort. Dès que j'aurai gagné assez d'argent pour payer mon billet, je retourne chez nous et je tue l'homme qui t'a assassinée - le propriétaire ». » (Paragraphe 9)

Source nº 3

Remarque à l'intention des élèves :
Les extraits suivants sont tirés de la première et de la troisième partie d'un compte rendu de Pádraig Breandán Ó Laighin, intitulé Summer of Sorrow. La version intégrale de ce texte peut être consultée à l'adresse suivante : www.ballinagree.freeservers.com/sumsorrow.html (disponible en anglais seulement).

[Traduction]
« « L'émigration à grande échelle », déclarait-il [le major Dennis Mahon, un grand propriétaire], « constituait la principale caractéristique de mon plan; et pendant qu'une très importante population, complètement appauvrie, demeurait sur la propriété, les loyers ne pouvaient pas être collectés, et il n'y avait pas moyen d'instaurer de système pour améliorer la condition de ces gens ». Il avait fait ses calculs... » (Partie 1, paragraphe 8)

« Ensuite, Francis Spaight, un magistrat... s'organisa pour leur offrir un passage gratuit à condition qu'ils démolissent leur maison et lui remettent toutes leurs possessions. Une centaine partirent en premier, puis 710 autres en cette année 1847, au coût de 3 à 10 £ par adulte; « et », ajouta-t-il avec une franchise brutale, « je considère que la mauvaise récolte de pommes de terre a été extrêmement bénéfique à un point de vue - elle nous a permis de mettre en œuvre le système d'émigration ». » (Partie 3, paragraphe 2)

Source nº 4

Remarque à l'intention des élèves :
L'extrait suivant est tiré d'un site Web sur le film La force de l'espoir : l'héritage du Père McGauran. La version intégrale de ce texte peut être consultée à l'adresse suivante : www.whitepinepictures.com/seeds/i/2-f/sidebar-f.html.

« La perspective de l'émigration ne semblait pas poser de problème. Les journaux faisaient de la publicité et des affiches étaient placardées un peu partout annonçant les départs : le Jane partait de l'Irlande à destination de Montréal le 20 avril prochain, le Superior partait à destination de Québec le 13 juillet. Les émigrants se laissaient prendre par les belles paroles des agents, qui étaient envoyés dans la campagne pour recruter le plus de clients possible pour remplir les bateaux. Ces agents étaient payés en fonction du nombre de passagers qu'ils attiraient. Ils vantaient souvent les installations à bord des bateaux et donnaient l'assurance que la traversée allait être courte et les provisions abondantes. » (Paragraphe 5)

Précédent | Suivant