Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - In Quarantine:
Life and Death on Grosse Île, 1832-1937

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Black and white photo collage of a young woman wearing a white blouse, two men with moustaches and suits, two women, and a stone Celtic cross

Educational Resources

Handout 2.3d

Previous | Next

Witness Group Reading Assignment

Administrators of the Grosse Île Quarantine Station

Source No. 1

Note to Students:
The following excerpt was taken from The Journey of an Irish Coffin Ship, Chapters XII and XIV by Robert Whyte. A full version of the text is available at www.aepizeta.
org/~codine/famine/diary1.html
.

"Nor were their sufferings ended with the voyage. Oh, no! far from it. Would that I could represent the afflictions I witnessed at Grosse Isle! I would not be supposed to think that the medical officers situated there did not exercise the greatest humanity in administering their disagreeable duties which consisted not in relieving the distress of the emigrants but in protecting their country from contamination. Still, it was most afflicting that after combating the dangers of the sea, enduring famine, drought and sickness, the wretched survivors should still have to lie as uncared for as when in the centre of the Atlantic Ocean." (Chapter 14)

Source No. 2

Note to Students:
The following excerpts were taken from part 1 of Summer of Sorrow by Pádraig Breandán Ó Laighin. A full version of the text is available at www.ballinagree.
freeservers.com/sumsorrow.html
.

"Four days later, on 21 May 1847, Dr. Douglas was informing the Governor General that every single ship that had arrived up to that point had been in a bad state of sickness and misery. He mentioned the seven boats that had followed the Syria, from Limerick, Dublin, Cork and Liverpool, with 2,778 passengers, of whom 75 had died on route. He said that the hospital sheds were full, and that over 200 patients had been left on the last ships to arrive, because he had neither beds nor space for them." (Part 1, paragraph 13)

Source No. 3

Note to Students:
The following excerpt was taken from the Parks Canada website: "Quarantine and Public Health: The Changing Role of Grosse Île" by André Sevigny. A full version of the text is available at www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/qc/grosseile/natcul/
natcul1a_E.asp
.

"First, the Canadian government did not really have a say in this so-called British emigration, which was managed by the colonial authorities. Second, the operation of the station was characterized by haste, improvisation, and trial and error, without any real understanding of the causes, spread and treatment of infectious diseases. Moreover, the island's facilities were ill equipped to accommodate and safely treat large numbers of immigrants, especially when they were sick." (Paragraph 4)

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - En quarantaine :
la vie et la mort à la Grosse-Île, 1832-1937

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière : Collage de photos en noir et blanc d'une jeune femme portant une blouse blanche, de deux hommes moustachus en tenue, de deux femmes et d'une croix celtique en pierre

Ressources pédagogiques

Document 2.3d

Précédent | Suivant

Textes à lire par le groupe de témoins

Administrateurs de la Grosse-Île

Source nº 1

Remarque à l'intention des élèves :
L'extrait suivant est tiré des chapitres 12 et 14 du journal de Robert Whyte, The Journey of an Irish Coffin Ship. La version intégrale de ce texte peut être consultée à l'adresse suivante : www.aepizeta.org/~codine/famine/diary1.html (disponible en anglais seulement).

[Traduction]
« Leurs souffrances ne prirent pas fin avec le voyage. Oh, non! Loin de là. Si seulement je pouvais décrire le désespoir dont j'ai été témoin à la Grosse-Île! Je ne devrais pas présumer que les responsables médicaux qui étaient là ne faisaient pas preuve de la plus grande humanité dans l'exercice de leur détestable devoir, lequel consistait non pas à soulager la détresse des immigrants, mais à protéger leur pays de la contamination. Tout de même, il était des plus affligeant qu'après avoir combattu les dangers de la mer, enduré la faim, la soif et la maladie, les malheureux survivants doivent encore être là, allongés, sans plus de soins qu'au milieu de l'océan Atlantique. » (Chapitre 14)

Source nº 2

Remarque à l'intention des élèves :
L'extrait suivant est tiré de la première partie de Summer of Sorrow de Pádraig Breandán Ó Laighin. La version intégrale de ce texte peut être consultée à l'adresse suivante : www.ballinagree.freeservers.com/sumsorrow.html (disponible en anglais seulement).

[Traduction]
« Quatre jours plus tard, le 21 mai 1847, le Dr Douglas informait le gouverneur général que chaque navire qui s'était rendu jusque-là était dans un triste état de maladie et de misère. Il mentionna les sept bateaux qui avaient suivi le Syria, en provenance de Limerick, de Dublin, de Cork et de Liverpool, avec 2 778 passagers à bord, dont 75 étaient morts durant le voyage. Il dit que les hangars servant d'hôpitaux étaient pleins, et que plus de 200 patients avaient été laissés à bord des derniers navires arrivés, parce qu'il n'y avait plus de lits, ni de place pour eux. » (Partie 1, paragraphe 13)

Source nº 3

Remarque à l'intention des élèves :
L'extrait suivant est tiré du site Web de Parcs Canada : « Quarantaine et santé publique : l'évolution du rôle historique de la Grosse-Île » par André Sévigny. La version intégrale de ce texte peut être consultée à l'adresse suivante : www.pc.gc.ca/lhn-nhs/qc/grosseile/natcul/natcul1a_f.asp#major.

« Ces premières décennies d'existence de la quarantaine de la Grosse-Île portent d'autres marques bien caractéristiques : gestion coloniale d'une émigration dite « britannique », donc sans véritable droit de regard canadien sur ce mouvement de population, fonctionnement de la quarantaine empreint de précipitation, d'improvisation et de tâtonnements, ignorance des causes, des modes de propagation et des traitements des maladies infectieuses, incapacité quasi chronique d'accueillir et de traiter sécuritairement le large flot des migrants, surtout malades. » (Paragraphe 4)

Précédent | Suivant