ARCHIVED - More information - William Hind's "Overlanders of '62 Sketchbook" - Exhibitions - Library and Archives Canada
 Library and Archive Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Français | Help     Canada  
 Home > Browse Selected Topics > William Hind
  Important Notices | Proactive Disclosure  

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

William Hind's "Overlanders of '62 Sketchbook"
 
 

Born in Nottingham, England, William Hind attended the Nottingham Government School of Art and Design. In 1852, he moved to Toronto to join his brother, Henry Youle Hind. Trained as a professional artist, William Hind taught drawing at the Normal School in Toronto for a number of years, before joining the Overlanders.

Numbering about 150, the Overlanders chose not to follow the normal sea routes to British Columbia, but to travel overland through present-day western Canada. This route had been advocated by Hind's brother, who had recently returned from his expedition to Red River. Hind and the Overlanders journeyed by train from Toronto to St. Paul, Minnesota, and then by steamer down the Red River to Fort Garry, where they purchased supplies and transportation for their trek across the Prairies.

Several members of the Overlanders kept diaries which complement Hind's watercolours, the majority of which concentrate on his travels from Fort Garry to Jasper. In his sketchbook consisting of 92 watercolours and drawings, Hind captures the difficulties of the journey across the Prairies, such as challenging river crossings and thunderstorms. The sketchbook also provides a glimpse of the everyday routine of the Overlanders.

After a challenging journey through the mountains, the Overlanders finally reached their destination, having covered some 5,000 kilometres since leaving Toronto. However, few of them succeeded in mining gold; most continued on to Victoria, where Hind opened a studio for a few years before returning east.

 
 
View sketchbook page by page       Retrace Hind's journey across the Prairies
Home

ARCHIVÉE - Pour en savoir plus - « Le carnet Overlanders de 62 » de William Hind - Expositions - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
 Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archive Canada English | Aide     Canada  
 Page d'accueil > Explorer les thèmes choisis > William Hind
  Avis importants | Divulgation proactive  

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

« Le carnet Overlanders de 62 » de William Hind
 
 

William Hind est né à Nottingham, en Angleterre, et fréquente la Nottingham Government School of Art and Design. Il déménage à Toronto en 1852 pour y rejoindre son frère Henry Youle. Artiste professionnel de formation, il enseigne le dessin à l'école normale de Toronto pendant plusieurs années avant de se joindre aux « Overlanders ».

Ces derniers, qui sont environ 150, décident de ne pas suivre les itinéraires maritimes normaux menant en Colombie-Britannique, et de traverser par voie de terre ce qui est aujourd'hui l'Ouest canadien. Son frère Henry, récemment rentré de son expédition à la rivière Rouge, préconise cet itinéraire. William Hind et les « Overlanders » se rendent en train de Toronto à St. Paul, au Minnesota, puis descendent en bateau à vapeur la rivière Rouge jusqu'à Fort Garry, où ils se procurent provisions et moyens de transport pour leur périple à travers les Prairies.

Plusieurs membres des « Overlanders » tiennent un journal; ces journaux complètent les aquarelles de William Hind, dont la plupart illustrent ses déplacements de Fort Garry à Jasper. Dans son carnet de croquis contenant 92 aquarelles et dessins, Hind capture les difficultés du périple à travers les Prairies, comme la traversée périlleuse des cours d'eau et les orages. Le carnet donne aussi un aperçu de la vie quotidienne des « Overlanders ».

Après un périple difficile à travers les montagnes, les « Overlanders » atteignent finalement leur destination, ayant franchi quelque 5 000 kilomètres depuis leur départ de Toronto. Peu d'entre eux réussissent cependant à trouver de l'or; la plupart poursuivent leur route jusqu'à Victoria, où William Hind ouvre un atelier qu'il conserve quelques années avant de revenir dans l'Est du pays.

 
 
Feuilleter le carnet de croquis page par page       Retracer le voyage de Hind dans les Prairies
Accueil