Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Backcheck: a Hockey Retrospective

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

About this site

This digital project's primary focus is on the early days of hockey. Materials from the collection of Library and Archives Canada (LAC) are presented to trace the development of Canada's national winter sport.

The site includes a chronological presentation of hockey stories from English and French language newspapers, providing a valuable resource for online hockey research. The site also includes feature articles, rare items from the collection of LAC, as well as a guide to hockey resources at LAC.

Backcheck : Hockey for Kids is a parallel site intended to interpret this material for a younger audience.

Acknowledgements

LAC gratefully acknowledges the invaluable partnership of the Society for International Hockey Research (SIHR) in the development of Backcheck: A Hockey Retrospective. The SIHR working group is coordinated by SIHR past-president Paul Kitchen, and includes:

  • J.W. (Bill) Fitsell -- Founding president of SIHR, retired columnist for the Kingston Whig Standard, hockey historian and author of Hockey's Captains, Colonels and Kings
  • Ernie Fitzsimmons -- President of SIHR, hockey historian, and consulting statistician for Total Hockey: The Official Encyclopedia of the National Hockey League
  • Ed Sweeney -- Curator of Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame, hockey researcher and writer
  • Michel Vigneault -- Sports historian, hockey researcher and writer

This group identified newspaper articles for the "Great Hockey Stories" section. Bill Fitsell contributed the essay on the origins of hockey and Michel Vigneault contributed the essay on French-Canadian hockey traditions.

Other authors also provided essays for the site: Brian McFarlane, hockey researcher and author of Proud Past, Bright Future: 100 Years of Canadian Women's Hockey, contributed the article on women's hockey in Canada, Denis Gibbons, who has worked as chief of research (ice hockey) for the ABC, CBS and NBC television networks, provided the essay on international hockey; and April "A.J." Bellegarde, a Cree freelance journalist based in Calgary, is the author of the essay on Aboriginal hockey.

We are very grateful to the Right Honourable Stephen Harper for his generous loan to LAC of the rare book Hockey: Canada's Royal Winter Game by Arthur Farrell. Additional thanks to Brian Malone and Red Fisher for bringing national attention to this treasure, and to the Milwaukee Public Library for their assistance in determining the missing pages of the book.

Our greatest appreciation is reserved for Paul Kitchen, the curator of Backcheck: A Hockey Retrospective and author of the essay on the origins of hockey. His research efforts on behalf of this project have been nothing short of monumental and his enthusiasm for the game of hockey is evident throughout the material showcased here.

We also gratefully acknowledge the contribution of the Department of Canadian Heritage, whose financial assistance through ARCHIVED - Canadian Culture Online (CCO) made this work possible.


Visit the website ARCHIVED - Backcheck: Hockey for Kids

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Regard sur le hockey

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

À propos du site

Ce projet numérique porte principalement sur les débuts du hockey. Le site présente des documents tirés de la collection de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) afin de mieux cerner l'évolution du sport d'hiver national du Canada.

Le site comprend un exposé chronologique de reportages sur le hockey tirés de journaux de langue française et de langue anglaise, qui constituent une ressource inestimable pour des recherches en ligne sur ce sport. On y trouve aussi des articles de fond, des pièces rares tirées de la collection de BAC ainsi qu'un guide de ressources sur le hockey de BAC.

Regard sur le hockey à l'intention des jeunes eest un site parallèle d'interprétation de ces documents destiné à un auditoire plus jeune.

Remerciements

BAC désire exprimer ses plus sincères remerciements à la Society for International Hockey Research (SIHR) pour avoir collaboré à l'élaboration de Regard sur le hockey. Le groupe de travail de la SIHR est coordonné par Paul Kitchen, ancien président de la SIHR, et se compose des membres suivants :

  • J.W. (Bill) Fitsell -- Président-fondateur de la SIHR, chroniqueur à la retraite du Kingston Whig Standard, historien du hockey et auteur de l'ouvrage intitulé Hockey's Captains, Colonels and Kings
  • Ernie Fitzsimmons -- Président de la SIHR, historien du hockey et statisticien-consultant pour l'ouvrage Total Hockey: The Official Encyclopedia of the National Hockey League
  • Ed Sweeney -- Conservateur du Temple de la renommée du hockey du Manitoba, chercheur dans le domaine du hockey et écrivain
  • Michel Vigneault -- Historien des sports, chercheur dans le domaine du hockey et écrivain

Le groupe a sélectionné les articles de journaux pour la section intitulée « Articles sur le hockey »; Bill Fitsell a écrit l'essai sur les débuts du hockey et Michel Vigneault, celui sur les traditions canadiennes-françaises.

D'autres auteurs ont aussi collaboré au site : Brian McFarlane, chercheur dans le domaine du hockey et auteur de Proud Past, Bright Future: 100 Years of Canadian Women's Hockey, a fourni le texte sur le hockey féminin au Canada; Dennis Gibbons, ancien chef de la recherche (hockey sur glace) aux réseaux de télévision ABC, CBS et NBC, a rédigé l'essai sur le hockey international; April « A.J. » Bellegarde, journaliste pigiste crie de Calgary, a écrit l'essai sur le hockey autochtone.

Nous apprécions au plus haut point la généreuse contribution du très honorable Stephen Harper pour le prêt à BAC du très rare exemplaire de Hockey: Canada's Royal Winter Game d'Arthur Farrell. Nous remercions aussi messieurs Brian Malone et Red Fisher d'avoir attiré notre attention sur ce trésor national et la Milwaukee Public Library pour son aide à identifier les pages manquantes de notre exemplaire.

Nous voulons exprimer également notre plus grande reconnaissance à Paul Kitchen, conservateur de Regard sur le hockey et auteur de l'essai sur les origines du hockey. Sa contribution aux recherches réalisées dans le cadre de ce projet a été tout simplement colossale, et son évidente passion pour le hockey transparaît dans les documents présentés dans cette exposition.

Enfin, nous désirons remercier le ministère du Patrimoine canadien qui a rendu possible l'élaboration de ce site par l'intermédiaire du programme de financement ARCHIVÉE - Culture canadienne en ligne.


Visitez le site Web ARCHIVÉE - Regard sur le hockey à l'intention des jeunes