Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Exploration and Settlement > Moving Here, Staying Here Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Moving Here, Staying Here. The Canadian Immigrant Experience


The Documentary TrailTraces of the PastFind an Immigrant
Introduction
Printed Advertisements
Immigrant Guides
Government Rules and Regulations
Travel Documents
Passenger Lists
Identity Files
Land Grants
Commissioned Photography
Immigrant Diaries and Memoirs

Travel Documents

by Glenn Wright, Library and Archives Canada

Until the 1850s, the vast majority of immigrants who arrived in British North America were British subjects and, for this reason, they did not require any documentation. Likewise, immigrants from Germany and Scandinavia, who entered Canada in significant numbers in the 1850s and 1860s, arrived with no personal documentation. While some immigrants carried letters of introduction to colonial officials, most newcomers disembarked with nothing more than a small amount of money and their belongings.

In 1828, the British government appointed Alexander C. Buchanan as its first resident immigration agent at Québec and both he and his successor (his nephew, also Alexander C. Buchanan) welcomed immigrants and provided information on settlement, employment possibilities and travel to Montréal and beyond. In 1832, cholera appeared, thus prompting the government to inspect the health of immigrants and to provide facilities for the care of the sick. By the 1840s, the agent at Québec also had funds at his disposal to help those who arrived in Canada with no means of support.

By Confederation, the Canadian government inspected or interviewed all immigrants upon arrival to assess their health and adaptability to the country. Agents in larger centres such as Montréal, Ottawa and Toronto assisted newcomers with finding employment and accommodation. Soon, benevolent societies, churches and other service organizations were present at ports of entry (especially Québec) to offer assistance and advice to immigrants and to provide for their welfare.

Following Confederation, the federal government was employing agents in various European countries to recruit prospective emigrants, although their actual movement was the responsibility of the various steamship companies that operated on the North Atlantic. With the coming of the railway in the 1860s, and especially after the completion of the Canadian Pacific Railway in the 1880s, many emigrants were provided with a ticket (the number appears on the passenger list) that provided them with ocean and rail transportation from the port of arrival to their final destination. Agricultural settlers, domestic servants and general labourers were in great demand and various kinds of assistance or inducements, such as reduced fares and free land, were offered to attract immigrants. However, travel to Canada required little in the way of documentation until the 1850s.

From about the 1860s, information about individuals arriving, including their name, age, sex, occupation and nationality was compiled on the passenger manifest, or list, as required by law. About 1919, the government introduced a more extensive personal history form, known as Form 30A that, in addition to the information traditionally found on a passenger list, included questions about health, religion, next-of-kin and passage information. Shipping agents were responsible for ensuring that all prospective immigrants completed the form prior to arrival in Canada.

From 1919 to 1925, Form 30A replaced the passenger list as the primary record of incoming immigrants, but it too was replaced by a revised and enlarged passenger list in 1925. Essential information on each and every immigrant to Canada is found in the passenger lists and government forms that were created to identify newcomers to Canada since the first decades of the 19th century.


Introduction | Copyright/Sources | Comments

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Exploration et colonisation > Le vécu des immigrants English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière: Le vécu des immigrants. Immigrer et s'installer en terre canadienne


Trace documentaire des immigrantsLes vestiges du passéTrouver un immigrant
Introduction
Les imprimés publicitaires
Les guides et les manuels pour les immigrants
La réglementation gouvernementale
Les documents de voyage
Les listes de passagers
Les dossiers d'identité
Les concessions de terre
La photographie exécutée sur commande
Mémoires et journaux intimes d'immigrants

Les documents de voyage

par Glenn Wright, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Jusqu'aux années 1850, la majorité des immigrants qui s'installent en Amérique du Nord britannique sont citoyens britanniques, et on ne leur exige donc pas de papiers. Il en va de même pour les immigrants d'Allemagne et de Scandinavie, arrivés en grand nombre au Canada, sans papiers personnels, dans les années 1850 et 1860. Si quelques-uns disposent d'une lettre d'introduction pour une autorité coloniale, la plupart des nouveaux venus débarquent, avec, pour tout avoir, leurs effets personnels et un petit montant d'argent.

En 1828, le gouvernement britannique nomme Alexander C. Buchanan au poste d'agent à l'immigration à Québec. Il sera le premier à remplir cette fonction, souhaitant la bienvenue aux immigrants, comme le fera son successeur (son neveu, qui s'appelle aussi Alexander C. Buchanan), et leur fournissant des renseignements sur l'installation, les possibilités d'emploi, les voyages à Montréal et au-delà. En 1832, l'épidémie de choléra force le gouvernement à vérifier la santé des immigrants, et à fournir des installations pour soigner les malades. Dans les années 1840, l'agent de Québec dispose aussi de fonds qu'il peut utiliser pour aider les nouveaux venus sans ressources.

Dès la Confédération, le gouvernement canadien examine et interroge, à leur arrivée, tous les immigrants, pour évaluer leur santé et leur chance de s'adapter au pays. Des agents postés dans les grands centres, tels Montréal, Ottawa et Toronto aident les nouveaux arrivants à trouver un emploi et un gîte. Bientôt, des associations de bienfaisance, des Églises et autres entreprises de services accueillent aux ports d'entrées ces voyageurs (en particulier à Québec) pour leur offrir leur aide et leurs conseils, et assurer leur bien-être.

Après la Confédération, le gouvernement fédéral emploie des agents dans différents pays d'Europe pour recruter d'éventuels émigrants, même si leur déplacement réel tombe sous la responsabilité des diverses compagnies maritimes qui opèrent dans l'Atlantique Nord. Avec l'avènement du chemin de fer dans les années 1860, et en particulier avec la création de la compagnie du Canadien Pacifique dans les années 1880, de nombreux immigrants reçoivent un billet (le nombre est indiqué sur la liste des passagers) qui leur permet de voyager par mer et par train depuis le port d'arrivée jusqu'à leur destination finale. La demande est forte pour les agriculteurs, les domestiques et les travailleurs non spécialisés; aussi leur offre-t-on, pour les attirer, différentes formes d'aide et d'avantages, tels des voyages à prix réduits et des terres gratuites. Mais le Canada n'exige pas des voyageurs un grand nombre de papiers avant les années 1850.

À partir des années 1860 environ, on compile sur la liste des passagers l'information concernant les personnes qui arrivent au pays, incluant le nom, l'âge, le sexe, l'occupation et la nationalité, comme la loi le requiert. Vers 1919, le gouvernement introduit un formulaire personnel plus important, connu sous le nom de formulaire 30A qui, en plus de l'information que contient d'ordinaire la liste des passagers, comporte de nouvelles questions portant sur la santé, la religion, les proches parents, et le voyage. Les agents des compagnies maritimes doivent s'assurer que tous les futurs immigrants ont rempli le formulaire avant leur arrivée au Canada.

De 1919 à 1925, le formulaire 30A remplace la liste des passagers et constitue le principal document concernant les nouveaux immigrants, mais on lui substitue en 1925 une liste révisée et augmentée. On peut trouver l'information essentielle concernant chacun des immigrants venus au Canada dans les listes de passagers et formulaires du gouvernement créés pour recenser les nouveaux venus depuis les premières décennies du XIXe siècle.


Introduction | Droits d'auteur/Sources | Commentaires