Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Exploration and Settlement > Moving Here, Staying Here Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Moving Here, Staying Here. The Canadian Immigrant Experience


The Documentary TrailTraces of the PastFind an Immigrant
Introduction
Printed Advertisements
Immigrant Guides
Government Rules and Regulations
Travel Documents
Passenger Lists
Identity Files
Land Grants
Commissioned Photography
Immigrant Diaries and Memoirs

Land Grants

by Jeffrey S. Murray, Library and Archives Canada

In the province of Quebec, land distribution was originally based on the seigneurial system, established in 1627 and used until 1854. Seigneuries were granted by the King to members of the bourgeoisie, members of important families or former military officers. As proprietor of a seigneurie, the seigneur had privileges and obligations towards the King or his representative. The seigneur granted parcels (concessions) of his land to tenants called censitaires or, more commonly, habitants. Starting in 1763, new lands were granted according to the township system. Quebec was divided into counties that were divided into townships or municipalités de paroisses. The British North America Act of 1867 established Crown lands as a provincial responsibility. Only land petitions for Upper and Lower Canada (Ontario and Quebec) were retained by the Government of Canada.

A land grant is a general term referring to the Crown's transfer of public lands to a subordinate government, a corporation or an individual. The Dominion Lands Act (35 Vic., c. 23, 1872) offered a wide variety of such grants to colonization companies, the Hudson's Bay Company, railways (for right of ways and stations), municipalities (for town sites and schools), religious organizations (for church sites and cemeteries) and individual homesteaders.

The instrument used to convey title to a 160-acre (65 hectares) homestead grant was a land patent. From 1870 to about 1932, the federal government issued some 625,000 patents on homestead lands across western Canada.

As initially stipulated in the Dominion Lands Act (35 Vic., c. 23, 1872), title to a 160-acre (65 hectares) western homestead could be issued to any male over the age of 24. Two years later, the age limit was dropped to 18 years to allow younger families to make an entry (37 Vic., c. 19, s. 8.1, 1874). After 1876, women over the age of 18 also became eligible, but only if they were the sole head of a family (39 Vic., c. 19, s. 4, 1876). After 1919, this provision was extended to widows of veterans (9-10 George V, c. 13, s. 1, 1919). In 1908, patentees were expected to be a British subject or to declare their intention to become one (7-8 Edward, c. 20, s. 9, 1908).

Before title to a homestead was granted by the Crown, however, the homesteader had to meet certain conditions of residency and cultivation for a fixed period of time. Although the details varied as government policy evolved, the homesteader was generally given three years to make some improvements to the land (a minimum number of acres had to be cultivated), to build a residence and to be a bona fide occupant of the property. These conditions were necessary to keep land speculation to a minimum and to discourage all but genuine settlers from obtaining a homestead. Failure to comply with any of the regulations resulted in the loss of the homestead and its re-opening to other settlers.

Although specific numbers are difficult to determine, the majority of patentees were recent arrivals from overseas and from the United States. These people were lured to the Prairie West by one of the largest and most extensive advertising campaigns the world had ever witnessed.

From 1870 to 1883, land patents on western homesteads were issued by the Secretary of State for the Provinces (Library and Archives Canada retains these records in Record Group 68), and from 1883 to 1930, by the Department of the Interior (Record Group 15). The Western Land Grants database provides access to the land patents issued by both departments. Any transactions that took place on homestead lands after the land patents had been awarded were recorded in local land titles offices. Prior to 1905, the land titles offices in the Northwest Territories were maintained by the federal government, and in Manitoba, by the provincial government. From 1905 to 1930, the newly created provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta could not make grants of Crown lands; however, like Manitoba, they were responsible for registering any transactions on lands after the land patent had been issued by the federal Crown. The alienation of Crown land only became a provincial responsibility in 1930, when the three Prairie Provinces won the right to administer their own natural resources. Provincial grants after 1930 are registered in local land titles offices.

Land patents were issued as the first title to land, and served as proof that the land had been alienated from the Crown. These documents provide information of interest to genealogists, such as the name of the patentee, his/her occupation and place of residence. The documents also provide a description of the homestead and note any restrictions (especially those on mines and minerals) that may have been reserved by the Crown.

Once the land patent was awarded by the Crown, much of the paper trail documenting individual immigrant experiences in western Canada comes to an end, at least as far as the federal record is concerned. In this respect, the land patents are the end product of a lengthy relocation that first began in the villages, towns and cities of Europe. But as every homesteader knows, securing a land patent from the Crown was really just the beginning of a commitment that spanned several decades, a commitment that eventually reshaped the Prairie West into a productive landscape that could be called home.


Introduction | Copyright/Sources | Comments

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Exploration et colonisation > Le vécu des immigrants English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière: Le vécu des immigrants. Immigrer et s'installer en terre canadienne


Trace documentaire des immigrantsLes vestiges du passéTrouver un immigrant
Introduction
Les imprimés publicitaires
Les guides et les manuels pour les immigrants
La réglementation gouvernementale
Les documents de voyage
Les listes de passagers
Les dossiers d'identité
Les concessions de terre
La photographie exécutée sur commande
Mémoires et journaux intimes d'immigrants

Les concessions de terre

par Jeffrey S. Murray, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

La distribution des terres dans la province de Québec s'est tout d'abord faite selon le régime seigneurial, instauré en 1627 et en vigueur jusqu'en 1854. Les seigneuries étaient concédées par le roi à des membres de la bourgeoisie, à des membres de familles importantes ou à d'anciens officiers militaires. En tant que propriétaire d'une seigneurie, le seigneur avait des privilèges et des obligations envers le roi ou son représentant. Le seigneur concédait des terres de sa seigneurie aux habitants, que l'on appelait censitaires. À compter de 1763, les nouvelles terres étaient accordées selon le système des cantons. Le Québec a été divisé en comtés, eux-mêmes divisés en cantons ou « municipalités de paroisses ». L'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique de 1867 a attribué aux provinces la responsabilité d'administrer les terres de la Couronne. Le gouvernement du Canada n'a conservé que les demandes de terres concernant le Bas-Canada et le Haut-Canada (le Québec et l'Ontario).

La concession de terre désigne, sous un terme général, le transfert par le gouvernement fédéral de terres publiques qu'on attribue à un gouvernement subalterne, une corporation ou un individu. La Loi des terres fédérales (35 Vic., ch. XXIII, 1872), offre un vaste choix de telles concessions aux sociétés de colonisation, à la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson, aux chemins de fer (pour les droits de passages et les gares), aux municipalités (pour l'emplacement des villes et des écoles), aux organismes religieux (pour l'emplacement des églises et des cimetières) et aux fermiers.

Pour transmettre les titres de propriété d'une ferme de 160 acres (65 hectares), on signe une lettre patente. De 1870 jusque vers 1932, le gouvernement fédéral a émis quelque 625 000 lettres patentes pour des terres agricoles cédées un peu partout dans l'Ouest canadien.

Tel que le prescrit la Loi des terres fédérales (35 Vic., ch. XXIII, 1872), on peut concéder une ferme de 160 acres (65 hectares) située dans l'Ouest du pays à tout homme âgé de plus de 24 ans. Deux ans plus tard, on descend à 18 ans l'âge limite afin de permettre aux familles plus jeunes de pouvoir s'installer (37 Vic., ch. XIX, s. 8.1, 1874). Après 1876, les femmes de plus de 18 ans accèdent aussi à ce droit, mais à la condition qu'elles soient le seul chef de famille (39 Vic., ch. XIX, s. 4, 1876). Passé 1919, cette disposition s'étend aux veuves d'anciens combattants (9-10 George V, ch. XIII, s. 1, 1919). En 1908, le titulaire de lettres patentes est censé être sujet britannique, ou déclare vouloir le devenir (7-8 Edward, ch. XX, s. 9, 1908).

Avant que le gouvernement fédéral concède un titre de ferme, le fermier doit cependant remplir certaines conditions concernant le lieu de résidence et la mise en valeur des cultures durant une période déterminée. Bien que les détails aient évolué au fil des modifications qu'apporte le gouvernement aux politiques, le fermier dispose d'ordinaire de trois ans pour améliorer la terre (un nombre minimum d'acres doit être cultivé), construire une maison et en être l'occupant véritable. Il est nécessaire d'imposer ces conditions pour prévenir la spéculation foncière, et n'encourager que les authentiques colons à obtenir une ferme. À défaut de se conformer à l'un de ces règlements, le fermier perd sa terre qui est attribuée à un autre colon.

Il est difficile d'évaluer le nombre exact de détenteurs de lettres patentes, mais on sait que la majorité d'entre eux étaient récemment arrivés d'outre-mer et des États-Unis, attirés vers les Prairies Ouest grâce à l'une des plus formidables campagnes publicitaires jamais vues.

De 1870 à 1883, c'est le Secrétariat d'État des provinces qui émet les lettres patentes pour les fermes de l'Ouest (Bibliothèque et Archives Canada conserve certains rapports dans le groupe d'archives 68), et de 1883 à 1930, cette tâche échoit au ministère de l'Intérieur (groupe d'archives 15). On peut consulter les actes de concession émis par les deux ministères dans la base de données Concessions des terres de l'Ouest. Toute transaction effectuée sur les terres agricoles après la signature des lettres patentes est enregistrée au bureau local des titres fonciers. Avant 1905, les bureaux de titres fonciers des Territoires du Nord-Ouest sont opérés par le gouvernement fédéral, et au Manitoba, par le gouvernement provincial. De 1905 à 1930, les provinces de la Saskatchewan et de l'Alberta, nouvellement créées, ne peuvent concéder des terres fédérales. Cependant, à l'instar du Manitoba, elles doivent enregistrer toute transaction foncière effectuée après que l'administration fédérale a cédé la terre. L'aliénation des terres fédérales ne relève du gouvernement provincial qu'en 1930, lorsque les trois provinces des Prairies accèdent au droit d'administrer leurs propres ressources naturelles. Les concessions provinciales signées après 1930 sont enregistrées au bureau local des titres fonciers.

Les lettres patentes constituent le premier titre foncier, et prouvent que la terre a été aliénée par le gouvernement. Ces documents procurent une intéressante information aux généalogistes. Ainsi y trouve-t-on le nom du détenteur de la lettre patente, son occupation, son lieu de résidence, ainsi qu'une description de la ferme et une indication des restrictions (surtout celles à l'endroit des mines et minéraux) dont le gouvernement fédéral s'est réservé la propriété.

Une fois la terre concédée par le gouvernement fédéral, il n'existe presque aucun document qui retrace l'expérience d'immigrer des individus dans l'Ouest canadien, à tout le moins pas de documents fédéraux. À cet égard, les lettres patentes sont le dernier document qui témoigne d'un long processus de relocalisation amorcé dans les villages et les villes d'Europe. Mais comme chaque fermier le sait, obtenir une lettre patente marque le début d'un engagement qui dure plusieurs décennies, un engagement qui en fin de compte a refaçonné les Prairies Ouest pour en faire un paysage fertile que les gens peuvent appeler leur chez-eux.


Introduction | Droits d'auteur/Sources | Commentaires