Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Exploration and Settlement > Moving Here, Staying Here Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Moving Here, Staying Here. The Canadian Immigrant Experience


The Documentary TrailTraces of the PastFind an Immigrant
Introduction
Printed Advertisements
Immigrant Guides
Government Rules and Regulations
Travel Documents
Passenger Lists
Identity Files
Land Grants
Commissioned Photography
Immigrant Diaries and Memoirs

Commissioned Photography

by Jim Burant, Library and Archives Canada

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) has acquired thousands of photographs that document the immigration experience. These photographs are primarily from the records of the former Department of the Interior, especially from the Immigration Branch; the Canadian Government Motion Picture Bureau and its successor agency, the National Film Board of Canada; Canadian National Railways; and from the Department of Immigration and its successor departments. In addition, the photographic records of many pioneering families, as well as those of immigration organizations such as the Barnardo Homes and Frontier College, have been acquired from individuals and organizations in order to provide a broader picture of the immigrant experience. The many newspaper and wire-service photographic collections held by LAC are also a particularly important source of visual documentation, especially for the post-Second World War period.

As early as the 1880s, the Departments of the Interior and Agriculture began publishing illustrated pamphlets and articles in various European and American periodicals extolling the virtues of emigration. Local photographers were commissioned to take views of agricultural developments, farms, crops and settlements, and these photographs were reproduced as woodcuts or half-tones. As the photographic reproduction technology improved, photogravures began to appear instead, or photos became the basis for more elaborate forms of art work, including posters and highly coloured booklets. The Ottawa firm of Topley Studio supplied two of the most well-known photographers working on behalf of the federal government, Horatio N. Topley, who eventually became a paid employee of the Department of the Interior, and John Woodruff. These two photographers undertook a number of cross-country journeys to document the growth and settlement of different parts of the Dominion, but most particularly of the Canadian West.

Woodruff also visited the immigrant stations at Québec and Saint John, New Brunswick, and took photographs of the variety of ethnic and cultural groups arriving at these points of entry, as part of the Department's efforts to demonstrate the success of its publicity campaigns in Eastern and southern Europe. Photographs taken by such photographers were used by a number of government departments, but especially the Immigration Branch, to create posters, calendars, lantern-slide illustrated lectures, exhibits at world's fairs, and travelling exhibit wagons, especially in Britain.

The illustrated pamphlet was the primary outlet for such photographs. Between 1896 and 1913, the government produced hundreds of such pamphlets in multiple languages for use by emigration agents, shipping lines, and government offices abroad. In addition, magazines such as Canada West: The Last Best West appeared in the 1910s and 1920s. The images in such periodicals and pamphlets were most often used to depict Canadian conditions to prospective immigrants. The images were accompanied by maps to show the geography and transportation routes, and texts that provided facts about Canadian society, politics and agriculture, as well as testimonials, aimed at specific European populations, from fellow countrymen and women.

These government pamphlets and the photographs taken for them provide some insights into past attitudes, official or otherwise, about the immigration of people of different nationalities. While their production often involved patronage, poor communication and bureaucratic parsimony, they remain emblems of the great faith that the Immigration Branch placed in the power of pamphleteering.

Photographic documentation of the immigration experience, at least by the government, began to decline in the late 1920s and 1930s, even as private companies, such the railways and shipping lines, began to target their services more closely at prospective immigrants. In the 1950s, the federal government, through the National Film Board and the Department of Immigration, began to renew its interest in capturing the immigrant experience from the moment of arrival through to the immigrants' integration into Canadian society, but in a very limited fashion. The overall visual record of the immigrant experience from the 1960s onwards is still weak, or has not yet been acquired from individuals and organisations. Documenting the multicultural experience in Canada is an important goal of LAC's acquisition strategy.


Introduction | Copyright/Sources | Comments

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Exploration et colonisation > Le vécu des immigrants English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière: Le vécu des immigrants. Immigrer et s'installer en terre canadienne


Trace documentaire des immigrantsLes vestiges du passéTrouver un immigrant
Introduction
Les imprimés publicitaires
Les guides et les manuels pour les immigrants
La réglementation gouvernementale
Les documents de voyage
Les listes de passagers
Les dossiers d'identité
Les concessions de terre
La photographie exécutée sur commande
Mémoires et journaux intimes d'immigrants

La photographie exécutée sur commande

par Jim Burant, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) a acquis des milliers de photographies qui témoignent de l'expérience d'immigrer. Ces documents proviennent surtout des archives de l'ancien ministère de l'Intérieur, en particulier de la direction générale de l'Immigration; du Bureau de cinématographie du gouvernement et de l'Office national du film qui l'a remplacé; de la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada; ainsi que du ministère de l'Immigration et de ses successeurs. De plus, des documents photos de familles pionnières et d'organismes actifs dans le domaine de l'immigration, tels que le Frontier College ou la Barnardo Homes, ont été obtenus des individus ou des organismes, afin d'obtenir une vision élargie de l'expérience d'immigrer. Les nombreuses collections photographiques issues de journaux ou d'agences d'informations télégraphiques et aujourd'hui conservées par BAC offrent aussi une documentation visuelle importante, et couvrent notamment l'après Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Dès les années 1880, les ministères de l'Intérieur et de l'Agriculture publient, dans divers périodiques américains et européens, des brochures illustrées ainsi que des articles qui font valoir les avantages de l'émigration. On commande aux photographes locaux des vues des aménagements agricoles, des fermes, des récoltes et des installations, qu'on reproduit en gravure sur bois ou en demi-teinte. Les techniques de reproduction photographique s'améliorent, mais on recourt à la photogravure fraîchement mise au point, ou encore on utilise des photos comme base à des formes d'impression plus complexes, dont l'affiche ou la brochure riche en couleurs. Le Topley Studio d'Ottawa emploie deux des photographes les plus connus qui travaillent au nom du gouvernement fédéral, Horatio N. Topley, qui deviendra par la suite un employé payé par le ministère de l'Intérieur, et John Woodruff. Tous deux entreprennent plusieurs voyages à travers le pays afin de documenter la croissance et la colonisation de différentes régions du Dominion, en particulier de l'Ouest canadien.

Woodruff visite également les postes d'immigration à Québec et à Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il prend des images des divers groupes ethniques et culturels arrivés par ces points d'entrée au pays, car le ministère s'efforce de prouver le succès qu'ont connu ses campagnes publicitaires en Europe de l'Est et du Sud. Plusieurs ministères font usage de telles photographies, plus particulièrement la direction générale de l'Immigration, qui produit des affiches et des calendriers, et organise des conférences où l'on projette des diapositives sur verre, des expositions montées dans le cadre d'expositions universelles, ainsi que des expositions installées dans des wagons qui se déplacent de ville en ville, surtout en Grande-Bretagne.

La brochure constitue le premier débouché de telles photographies. De 1896 à 1913, le gouvernement fait paraître en plusieurs langues des centaines de brochures semblables, qu'utilisent les agents d'immigration, les compagnies maritimes, et les bureaux gouvernementaux à l'étranger. De plus, entre les années 1910 et 1920 apparaissent des revues telles Canada West: The Last Best West. Les images de ces périodiques et des brochures servent le plus souvent à montrer aux immigrants éventuels les conditions de vie canadienne. Ces photos s'accompagnent de cartes qui illustrent la géographie et les routes, et les textes parlent de la société canadienne, de la politique et de l'agriculture, et proposent aussi des témoignages que destinent à des populations européennes précises leurs compatriotes.

Ces brochures gouvernementales et les photographies qui les illustrent donnent un aperçu des points de vue, officiels ou non, qu'avaient sur l'immigration des gens de différentes nationalités. Si la réalisation de ces brochures tient souvent du patronage, et fait preuve d'une communication déficiente et d'une bureaucratie parcimonieuse, elle montre néanmoins que la direction générale de l'Immigration était convaincue de l'effet qu'exercent ces brochures.

À la fin des années 1920 et 1930, la production de documents photographiques sur l'expérience d'immigrer décroît, en particulier la production gouvernementale, même lorsque les compagnies privées, telles les sociétés maritimes ou ferroviaires, établissent leurs services en fonction de la clientèle d'éventuels immigrants. Dans les années 1950, l'intérêt que porte le gouvernement fédéral à documenter l'expérience d'immigrer se renouvelle par l'entremise de l'Office national du film et du ministère de l'Immigration, qui saisissent, d'une manière très limitée, des images des immigrants, depuis leur arrivée jusqu'au moment de leur intégration dans la société canadienne. L'ensemble des archives amassées depuis les années 1960 demeure maigre, ou les documents n'ont pas été encore obtenus des individus ou organismes qui les détiennent. Par ses politiques d'acquisition, BAC s'efforce de documenter l'expérience multiculturelle canadienne.


Introduction | Droits d'auteur/Sources | Commentaires