Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Exploration and Settlement > Moving Here, Staying Here Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Moving Here, Staying Here. The Canadian Immigrant Experience


The Documentary TrailTraces of the PastFind an Immigrant
Introduction
Printed Advertisements
Immigrant Guides
Government Rules and Regulations
Travel Documents
Passenger Lists
Identity Files
Land Grants
Commissioned Photography
Immigrant Diaries and Memoirs

Immigrant Diaries and Memoirs

by Bruce S. Elliott, Carleton University

The immediacy of first-person narrative draws us to life writings, such as diaries, memoirs and letters, by ordinary people. The most common such writings are by immigrants. Their letters and diaries divulge the urge to record and communicate novel experiences; their memoirs and reminiscences testify to the immigrants' awareness of the changing world around them.

The distinction between these genres -- diaries, memoirs and letters (and indeed, between public and private, literature and communication) -- is often blurred. Emigrants' writings were read aloud, transcribed for circulation and sometimes published in the press. Shipboard journals were mailed home; letters written day by day were bound as diaries. Some inveterate scribblers, like the educated Cobourg farmer Robert Hume, employed their diaries as raw material for ventures into literary publication.

Even people averse to writing might have kept a diary during the Atlantic crossing, for example, because emigration was a momentous decision. Whether recording anecdotal adventures, taking control of a new experience by reducing it on paper to a daily routine, or responding to pressures from home to pass along useful information, enforced leisure at sea gave time to write.

Long mined by historians for their information content, voyage diaries, travel journals and memoirs may be probed more deeply to explore perceptions and constructions of what their authors saw and experienced. The authors did not record everything they saw. What accounted for what they chose to record, and for the ways in which they saw events and wrote them down? What shaped and tempered their understanding of new experiences?

Personal travel narratives drew upon the form and subject matter of emigrants' guidebooks, and even sometimes acted as such. Even the barely educated conformed to literary conventions to some degree. A voyage demanded a narrative chronology, and the memoir of a voyage became a tale of progress from civilization to 'howling wilderness' and back to civilization.

In travel narratives we can detect the influence of popular culture, the press, Biblical language and metaphors, sermon literature and Shakespeare. This is because new arrivals struggled to describe what they saw by imposing familiar categories; they viewed the landscape through eyes accustomed only to distant shores. The people and the land seemed untamed, even savage, by contrast with what they knew. Even when immigrants rejoiced in novelty they strove to impose old world social assumptions, and to replicate accustomed values in a new land.

Life writings are among our best sources for understanding gendered experience, for men and women experienced emigration differently. They encountered differing employment opportunities, and shifting power relations within the family. Children's diaries, represented here by the Hallens, are as rare as they are delightful. For those of the appropriate class, theirs was a more literary society than ours, and children born to a writing family learned early how to express themselves verbally and on paper. Then as now, children had recourse to imagery to express in drawings what they could not entirely convey in words. Children's diaries impress us with both their childlike view of the world and their maturity of expression.


Introduction | Copyright/Sources | Comments

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Exploration et colonisation > Le vécu des immigrants English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière: Le vécu des immigrants. Immigrer et s'installer en terre canadienne


Trace documentaire des immigrantsLes vestiges du passéTrouver un immigrant
Introduction
Les imprimés publicitaires
Les guides et les manuels pour les immigrants
La réglementation gouvernementale
Les documents de voyage
Les listes de passagers
Les dossiers d'identité
Les concessions de terre
La photographie exécutée sur commande
Mémoires et journaux intimes d'immigrants

Mémoires et journaux intimes d'immigrants

par Bruce S. Elliott, Université Carleton

L'immédiateté du récit à la première personne nous conduit aux écrits quotidiens, tels les journaux personnels, les Mémoires et les lettres, produits par des gens ordinaires. Les plus courants ont été écrits par des immigrants qui, dans leurs lettres et journaux personnels, traduisent l'urgence d'enregistrer et de communiquer leurs nouvelles expériences. Leurs Mémoires et leurs souvenirs montrent qu'ils sont conscients de la mouvance du monde qui les entoure.

La frontière est souvent mince entre ces différents genres -- journaux, Mémoires et lettres (et bien sûr, entre littérature et communication, publique et privée). Les écrits des émigrants sont lus à voix haute, transcrits pour être diffusés, et parfois publiés dans la presse. Les journaux écrits à bord des bateaux sont postés au pays natal, et on relie, sous forme de journal, les lettres composées au jour le jour. Certains écrivailleurs invétérés, tel Robert Hume, fermier cultivé de Cobourg, se servent de leurs journaux comme matériau brut qu'ils transforment en production littéraire.

Même les personnes peu enclines à écrire ont peut-être tenu un journal durant la traversée de l'Atlantique, entre autres parce que l'émigration est une décision capitale. Les longs moments de loisir en mer incitent à écrire, soit parce que l'auteur souhaite enregistrer les anecdotes et péripéties du voyage, veut maîtriser cette nouvelle expérience en la réduisant, couchée sur le papier, au rituel quotidien, ou encore répond à la pression de sa famille qui lui demande de faire parvenir de précieuses informations.

Les historiens, qui longtemps se sont penchés sur Mémoires et journaux de voyages pour interroger leur contenu, les explorent aujourd'hui plus profondément pour en dégager les perceptions et les constructions tirées de l'expérimentation et de la vision des auteurs. Ces derniers n'ont pas enregistré systématiquement tout ce qu'ils ont vu. Comment expliquer ce qu'ils ont choisi de transcrire, leur vision propre, et leur façon de la communiquer par l'écriture? Qu'est-ce qui a façonné et nuancé leur compréhension de leurs expériences nouvelles?

Les récits de voyages personnels s'inspirent, dans leur traitement et par leur sujet, des guides destinés aux immigrants, et parfois remplissent aussi ce rôle. Même les moins instruits se conforment, dans une certaine mesure, aux conventions littéraires. Le récit de voyage exige une structure chronologique, et les Mémoires racontent comment le voyageur passe de la civilisation au « désert immense » puis revient au monde civilisé.

Les récits de voyage portent la trace de la culture populaire -- la presse, la langue et les métaphores bibliques, les sermons littéraires et Shakespeare. Les nouveaux arrivants tentent désespérément de décrire ce qu'ils voient par le recours aux catégories littéraires familières; ils voient le paysage avec un regard qui n'a l'habitude que des rives lointaines. Les gens et la terre leur semblent indomptés, voire féroces, par comparaison à ce qu'ils connaissent. Même lorsqu'ils se réjouissent de la nouveauté, les immigrants s'efforcent d'imposer les idées sociales du vieux monde, et ils reproduisent en terre nouvelle les valeurs auxquelles ils sont accoutumés.

Les écrits quotidiens comptent parmi les sources qui nous permettent le mieux de comprendre l'expérience de l'émigration vécue par chacun des sexes, car hommes et femmes l'appréhendent différemment. Ils n'ont pas les mêmes occasions d'emploi, et le rapport de pouvoir, à l'intérieur de la famille, se modifie. Les journaux tenus par les enfants, ici représentés par celui des Hallen, sont aussi rares que délicieux. Dans une certaine classe sociale, la littérature occupe, dans cette société, une place plus grande que dans la nôtre. Les enfants nés dans une famille où se pratique l'écriture apprennent très tôt à s'exprimer sur papier. Autrefois comme aujourd'hui, les jeunes font appel à des images pour exprimer en dessin ce qu'ils ne peuvent communiquer par les mots. Avec leur vision du monde puérile et leur maturité d'expression, ces journaux d'enfants ne manquent pas de nous impressionner.


Introduction | Droits d'auteur/Sources | Commentaires