Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Exploration and Settlement > Moving Here, Staying Here Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Moving Here, Staying Here. The Canadian Immigrant Experience


The Documentary TrailTraces of the PastFind an Immigrant
Introduction
Printed Advertisements
Immigrant Guides
Government Rules and Regulations
Travel Documents
Passenger Lists
Identity Files
Land Grants
Commissioned Photography
Immigrant Diaries and Memoirs

Identity Files

by Myron Momryk, Library and Archives Canada

Identity files represent some of the most useful archival materials for research into immigration and family history. The Li-Ra-Ma collection (Russian Consulate Records) at Library and Archives Canada is one of the better examples of this type of resource. This rich collection contains historical material on immigrants from eastern Europe and the Tsarist Russian Empire during the period 1900 to 1922.

These records were stored in 1979 at the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in Washington, D.C. After negotiations, they were borrowed on an indefinite loan and transferred to the National Archives of Canada in 1980.

Concerns about whether the Soviet embassy might have laid claim to these records led to the decision to identify the material as the personal records of Russian consular officials. With the collapse of the tsarist regime in 1917, the new revolutionary government dismissed the consular officials. The Canadian government valued the knowledge and experience of these officials in dealing with ever-increasing numbers of immigrants from eastern Europe; in June of 1918, therefore, Canada offered to pay their salaries if they continued their immigration work. The last tsarist consuls stationed in Canada were A.S. Likhachev, K. Ragosin and H.I. Mathers. Their surnames formed the acronym "Li-Ra-Ma," which became the formal name of this collection.

The Li-Ra-Ma collection remains incomplete. Although the records cover the period 1900 to 1922, the vast majority are from between 1914 and 1922, and pertain mostly to immigrants in Montréal and Vancouver. The Passport/Identity Papers series includes approximately 11,400 identity files on individuals from the Russian Empire. Researchers should be aware that the files' contents vary and that some files contain very few documents.

The collection includes all kinds of personal documents that the immigrants brought with them to Canada, including birth certificates, old passports, records of exemption from military service, school records, marriage certificates, affidavits, notarial records, wills, proofs of identity issued by Russian Orthodox priests in Canada or by notaries, Russian military service and discharge papers, photographs, and a massive amount of correspondence with relatives in the Russian Empire and eastern Europe. Immigrants surrendered these records to consular officials in return for the identity cards they required to work and live in Canada.

To prove they were Russian citizens, applicants for entry into Canada had to complete questionnaires and provide photographs. These questionnaires provide detailed biographical information on the applicants. In some cases, the questions are in a bilingual Russian-English format -- a benefit to researchers who do not read Russian. The information provided by each applicant includes name and surname; occupation; date and place of birth; marital status; military service; present address; names and residence of parents; religion, nationality and citizenship of both the applicant and their parents; and other information regarding travel to Russia.

The Li-Ra-Ma collection continues to be a rich source of family history information for researchers, many of whom have exhausted other sources and despair of locating any information in North America on their ancestors from the Russian Empire. This was especially true in the years prior to 1991 when it was practically impossible for Canadian family-history researchers to obtain access to archives in the Soviet Union.


Introduction | Copyright/Sources | Comments

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Exploration et colonisation > Le vécu des immigrants English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière: Le vécu des immigrants. Immigrer et s'installer en terre canadienne


Trace documentaire des immigrantsLes vestiges du passéTrouver un immigrant
Introduction
Les imprimés publicitaires
Les guides et les manuels pour les immigrants
La réglementation gouvernementale
Les documents de voyage
Les listes de passagers
Les dossiers d'identité
Les concessions de terre
La photographie exécutée sur commande
Mémoires et journaux intimes d'immigrants

Les dossiers d'identité

par Myron Momryk, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Les dossiers d'identité sont au nombre des documents d'archives les plus utiles pour la recherche sur l'immigration et l'histoire des familles. La collection Li-Ra-Ma (documents du consulat russe), conservée à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, caractérise ce type de ressource. Cette riche collection, qui couvre la période de 1900 à 1922, contient des données historiques sur les immigrants d'Europe de l'Est et de l'Empire russe tsariste.

En 1979, la National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) à Washington (D.C.) conservait ces documents. En 1980, après négociation, les Archives nationales du Canada les ont empruntés pour une durée indéterminée.

Pour éviter que l'ambassade soviétique ne revendique ces dossiers, on les a classés comme documents personnels des fonctionnaires du consulat russe. Au moment de l'effondrement du régime tsariste en 1917, le gouvernement révolutionnaire démet ces fonctionnaires de leur poste. Conscient de leur savoir et de leur expérience dans le traitement d'un nombre grandissant d'immigrants d'Europe de l'Est, le gouvernement canadien leur offre, en juin 1918, de payer leur salaire s'ils poursuivent leur travail. Les derniers consuls tsaristes en poste au Canada s'appellent A.S. Likhchev, K. Ragosin et H.I. Mathers. Leurs noms forment l'acronyme « Li-Ra-Ma », nom officiel attribué à cette collection.

La collection Li-Ra-Ma demeure incomplète. Bien que les documents couvrent les années 1900 à 1922, la vaste majorité des dossiers date de 1914 à 1922. Ils concernent surtout les immigrants installés à Montréal et à Vancouver. La série sur les passeports et les pièces d'identité comprend environ 11 400 dossiers d'immigrants de l'Empire russe. Les chercheurs noteront que le contenu des dossiers varie, et que certains renferment bien peu de documents.

La collection comprend toutes sortes de documents personnels que les immigrants ont apportés avec eux au Canada : actes de naissance, vieux passeports, papiers d'exemption du service militaire, documents scolaires, certificats de mariage, déclarations sous serments, actes notariés, testaments, preuves d'identité émises par des notaires ou des prêtres de l'Église russe orthodoxe au Canada, documents relatifs au service militaire et au retour à la vie civile, photographies, et quantité de lettres échangées avec des parents demeurés en Russie et en Europe de l'Est. Ces documents ont été rendus aux fonctionnaires du consulat en échange des cartes d'identité dont les immigrants avaient besoin pour travailler et vivre au Canada.

Afin de prouver leur citoyenneté russe, les candidats à l'immigration au Canada devaient remplir des questionnaires et fournir des photos. Ces questionnaires contiennent des renseignements biographiques détaillés. Dans certains cas, les questions sont bilingues (russe et anglais), ce qui aidera les chercheurs qui ne lisent pas le russe. Les informations fournies par chaque candidat comprennent notamment les nom et prénom, l'occupation, la date et le lieu de naissance, l'état civil, l'état de service militaire, l'adresse courante, les noms et lieu de résidence des parents, la religion, la nationalité et la citoyenneté du candidat et de ses parents, et d'autres renseignements concernant les voyages en Russie.

La collection Li-Ra-Ma demeure une riche source d'information en histoire des familles pour plusieurs chercheurs qui ont épuisé les autres sources et qui désespèrent de localiser des informations en Amérique du Nord sur leurs ancêtres venus de la Russie impériale. Cette situation prévalait essentiellement avant 1991, lorsqu'il était pratiquement impossible pour des chercheurs canadiens en histoire des familles d'avoir accès aux archives en Union soviétique.


Introduction | Droits d'auteur/Sources | Commentaires