Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Exploration and Settlement > Moving Here, Staying Here Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Moving Here, Staying Here. The Canadian Immigrant Experience


The Documentary TrailTraces of the PastFind an Immigrant
Introduction
Free From Local Prejudice
A National Open-Door Policy
Filling the Promised Land
A Preferred Policy
A Depressing Period

Free from Local Prejudice (1815-1867)

Introduction

In 1828, A.C. Buchanan was appointed by Britain as Upper Canada's first Chief Agent for Emigration. The fact that he was an emigration agent, not an immigration officer, speaks volumes about the role Canada played in establishing its own immigration policies during this period. During the first half of the 19th century, immigration to Upper Canada and Lower Canada (named Canada West and Canada East in 1841) largely came from, and was directed by, the British Isles. In fact, Buchanan himself had advised the British authorities to appoint Canadians only as emigration agents, not as immigration officers, to ensure that the administration of immigration to the colony from the mother country was "free from local prejudice."

Gradually, during this period, these Canadian agents and the colonial governments they represented began to take a more active role in setting their own immigration standards and policies.

In this section you can explore the harsh realities of the ocean voyage and the impact that the Passenger Acts had in regulating voyage standards in Right of Passage; find out more about A.C. Buchanan and the role that he and other agents played in preparing immigrants for settlement in Canada in At Your Service; and read about the challenges of welcoming sick immigrants in Ill-Prepared.


Introduction | Copyright/Sources | Comments

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Exploration et colonisation > Le vécu des immigrants English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière: Le vécu des immigrants. Immigrer et s'installer en terre canadienne


Trace documentaire des immigrantsLes vestiges du passéTrouver un immigrant
Introduction
Sans préjugés locaux
Une politique de libre admission nationale
Combler les attentes de la Terre promise
Une politique privilégiée
Une période déprimante

Sans préjugés locaux (1815-1867)

Introduction

En 1828, la Grande-Bretagne nomme A.C. Buchanan au poste de premier agent principal d'émigration au Haut-Canada. Qu'il soit agent d'émigration plutôt que fonctionnaire de l'immigration témoigne du rôle que joue à l'époque le Canada dans l'élaboration de sa propre politique d'immigration. Dans la première moitié du XIXe siècle, les îles Britanniques, qui dirigent essentiellement l'immigration du Haut et du Bas-Canada (appelés Canada Ouest et Canada Est en 1841), fournissent la plupart des nouveaux arrivants. Buchanan lui-même conseille aux autorités britanniques de nommer des Canadiens uniquement à des postes d'agents d'émigration, et non de fonctionnaires à l'immigration, afin de garantir que l'administration de l'immigration dans les colonies en provenance de la mère patrie soit « libre de tout préjugé local ».

Durant cette période, les agents canadiens et les gouvernements coloniaux qu'ils représentent jouent un rôle de plus en plus actif dans l'établissement de leurs propres normes et politiques d'immigration.

Dans Droit de passage, vous découvrirez la dure réalité de la traversée en mer et les répercussions du Passenger Act, par lequel on a réglementé les normes de transport des passagers; vous ferez la connaissance de A.C. Buchanan dans À votre service, et vous découvrirez le rôle que lui-même et d'autres agents ont joué à préparer les immigrants à s'installer au Canada; enfin, en lisant Pris au dépourvu, vous comprendrez les défis que pose l'accueil des immigrants malades.


Introduction | Droits d'auteur/Sources | Commentaires