Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Exploration and Settlement > Moving Here, Staying Here Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Moving Here, Staying Here. The Canadian Immigrant Experience


The Documentary TrailTraces of the PastFind an Immigrant
Introduction
Free From Local Prejudice
A National Open-Door Policy
Filling the Promised Land
A Preferred Policy
A Depressing Period

Home Children

by Ellen Scheinberg, historian, and Angèle Alain, Library and Archives Canada

Between 1869 and the early 1930s, Canada received over 100,000 juvenile immigrants from the British Isles. Most of these children had been brought up in poverty, and were homeless or living in the urban slums of Britain. Some were accused or even convicted of petty crimes. Many were orphans, while others were simply the victims of poverty, illness and misfortune. These children were typically placed in orphanages or workhouses by parents or kin who could not afford to take care of them.

The intent of the juvenile immigration program was to place these children with good Canadian families and thus increase their chances of leading happy and prosperous lives; but not all of the stories were happy ones.

Introduction | Copyright/Sources | Comments

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Exploration et colonisation > Le vécu des immigrants English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière: Le vécu des immigrants. Immigrer et s'installer en terre canadienne


Trace documentaire des immigrantsLes vestiges du passéTrouver un immigrant
Introduction
Sans préjugés locaux
Une politique de libre admission nationale
Combler les attentes de la Terre promise
Une politique privilégiée
Une période déprimante

Les petits immigrants

par Ellen Scheinberg, historienne; et Angèle Alain, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Entre 1869 et le début des années 1930, le Canada reçoit plus de 100 000 jeunes immigrants venus des îles Britanniques. La plupart de ces enfants vivent dans la pauvreté; ils n'ont pas de foyer, ou habitent dans les bas quartiers des villes de Grande-Bretagne. Certains ont déjà été accusés ou même condamnés pour délinquance mineure. Souvent orphelins, ou simplement victimes de pauvreté, de maladie ou de malchance, ces enfants sont généralement placés dans des orphelinats ou des asiles par leurs parents ou des membres de la famille qui ne peuvent subvenir à leurs besoins.

Avec le programme d'immigration juvénile, on vise à placer ces enfants dans de bonnes familles canadiennes et augmenter ainsi leur chance de connaître un jour une vie heureuse et prospère. Mais les événements ne prennent pas toujours la tournure désirée.


Introduction | Droits d'auteur/Sources | Commentaires