Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Exploration and Settlement > Moving Here, Staying Here Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Moving Here, Staying Here. The Canadian Immigrant Experience


The Documentary TrailTraces of the PastFind an Immigrant

How to Find an Immigrant

It is the diversity of its population that distinguishes Canada from most other countries. Canada's 30 million inhabitants form a unique cultural, ethnic and linguistic mosaic. Every year, about 200,000 immigrants from nearly every country in the world choose to make Canada their new home.

Since the founding of the city of Québec in 1608, millions of immigrants have come to Canada. Canadians whose ancestors have come from other countries sometimes ask when and how their forbearers arrived in this country. If you want to learn more about an ancestor and his or her ethnic origin, immigration documents can help provide an answer.


Passenger Lists

Complete nominal rolls of immigrants to Canada before 1865 do not exist. Only a few passenger lists have survived, and these are not indexed by name.

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) holds the passenger lists (RG 76) that served as official immigration documents from 1865 to 1935. These manifests contain the name, age, country of origin, occupation and destination of each passenger. The lists are filed by port of entry and date, except for those from 1919 to 1924, when Form 30A was used.

Passenger lists from before 1925 are not indexed by name. Unless you know the month, year and port of arrival, your search for an immigrant who came to Canada before that date will be an arduous task. The name of the ship and the port of origin are also useful pieces of information. To help you in your search, LAC will soon make digitized versions of passenger lists for 1865 to 1935 available online. You can also consult microfilm copies of the passenger lists in many Canadian libraries and provincial archives.

For the years 1925 to 1935, the Immigration Records (1925-1935) database provides passenger names, and volume, page and microfilm reel numbers of archival documents.

Many immigrants to Canada came from the United States, or from Europe via American ports. Before 1908, immigrants could freely cross the Canada-United States border to enter Canada; there are therefore no files for immigrants who came to Canada by this route before 1908.

Lists of arrivals via the United States from 1908 to 1918 (RG 76) are filed by date and border crossing. Without this information, you will need to consult the non-indexed lists from the appropriate region of Canada, and search each border crossing, month-by-month. These lists contain genealogical information such as the age, country of birth, last place of residence, occupation and Canadian destination of each immigrant.

From January 1919 to the end of 1924, individual forms (Form 30) were used to record the arrival of immigrants from the United States. In 1925, record keeping reverted to arrival lists by border crossing; of these, only the lists for 1925-1935 are indexed.


Other Sources

Citizenship and Immigration Canada holds the files for immigrants who arrived in Canada by ship or border crossing after January 1, 1936. For information on how to obtain a copy of these files, or to search a particular file, select Sources by Topic: After 1935 on the Genealogy and Family History website.

From 1869 to the end of the 1930s, more than 100,000 children were sent from Great Britain to Canada. Members of the British Isles Family History Society of Greater Ottawa are currently working on indexing the names of Home Children that appear on the passenger lists. To find these names, consult the Home Children (1869-1930) database.

Certain cultural and ethnic groups had their own specific series of documents. LAC holds the Likacheff-Ragosine-Mathers collection (LI-RA-MA; MG0 E406).
This collection contains documents created between 1898 and 1922 by the Tsarist consular offices of the Russian Empire in Canada. The series on passports and identification is made up of about 11,400 files on Jewish, Ukrainian and Finnish immigrants who came to Canada from the Tsarist Russian Empire. The series includes passport applications and questionnaires containing general information. A database of this series, with accompanying digital images, will be available online in 2006.

LAC also holds the General Registers of Chinese Immigration, 1885-1949 (RG 76 D2a). The entries are arranged by serial and declaration numbers, in approximate chronological order. The registers contain information such as the age, birthplace, occupation, date and place of arrival in Canada, and head tax paid. A database, accompanied by digitized versions of these registers, will be made available online in 2006.

A large number of settlers, soldiers and civilians petitioned the governor in order to obtain federal government land. Land petitions from Lower Canada (now Quebec) were often joint applications, presented as letters signed by a group of people. A database search tool providing access to nearly 93,000 land petitions from the early 1600s to around 1850, accompanied by selected images, will be available online in 2006.

Documents relating to citizenship and naturalization can be useful in your search for an immigrant. The Canadian Citizenship Act came into effect on January 1, 1947. From 1763 until that date, anyone born in Canada was considered a British subject. Immigrants from Great Britain and other Commonwealth countries, being British subjects already, did not need to be naturalized or to obtain British citizenship. Citizenship and Immigration Canada holds naturalization and citizenship files dating back to 1854. Lists of immigrants who received a certificate of naturalization were published in Parliamentary documents. These lists have been indexed and digitized, and are available online in the 1915-1932 Canadian Naturalization database.

To find out more about these sources and other sources that may be useful in your search for place of origin and date of arrival of an immigrant in Canada, consult Source by Topic on the Canadian Genealogy Centre website.


New Available Databases

To help you trace an immigrant, LAC is pleased to offer you the following research tools, which include digitized images of documents:

Passenger Lists
Passenger lists (RG 76) were the official immigration documents from 1865 to 1935. The lists contain information such as the name, age, country of origin, occupation and destination of each passenger. The lists are organized by port and date of arrival. This database provides access to passenger lists for the ports of Québec (1865-1921), Halifax (1881-1912, to 1922 shortly), Saint John (1900-1912), North Sydney (1906-1908), Vancouver (1905-1912) and Victoria (1905 to 1912 shortly).
Passenger Lists

Montreal Emigrant Society
Organizations such as the Montreal Emigrant Society were founded to help immigrants. This research tool provides access to 1,945 references to people who received aid from the Montreal Emigrant Society between May 12 and November 5, 1832.
Montreal Emigrant Society Passage Book

Immigrants from China
The Government of Canada created documents specifically for new arrivals from China. This research tool provides access to 98,361 references to Chinese immigrants who arrived in Canada between 1885 and 1949.
Immigrants from China

Upper Canada and Canada West Naturalization Records
Before 1947, foreigners could petition for naturalization. LAC holds several naturalization registers for Upper Canada/Canada West (now Ontario), for the years 1828 to 1850 only, organized by year within each county. This research tool contains 3,344 references.
Upper Canada and Canada West Naturalization Records

Immigrant Diaries and Guides
Nearly 15,000 pages of immigrant diaries and immigration guides have been digitized for this project. The origin of the diaries, the language in which they were written and the subjects they discuss vary from one diary to the next. They demonstrate the full range of the Canadian immigrant experience: emigration, the trip, migration and travel within Canada, as well as life in Canada as told by Canadian settlers. The diaries and guides were written or published at various times, from the mid-18th century to the beginning of the Second World War; some diaries are incomplete and may end abruptly.
Immigrant Diaries and Guides

Western Land Grants
The first 130 reels of microfilm of letters patent representing about 95,000 images, have been digitized. These land patents, issued by the Land Grants Office of the Department of the Interior after July 18, 1883, were distributed between 1883 and 1930 in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, and along the railway zone of British Colombia.
Western Land Grants

The Ward Chipman Papers
Ward Chipman the Elder, (1754-1824), a Massachusetts lawyer, was also an army administrator in the State of New York between 1777 and 1783. In 1784, he settled in New Brunswick, where he served as solicitor general until 1808.
The Ward Chipman Papers contain muster rolls of Loyalists, and their families, who were members of demobilized regiments and who settled in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. This research tool provides access to nearly 19,000 references to Loyalist families.
The Ward Chipman Papers

The Likacheff-Ragosine-Mathers Collection (LI-RA-MA)
The Likacheff-Ragosine-Mathers collection (LI-RA-MA) contains documents created between 1898 and 1922 by the consular offices of the Tsarist Russian Empire in Canada. The series on passports and identity papers is comprised of about 11,400 files on Jewish, Ukrainian and Finnish immigrants who came to Canada from the Russian Empire. The series includes passport applications and questionnaires containing general information.
The Likacheff-Ragosine-Mathers Collection (LI-RA-MA)

Lower Canada Land Petitions
When New France became a British colony in 1763, the land system changed. New lands were now granted as part of townships instead of seigneuries. Many early settlers, both military and civilian, submitted petitions to the Governor to obtain Crown land. The Lower Canada Land Petitions contain petitions for grants or leases of land and other administrative records. This research tool provides access to more than 93,000 references to individuals who lived in present-day Quebec between 1764 and 1841.


Introduction | Copyright/Sources | Comments

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Exploration et colonisation > Le vécu des immigrants English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière: Le vécu des immigrants. Immigrer et s'installer en terre canadienne


Trace documentaire des immigrantsLes vestiges du passéTrouver un immigrant

Comment trouver un immigrant

Le Canada se distingue de la plupart des autres pays par la diversité de sa population. Ses 30 millions d'habitants composent une mosaïque culturelle, ethnique et linguistique unique au monde. Chaque année, environ 200 000 immigrants de tous les pays choisissent encore de s'installer au Canada.

Depuis la fondation de la ville de Québec en 1608, des millions d'immigrants sont arrivés au Canada. Ainsi, les Canadiens et Canadiennes descendants d'immigrants venus d'autres pays se demandent parfois quand et comment est arrivé leur ancêtre. Si vous ignorez le pays d'où venait votre ancêtre et son origine ethnique, les documents relatifs à l'immigration peuvent vous aider à trouver la réponse.


Les listes de passagers

Il n'existe pas de liste nominative complète des immigrants venus au Canada avant 1865. Seules, quelques listes de passagers ont subsisté, et elles ne sont pas indexées par nom.

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) conserve les listes de passagers (RG 76) qui constituent les documents officiels de l'immigration pour les années 1865 à 1935. Ces listes contiennent des renseignements tels que le nom, l'âge, le pays d'origine, l'occupation et la destination de chaque passager. Les listes sont classées par port et date d'arrivée, sauf celles produites entre 1919 et 1924, où le formulaire 30A était utilisé.

Les listes de passagers d'avant 1925 ne sont pas indexées par nom. À moins de connaître le mois, l'année et le port d'arrivée exact, vous devrez mener une recherche ardue. Le nom du navire et le port de départ constituent aussi des indices utiles. Afin de vous aider, BAC offrira bientôt les images numérisées, accessibles en ligne, des listes de passagers pour les années 1865 à 1935. Vous pouvez aussi consulter des copies microfilmées de nos listes de passagers dans plusieurs bibliothèques et centres d'archives provinciales au Canada.

Pour les années 1925 à 1935, la base de données Documents d'immigration (1925-1935) fournit les noms des passagers, le volume, la page et les numéros de bobines de microfilms des documents d'archives.

Plusieurs immigrants canadiens sont venus des États-Unis ou ont traversé l'Atlantique, partant d'Europe vers des ports américains, pour se rendre ensuite au Canada. Avant le mois d'avril 1908, tous pouvaient traverser librement la frontière des États-Unis pour entrer au Canada. C'est pourquoi il n'existe aucun dossier d'immigration pour ces personnes.

Les listes d'arrivées de 1908 à 1918 en provenance des États-Unis (RG 76) sont classées par date et poste frontalier. En l'absence de ces informations, il faut consulter les listes non indexées de la région qui vous intéresse, poste par poste et mois par mois. Ces listes contiennent des renseignements généalogiques tels que l'âge de chaque immigrant, son pays de naissance, son dernier lieu de résidence, son occupation et sa destination au Canada.

De janvier 1919 à la fin de 1924, des formulaires individuels (formulaires 30) servaient à enregistrer les immigrants qui arrivaient au Canada en provenance des États-Unis. En 1925, on a rétabli l'usage des listes d'arrivée par la frontière. Des index existent pour les années 1925 à 1935 seulement.


Autres sources

Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada conserve les dossiers des immigrants arrivés au Canada par navire ou par la frontière depuis le 1er janvier 1936. Vous trouverez des renseignements sur la façon d'obtenir une copie de ces dossiers ou de faire effectuer une recherche dans ces dossiers dans la section Sources par sujet : Après 1935 du Généalogie et histoire familiale.

Lorsque a eu lieu l'émigration des enfants, qui a duré de 1869 jusqu'à la fin des années 1930, plus de 100 000 jeunes ont été envoyés de la Grande-Bretagne au Canada. Des membres de la British Isles Family History Society of Greater Ottawa travaillent actuellement à l'indexation des noms des petits immigrés inscrits sur les listes de passagers. Vous pouvez effectuer une recherche dans la base de données Petits immigrés anglais (1869-1930) pour trouver ces noms.

Des séries spécifiques de documents existent pour certains groupes culturels et ethniques. Ainsi, BAC possède la collection Likacheff-Ragosine-Mathers (LI-RA-MA; MG 30 E406). Elle se compose de documents créés entre 1898 et 1922 par les bureaux consulaires de l'Empire russe tsariste au Canada. La série sur les passeports et les pièces d'identité est constituée d'environ 11 400 dossiers concernant des immigrants de l'Empire russe tsariste qui se sont installés au Canada, dont des Juifs, des Ukrainiens et des Finlandais. On y retrouve des demandes de passeports et des questionnaires qui renferment des renseignements généraux. Une base de données de cette série, accompagnée d'images numérisées, sera disponible en ligne en 2006.

BAC possède aussi les Registres généraux des immigrants chinois datant de 1885 à 1949 (RG 76 D2a). Les inscriptions sont classées par numéro de série et de déclaration, dans un ordre chronologique approximatif. Ces registres contiennent des renseignements tels que l'âge, le lieu de naissance, la profession, la date et le lieu d'arrivée au Canada, le droit d'entrée payé, etc. Une base de données, accompagnée d'images numérisées de ces documents, sera disponible en ligne en 2006.

Un grand nombre de colons, de militaires et de civils ont présenté des demandes au gouverneur afin d'obtenir des terres du gouvernement fédéral. Les demandes de terre du Bas-Canada (Québec) sont souvent des demandes collectives, présentées sous forme de lettres signées par un groupe de personnes. Cet outil de recherche sera disponible en ligne en 2006 par l'intermédiaire d'une base de données; il permettra d'accéder à près de 93 000 références datant du début des années 1600 jusque vers 1850, et sera accompagné d'une sélection d'images.

Les documents relatifs à la citoyenneté et à la naturalisation peuvent aussi vous aider à trouver un immigrant. La Loi sur la citoyenneté canadienne est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 1947. De 1763 à cette date, toute personne née au Canada était considérée comme sujet britannique. Les immigrants de la Grande-Bretagne et des pays du Commonwealth étant déjà citoyens britanniques, ils n'ont pas besoin d'être naturalisés ni d'obtenir la citoyenneté britannique. Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada détient des dossiers de naturalisation et de citoyenneté qui remontent jusqu'à 1854. Les listes d'immigrants ayant reçu un certificat de naturalisation canadienne étaient publiées dans des documents parlementaires. Ces listes ont été indexées et numérisées, et sont accessibles en ligne dans la base de données Naturalisation canadienne 1915-1932.

Pour trouver des renseignements sur les sources énumérées ci-dessus, consultez la section Sources par sujet du site Web du Généalogie et histoire familiale. Vous y trouverez également d'autres sources qui peuvent vous être utiles si vous souhaitez déterminer le lieu d'origine et la date d'arrivée au Canada d'un immigrant.


Nouvelles bases de données disponibles

Afin de vous aider à retracer un immigrant, BAC est heureuse de vous offrir les outils de recherche suivants, qui incluent des images numérisées de documents.

Listes de passagers
Les listes de passagers (RG 76) constituent les documents officiels de l'immigration des années 1865 à 1935. Les listes contiennent des renseignements tels que le nom, l'âge, le pays d'origine, l'occupation et la destination de chaque passager. Les listes sont classées par port et date d'arrivée. Cette base de donnée vous donne accès aux listes de passagers arrivés par les ports de Québec (1865-1921), Halifax (1881-1912, jusqu'à 1922 prochainement), Saint John (1900-1912), North Sydney (1906-1908), Vancouver (1905-1912) et Victoria (1905-1912 prochainement).
Listes de passagers

Montreal Emigrant Society
Des organismes, tels que la Montreal Emigrant Society, ont été créés pour venir en aide aux immigrants. Cet outil de recherche donne accès à 1 945 références pour des personnes ayant reçu l'aide de la Montreal Emigrant Society entre le 12 mai et le 5 novembre 1832.
Montreal Emigrant Society Passage Book

Immigrants de la Chine
Des documents spécifiques ont été créés par le gouvernement du Canada pour les nouveaux arrivants en provenance de Chine. Cet outil de recherche donne accès à 98 361 références concernant des immigrants venus de Chine et arrivés au Canada entre 1885 et 1949.
Immigrants de la Chine

Registres de naturalisation du Haut-Canada et du Canada Ouest
Avant 1947, les étrangers pouvaient faire une demande de naturalisation. BAC possède quelques registres de naturalisation pour le Haut-Canada et le Canada Ouest (Ontario), des années 1828 à 1850 seulement, classés d'abord par comté puis par année. Cet outil de recherche donne accès à 3 344 références.
Registres de naturalisation du Haut-Canada et du Canada Ouest

Journaux d'immigrants et guides pour les immigrants
Près de 15 000 pages de manuscrits de journaux intimes et de guides publiés à l'intention des immigrants ont été numérisées dans le cadre de ce projet. L'origine des journaux intimes, la langue de rédaction et les sujets qu'ils abordent varient grandement de l'un à l'autre. En fait, ont été numérisés les guides et journaux qui traitent de divers aspects du vécu des immigrants canadiens : l'émigration, le voyage, la migration et les voyages à l'intérieur du pays, ainsi que la vie au Canada racontée par des colons canadiens. Les dates de rédaction et de publication des guides et journaux varient du milieu du XVIIIe siècle au début de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale; certains d'entre eux ne sont pas complets et se terminent brusquement.
Journaux d'immigrants et guides pour les immigrants

Concessions des terres de l'Ouest
Les 130 premières bobines de microfilm des lettres patentes ont été numérisées; cet ensemble représente environ 95 000 images. Ces lettres, émises par le Bureau des lettres patentes du ministère de l'Intérieur après le 18 juillet 1883, ont été distribuées entre 1883 et 1930 au Manitoba, en Saskatchewan, en Alberta, et dans la zone des chemins de fer de la Colombie-Britannique.
Concessions des terres de l'Ouest

Les cahiers Ward Chipman
Ward Chipman l'Ancien, (1754-1824), avocat au Massachusetts, était aussi administrateur de l'armée dans l'État de New York entre 1777 et 1783. En 1784, il s'établit au Nouveau-Brunswick où il occupe la fonction de procureur général jusqu'en 1808.
Les cahiers Ward Chipman contiennent des feuilles d'appel (muster rolls) de Loyalistes et de leur famille qui ont fait partie de régiments démembrés, et qui se sont établis en Nouvelle-Écosse et au Nouveau-Brunswick. Cet outil de recherche donne accès à près de 19 000 références concernant des familles loyalistes.
Les cahiers Ward Chipman

Collection Likacheff-Ragosine-Mathers (LI-RA-MA)
La collection Likacheff-Ragosine-Mathers (LI-RA-MA) se compose de documents créés entre 1898 et 1922 par les bureaux consulaires de l'Empire russe au Canada. La série sur les passeports et les pièces d'identité est constituée d'environ 11 400 dossiers concernant des immigrants de l'Empire russe qui se sont installés au Canada, dont des Juifs, des Ukrainiens et des Finlandais. On y retrouve des demandes de passeports et des questionnaires qui renferment des renseignements généraux.
Collection Likacheff-Ragosine-Mathers (LI-RA-MA)

Demandes de terres du Bas-Canada
Quand la Nouvelle-France est devenue une colonie britannique en 1763, le système de gestion des terres a changé. Les nouvelles terres étaient maintenant attribuées selon le système des cantons au lieu des seigneuries. Un grand nombre de colons, de militaires et de civils, ont présenté des demandes au gouverneur afin d'obtenir des terres de la Couronne. Les Demandes de terres du Bas-Canada contiennent des pétitions pour des demandes de concessions ou de baux de terres et d'autres documents administratifs. Cet outil de recherche donne accès à plus de 93 000 références concernant des individus ayant vécu dans la province actuelle du Québec entre 1764 et 1841.


Introduction | Droits d'auteur/Sources | Commentaires