Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada - Bibliothèque et Archives Canada Canada
Home > Exploration and Settlement Franšais

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Banner: Moving Here, Staying Here. The Canadian Immigrant Experience


The Documentary TrailTraces of the PastFind an Immigrant

Introduction

Welcome to Library and Archives Canada's (LAC) new online exhibition Moving Here, Staying Here. The Canadian Immigrant Experience. This ambitious project was developed with two key goals in mind. The first was to facilitate improved access for genealogists and other researchers to some of LAC's frequently used immigration documents, such as passenger lists and land grants. Researchers can get tips on how to find documents related to an individual immigrant in Find an Immigrant and access information on some of LAC's major immigration "collections" in The Documentary Trail.

The second goal was to provide Canadians with a unique history of Canadian immigration for the years 1800-1939. Users can access a virtual exhibition, written by experts in the field and illustrated with a wide selection of LAC's immigration records, by selecting Traces of the Past: Directives, Debates and Dreams.


Introduction | Copyright/Sources | Comments

Sauter les liens de navigation (touche d'accès : Z)Bibliothèque et Archives Canada - Library and Archives Canada Canada
Page d'accueil > Exploration et colonisation English

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Bannière : Le vécu des immigrants. Immigrer et s'installer en terre canadienne


Trace documentaire des immigrantsLes vestiges du passéTrouver un immigrant

Introduction

Bienvenue à la nouvelle et ambitieuse exposition en ligne de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) intitulée Le vécu des immigrants. Immigrer et s'installer en terre canadienne. Deux objectifs essentiels ont présidé à sa création. Nous voulions d'abord faciliter, pour les généalogistes et autres chercheurs, l'accès à certains documents sur l'immigration qui se trouvent dans les fonds de BAC et qui sont fréquemment consultés, telles les listes de passagers et les concessions de terre. Dans Trouver un immigrant , les chercheurs pourront apprendre comment accéder aux documents relatifs à un immigrant particulier; dans La trace documentaire des immigrants, ils recevront de l'information concernant les principales « collections » de BAC sur l'immigration.

Nous souhaitions de plus procurer aux Canadiens un témoignage unique de l'immigration que le pays a connue de 1800 à 1939. En cliquant sur le bouton Les vestiges du passé. Directives, débats et rêves, les usagers peuvent accéder à une exposition virtuelle dont les textes ont été écrits par des spécialistes, et qu'illustre une vaste documentation puisée dans les archives sur l'immigration conservées à BAC.


Introduction | Droits d'auteur/Sources | Commentaires