Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Old Messengers, New Media: The Legacy of Innis and McLuhan

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Innis

Key Concepts

Most of Harold Innis's career was spent working on economic-historical case studies of industry. In his published doctoral work, A History of the Canadian Pacific Railway (1923), Innis argues that the history of the Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR) is essentially the history of the spread of Western civilization over the northern half of North America. He demonstrates that the growth of civilization was dominated by the insurmountable physical character of the land; geological formations like mountain ranges prohibited travel, and the climate in each region dictated what kind of development was possible. The CPR was tangible evidence of civilization's growth beyond these boundaries. The completion of the railway in 1885, like early attempts to discover a Northwest Passage, was monumental in determining the migration of Western civilization over northern North America. The construction of the railroad was both a cause and an effect of that civilization's ability and proclivity to conquer geographical barriers. Innis began to develop ideas about technological nationalism and the economic relationship between urban and rural Canada that were key to his staples theory. For almost two decades, he continued to develop his ideas and methods of inquiry through political-economic studies of industry.

Innis explored the industries he studied first-hand, often traveling extensively to conduct interviews with people who worked in each area, and taking detailed field notes and photographs. Innis's ideas about communications and the functions of communication and technology in society rose out of his approach to Canadian history. He saw that the networks of trade and transportation were more than pathways to move commodities; they were also social and cultural pathways. As a historian, he was very interested in time, and the idea that time was a linear path towards growth and progress. He brought the same approach to his study of human communication that he had brought to his earlier works on industry. He considered all forms of communication dominant in a particular time and place; nothing escaped his analysis -- from clay, papyrus, parchment and paper to oral culture, print culture and electronic culture.

Innis was extensive in his analysis of communication technologies as he sought to understand the conditions that promoted stability and caused change in society. Innis defined stability as the capacity of a society to adapt to changes and to preserve cultural life. By examining these technologies from the point in history when they were invented to the time and place where they became the dominant form of communication, Innis began to notice that fundamental technological breakthroughs ushered in new forms of social organization. At the heart of Innis's understanding of dominant communication technologies in history was the concept of time and space as forms of control. Innis developed the idea of time- and space-bias to describe the way in which media operate in society: time-biased media favour the preservation of knowledge over long periods of time, whereas space-biased media favour the dissemination of knowledge over great distances. The bias of communication directly influences the way media exert control and, consequently, the way society is organized.

For Innis, the consciousness of society is influenced by the available means of communication, since this has an impact on social organization and human associations. In other words, control of communication implies control of consciousness and social organization. An overemphasis on either time- or space-biased media produces instability in society and an imbalance of power. Crucial to this understanding of imbalance is Innis's belief that it is possible to have a monopoly of knowledge.

Photograph of train travelling through mountainous terrain, Leanchoil, British Columbia, 1913 or later

Source

Canadian Pacific Railway Locomotive #5068, Leanchoil, British Columbia, 1913 or later

Excerpt from Harold Innis's field notes, MacKenzie River, 1924

Source

Excerpt from Harold Innis's field notes, MacKenzie River, 1924
Read the full document

Photograph of wooden horse-drawn device for hauling logs up cliffs, no date

Source

Photograph of a horse-drawn device for hauling logs up cliffs taken by Harold Innis while on field trips, no dates
See more photos of Innis's field trips

Two pages from BIBLICA SACRA POLYGLOTTA (Polyglot Bible), showing texts in various languages in parallel columns to facilitate study,1654-1657

Source

Biblica Sacra Polyglotta (Polyglot Bible), with texts in various languages in parallel columns to facilitate study, 1654-1657

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Anciens messagers, nouveaux médias : l'héritage d'Innis et de McLuhan

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Innis

Les concepts-clés

Harold Innis a consacré presque toute sa carrière à l'étude de cas historico-économiques puisés dans le domaine de l'industrie. Dans sa thèse de doctorat, publiée en 1923 sous le titre A History of the Canadian Pacific Railway, il soutient que l'histoire de la Canadian Pacifique Railway (CPR, aujourd'hui la Canadien Pacifique Limitée) reprend en gros celle de la civilisation occidentale s'étendant à la moitié nord de l'Amérique du Nord. Il démontre que la difficile géographie physique du territoire détermine la croissance de la civilisation. Ainsi, les formations géologiques telles les montagnes interdisent les voyages, et le climat propre à chaque région dicte le type de développement possible. La présence du CPR prouve que la civilisation s'étend au-delà de ces frontières. La mise en place du chemin de fer, terminée en 1885, tout comme les premières tentatives de découvrir le passage du Nord-Ouest, oriente la migration de la civilisation occidentale vers le nord de l'Amérique du Nord. La construction du chemin de fer est à la fois cause et effet de cette tendance de la civilisation à surmonter des barrières géographiques, et sa capacité à le faire. Innis amorce une réflexion sur le nationalisme technologique et sur la relation économique qui unit le Canada urbain au Canada rural, idées sur lesquelles s'appuie sa théorie des principales ressources. Deux décennies durant, il travaille à ses idées et méthodes de recherche en les fondant sur des études politico-économiques appliquées au monde de l'industrie.

Innis étudie le domaine de l'industrie en l'explorant à la source, voyageant de façon intensive pour mener des entrevues avec des travailleurs de chacun des secteurs, et prenant des photographies et des notes très détaillées. La réflexion qu'Innis porte sur les communications et sur les fonctions sociales de la technologie et des communications naît de son point de vue sur l'histoire canadienne. Il constate que les réseaux de commerce et de transport servent non seulement de routes pour déplacer des marchandises, mais aussi de voies sociales et culturelles. Historien, il s'intéresse au temps, et au concept d'un temps linéaire menant à la croissance et au progrès. Pour son étude sur la communication humaine, il adopte la même démarche que celle qu'il avait appliquée à ses premiers travaux menés dans le monde de l'industrie. Il s'intéresse à toutes les formes de communication qui prévalent en un lieu et à une époque donnée. Rien n'échappe à son analyse, qui remonte à l'ère de l'argile, du papyrus, du parchemin et du papier, et se poursuit jusqu'à l'époque de la culture orale, de l'imprimé et de l'électronique.

Cherchant à comprendre les conditions qui favorisent la stabilité et suscitent les transformations sociales, Innis analyse en profondeur les technologies de la communication. Pour lui, la stabilité d'une société correspond à sa capacité de s'adapter aux changements tout en préservant sa vie culturelle. S'interrogeant sur ces technologies en s'attachant au moment où elles furent inventées, au lieu et à l'époque où elles sont devenues une forme de communication dominante, Innis remarque que les principales percées de la technologie introduisent de nouvelles formes d'organisation sociale. La notion que le temps et l'espace constituent une forme de contrôle se trouve au cœur de la compréhension qu'a Innis des technologies de communication dominantes au fil de l'histoire. Innis élabore le concept d'un biais temporel ou spatial pour décrire la façon dont fonctionnent les médias en société : les médias à biais temporel favorisent la conservation du savoir sur de longues périodes, tandis que ceux à biais spatial suscitent la diffusion du savoir sur de grandes distances. Les partis pris de la communication influent directement sur la façon dont les médias exercent le contrôle, et partant, la façon dont la société est organisée.

Selon Innis, les moyens de communication disponibles déterminent la conscience qu'on a de la société, car ils affectent l'organisation sociale et les associations humaines. En d'autres termes, le contrôle de la communication sous-tend celui de la conscience et de l'organisation sociale. La mise en valeur excessive d'un média à biais temporel ou à biais spatial engendre l'instabilité sociale et le déséquilibre du pouvoir. Innis croit qu'il est possible de détenir un monopole du savoir, et ce concept est essentiel pour saisir sa notion du déséquilibre.

Photo d'un train voyageant à travers un terrain montagneux, Leanchoil, Colombie-Britannique, 1913 ou plus tard

Source

Locomotive du Canadian Pacific Railway #5068, Leanchoil, Colombie-Britannique, 1913 ou plus tard

Extrait des notes d'inspection de Harold Innis, fleuve MacKenzie, 1924

Source

Extrait des notes d'inspection de Harold Innis, fleuve Mackenzie, 1924
Lire le texte intégral

Photo d'un appareil en bois tiré par des chevaux servant à hisser les grumes le long des falaises, sans date

Source

Photo d'un appareil tiré par des chevaux servant à hisser les grumes le long des falaises prises par Harold Innis lors de visites sur le terrain, sans dates
Autres photos prises par Innis lors de visites sur le terrain

Deux pages tirées de BIBLICA SACRA POLYGLOTTA (Bible polyglotte), montrant des textes rédigés en plusieurs langues disposés dans des colonnes parallèles afin d'en faciliter l'étude, 1654-1657

Source

Biblica Sacra Polyglotta (Bible polyglotte), avec des textes rédigés en plusieurs langues disposés dans des colonnes parallèles afin d'en faciliter l'étude, 1654-1657

Précédent | Suivant