Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Old Messengers, New Media: The Legacy of Innis and McLuhan

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Innis

Time- and Space-Bias

Harold Innis did not see every event or technology as one that would lead to certain events in the future. He suggested that much of history is governed by "its obsession with the present" 1 and that civilizations are largely shaped by the media which are most pervasive in their cultures. Innis, therefore, sought to understand media in relation to the social and historical contexts they dominated.

A medium of communication has an important influence on the dissemination of knowledge over space and over time and it becomes necessary to study its characteristics in order to appraise its influence in its cultural setting. 2

Innis disliked the notion that time was progress; he saw history as operating in a cyclical pattern. In advocating the historical appraisal of media in their cultural settings, he also sought to understand the influence of communications media in our own time. Because we are "too much a part" of our own civilization and the media that dominate our lives, according to Innis, the influential characteristics of those media are hidden from us. Through studying media dominant in other cultural contexts, Innis hoped to understand his own, and the media forces influencing it, more clearly.

Innis is generally concerned with two governing principles of media: duration over time and extension in space. Innis's writings on time- and space-biases are an important part of his legacy in communications studies and history.

Time-biased media seek to transcend time. They are heavy and durable, such as clay and stone. They have a long lifespan but they do not encourage the extension of empires. Innis associated these media with the customary, the sacred, and the moral. Time-biased media facilitate the development of social and industrial hierarchies. They also favour the growth of religion and the hegemony that religion imposes on secondary institutions, such as education. For Innis, speech is also a time-biased medium. Speech, in the form of oral culture, can be passed down from generation to generation, yet does not encourage territorial expansion. Oral culture is concerned with preserving values and traditional knowledge. Oral cultures emphasize their past and create a collective society rich in tradition, ceremony and custom.

Space-biased media, conversely, seek to obliterate space. They are light and transportable and can be transmitted over distances. They are associated with secular and territorial societies and facilitate the expansion of empire over space. Paper is an example of space-biased media; it is readily transported, but has a relatively short lifespan since it degrades, and can be easily destroyed or lost. Writing, closely linked with paper, is also an example of a space-biased media. Writing emphasizes the present and the future, and is not localized like oral culture. Writing is grounded in technical knowledge and facilitates the growth of states, political authorities and decentralized institutions.

Tensions exist between time-biased and space-biased media. The innovation of writing, for example, led to the first attempts to record oral culture; the tradition of writing considered oral culture preserved once it was recorded or written down. However, in the culture of writing, while the past is preserved for future generations, the effort to record tradition does not necessarily mean that society is learning from past knowledge. As Carey notes, "Whereas the character of storage and reception of the oral tradition favour continuity over time, the written tradition favours discontinuity in time through continuum over space." 3 Writing culture, in its emphasis on the present and the future, moves "forward" from the traditions, knowledge systems and ceremonies that were embodied within the now "preserved" oral culture, leaving oral culture itself behind.

Innis's historical survey of the role of communication and communications technologies in the rise and fall of empires led him to recognize the societal danger in relying too heavily on either time- or space-biased media. The organization of a society is affected by its dominant forms of communication. Further, our understanding of our own civilization, as well as previous civilizations, is limited by our culture's bias toward specific forms of media. Media thus generate certain forms of knowledge and historical understanding. Innis posited that stable societies are able to achieve a balance between time and space biases.

We can perhaps assume that the use of a medium of communication over a long period will to some extent determine the character of knowledge to be communicated and suggest that its pervasive influence will eventually create a civilization in which life and flexibility will become exceedingly difficult to maintain and that the advantages of a new medium will become such as to lead to the emergence of a new civilization. 4

Download Microsoft Media Player

Listen to:

Marshall McLuhan discusses Innis's idea of time- and space bias, interview with Nina Sutton, November 1975.
[WMA 2,677 KB KB]] / Source

Photograph of Egyptian papyrus-bundle column and reliefs, early 14th century B.C., photograph by Roloff Beny

Source

Egyptian papyrus-bundle column and reliefs, early 14th century B.C., photograph by Roloff Beny

Page showing sanscrit roll with text and mythological figure, THE ORIENTAL COLLECTIONS, 1797

Source

Sanscrit roll, The Oriental Collections, 1797

Representation of figures and writing from ancient Egyptian brass plate, THE ORIENTAL COLLECTIONS, 1797

Source

Figures and writing from ancient Egyptian brass plate, The Oriental Collections, 1797

Notes

1. Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. 61.

2. Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. 33.

3. Carey, "Harold Adams Innis and Marshall McLuhan," p. 12.

4. Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. 34.

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Anciens messagers, nouveaux médias : l'héritage d'Innis et de McLuhan

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Innis

Biais spatial et biais temporel

Harold Innis ne voit pas chaque événement ou chaque technologie comme un précédent qui détermine un événement futur. Selon lui, « l'obsession du présent 1 » gouverne une grande partie de l'histoire. Convaincu que les technologies les plus persuasives d'une culture donnée façonnent les civilisations, Innis cherche à comprendre la relation entre les médias et les contextes sociohistoriques qu'ils dominent.

Les médias de communication déterminent la diffusion du savoir dans le temps et l'espace. Il nous faut étudier leurs caractéristiques afin d'évaluer les influences qu'ils exercent dans leur contexte culturel 2. [traduction libre]

En règle générale, Innis s'attache à deux principes directeurs des médias : l'étendue dans le temps et dans l'espace. Les écrits d'Innis portant sur le biais spatial ou temporel constituent une part importante de l'héritage qu'il a légué dans la sphère des études en communication et en histoire.

Les médias à biais temporel tendent à transcender le temps. Ils sont durables et lourds, telles l'argile et la pierre. Leur vie très longue n'encourage cependant pas l'expansion des empires. Innis associe ces médias au coutumier, au sacré, au moral. Les médias à biais temporel facilitent le développement des hiérarchies sociales et industrielles, la croissance de la religion et l'hégémonie que la religion impose aux institutions secondaires, telle l'éducation. Selon Innis, la parole relève aussi des médias à biais temporel car, en tant que culture orale, elle se transmet d'une génération à l'autre sans encourager l'expansion territoriale. Les cultures orales cherchent à préserver les valeurs et le savoir traditionnels; elles mettent l'accent sur le passé et créent une société collective riche en traditions, en cérémonies et en coutumes.

Les médias à biais spatial tendent, pour leur part, à oblitérer l'espace. Légers et facilement déplaçables, ils peuvent aisément être diffusés sur de grandes distances. On les associe aux sociétés laïques et territoriales, et ils facilitent l'expansion spatiale des empires. Le papier en est un exemple. Il se transporte facilement, mais ne jouit que d'une courte durée de vie car il se dégrade, et se perd ou se détruit aisément. L'écrit, étroitement lié au papier, est un autre exemple de média à biais spatial. L'écrit met l'accent sur le présent et le futur, et ne se définit pas par le lieu comme la culture orale. L'écrit plonge ses racines dans le savoir technique et favorise le développement des États, des autorités politiques et des institutions décentralisées.

Des tensions opposent les médias à biais temporel aux médias à biais spatial. Ainsi, les innovations apportées à l'écriture suscitent les premières tentatives d'enregistrer la culture orale; la culture de l'écrit considère la culture orale conservée lorsqu'elle est écrite ou enregistrée. Cependant, dans la culture de l'écrit, si on a conservé le passé pour les générations futures, cet effort d'enregistrer la tradition ne garantit pas que la société se nourrisse du savoir passé. Ainsi que le note Carey : « Si la tradition orale, caractérisée par le stockage et la réception, privilégie la continuité au détriment du temps, la tradition écrite, fondée sur la continuité spatiale, favorise la rupture temporelle 3. » [traduction libre] La culture de l'écrit, qui valorise le présent et le futur, « s'éloigne » des traditions, des cérémonies et des systèmes de la connaissance autrefois inhérents à une culture orale aujourd'hui « conservée », et délaisse ainsi la culture orale même.

Innis étudie le rôle qu'ont joué, dans l'histoire, la communication et les technologies de la communication dans l'ascension et la chute des empires. Cette étude l'amène à reconnaître le danger, comme société, de s'appuyer trop lourdement sur une technologie qui privilégie soit le temps, soit l'espace. Les formes dominantes de la communication influencent l'organisation de la société. Bien plus, nos partis pris culturels dictés par des formes données de médias limitent la compréhension qu'on a de notre propre civilisation et des précédentes. Ainsi, les technologies que nous utilisons génèrent certaines formes de savoir et une compréhension particulière de l'histoire. Selon Innis, une société stable est celle qui établit un équilibre entre biais spatial et biais temporel.

On peut présumer que l'usage à long terme d'un média de communication déterminera dans une certaine mesure le caractère du savoir à communiquer, que son influence omniprésente créera une civilisation dans laquelle la vie et la flexibilité deviendront très difficiles à conserver, et que les avantages d'un nouveau média seront tels qu'ils mèneront à l'émergence d'une nouvelle civilisation 4. [traduction libre]

Téléchargez lecteur Windows Media

Écoute ceci :

Marshall McLuhan discute de l'idée d'Innis concernant les biais spatial et temporel, lors d'une entrevue avec Nina Sutton, novembre 1975.
[WMA 2,677 Ko]] / Source

Photo d'une colonne égyptienne papyriforme comportant des reliefs, début du XIVe siècle av. J.-C., photo de Roloff Beny

Source

Colonne égyptienne papyriforme comportant des reliefs, début du XIVe siècle av. J.-C., photo de Roloff Beny

Page montrant un rouleau écrit en sanskrit comportant du texte et une figure mythologique, THE ORIENTAL COLLECTIONS, 1797

Source

Rouleau écrit en sanskrit, The Oriental Collections, 1797

Représentation d'écriture et de figures sur une assiette en laiton ancienne égyptienne, THE ORIENTAL COLLECTIONS, 1797

Source

Écriture et figures d'une assiette en laiton ancienne égyptienne, The Oriental Collections, 1797

Notes

1. Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. 61.

2. Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. 33.

3. Carey, « Harold Adams Innis and Marshall McLuhan », p. 12.

4. Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. 34.

Précédent | Suivant