Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Old Messengers, New Media: The Legacy of Innis and McLuhan

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

McLuhan

Key Concepts

"I don't study causes. I study effects… No one else is doing this." Interview with Nina Sutton, November 1975

As a media personality, McLuhan used different media to popularize -- and promote -- his ideas. His methods for disseminating his ideas are perhaps best understood as reflecting a larger theoretical commitment: the only way out of the media pervasiveness is to understand it and then "turn off the button," as he described it. In his pedagogy, McLuhan believed it was crucial for him to use media to his own end, so as to demonstrate the ways media used -- or massaged -- its users and their culture.

Media, under McLuhan's analysis, constitute a broad category: cars, speech and language are examined alongside what we more commonly think of as media -- newspapers, television and radio. All of these "artefacts" can be treated as media because, as technologies, they mediate our communication; their forms or structures alter how we perceive and understand the world around us. McLuhan argues that media are languages, with their own grammar and structure, and that they can be studied as such.

McLuhan believed that media exert effects by reshaping the ways in which individuals, societies and cultures perceive and understand their environments. Thus, he saw the goal of media studies as making visible what is invisible. Making the effects (as opposed to the explicit or overt "messages") of media technologies visible involves discerning patterns within their environments, including interactions with other media. Recalling his time at Cambridge, McLuhan put forward that technologies in a culture, like words in a poem, derive their meaning from context. Like Innis, McLuhan developed a method for analyzing media -- that looked to the broader culture and society within which a medium operates -- to pick out patterns of its effects.

Also much like Innis, McLuhan believed that the introduction of new technologies into a society has a determining influence on how that society is organized, how its members perceive the world around them and how knowledge is stored and shared. Although both McLuhan and Innis believed that media were biased according to time and space, McLuhan paid particular attention to the "sensorium," the effects of media on our senses. He posited that media affect us by manipulating the ratio of our senses. For example, the phonetic alphabet stresses the sense of sight, which in turn affects how we think: linearity and objectivity are the results.

McLuhan treated all technologies as extensions of our bodies: a pencil is an extension of the hand, while the wheel is an extension of the feet. He insisted, however, that these extensions are dialectical: products of the environments from which they come (including social, political and economic dimensions), they also alter that environment. In this way, both environments and technologies mediate our lives. McLuhan argued that media create environments that influence our perceptions to such an extent that we fail to fully take notice of their effects.

Download Microsoft Media Player

Listen to:

Marshall McLuhan links his literary and aesthetic approach to the study of communications, interview with Nina Sutton, November 1975.
[WMA 595 KB]] / Source

Photograph of McLuhan holding a mirror that contains his reflection, 1967, by John Reeves

Source

Marshall McLuhan, 1967. Photograph by John Reeves

Photograph of Marshall McLuhan seated at desk, consulting books, with row of telephones on wall behind him, 1967, by Yousuf Karsh

Source

Marshall McLuhan, January 21, 1967, photograph by Yousuf Karsh

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Anciens messagers, nouveaux médias : l'héritage d'Innis et de McLuhan

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

McLuhan

Les concepts-clés

« Je n'étudie pas les causes. J'étudie les effets… Personne d'autre ne fait cela » [traduction libre]. Entrevue avec Nina Sutton, novembre 1975

Personnalité du monde des médias, McLuhan recourt à différents médias pour vulgariser -- et promouvoir -- ses idées. On a sans doute mieux compris les méthodes qu'il utilise comme reflétant un engagement théorique plus vaste : la seule façon d'éviter l'envahissement des médias, c'est de saisir ce phénomène, puis de « fermer l'interrupteur ». Dans sa pédagogie, il considère essentiel d'instrumentaliser les médias, afin de montrer comment les médias utilisent les utilisateurs et leur culture, et leur « donnent un massage ».

Dans son analyse, McLuhan donne au mot « média » un sens large : il étudie voitures, parole et langage en parallèle à ce que nous associons plus volontiers à ce terme -- journaux, radio et télévision. On peut appeler tous ces « artefacts » des médias, car on les utilise pour médiatiser notre communication; leurs formes et leurs structures modifient notre perception et notre compréhension du monde. Pour McLuhan, les médias sont un langage qui possède sa propre syntaxe et sa propre structure; on peut donc à ce titre les étudier.

McLuhan pense que les médias, qui remodèlent la façon dont les individus, les sociétés et les cultures voient et comprennent leur environnement, produisent des effets. Ainsi considère-t-il que les études sur les médias rendent visible l'invisible. Pour révéler les conséquences des technologies des médias (distinctes des « messages » explicites ou évidents), il faut discerner les schémas dans leur milieu même, y compris les interactions avec d'autres médias. Se rappelant du temps où il était à Cambridge, McLuhan soutient que les technologies d'une culture, tels les mots d'un poème, tirent leur sens du contexte. À l'instar d'Innis, McLuhan élabore une méthode d'analyse des médias -- qui se penche sur la culture et la société plus vastes à l'intérieur desquelles opère un véhicule -- pour y déceler les schémas de conséquences.

Tout comme Innis, McLuhan est convaincu que l'introduction de nouvelles technologies dans une société détermine la façon dont elle est organisée, dont ses membres perçoivent le monde qui les environne, et dont le savoir est conservé et partagé. Si les deux chercheurs croient que les médias ont un biais spatial ou temporel, McLuhan s'attache davantage au « sensorium », c'est-à-dire à l'effet des médias sur nos sens. Il pose pour postulat que les médias agissent sur nous, car ils manipulent les proportions dans lesquelles interviennent nos sens. Ainsi, l'alphabet phonétique valorise la vue, qui détermine à son tour notre façon de penser : il en résulte une perception linéaire et objective.

McLuhan considère toutes les technologies comme autant d'extensions du corps : le crayon prolonge la main, et la roue prolonge le pied. Ces extensions demeurent cependant dialectiques : issues d'un environnement (avec ses dimensions sociales, politiques et économiques), elles modifient aussi cet environnement. Ainsi, les environnements tout autant que les technologies modifient nos vies. McLuhan affirme que les médias créent des environnements qui influencent nos perceptions à tel point que nous n'en notons plus totalement les conséquences.

Téléchargez lecteur Windows Media

Écoute ceci :

Marshall McLuhan fait un lien entre les approches littéraire et esthétique et l'étude des communications, lors d'une entrevue avec Nina Sutton, novembre 1975.
[WMA 595 Ko]] / Source

Photo de Marshall McLuhan tenant un miroir dans lequel on voit sa réflexion, 1967, par John Reeves

Source

Marshall McLuhan, 1967, photo de John Reeves

Photo de Marshall McLuhan assis à un bureau consultant des livres, avec une série de téléphones accrochés au mur derrière lui, 1967, par Yousuf Karsh

Source

Marshall McLuhan, 21 janvier 1967, photo de Yousuf Karsh

Précédent | Suivant