Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Old Messengers, New Media: The Legacy of Innis and McLuhan

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Conclusions

Media/Medium Theory

Harold Innis has been accused of being a technological determinist29 The same criticism has been lobbed at McLuhan 30 and as Menahem Blondheim points out, McLuhan himself called Innis a determinist in his introduction to The Bias of Communication31 But, Blondheim says, the idea that Innis is a technological determinist is part of the "accepted Innis" that has been constructed over the years as scholars try to work through his writing, research and archive. 32 Blondheim further argues that in light of this sort of criticism, Innis has been marginalized in debates about contemporary media. We know that Innis wrote as much about universities as he did about staples, and that even his staples theory reflects his broader thinking about the balance of power and knowledge. Certainly, there are many interpretations of the intellectual legacy of Harold Innis; scholars continue to contemplate his relationships to economics, politics, philosophy, communications and education, both through his already published works and his rich archive.

McLuhan's body of work, as a whole, points to the necessity of examining technology in context -- a key premise of media and cultural studies. The context is implicitly historical, social, political and economic, even if these terms don't always appear in his analyses. As Judith Stamps has noted, most criticisms of McLuhan in this vein tend to focus on his later works. As she puts it: "For McLuhan, the impact of a medium is itself mediated by the culture that employs it." 33 Technology is made meaningful and is, in this sense, produced, through its social, political, economic and historical circumstances. In turn, these technologies come to produce entirely new contexts. His approach is "highly self-reflexive, probing and exploratory, dialogical and acoustic." 34

In concentrating on a novel approach to technology and its effects, McLuhan departed rather sharply from the scholarship of American communication studies in the 1950s, particularly the behaviourism of Wilbur Schramm and the functionalism of Elihu Katz, Paul Lazarsfeld, Robert Merton and Talcott Parsons. 35 Although his early work in The Mechanical Bride was more ideologically grounded, his later work would focus entirely on the effects of media through technology, not content. McLuhan's thinking reflects a hybridization of the literary roots of the New Criticism, particularly with its focus on effects, and other thinkers who were preoccupied with modernity and mass culture, like C. Wright Mills, Kenneth Burke and Harold Innis. 36

McLuhan favoured new electric technologies because he believed they retrieved previous forms of orality that had been lost with print and the phonetic alphabet. This return to an acoustic space was both geographic and temporal in nature. As it sped up the world, it helped bring down boundaries, retrieving old forms of myth characteristic of tribal society. This position has led to well-founded charges that McLuhan's utopian views on new media are colonial in nature, 37 politically naive, 38 typically Catholic in their mysticism and communalism, 39 and reinforcing of dominant cultural imperialist ideas. 40

Joshua Meyrowitz argues that both Innis and McLuhan stand apart from other communication scholars. Meyrowitz coined the term medium theory to describe the incorporation of history and culture in studying media, a practice which he says both McLuhan and Innis developed. 41 Meyrowitz uses the term medium theory to describe the tradition of research that tried to call attention to the potential influences of communication technologies in addition to and apart from the content they convey. Medium theory focuses on the particular characteristics of each individual medium or of each particular type of medium 42 The evolution and history of communications media have been distinguished by different phases of development. Innis emphasized, among other evolutions, the difference between oral and literate cultures in the development of civilization. He also traced the rise of modern print culture and the dramatic changes that took place with the emergence of technological media in the 19th century. In doing so, he helped to create a framework for understanding the emergence of "new" media, one which continues to influence communication scholars today.

Notes

29. See also Ramot, Communication: Technology, Society, Culture, p. 193.

30. Fekete, The Critical Twilight: Explorations in the Ideology of Anglo-American Literary Theory From Eliot to McLuhan; R. Williams, Television: Technology and Cultural Form.

31. McLuhan, in Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. xi.

32. Blondheim, "Discovering 'The Significance of Communication': Harold Adams Innis as Social Constructivist," p. 123.

33. Stamps, Unthinking Modernity: Innis, McLuhan, and the Frankfurt School,p. 124.

34. Marchessault, Marshall McLuhan, Cosmic Media, p. 110.

35. Carey, "Marshall McLuhan: Genealogy and Legacy."

36. Carey, "Marshall McLuhan: Genealogy and Legacy."

37. Spivak, A Critique of Postcolonial Reason: Toward a History of the Vanishing Present.

38. Marchessault, Marshall McLuhan, Cosmic Media.

39. Carey, "Marshall McLuhan: Genealogy and Legacy."

40. Ross, No Respect: Intellectuals and Popular Culture.

41. Meyrowitz, "Medium Theory."

42. Meyrowitz, "Medium Theory."

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Anciens messagers, nouveaux médias : l'héritage d'Innis et de McLuhan

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Conclusion

La théorie des médias

On a reproché à Harold Innis son déterminisme technologique 29. McLuhan a lui aussi essuyé la même critique 30 et, comme le souligne Menahem Blondheim, McLuhan lui-même a qualifié Innis de déterministe dans la préface de The Bias of Communication 31. Mais, selon Blondheim, Innis a été, au fil des années « accepté » comme déterministe technologique, tandis que les savants tentaient de progresser dans ses écrits, ses recherches et ses archives 32. Par la suite, Blondheim soutient que, à la lumière de ce type de critique, Innis a été laissé pour compte dans les débats sur les médias contemporains. Nous savons qu'Innis a autant écrit sur les universités que sur les principales ressources, et que même sa théorie sur ce sujet révèle qu'il porte une réflexion plus vaste sur l'équilibre entre pouvoir et savoir. Il existe certainement plusieurs interprétations de l'héritage intellectuel que nous a légué Harold Innis; les chercheurs continuent d'admirer ses relations aux sciences économiques et politiques, à la philosophie, aux communications et à l'éducation, tant dans ses travaux publiés que dans ses riches archives.

Les travaux de McLuhan, considérés comme un ensemble, révèlent la nécessité d'étudier la technologie en contexte - prémisse essentielle des études sur les médias et la culture. Le contexte est implicitement historique, social, politique et économique, même si ces termes n'apparaissent pas toujours dans ses analyses. Ainsi que le note Judith Stamps, la plupart des critiques émises à cet égard concernent les travaux tardifs de McLuhan. Et Stamps de poursuivre : « Pour McLuhan, les effets d'un média sont eux-mêmes médiatisés par la culture qui les utilise 33. » [traduction libre] La technologie devient riche de sens et se trouve en cela produite par le biais des circonstances sociales, politiques, économiques et historiques. À leur tour, ces technologies produisent des contextes entièrement neufs. Son approche est « hautement autoréflexive, approfondie et exploratoire, dialogique et acoustique 34 » [traduction libre].

Tout occupé à sa démarche originale portant sur la technologie et ses effets, Mc Luhan s'éloigne tout à fait de l'érudition des études américaines en communication des années 1950, en particulier du béhaviorisme de Wilbur Schramm et du fonctionnalisme d'Elihu Katz, de Paul Lazarsfeld, de Robert Merton et de Talcott Parsons 35. Bien que ses premiers travaux, inclus dans The Mechanical Bride, aient un fondement plus idéologique, sa démarche ultérieure s'attache uniquement aux effets que produisent les médias par le biais de la technologie, et non au contenu. La réflexion de McLuhan témoigne de l'hybridation des racines littéraires de la Nouvelle Critique, en particulier là où elle se concentre sur les effets, et de la pensée d'auteurs que préoccupent la modernité et la culture de masse, tels C. Wright Mills, Kenneth Burke et Harold Innis 36.

McLuhan préfère les nouvelles technologies électriques, car elles récupèrent, pense-t-il, les formes antérieures d'oralité perdues avec l'imprimé et l'alphabet phonétique. Ce retour à un espace acoustique est à la fois de nature géographique et temporelle. Accélérant le rythme du monde, il facilite la disparition des frontières, et retrouve les anciennes formes des caractéristiques mythiques des sociétés tribales. Ce point de vue lui a valu des reproches fondés : on critique la vision utopique qu'il a des nouveaux médias, qu'on juge de nature coloniale 37, politiquement naïve 38, typiquement catholique par son mysticisme et son communalisme 39, et à laquelle on reproche de renforcer les idées dominantes de l'impérialisme culturel 40.

Joshua Meyrowitz soutient qu'Innis comme McLuhan se démarquent des autres chercheurs en communication. Meyrowitz forge l'expression théorie des médias pour décrire l'incorporation de l'histoire et de la culture aux études sur les médias, pratique élaborée, affirme-t-il, tant par Innis que McLuhan 41. Par l'expression théorie des médias, Meyrowitz rappelle la tradition de la recherche qui tente d'attirer l'attention sur les influences possibles des technologies de la communication, en plus du contenu que ces dernières véhiculent, et en dehors de lui. La théorie des médias se concentre sur les caractéristiques propres à chacun des médias ou sur chaque type particulier de média 42. L'évolution et l'histoire des médias de communication comportent différentes phases de développement. Innis souligne, entre autres, la différence entre cultures orales et cultures lettrées dans l'évolution de la civilisation. Il expose également l'essor de la culture moderne de l'imprimé, et les transformations radicales survenues au XIXe siècle avec l'apparition des médias technologiques. Ce faisant, il établit une démarche qui aide à comprendre l'émergence des « nouveaux » médias; celle-ci continue encore aujourd'hui d'influer sur le savoir du domaine des communications.

Notes

29. Voir aussi Ramot, Communication: Technology, Society, Culture, p. 193.

30. Fekete, The Critical Twilight: Explorations in the Ideology of Anglo-American Literary Theory From Eliot to McLuhan; R. Williams, Television: Technology and Cultural Form.

31. McLuhan dans Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. xi.

32. Blondheim, « Discovering 'The Significance of Communication': Harold Adams Innis as Social Constructivist », p. 123.

33. Stamps, Unthinking Modernity: Innis, McLuhan, and the Frankfurt School,p. 124.

34. Marchessault, Marshall McLuhan, Cosmic Media, p. 110.

35. Carey, « Marshall McLuhan: Genealogy and Legacy ».

36. Carey, « Marshall McLuhan: Genealogy and Legacy ».

37. Spivak, A Critique of Postcolonial Reason: Toward a History of the Vanishing Present.

38. Marchessault, Marshall McLuhan, Cosmic Media.

39. Carey, « Marshall McLuhan: Genealogy and Legacy ».

40. Ross, No Respect: Intellectuals and Popular Culture.

41. Meyrowitz, « Medium Theory ».

42. Meyrowitz, « Medium Theory ».

Précédent | Suivant