Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Old Messengers, New Media: The Legacy of Innis and McLuhan

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Conclusions

Epistemology

A key to Harold Innis's thinking about communications and communications history is his claim that the introduction and development of communications media in society is responsible for social change and upheaval equivalent to the creation, rise and fall of empires. He argues that the stability of cultures depends on the balance and proportion of their media -- a hypothesis he tests in countless examples to show that communication technologies embody a bias in terms of organization and control of information. He asks how specific communication technologies operate, what assumptions they take from and contribute to the society in which they operate, and what forms of power they encourage.

Innis presumes tension in cultural transfer and in the introduction of new communication technologies into society. Take, for example, the following two citations from The Bias of Communication:

The varying effects of technological change spreading from the United States destroyed the unity of Europe and contributed to the outbreak of the First World War. 43

…the search for news made unprecedented use of cables and private wires and exploited Paris as a vast and cheap source of journalistic wealth with the result that French influence became more powerful. 44

The above citations strongly illustrate the way Innis groups events, positioning new media at the heart of social and cultural shifts in history. He incorporates those on the margins of history and situations where marginal power consolidates and ultimately challenges the authority at the center. Innis argues that one of the effects of technology as it is introduced into society is that it influences patterns of perception and understanding of power. In addition, Innis focuses on specific media, locations and periods of time wherein he finds that "shifts to new media of communication have been characterized by profound disturbances." 45 In doing so, he recognizes that the introduction of a new medium destabilizes the relationships and systems that existed previous to it. Innis's constant reflection upon centuries of history and the creation and destruction of civilizations does not allow for a preoccupation with the present or an obsession with current technological gadgetry.

Although Marshall McLuhan considered media from a variety of perspectives, he paid particular attention to how communication is embodied or disembodied. Senses are important to McLuhan because they form the basis upon which a view of reality is constituted. An extension of the sense of sight, for instance, leads to a view of the world that is characterized by linearity, rationalism, objectivity and a focus on the self. Thus, media do not simply record or transmit information, but shape knowledge itself. McLuhan's work continually explores the epistemological grounds that technologies produce and are produced by. 46

McLuhan saw his work as a critical intervention into the world of media. His rhetoric and fondness for aphorisms often leaves readers with the impression that what he offered were final pronouncements on events. Yet McLuhan insisted that he offered only glimpses into ever-changing conditions. At the root of his project is a deep concern with pedagogy, with teaching people how to understand the ways media work on an unconscious level. In this sense, his work can be located within a humanist tradition that fuels the development of media literacy. This helps account for McLuhan's own use of the media as a way of popularizing his ideas, despite his deep reservations about the medium of television, for instance. As Janine Marchessault remarks:

…McLuhan would use the artistic process and the learning process interchangeably. Learning is a creative activity, an act of the imaginative retracing of experience, of making experience visible. McLuhan understood that aphorisms, paradox and collage represent a broken knowledge and, as such, invite further speculation and participation. This is an aspect of McLuhan's work that is often misunderstood. He views knowledge as necessarily always partial and always grounded in the senses and in dialogue with others. 47

Given his concerns with pedagogy, it is not surprising to note how interdisciplinary McLuhan's work was, particularly after joining the University of Toronto and launching the Communication and Culture seminars. The central problem these seminars considered was understanding how communications affected perception. Given this broad question, and McLuhan's equally broad conception of technology, many different perspectives were needed.

McLuhan asserted that art could be a crucial method for discerning the effects of technology. It is an important counterforce in making visible the hidden ways artefacts "[work] us over." Believing that art produces audile-tactile environments that allow figure and ground to be comprehended in tension, McLuhan considers art as an important source of knowledge and commentary on culture and society: art opens the "doors of perception" and operates as an "early warning system." 48 He argues that as technologies continue to proliferate at ever-greater speeds, further changing the environment, the arts can produce "'anti-environments' or 'counter-environments' that provide us with the means of perceiving the environment itself." 49

It can be argued, then, that the phonetic alphabet, alone, is the technology that has been the means of creating "civilized man" -- the separate individuals equal before a written code of law. Separateness of the individual, continuity of space and of time, and uniformity of codes are the prime marks of literate and civilized societies…. As an intensification and extension of the visual function, the phonetic alphabet diminishes the role of the other senses of sound and touch and taste in any literate culture. 50

Notes

43. Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. 59.

44. Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. 60.

45. Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. 188.

46. Marchessault, Marshall McLuhan, Cosmic Media, p. 203.

47. Marchessault, Marshall McLuhan, Cosmic Media, p. 70.

48. McLuhan, Understanding Media, p. xi.

49. McLuhan, Understanding Media, p. ix.

50. McLuhan, Understanding Media, p. 84.

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Anciens messagers, nouveaux médias : l'héritage d'Innis et de McLuhan

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Conclusion

L'Épistémologie

Lorsque Harold Innis soutient que l'on doit à l'avènement et au développement des médias de communication dans nos sociétés les transformations sociales et un bouleversement semblable à celui de la création, de l'essor et du déclin des empires, il nous donne là une des clés à la réflexion qu'il porte sur les communications et l'histoire des communications. Selon lui, la stabilité des cultures dépend de l'équilibre entre les médias, et de leurs proportions -- hypothèse qu'il vérifie dans maints exemples afin de prouver que les technologies de la communication comportent un biais dans l'organisation et le contrôle de l'information. Il se demande comment fonctionnent les technologies de la communication particulières, quels postulats elles tirent de la société dans laquelle elles agissent, quelles hypothèses elles y apportent, et quelles formes de pouvoir elles suscitent.

Innis présume qu'il existe une tension dans le transfert culturel et dans l'avènement de nouvelles technologies de la communication à l'intérieur de la société. À témoin les deux citations qui suivent, tirées de The Bias of Communication :

Les effets variables des transformations technologiques en provenance des États-Unis ont détruit l'unité de l'Europe et favorisé le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale 43. [traduction libre]

[…] la quête de nouvelles a suscité l'utilisation exceptionnelle de câblogrammes et de circuits privés; Paris en est devenue une source de richesse journalistique vaste et peu coûteuse, ce qui a accru le pouvoir de l'influence française 44. [traduction libre]

Cette citation démontre clairement comment Innis groupe les événements et situe les nouveaux médias au cœur des transformations sociales et culturelles qui ont traversé l'histoire. Il les intègre en marge de l'histoire et des situations où le pouvoir marginal consolide et en fin de compte défie l'autorité centrale. Selon Innis, la technologie, telle qu'elle est introduite dans la société, influe sur les schémas de perception et de compréhension du pouvoir. De plus, Innis se concentre sur des médias donnés, des lieux et des périodes dans lesquelles il juge que « d'importantes perturbations ont caractérisé l'avènement de nouveaux médias de communication 45 » [traduction libre]. Ce faisant, il reconnaît que l'introduction d'un nouveau média déstabilise les relations et les systèmes qui préexistaient. La réflexion continue que porte Innis sur des siècles d'histoire et sur l'essor et le déclin des civilisations ne lui permet pas de s'intéresser au présent, ni de se préoccuper des gadgets technologiques actuels.

Marshall McLuhan s'intéresse aux médias selon divers points de vue, mais il étudie surtout comment ces médias intègrent ou non la communication. Nos sens, qui occupent dans sa théorie une place primordiale, forment une assise sur laquelle la réalité se constitue. Ainsi, l'extension du sens de la vue mène à un point de vue sur le monde linéaire, rationnel, objectif et centré sur soi. Le média ne se limite donc pas à enregistrer ou à transmettre l'information, il façonne le savoir même. McLuhan explore incessamment les fondements épistémologiques produits par les technologies, et ceux qui produisent des technologies 46.

Les travaux de McLuhan constituent, à ses yeux, une intervention essentielle dans le monde des médias. Sa rhétorique et son goût des aphorismes donnent souvent l'impression qu'il porte un jugement définitif sur les événements. Cependant, McLuhan déclare qu'il n'offre qu'un aperçu de situations en mutation constante. Soucieux d'une pédagogie qu'il enracine au cœur de sa démarche, il souhaite expliquer à tous comment fonctionnent les médias dans notre inconscient. À cet égard, ses travaux s'inscrivent dans une tradition humaniste qui alimente le développement des connaissances portant sur les médias. Cette préoccupation justifie l'utilisation qu'il fait des médias pour diffuser ses propres théories, malgré ses réserves envers des médias tels que la télévision. Ainsi que le souligne Janine Marchessault :

…McLuhan interchange, à l'usage, le processus artistique et celui de l'apprentissage. Apprendre est une activité créative, un acte du retraçage imaginatif de l'expérience, qui permet de rendre l'expérience visible. McLuhan reconnaît dans les aphorismes, les paradoxes et les collages un savoir brisé; à ce titre, ces formes invitent à une participation et une spéculation qui se prolongent au-delà d'elles. Cet aspect du travail de McLuhan a souvent été incompris. McLuhan conçoit le savoir comme obligatoirement partiel et toujours enraciné dans les sens, et le dialogue entretenu avec les autres 47. [traduction libre]

L'interdisciplinarité propre aux travaux de McLuhan, compte tenu de ses préoccupations pédagogiques, n'a rien de surprenant, surtout après qu'il se fut joint à l'Université de Toronto et qu'il eut mis sur pied les séminaires sur la communication et la culture, dont la question centrale était de comprendre comment les communications affectent la perception. La question étant vaste, et vu la conception élargie de McLuhan sur la technologie, plusieurs points de vue différents s'imposent.

McLuhan voit dans l'art un moyen fondamental de discerner les effets de la technologie, contrepoint efficace qui révèle les modes cachés selon lesquels les artefacts « agissent sur nous ». Convaincu que l'art génère des environnements audio-tactiles grâce auxquels on peut saisir la forme et le fond en tension, McLuhan voit dans l'art une source importante de savoir, et le reconnaît comme commentaire sur la culture et la société : l'art « ouvre les portes de la perception » et fonctionne comme « premier système de mise en garde 48 ». Il soutient que, les technologies proliférant de plus en plus vite et par la suite modifiant l'environnement, les arts créent des « "anti-environnements" ou "contre-environnements" qui nous procurent les moyens de percevoir l'environnement même » 49. [traduction libre]

On peut donc affirmer que l'alphabet phonétique est, et lui seul, cette technologie qui a fait naître les « civilisés », c'est-à-dire les individus distincts, égaux devant une loi écrite. La différenciation de l'individu, la continuité de l'espace et du temps et l'uniformité des codes sont les principales caractéristiques des sociétés alphabétisées et civilisées […] Parce qu'il intensifie et qu'il étend la fonction visuelle, l'alphabet phonétique réduit, dans toute culture alphabétisée, le rôle de l'ouïe, du toucher et du goût 50. [traduction libre]

Notes

43. Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. 59.

44. Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. 60.

45. Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. 188.

46. Marchessault, Marshall McLuhan, Cosmic Media, p. 203.

47. Marchessault, Marshall McLuhan, Cosmic Media, p. 70.

48. McLuhan, Understanding Media, p. xi.

49. McLuhan, Understanding Media, p. ix.

50. McLuhan, Understanding Media, p. 84.

Précédent | Suivant