Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Old Messengers, New Media: The Legacy of Innis and McLuhan

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Essays: Archives as Medium

Michael Cheney: The Monopoly of Knowledge: Understanding Harold Innis and the Archives of Harold Innis

By Michael Cheney, Professor of Communication and Senior Fellow, Institute of Government and Public Affairs, University of Illinois

Communications historians regularly cite Harold Innis as one of the major figures of their field. His study of communications history offered several significant terms for understanding that history. Of those, the term "monopoly of knowledge" is by far the most important and offers an important insight into Innis's thinking about communications -- one that goes beyond the communications medium approach with which he is sometimes identified. In studying the history of communications across time, Innis argued that when civilizations control the dominant medium of communication, be it writing or printing, they importantly control how knowledge is obtained and disseminated. This concept, of defining what people think about and what they think with, is the key to understanding a good deal of Innis's published work, as well as the challenges faced by those wishing to go beyond his currently available material.

Innis's communications work, which spanned less than 10 years, was perplexing, if not enigmatic, for scholars at the time. The approach he took, the terms he developed, and even the range of material he used, all challenged conventional notions of scholarship. Even today, the available books and articles by Innis require focused reading, and a certain suspension of typical critical faculties, to understand the flow of his thoughts and the direction he was pursuing.

As with other scholars whose work is not easily grasped, Innis's communications work fares better with more articulation and explication. A case in point is Empire and Communications, in which Innis presents the history of communications from the earliest times of Egypt, Babylon, and Greece. In its initial printing, the work contained a minimal number of footnotes; they captured the essence of the idea being cited, but did little to expand, or to explain the connection between the citation and the details of the text. In the time between the first and second editions, however, Innis notated the text more thoroughly -- adding additional sources, providing additional editorial commentary, and generally facilitating the reading of the work to give the reader greater insight into his points. But this is one of the few instances where such revisions of Innis's work are available.

An example of the challenge more commonly faced by readers of Innis is one of the first articles he published on communications history, "The Newspaper in Economic Development." It covers a period of time from the 1600s to the 1910s and uses a range of sources and insights, but is written in Innis's characteristically dense style. Like Empire and Communications, the article would benefit from further notations and comments. The logical step for a scholar wishing to deconstruct the article would be to explore the Innis archives to see what materials are available for this article and the other communications works. Specifically, what rough drafts, outlines, letters to colleagues, or notes could be found to clarify the article? What one discovers in going to the archives, however, is a set of documents that confounds rather than clarifies.

Innis, in his ongoing project on communications history, worked with a manuscript that encompassed over 1,500 pages of material spanning from earliest times to the late 19th century. He also maintained a set of index cards noting various ideas that might be of use, and wrote down individual quotes and citations onto sheets of paper, which he then cut into individual units for later inclusion in the project. As various scholars have explained, Innis regularly used these materials in a fairly literal cut-and-paste method, with minimal supporting or connecting text.

Someone searching Innis's archives for something between the raw notes and the finished document would be disappointed. The archives left behind after Innis's death are rich with a range of notes and other materials, as well as the various publications he produced, but contain little in terms of intermediate draft work. In fact, the 1,500 page "A History of Communications," which was Innis's working database, is a typescript taken from a handwritten manuscript that has since been discarded.

Anecdotal reports state that as things were being organized after Harold Innis's death, some materials were removed and discarded. In later years, as various projects associated with Innis were concluded, research files were often pruned without much attention to what was in the current archives and what might be an important addition. While there are various reasons for such housecleaning, the Innis scholar is left with fewer intermediate materials and works-in-progress than what might be expected from a scholar whose final stage of work was interrupted.

Ironically, the archives of Harold Innis are, in many ways, a monopoly of knowledge. In this, the archives are like almost any archive in the world -- a repository of information and material that was collected, albeit with some negotiation and editing, to present the material and the individual in a certain light. For the archival scholar, not just of Innis, but of any person or subject, recognizing the ways that thoughts might be shaped and the questions that might be answerable from archival information is exactly the kind of response Innis argued we should have to any monopoly of knowledge.

Just as Innis thought anew about communications history, so too do scholars seeking to further understand his thinking need to think anew about his work and subject and recognize the monopoly of knowledge that is his archive.

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Anciens messagers, nouveaux médias : l'héritage d'Innis et de McLuhan

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Essais : Les archives en tant que média

Michael Cheney : Le monopole du savoir : pour comprendre Harold Innis et ses archives

Michael Cheney, professeur et attaché supérieur de recherches, Institute of Government and Public Affairs, University of Illinois

Les historiens des communications donnent régulièrement Harold Innis pour l'une des figures marquantes de leur discipline. Dans ses travaux portant sur l'histoire des communications, Innis propose plusieurs concepts clés qui expliquent l'histoire, dont le plus important, le « monopole du savoir », permet de saisir son point de vue sur les communications -- point de vue qui transcende la démarche propre aux médias de communication à laquelle on l'associe parfois. Étudiant l'histoire des communications au fil du temps, Innis affirme que, lorsque les civilisations contrôlent un média de communication dominant, qu'il s'agisse d'écriture ou d'imprimerie, elles déterminent comment on obtient et diffuse le savoir. Définir ce à quoi pensent les gens et avec quoi ils le pensent explique une grande part des travaux publiés d'Innis, et précise les défis de ceux qui souhaitent aller au-delà de ses études actuellement disponibles.

Les énigmatiques travaux d'Innis en communication, produits en moins de 10 ans, laissent les savants contemporains perplexes. Sa démarche, les concepts qu'il élabore, et même l'éventail de documents et ressources utilisés défient les notions conventionnelles d'érudition. Aujourd'hui encore, ses livres et articles accessibles exigent du lecteur une grande concentration, et lui demandent de suspendre certaines facultés critiques typiques, afin qu'il puisse comprendre le flux de réflexion et la direction que poursuit l'auteur.

À l'instar des travaux difficiles à saisir d'autres savants, les études en communication d'Innis s'éclairent lorsqu'on les présente et les explique. C'est le cas de Empire and Communications, ouvrage dans lequel Innis présente l'histoire des communications depuis ses premiers balbutiements en Égypte, à Babylone et en Grèce. L'essai ne comportait, à sa première parution, que très peu de notes; ces dernières saisissent l'essentiel de l'idée dont il est question, mais Innis ne s'y étend pas, et n'explique pas non plus la relation entre la citation et les détails du texte. Cependant, dans le laps de temps écoulé entre la première et la seconde édition, Innis annote davantage le texte -- ajoutant des références, des commentaires, et facilitant en général la lecture afin que le lecteur puisse mieux saisir ses points de vue. Empire and Communications est l'un des rares exemples de ses travaux pour lequel nous disposons des commentaires et révisions d'Innis.

L'un des premiers articles qu'Innis a publié sur l'histoire des communications, intitulé « The Newspaper in Economic Development », illustre parfaitement le défi auquel se heurtent souvent ses lecteurs. L'article, écrit dans le style dense typique d'Innis, couvre une période allant des années 1600 aux années 1910, et fait usage d'un grand éventail de références et de points de vue. Comme Empire and Communications, l'article nécessite notes et commentaires additionnels. Il serait logique que le chercheur désireux d'analyser cet article explore les archives d'Innis pour vérifier les documents disponibles qui concernent l'article et d'autres travaux en communication. Quels brouillons sommaires, esquisses, lettres à des collègues ou notes le chercheur peut-il découvrir qui clarifieraient le contenu de l'article? Cependant, on ne trouve dans les archives qu'un ensemble de documents qui, plutôt que de l'éclairer, sèment la confusion.

Innis travaille, pour son projet continu en histoire des communications, à partir d'un manuscrit qui comporte plus de 1 500 pages de documents et s'étend des premiers temps de l'histoire à la fin du XIXe siècle. Il recourt aussi à un ensemble de fiches dans lesquelles il note les idées dont il fera peut-être usage et, sur des feuilles de papier qu'il découpe en unités distinctes, il consigne commentaires et citations qu'il inclura dans son projet. Ainsi que l'ont expliqué de nombreux chercheurs, Innis utilise régulièrement ces documents selon une méthode de découpage et de collage, mais il ne les associe que rarement au texte.

Quiconque chercherait dans les archives d'Innis un document à mi-chemin entre notes brutes et texte rédigé serait déçu. En effet, Innis a laissé, après sa mort, des archives riches de notes et autres documents variés, ainsi que diverses publications qu'il a produites, mais elles ne contiennent que peu d'ébauches intermédiaires. De fait, les 1 500 pages de « A History of Communications », base de données qu'Innis utilise pour son travail, sont une retranscription dactylographiée d'un manuscrit par la suite mis au rebut.

On raconte qu'au cours des rangements faits après la mort d'Innis, des documents ont été déplacés et jetés. Dans les années qui ont suivi, divers projets relatifs à Innis ayant été achevés, on a retiré des archives actuelles, sans trop y porter attention, des dossiers de recherche dont l'apport aurait pu être essentiel. Divers motifs ont justifié un tel ménage; néanmoins, les spécialistes d'Innis disposent de moins de documents intermédiaires et de travaux en cours que ce à quoi ils pourraient s'attendre, dans la mesure où ses recherches ont été interrompues peu avant leur aboutissement.

Ironiquement, les archives d'Innis constituent, de maintes façons, un monopole du savoir. Elles sont en cela semblables à toutes les archives au monde -- dépositaires d'une information et de documents collectionnés qui, malgré quelques concertations et le travail d'édition, présentent les documents et l'individu sous un certain jour. Pour le spécialiste de l'archivage, qu'il s'intéresse aux travaux de Innis, à toute autre personne ou à tout autre sujet, reconnaître la façon dont les pensées sont façonnées et les questions auxquelles on peut répondre à partir de données d'archives constitue exactement le genre de réaction que nous devrions avoir, selon Innis, devant tout monopole du savoir.

Tout comme Innis, les chercheurs repensent l'histoire des communications, et tentent de comprendre son besoin de repenser son travail et son sujet, et de reconnaître le monopole du savoir que ses archives constituent.

Précédent | Suivant