Library and Archives Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Institutional links

ARCHIVED - Old Messengers, New Media: The Legacy of Innis and McLuhan

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Essays: Archives as Medium

Kim Sawchuk: Materiality, Memory Machines and the Archive as Media

By Kim Sawchuk, Associate Professor, Department of Communication Studies, Concordia University

Archives are repositories of a variety of artefacts, or "rich" media, that have been designated as having potential value for future generations. According to Harold Innis, all media -- letters on papyrus, photographic traces on celluloid, stone tablets -- have a bias that favours communication through time or across space. Electronic media, for instance, which emphasize the speed of information, collapse the significance of spatial distance in communication. Stone tablets, which are difficult to write upon and even more difficult to move, may foster continuity within a community.

If we consider media in Innisian terms, as communications technologies that emphasize time and space in different ways, then it is possible to approach the archive as a communications medium and not just as a repository for artefacts. Consider the difference between documents found in archives and the holdings in a library. Except for rare book collections, the items in a library can also be found in at least one other library, and most items in the collection can circulate beyond the walls of the library for a circumscribed period of time. While some archives allow materials to be copied, often at great expense, archival records and documents do not circulate easily beyond their institutional resting places. You cannot check them out or obtain them through a library loan -- they are rooted in the time and space of the archive itself. Considering an archive as a medium emphasizes its character as a complex organizational tool that facilitates or impedes individual and social communication with future generations about past events, through the instantiation of specific protocols and rules of access.

Innis was concerned with the bias towards relations of time or space in all media, as well as with the institutionalization of authority through media. This is best captured in his phrase "monopolies of knowledge." Innis suggested that the construction of libraries in history and the work of scribes, who occupied a "strategic position in centralized bureaucracies in earlier eras," 1 meant that a library or an archive could become "a great instrument of imperial power." 2 Innis was not saying that libraries and archives should be banned; he was suspicious of the centralizing and standardizing tendencies of mechanical means of information gathering that were beginning to appear in the late 1940s.

Innis warned that archives were not neutral transmitters of knowledge but had implications for cultural memory and how we think. Would a turn to the preservation of everything favour "accumulation over synthesis"? How would a shift in the dominant media usurp who had a monopoly -- and who would be marginalized? Who decides what is of value? Who will have access? How will information be disseminated?

In creating an archive we do not merely dwell on past events; archivists acting at the behest of benefactors must speculate as to what will be of relevance to a future society. They must consider that what is of cultural importance may shift as some items are remembered and others are willfully forgotten. It is not only what is kept, but what is eliminated that limits the claims a researcher can make when using "the evidence" contained in any archival collection. A researcher like myself, looking for traces of women's participation in civil life, knows this only too well.

Considering an archive as a medium tied to various monopolies of knowledge brings to the fore the politics and economics of preservation and research and the relationship of research to media technologies. Institutions must have the ongoing resources to store and maintain a collection as well as a sense of its value.

It is arguable that, with the move to digital technologies, archives will become a different sort of communications medium. As a virtual online database linked by a vast hypertextual network, the digital archive would be one without walls, that allows input by anyone and access to anyone, anywhere, anytime. In this utopian narrative, an archive is less like the archivium, or house of the magistrate, and more like a city that continually expands and grows, that contains numerous pathways. 3 The classical notion of the archive as a place of singular documents in a specific setting would be eliminated.

Relations of power will necessarily shift in this move to the digitized archive. Another Innisan word of caution, however: considering the materiality of a given medium means dealing with the physical nature of the materials at hand. Archiving, like communicating, is influenced by the material specificity of media artefacts as well as their modes of communication.

I am presently involved in a project that draws attention to the complexities embedded in the process of translating fragile objects from the past into digital form for the future. My research team is seeking to digitize a collection of over 1,000 anatomical illustrations drawn by women in the 1940s, women who worked at the edges and the frontiers of medicine, but whose contributions have not been sufficiently recognized. Tests need to be done to determine the optimum resolution for a range of images: photographs, line drawings, watercolours, and illustrations made with carbon dust. Some of the images are larger than a typical scanner and thus need special treatment, not to mention investment in yet another technology. A trade-off may be necessary between scanning at high resolution and scanning at low resolution to facilitate the speed at which the digitized images can be accessed. One must consider that any archival database must allow for users with a variety of technologies and platforms with which to access the materials; otherwise, a new monopoly of knowledge will form -- one biased towards those with access to the most sophisticated machines. In short, the materiality of the medium matters as we work towards creating our archive of digitized images.

Artefacts communicate because of what is inscribed on them, but they also tell us something about the values at the time and place of their creation because of the media that were used, and because of the users who are imagined or not, and thus are left out by technological default. To draw attention to the archive as a media, and not just as a space or a place, is to understand archives as memory machines that produce our sense of history and facilitate communication between past, present and future generations of potential users.

Notes

1. Harold Innis, The Bias of Communication (new edition), edited by Paul Heyer and David Crowley (Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1995), p. 135.

2. Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. 13.

3. Mike Featherstone, "Archiving Cultures," British Journal of Sociology, Vol. 51, no. 1 (January-March 2000), p. 161-184.

Previous | Next

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Liens institutionnels

ARCHIVÉE - Anciens messagers, nouveaux médias : l'héritage d'Innis et de McLuhan

Contenu archivé

Cette page Web archivée demeure en ligne à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle ne sera pas modifiée ni mise à jour. Les pages Web qui sont archivées sur Internet ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette page sous d'autres formats à la page Contactez-nous.

Essais : Les archives en tant que média

Kim Sawchuk : La matérialité, la mémoire mécanique et les archives en tant que média

Kim Sawchuk, professeure agrégée, Département des études en communication, Université Concordia

Les archives recèlent d'une variété d'artefacts, ou « riches » médias, dont on reconnaît la valeur potentielle pour les futures générations. Selon Harold Innis, tous les médias -- lettres sur papyrus, traces photographiques sur celluloïd, tablettes de pierre -- ont un biais qui privilégie la communication soit dans le temps, soit dans l'espace. Les médias électroniques, par exemple, en raison de la rapidité de l'information, évacuent l'importance de la distance que parcourt la communication. À l'inverse, les tablettes de pierres, difficiles à graver et davantage encore à transporter, favorisent la continuité à l'intérieur d'une communauté.

En termes innisiens, si l'on considère les médias en tant que technologies de la communication qui privilégient le temps ou l'espace selon des modes divers, on peut étudier les archives comme média de communication, et non pas seulement comme dépôt d'artefacts. Prenez par exemple la différence entre les documents conservés aux archives et les fonds d'une bibliothèque. Hormis les collections de livres rares, on peut trouver les documents que possède une bibliothèque donnée dans au moins une autre bibliothèque, et il est possible de faire sortir des locaux, pour un temps déterminé, la plupart des articles de la collection. Pour leur part, certaines archives autorisent la reproduction de documents, souvent à fort prix; cependant, ces dossiers et enregistrements ne circulent pas aisément au-delà du lieu où ils sont conservés. On ne peut les emprunter, ni faire un prêt entre bibliothèques -- ils sont ancrés dans le temps et l'espace des archives mêmes. Aborder les archives comme média souligne leur caractère d'instrument organisationnel complexe, qui facilite ou entrave la communication individuelle et sociale d'événements passés, avec les générations futures, par l'instanciation de protocoles déterminés et de règles d'accès.

Innis s'interroge sur les biais qui marquent les relations de temps et d'espace dans tous les médias, et sur l'institutionnalisation de l'autorité que ces derniers produisent. C'est ce que traduit son expression « monopoles du savoir ». Selon lui, la construction de bibliothèques au cours de l'histoire, et le travail des scribes, qui occupaient « une fonction stratégique dans la bureaucratie centralisée de l'époque 1 » [traduction libre], indiquent que la bibliothèque ou les archives, pouvaient devenir un « extraordinaire instrument de pouvoir impérial 2 » [traduction libre]. Innis ne prétend pas qu'il faut bannir bibliothèques et archives, mais il se méfie des tendances à centraliser et à standardiser qu'imposent les moyens mécaniques de collecte de données apparus à la fin des années 1940.

Innis nous prévient : les archives ne transmettent pas le savoir de façon neutre; elles déterminent la mémoire culturelle et notre façon de penser. Tout conserver aurait-il l'effet de privilégier « l'accumulation au détriment de la synthèse »? Comment un changement des médias dominants usurperait-il les anciens détenteurs d'un monopole -- et qui serait alors marginalisé? Qui décide de ce qui a une valeur? Qui y aura accès? Comment l'information sera-t-elle diffusée?

En créant des archives, on ne s'appuie pas seulement sur les événements passés. Les archivistes qui obéissent aux mécènes doivent évaluer ce qui sera utile aux sociétés futures. Ils ne peuvent ignorer que l'importance culturelle accordée à certains objets peut changer; on se rappellera certains, d'autres seront délibérément oubliés. Ce qu'on élimine, tout autant que ce que l'on conserve, interdit les revendications de chercheurs qui tentent de trouver « la preuve » que recèle toute collection d'archives. Des chercheurs qui, comme moi, cherchent des traces de la participation des femmes à la vie civile ne le savent que trop.

Considérer les archives en tant que média lié aux divers monopoles du savoir met l'accent sur les politiques de conservation et de recherche, leur financement, et la relation qui existe entre la recherche et les technologies médiatiques. Les institutions doivent avoir sans cesse la possibilité d'entreposer et de maintenir une collection, et d'en connaître la valeur.

On peut soutenir que, avec l'avènement des technologies numériques, les archives deviendront un média de communication différent. Base de données virtuelle en ligne reliée par un vaste réseau hypertextuel, les archives numériques n'auraient pas de murs, et permettraient à tout un chacun d'entrer des données ou d'y accéder de partout et en tout temps. Dans cette déclaration utopique, les archives ne sont même plus archivium, ou maison du magistrat; elles ressemblent davantage à une ville qui ne cesse de s'étendre et de croître, et qui renferme de multiples chemins 3. L'idée traditionnelle d'archives qui conservent des documents uniques en un lieu donné viendrait à disparaître.

Les relations de pouvoir se transformeront obligatoirement au cours de cette numérisation des archives. Innis nous met cependant en garde : la matérialité d'un média donné nous force à tenir compte de la nature physique des documents disponibles. Les particularités matérielles des artefacts médiatiques et leurs modes de communication influent sur l'archivage comme sur la communication.

Je travaille actuellement à un projet qui souligne la complexité propre au processus de traduction d'objets fragiles du passé en forme numérique destinée au futur. Mon équipe de recherche s'affaire à numériser une collection de plus de 1 000 illustrations anatomiques dessinées par des femmes au cours des années 1940, femmes qui ont travaillé en marge et aux frontières de la médecine, et dont on n'a pas suffisamment reconnu l'apport. Nous devons procéder à des essais pour déterminer la résolution optimale d'un éventail d'images : photographies, dessins au trait, aquarelles et illustrations réalisées à la poussière de carbone. Certaines images, plus grandes qu'un scanneur conventionnel, appellent une démarche particulière, sans parler de l'investissement dans une autre technologie. Il sera peut-être nécessaire de choisir entre scanner à haute ou à basse résolution afin d'accélérer l'accès aux images numérisées. Il ne faut pas perdre de vue que toute base de données archivistique doit permettre à l'utilisateur d'accéder aux documents à partir de technologies et de plateformes diverses, à défaut de quoi il se formera un nouveau monopole du savoir, qui favorisera les utilisateurs ayant accès aux outils les plus perfectionnés. En bref, la matérialité du média est importante lorsque nous travaillons à créer nos archives d'images numérisées.

En raison des inscriptions qu'ils comportent, les artefacts véhiculent une communication, mais ils nous parlent également des valeurs établies au moment et à l'endroit où ils ont été créés, à cause des médias utilisés, et en raison des utilisateurs, imaginés ou non, ainsi exclus par la faute de la technologie. Attirer l'attention sur les archives en tant que médias, et non pas simplement comme espace ou lieu, c'est comprendre les archives comme machines à mémoire qui établissent notre sens de l'histoire et facilitent la communication entre les éventuels utilisateurs des générations passées, actuelles ou futures.

Notes

1. Harold Innis, The Bias of Communication (nouvelle édition),sous la direction de Paul Heyer et David Crowley, Toronto, University of Toronto Press, 1995, p. 135.

2. Innis, The Bias of Communication, p. 13.

3. Mike Featherstone, « Archiving Cultures », British Journal of Sociology, vol. 51, no 1 (janvier/mars 2000), p. 161-184.

Précédent | Suivant